Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 5/6/2026. Claims 15 is canceled. Claims 1-14, 16-20 are pending. Claims 1-14, 16-20 are finally rejected for reasons stated herein below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 3/19/2026, 6/9/2026 has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8, 9, 11, 12, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Park (WO 2019/151833, using US 2020/0373558 as translation) in view of Motoda (US 2014/0242296), or Park (WO 2019/151833, using US 2020/0373558 as translation) in view of Lee (US 2010/0159327) and Motoda (US 2014/0242296).
Regarding claim 1, a method of manufacturing an electrode for a secondary battery, comprising:
applying an electrode slurry including an electrode active material, a conductive material, and a non-aqueous binder onto one surface or both surfaces of a current collector [0038, 0039, 0044, 0049];
applying an insulating composition including an aqueous binder substituted with a non-aqueous solvent so that the insulating composition covers from a portion of the non-coating part of the current collector to a portion of the electrode slurry applied onto the current collector [0051, 0052]; and
drying the electrode slurry and insulating composition applied onto the current collector [0078],
wherein the electrode slurry and the insulating composition include the same or same type of anon-aqueous organic solvent [0084, 0096].
Regarding claim 3, the application of an insulating composition is performed in a state in which the electrode slurry applied onto the current collector is not dried [0078].
Regarding claim 4, the non-aqueous organic solvent is one or more selected from the group consisting of N-methyl-pyrrolidone (NMP), dimethyl formamide (DMF) and dimethyl acetamide (DMAc), dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO), ethylene carbonate (EC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC), propylene carbonate (PC), dipropyl carbonate (DPC), butylene carbonate (BC), methy! propyl carbonate (MPC), ethyl propyl carbonate (EPC), acetonitrile, dimethoxyethane, tetrahydrofuran (THF), y-butyrolactone, methyl alcohol, ethyl alcohol, and isopropy! Alcohol [0109].
Regarding claim 8, the non-aqueous binder is one or more selected from the group consisting of polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), polyvinylidene fluoride-co- hexafluoropropylene (PVDF-co-HFP), polyethylene oxide (PEO), polyacrylic acid (PAA), polyimide (PI), polyamideimide (PAI), and a polyimide-polyamideimide copolymer (PI-PAI) [0047].
Regarding claim 9, the aqueous binder is one or more selected from the group consisting of styrene-butadiene rubber, acrylate styrene-butadiene rubber, acrylonitrile-__ butadiene rubber, acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene rubber, acrylic rubber, butyl rubber, fluoro rubber, polytetrafluoroethylene, polyethylene, polypropylene, an ethylene-propylene copolymer, polyethylene oxide, polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyepichlorohydrin, polyphosphazene, polyacrylonitrile, polystyrene, an ethylene-propylene-diene copolymer, polyvinylpyridine, chlorosulphonated polyethylene, latex, polyester resin, an acrylic resin, phenolic resin, an epoxy resin, polyvinyl alcohol, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, hydroxypropyll cellulose, and diacetyl cellulose [0054].
Regarding claim 11, the non-aqueous organic solvent is N-methyl- pyrrolidone (NMP), and the aqueous binder is styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR) [0054, 0058].
Regarding claim 12, the drying of the electrode slurry and insulating composition applied onto the current collector is performed at an average temperature of 50 °C to 300 °C [0102].
Regarding claim 1, applying an insulating composition including an aqueous binder dispersed in a second non-aqueous solvent, and regarding claim 11, the non-aqueous organic solvent is N-methyl-pyrrolidone (NMP), and the aqueous binder is styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR), Park discloses the aqueous binder is, out of a list of 20 polymers, a styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR) [0054]. Park discloses the non-aqueous organic solvent N-methyl-pyrrolidone (NMP) [0058].
Park discloses the non-aqueous organic solvent N-methyl-pyrrolidone (NMP) [0058], but does not necessarily disclose that the non-aqueous organic solvent N-methyl-pyrrolidone (NMP) is particularly for SBR. Should it not be anticipatory, Park discloses that the solvent may be suitability selected in consideration of the solubility and viscosity of the binder for an insulating layer [0058]. Lee teaches a battery electrode comprising a styrene-butadiene rubber (SBR) using N-methyl-pyrrolidone (NMP) as a solvent [0041].
It would have been obvious to use the NMP as the solvent for SBR binder, as taught by Lee, for the benefit of dissolving the SBR binder in the insulating layer slurry of Park.
