DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4 should be amended to - wherein [[a]] the flexible connecting portion is disposed on each side of each of the one or more bulbous-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1:
The claim recites the limitation "the flow path holes" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Further, the limitation “wherein a combination of the flow path holes is configured as the flow path opening in the unstressed state” in line 10 is unclear. Line 9 indicates there is one flow path hole and line 10 indicates there is a plurality of flow path holes. This makes it unclear if there are multiple holes or only one. Also, it’s not clear if the applicant is attempting to combine embodiments or claim the embodiment with one flow path hole or the embodiment multiple flow path holes. For the sake of examination, the office has assumed this claim is attempting to claim the embodiment with one flow path hole.
Claim 6 is rejected due to its dependence on claim 1.
Regarding claim 9:
The claim recites the limitation "the membrane" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 10-11 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5041081 A to Odrich.
Odrich discloses:
Regarding claim 9:
An intraocular drainage device, comprising:
a drainage tube (12/22) comprising an interior surface (see the interior of 12) defining a fluid flow path (column 3, lines 40-60); and
a self-clearing device (valve 32/50/48) disposed within the drainage tube (12/22) and across the fluid flow path, the self-clearing device (valve 32/50/48) comprising a flow path opening (see the opening 32 shows between 50/32/48 when the valve is opened) configured to provide a selected fluid flow pressure when the self-clearing device (valve 32/50/48) is in an unstressed state (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, when the valve 32/50/48 is opened it is in an unstressed state since the pressure within the eye and section 14/18 is relieved and allowed to flow past the valve, in other words the valve is stressed when it is closed and the pressure is applied to the valve portion 32 just prior to opening),
wherein the membrane (32/50) comprises:
a coupling portion (50) coupled to the interior surface (as shown in figure 3) of the drainage tube (12/22); and
a flap (32) connected to the coupling portion (50) (connected to 50 as shown in figure 3), wherein an outer perimeter of the flap (32) and the interior surface of the drainage tube (12/22) define the flow path opening as a crescent shaped area when the self-clearing device in in the unstressed state (when the valve 32 is opening or opened a crescent shaped hole is defined between 32 and the interior of 12 since the valve end is rounded and the interior of 12 is rounded which occurs when the valve is closing in the unstressed state).
Regarding claim 10:
The intraocular drainage device of claim 9, wherein the membrane (32/50) is configured such that at least a portion of the flap (32) moves in a downstream direction of the fluid flow path in response to an increased fluid pressure on the membrane (32/50) (as shown in figurer 3 where the valve 32 extends downstream towards 22), thereby increasing the size of the crescent shaped area and thus increasing the flow path opening (as shown in figure 3 the crescent shape hole defined between 32 and 12 increases the further back the valve 32 extends).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5041081 A to Odrich as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US 5127901 A to Odrich (Odrich ‘901).
Regarding claim 11:
Odrich fails to disclose:
The intraocular drainage device of claim 9, wherein the membrane further comprises at least one structural member disposed across portions of the coupling portion and the flap, the at least one structural member configured to provide an increased resistance of the flap to movement.
Odrich ‘901 teaches:
A membrane that includes a flap (24) and a coupling portion (30b) for controlling the flow of fluid through a tube (12). Further, the system includes a structural member (40/34) that improves the rigidity of the flap and coupling portion (column 4, lines 15-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Odrich to further include a structural member attached to the flap and coupling portion as taught by Odrich ‘901 to increase the rigidity of the flap (Odrich ‘901, column 4, lines 15-25).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 6 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Furthermore, the prior art of record does not teach “a flow path hole disposed in an interior portion of each of the one or more of the flaps, wherein a combination of the flow path holes is configured as the flow path opening in the unstressed state” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 1.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claims 12-15 is/are allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant' s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant' s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Furthermore, the prior art of record does not teach “a flexible connecting portion having a narrower circumference than the two opposing funnel shaped end portions and disposed between the two opposing funnel shaped end portions and having a flow path hole disposed through the center of the flexible connecting portion” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 12.
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant' s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant' s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 35 USC 102 rejection of claim 9 by Odrich:
The applicants has argued that the amendments to the claims have overcome the previous claim rejections and for this reason the rejections should be withdrawn (see page 7 of the remarks). However, as indicated above, the Odrich reference still reads on the claims and for this reason the above rejections is maintained.
Regarding the 35 USC 102 rejections of the claims by Price:
The applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previous claim rejections and for this reasons they are withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 USC 102 rejections of the claims by Errico:
The applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previous claim rejections and for this reasons they are withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 USC 102 rejections of the claims 1, 2, 12 and 15 by Odrich:
The applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previous claim rejections and for this reasons they are withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 USC 102 rejections of the claims by Sekiya:
The applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previous claim rejections and for this reasons they are withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WESLEY G HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3783