DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's response submitted December 11, 2025, has been received. The amendment of claims 1 and 3-8, is acknowledged. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s arguments beginning on page 6 of the response directed to the timing features, it appears that Applicant asserts that the measurement of offset temperatures occurs before or at start. However, it is noted that the claim limitation provides for “upon starting the system”, was considered broadly as a dependent factor which does not require before or at a start time, merely that starting has occurred. Further, S202 of Tang occurs after S200 labeled as start in Fig. 2. Regarding Applicant’s presentation of diagrams, while the effort is appreciated, it is noted that the specification and drawings do not incorporate the provided diagrams. Further, Examiner disagrees with the present diagram of Claim 1. In particular, the “offset” and “measured temperatures of ambiance…” steps are indicated as occurring before or at start. The claim language does not support this interpretation as the “before or upon start” language only occurs with the measurement of a component and environment temperatures sensor. Regarding the application of offset, this is also provided in Tang at Fig. 2, S204 and S206.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. 2019/0195694 (“Tang”).
Claim 1
Tang discloses a calibration method for a system comprising at least one electronic component (paragraph [0017, 0029], FPA module 104), at least one component temperature sensor associated with said at least one electronic component (paragraph [0017, 0028-0029], temperature sensor for FPA device) and at least one environment temperature sensor, for calibrating said at least one component temperature sensor(paragraph [0017, 0028-0029], temperature sensor for environment), the calibration method comprising:, - before or upon starting the system, measuring the temperatures of said at least one component temperature sensor and said at least one environment temperature sensor (Fig. 2, S202), - determining a reference temperature from the temperatures measured (Fig. 2, S204), - calculating, for each component temperature sensor, an offset such that the temperature measurement of the component temperature sensor (Fig. 2, S208, paragraph [0047]), corrected by the offset, equals the reference temperature, - correcting, by applying the offset, to each subsequent temperature measurement (paragraph [0047]).
Claim 2
Tang discloses the calibration method according to Claim 1, wherein the reference temperature is a statistical quantity obtained from the temperatures measured (paragraph [0048], statistical average and regressions).
Claim 4
Tang discloses the calibration method according to Claim 1, further comprising: starting the at least one electronic component and measuring a voltage (V) and a current (I) across the at least one electronic component; for each electronic component (paragraph [0031-0033]), estimating, using a thermal model (M) to estimate a temperature of the at least one electronic component as a function of a voltage (V) and a current (I) (Figs. 3 and 4; paragraph [0031-0033]), - calculating, for the electronic component, a linearity coefficient such that the temperature measurement of the component temperature sensor corrected by the offset and multiplied by the linearity coefficient equals the estimated temperature (Figs. 3 and 4), and - correcting by applying the linearity coefficient to each subsequent temperature measurement (Figs. 3 and 4).
Claim 8
Tang discloses the calibration method of claim 1, wherein the system is formed of an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) (paragraph [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. 2019/0195694 (“Tang”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2011/0249371 (“Jin”).
Claim 3
Tang discloses the calibration method according to Claim 1.
Tang does not appear to explicitly disclose further comprising generating a degraded temperature sensor alarm if the absolute value of the offset is greater than a threshold equal to 15°C.
Jin discloses a thermal protection control unit including an alarm unit that issues an alarm over a specified threshold (Figs. 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an alarm, as disclosed by Jin, into the method of Tang, such that a degraded temperature sensor alarm is issued if the absolute value of the offset is greater than a threshold, preferably equal to 15°C, for the purpose of improving accuracy and reliability (Jin, paragraph [0022]).
Claim 5
Tang discloses the calibration method according to Claim 4.
Tang does not appear to explicitly disclose further comprising generating an degraded temperature sensor alarm if the absolute value of the linearity coefficient is greater than a threshold.
Jin discloses a thermal protection control unit including an alarm unit that issues an alarm over a specified threshold (Figs. 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an alarm, as disclosed by Jin, into the method of Tang, such that a degraded temperature sensor alarm is issued if the absolute value of the linearity coefficient is greater than a threshold, for the purpose of improving accuracy and reliability (Jin, paragraph [0022]).
Claim 6
Tang discloses the calibration method of Claim 1, further comprising: - obtaining regular temperature measurements by means of said at least one component temperature sensor temperature sensor.
Tang does not appear to explicitly disclose triggering a safety shutdown of the electronic component if high temperature exceeds a high temperature threshold.
Jin discloses a thermal protection control unit including an alarm unit that issues an alarm over a specified threshold (Figs. 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an alarm, as disclosed by Jin, into the method of Tang, such that triggering a safety shutdown of the electronic component in case a high temperature is exceeded, for the purpose of improving accuracy and reliability (Jin, paragraph [0022]).
Claim 7
Tang discloses the calibration method of Claim 1, further comprising: - obtaining regular temperature measurements using said at least one component temperature sensor; wherein, - heating with a slope higher than a threshold being indicative of a resistive short circuit (Figs. 3 and 4).
Tang does not appear to explicitly disclose for detecting a resistive short-circuit within said at least one electronic component.
Jin discloses a thermal protection control unit including an alarm unit that issues an alarm over a specified threshold (Figs. 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an alarm, as disclosed by Jin, into the method of Tang, such that detecting a resistive short-circuit within said at least one electronic component, for the purpose of improving accuracy and reliability (Jin, paragraph [0022]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853