The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 1, Park, or Park modified by Lee, discloses the insulating composition including the aqueous binder with the second-nonaqueous organic solvent, but does not disclose that the insulating composition is obtained by adding the second non-aqueous organic solvent to aqueous binder that is dispersed in an aqueous solvent to obtain a mixture, and removing water from the mixture. Matoda teaches a battery insulating layer made from an aqueous binder by a step of producing a polymer aqueous dispersion by polymerizing a monomer in an aqueous medium to give a polymer aqueous dispersion containing a polymer with a polymerization conversion rate of 90 to 100%, a step of obtaining a mixed solution by mixing N-methylpyrrolidone and the polymer aqueous dispersion, a step of obtaining a binder composition by removing an unreacted monomer and the aqueous medium from the mixed solution, and a step of obtaining a slurry by dispersing non-conductive microparticles in the binder composition, wherein the step of obtaining the binder composition includes removing the aqueous medium and the unreacted monomer by using a distillation column under a reduced pressure so that the binder composition contains the unreacted monomer and a water content in predetermined amounts. See Abstract. The aqueous polymer can be a styrene-butadiene copolymer (SBR) [0025]. When a slurry for a heat-resistant layer for a lithium ion secondary battery for forming the heat-resistant layer contains much water content, the dispersibility of the slurry is deteriorated, whereas when the slurry contains much impurities such as an unreacted monomer, bubbling occurs when the slurry is applied. Therefore, it is required to decrease impurities such as the water content and unreacted monomer in the slurry [0006].
Regarding claim 16, Motoda teaches removing water from the mixture includes evaporating water from the mixture [0014].
Regarding claim 17, Motoda teaches evaporating water from the mixture includes heating the mixture [0061].
Regarding claim 19, Motoda teaches the mixture is stirred while evaporating water from the mixture [0061].
Regarding claim 20, Motoda teaches adding the second non-aqueous solvent to the aqueous binder that is dispersed in the aqueous solvent includes stirring to obtain the mixture [0061].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to use the method of making the aqueous binder and the insulating layer of Park, or Park in view of Lee, as taught by Motoda, for the benefit of minimizing impurities and residual water that follow aqueous polymer binders.
Regarding claim 1, wherein an insulating layer formed by drying the insulating composition suppresses migration of lithium ions, the instant Specification states on pages 19-20:
The insulating composition for an electrode of a secondary battery according to the present invention has an advantage in that the migration of lithium ions in the overlay region of an electrode can be blocked to suppress capacity expression and the like due to having excellent wet adhesion in a liquid electrolyte.
For this reason, the present invention provides an insulating composition for an electrode, in which inorganic particles and an aqueous binder are dispersed in a non-aqueous organic solvent. Generally, an electrode in a secondary batter is present in an immersed state in a liquid electrolyte, and accordingly, a conventional insulating layer exhibits degraded wet adhesion while being immersed in a liquid electrolyte and does not block the migration of lithium ions in the overlay region of the electrode to cause capacity expression. Particularly, when capacity is expressed in the overlay region of the electrode, lithium ions may be precipitated, which may cause the stability of a battery cell to be degraded. In the present invention, an insulating composition for an electrode, in which inorganic particles and an aqueous binder are dispersed in a non-aqueous organic solvent used as a solvent of an electrode slurry, can be provided to enhance wet adhesion in a liquid electrolyte. That is, when applied to an electrode, the insulating composition enhances wet adhesion, and thus the migration of lithium ions in the overlay region of the electrode can be suppressed, and lithium ions can be prevented from being precipitated. Therefore, when applied to an electrode of a secondary battery, the insulating composition can enhance the stability of the secondary battery. (emphasis added)
It is noted that the slurry of the insulating layer dissolved in non-aqueous solvent of Park modified by Motoda causes a suppression of migration of lithium ions.
Regarding claim 18, evaporating water from the mixture includes completely evaporating water from the mixture, Motoda teaches when a slurry for a heat-resistant layer for a lithium ion secondary battery for forming the heat-resistant layer contains much water content, the dispersibility of the slurry is deteriorated, whereas when the slurry contains much impurities such as an unreacted monomer, bubbling occurs when the slurry is applied. Therefore, it is required to decrease impurities such as the water content and unreacted monomer in the slurry [0006]. The amount of the water content in the solution in the substitution tank 4 becomes 5,000 ppm or less, preferably 3,000 ppm or less, more preferably 1500 ppm or less [0070]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to minimize the water content as close to zero as possible for the benefit of having good dispersion of the insulating layer slurry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5-7, 10, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (WO 2019/151833, using US 2020/0373558 as translation) in view of Motoda (US 2014/0242296), or Park (WO 2019/151833, using US 2020/0373558 as translation) in view of Lee (US 2010/0159327) and Motoda (US 2014/0242296) as applied to claim 1, in view of Yoshida (JP 2017-212097).
Park does not disclose the limitations of claims 2, 12-14. Park discloses a wet-on-wet coating method, wherein an undried electrode active material layer is applied on a current collector. An undried insulating layer is applied onto the undried active material layer. The active material layer and an insulating layer are dried simultaneously [0079].
Yoshida teaches wherein an undried electrode active material layer is applied on a current collector using a die coater. An undried insulating layer is applied onto the undried active material layer. The active material layer and an insulating layer are dried simultaneously [0013, 0084].
