DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (Matsumura hereafter) (US 20210235453 A1) in view of Dou et al. (Dou hereafter) (US 20200235901 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Matsumura teaches, A method for wireless communication, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a downlink control information (DCI) format 1-1 or 1-2 (DCI format 1_1) indicating a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (PDSCH transmission … received by using the DCI) to the UE, wherein (Matsumura; [0078] By providing the RMI field/TCI field in the DCI (for example, DCI format 1_1) as described above, PDSCH transmission from a single transmission point or PDSCH transmission from a plurality of transmission points can be appropriately received by using the DCI) the PDSCH comprises [[two]] a transmission control indicator (TCI) codepoint comprising two TCI states (the base station reports “10” or “11” to the UE as the bit value of the DCI. [0096-0097] [0115] In contrast, a TCI configuration) corresponding to a plurality of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) antenna ports (CW 1/ DMRS port group 1 (DPG 1) may correspond to the PDSCH transmitted from the first transmission point, and CW 2/DPG 2 may correspond to the PDSCH transmitted from the second transmission point) (Matsumura; [0083]The base station may report whether PDSCH transmission is transmission from a single transmission point or transmission from a plurality of transmission points to the UE by using DCI. [0085] CW 1/DPG 1 may correspond to the PDSCH transmitted from the first transmission point, and CW 2/DPG 2 may correspond to the PDSCH transmitted from the second transmission point. [0093] When the PDSCH is transmitted from a plurality of transmission points (for example, in a case of NCJT), the base station reports “10” or “11” to the UE as the bit value of the DCI. [0097] [0104] TCI configuration 1 for CW 1/DPG 1 corresponding to TRP #1 and TCI configuration 2 for CW 2/DPG 2 corresponding to TRP #2 are configured in combination.);
a first TCI state of the two TCI states is uniquely associated (from a plurality of transmission points is configured) with a first set of DMRS antenna ports (on DPG 1 corresponds to beam 1) of the plurality of DMRS antenna ports (Matsumura; [0095] three measurement targets (sizes of a measurement set), and transmission from a plurality of transmission points is configured in each unit of transmission based on the DMRS port group DMRS port group (DPG). A case in which the size of the measurement set is 3 corresponds to a case in which, for example, three beams (beam 1, beam 2, and beam 3) are used. In this case, it may be assumed that transmission based on DPG 1 corresponds to beam 1);
a second TCI state of the two TCI states is uniquely associated with a second set of DMRS antenna ports of the plurality of DMRS antenna ports (Matsumura; [0095] …transmission based on DPG 2 corresponds to beam 2, and transmission based on DPG 3 corresponds to beam 3.); and
Matsumura fails to explicitly teach, a first number of DMRS antenna ports of the first set of DMRS antenna ports is equal to a second number of DMRS antenna ports of the second set of DMRS antenna ports
Dou teaches, a first number of DMRS antenna ports of the first set of DMRS antenna ports is equal to a second number of DMRS antenna ports of the second set of DMRS antenna ports (Dou; [0191]that the DMRS antenna port group 1 (the DMRS group index 1) includes the antenna ports {1000, 1001, 1002, 1003, 1004, and 1005}, the DMRS antenna port group 2 (the DMRS group index 2) includes the antenna ports {1006, 1007, 1008, 1009, 1010, and 1011}, ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Matsumura to include the above recited limitations as taught by Dou in order to satisfy a quasi-co-location QCL relationship(Dou; [0143]).
Regarding claim 6 Matsumura teaches, A method for wireless communication, the method comprising:
receiving, at a user equipment (UE), a downlink control information (DCI) format 1-1 or 1-2 (DCI format 1_1) indicating a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (PDSCH transmission … received by using the DCI) to the UE, wherein (Matsumura; [0078] By providing the RMI field/TCI field in the DCI (for example, DCI format 1_1) as described above, PDSCH transmission from a single transmission point or PDSCH transmission from a plurality of transmission points can be appropriately received by using the DCI) the PDSCH comprises a transmission control indicator (TCI) codepoint comprising two TCI states (the base station reports “10” or “11” to the UE as the bit value of the DCI. [0096-0097] [0115] In contrast, a TCI configuration) corresponding to a plurality of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) antenna ports (CW 1/ DMRS port group 1 (DPG 1) may correspond to the PDSCH transmitted from the first transmission point, and CW 2/DPG 2 may correspond to the PDSCH transmitted from the second transmission point) (Matsumura; [0083]The base station may report whether PDSCH transmission is transmission from a single transmission point or transmission from a plurality of transmission points to the UE by using DCI. [0085] CW 1/DPG 1 may correspond to the PDSCH transmitted from the first transmission point, and CW 2/DPG 2 may correspond to the PDSCH transmitted from the second transmission point. [0093] When the PDSCH is transmitted from a plurality of transmission points (for example, in a case of NCJT), the base station reports “10” or “11” to the UE as the bit value of the DCI. [0096-0097], [0104] TCI configuration 1 for CW 1/DPG 1 corresponding to TRP #1 and TCI configuration 2 for CW 2/DPG 2 corresponding to TRP #2 are configured in combination.);
a first TCI state of the two TCI states is uniquely associated (from a plurality of transmission points is configured) with a first set of DMRS antenna ports (on DPG 1 corresponds to beam 1) of the plurality of DMRS antenna ports (Matsumura; [0095] three measurement targets (sizes of a measurement set), and transmission from a plurality of transmission points is configured in each unit of transmission based on the DMRS port group DMRS port group (DPG). A case in which the size of the measurement set is 3 corresponds to a case in which, for example, three beams (beam 1, beam 2, and beam 3) are used. In this case, it may be assumed that transmission based on DPG 1 corresponds to beam 1);
a second TCI state of the two TCI states is uniquely associated with a second set of DMRS antenna ports of the plurality of DMRS antenna ports (Matsumura; [0095] …transmission based on DPG 2 corresponds to beam 2, and transmission based on DPG 3 corresponds to beam 3.); and
Matsumura fails to explicitly teach, a first number of DMRS antenna ports of the first set of DMRS antenna ports is equal to a second number of DMRS antenna ports of the second set of DMRS antenna ports
Dou teaches, a first number of DMRS antenna ports of the first set of DMRS antenna ports is equal to a second number of DMRS antenna ports of the second set of DMRS antenna ports (Dou; [0191]that the DMRS antenna port group 1 (the DMRS group index 1) includes the antenna ports {1000, 1001, 1002, 1003, 1004, and 1005}, the DMRS antenna port group 2 (the DMRS group index 2) includes the antenna ports {1006, 1007, 1008, 1009, 1010, and 1011}, ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Matsumura to include the above recited limitations as taught by Dou in order to satisfy a quasi-co-location QCL relationship(Dou; [0143]).