Regarding claim 2, the applying the electrode slurry and the applying the insulating composition satisfy the following Expression 1:
[Expression 1] 0 < T2-T1 < 100 (sec) wherein,
T1 is time (sec) when the electrode slurry is discharged onto a current collector from a slot-die coater in the application of an electrode slurry, and T2 is time (sec) when the insulating composition is discharged onto a current collector from a slot-die coater in the application of an insulating composition, Yoshida teaches by applying insulating layer 112 a predetermined time after the tip of active material layer 111 reaches a position opposite to discharge outlet 212a of second die head 212, active material layer 111 can be exposed at the upstream end in the feed direction A of current collector 110 [0089].
Regarding claim 13, the applying the electrode slurry and the applying the insulating composition are performed using a single die coater including two slots. Figure 7.
Regarding claim 14, the applying the electrode slurry and the application of an insulating composition are performed using two separate die coaters. Figure 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to use the die coating method of Yoshida and adjust the predetermined time when the insulating layer is applied after the active material layer, as taught by Yoshida, for the benefit of adjusting the location of Park’s insulating layer.
Regarding claim 5, Park does not disclose the insulating composition further includes inorganic particles. Regarding claim 10, Park discloses the insulating composition includes: an aqueous binder dispersed in a non-aqueous solvent; but does not disclose inorganic particles dispersed in the aqueous binder matrix dispersed in a non-aqueous solvent, a weight ratio of the inorganic particle and the aqueous binder ranges from 1:99 to 95:5. Regarding claim 10, Park discloses a viscosity at 25 °C ranges from 50 cP to 50,000 cP [0098].
Yoshida teaches an insulating layer on an electrode. The insulating layer comprises an inorganic oxide and a binder [0052, 0053].
Regarding claim 5, the insulating composition further includes inorganic particles [0054].
Regarding claim 6, the inorganic particles are one or more of AIOOH, Al2O3, y-AIOOH, Al(OH)3, Mg(OH)2, Ti(OH)4, MgO, CaO, Cr2O3, MnO2, Fe2O3, Co3O4, NiO, ZrO2, BaTiO3, SnO2, CeO2, Y2O3, SiO2, silicon carbide (SIC), or boron nitride (BN) [0054].
Regarding claim 7, a weight ratio of the inorganic particle to the aqueous binder in the insulating composition ranges from 1:99 to 95:5 [0065].
Regarding claim 10, inorganic particles dispersed in the aqueous binder matrix dispersed in a non-aqueous solvent,
a weight ratio of the inorganic particle and the aqueous binder ranges from 1:99 to 95:5 [0054, 0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to add inorganic oxide particles to the insulating layer of Park, as taught by Yoshida, for the benefit of strengthening the insulating layer.
Response to Arguments
Arguments dated 5/6/2026 are addressed below:
Applicant asserts that substituting the method of Motoda for the method in Park or Park and Lee, as asserted by the Examiner, would not result in forming an insulating layer that suppresses migration of lithium ions. The layer produced in Motoda is a heat-resistant layer (See Motoda Abstract). In Motoda, this layer is produced in a manner such that the ion conductivity of the heat-resistant layer is not lowered (See Motoda [0083] and [0112]).
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The combination does not entail adding Motoda’s heat-resistant layer to the battery of Park.
Regarding claim 1, wherein an insulating layer formed by drying the insulating composition suppresses migration of lithium ions, the instant Specification states on pages 19-20:
The insulating composition for an electrode of a secondary battery according to the present invention has an advantage in that the migration of lithium ions in the overlay region of an electrode can be blocked to suppress capacity expression and the like due to having excellent wet adhesion in a liquid electrolyte.
For this reason, the present invention provides an insulating composition for an electrode, in which inorganic particles and an aqueous binder are dispersed in a non-aqueous organic solvent. Generally, an electrode in a secondary batter is present in an immersed state in a liquid electrolyte, and accordingly, a conventional insulating layer exhibits degraded wet adhesion while being immersed in a liquid electrolyte and does not block the migration of lithium ions in the overlay region of the electrode to cause capacity expression. Particularly, when capacity is expressed in the overlay region of the electrode, lithium ions may be precipitated, which may cause the stability of a battery cell to be degraded. In the present invention, an insulating composition for an electrode, in which inorganic particles and an aqueous binder are dispersed in a non-aqueous organic solvent used as a solvent of an electrode slurry, can be provided to enhance wet adhesion in a liquid electrolyte. That is, when applied to an electrode, the insulating composition enhances wet adhesion, and thus the migration of lithium ions in the overlay region of the electrode can be suppressed, and lithium ions can be prevented from being precipitated. Therefore, when applied to an electrode of a secondary battery, the insulating composition can enhance the stability of the secondary battery. (emphasis added)
It is noted that the slurry of the insulating layer dissolved in non-aqueous solvent of Park modified by Motoda causes a suppression of migration of lithium ions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CYNTHIA K WALLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751