Regarding claim 16 Matsumura teaches, an apparatus for wireless communication, the apparatus comprising:
a processor (Matsumura; [0220] a processor 1001 Fig. 17) ; and
a memory coupled to the processor (Matsumura; [0220] apparatus that includes a processor 1001, a memory 1002, Fig. 17), the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor (Matsumura; [0223] the memory 1002, and by allowing the processor 1001 to perform calculations to control communication via the communication apparatus 1004 Fig. 17)to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a downlink control information (DCI) format 1-1 or 1-2 (DCI format 1_1) indicating a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (PDSCH transmission … received by using the DCI) to the UE, wherein (Matsumura; [0078] By providing the RMI field/TCI field in the DCI (for example, DCI format 1_1) as described above, PDSCH transmission from a single transmission point or PDSCH transmission from a plurality of transmission points can be appropriately received by using the DCI) the PDSCH comprises [[two]] a transmission control indicator (TCI) codepoint comprising two TCI states (the base station reports “10” or “11” to the UE as the bit value of the DCI. [0096-0097] [0115] In contrast, a TCI configuration) corresponding to a plurality of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) antenna ports (CW 1/ DMRS port group 1 (DPG 1) may correspond to the PDSCH transmitted from the first transmission point, and CW 2/DPG 2 may correspond to the PDSCH transmitted from the second transmission point) (Matsumura; [0083]The base station may report whether PDSCH transmission is transmission from a single transmission point or transmission from a plurality of transmission points to the UE by using DCI. [0085] CW 1/DPG 1 may correspond to the PDSCH transmitted from the first transmission point, and CW 2/DPG 2 may correspond to the PDSCH transmitted from the second transmission point. [0093] When the PDSCH is transmitted from a plurality of transmission points (for example, in a case of NCJT), the base station reports “10” or “11” to the UE as the bit value of the DCI. [0097] [0104] TCI configuration 1 for CW 1/DPG 1 corresponding to TRP #1 and TCI configuration 2 for CW 2/DPG 2 corresponding to TRP #2 are configured in combination.);
a first TCI state of the two TCI states is uniquely associated (from a plurality of transmission points is configured) with a first set of DMRS antenna ports (on DPG 1 corresponds to beam 1) of the plurality of DMRS antenna ports (Matsumura; [0095] three measurement targets (sizes of a measurement set), and transmission from a plurality of transmission points is configured in each unit of transmission based on the DMRS port group DMRS port group (DPG). A case in which the size of the measurement set is 3 corresponds to a case in which, for example, three beams (beam 1, beam 2, and beam 3) are used. In this case, it may be assumed that transmission based on DPG 1 corresponds to beam 1);
a second TCI state of the two TCI states is uniquely associated with a second set of DMRS antenna ports of the plurality of DMRS antenna ports (Matsumura; [0095] …transmission based on DPG 2 corresponds to beam 2, and transmission based on DPG 3 corresponds to beam 3.); and
Matsumura fails to explicitly teach, a first number of DMRS antenna ports of the first set of DMRS antenna ports is equal to a second number of DMRS antenna ports of the second set of DMRS antenna ports
Dou teaches, a first number of DMRS antenna ports of the first set of DMRS antenna ports is equal to a second number of DMRS antenna ports of the second set of DMRS antenna ports (Dou; [0191]that the DMRS antenna port group 1 (the DMRS group index 1) includes the antenna ports {1000, 1001, 1002, 1003, 1004, and 1005}, the DMRS antenna port group 2 (the DMRS group index 2) includes the antenna ports {1006, 1007, 1008, 1009, 1010, and 1011}, ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Matsumura to include the above recited limitations as taught by Dou in order to satisfy a quasi-co-location QCL relationship(Dou; [0143]).
Claims 2, 7, 12-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura- Dou as applied to claims 1, 6, and 16 above, and further in view of Muruganathan et al. (Muruganathan hereafter) (US 20220124761 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 7, and 17 Matsumura-Dou teaches, The claims 1, 6, and 16
Matsumura-Dou fails to explicitly teach, wherein: the plurality of DMRS antenna ports is in a single DMRS code-division multiplexing (CDM) group.
However, in the same field of endeavor Muruganathan teaches, wherein: the plurality of DMRS antenna ports is in a single DMRS code-division multiplexing (CDM) group (Muruganathan; [0019] DMRS ports within the same CDM group are Quasi Co-Located (QCL) in terms of wireless propagation channel properties [0118] the DMRS ports belonging to the same DMRS port group are included within {} and different DMRS port groups are separated by ‘,’. Only a single RV per DMRS port group is assumed in this example where RV(s) associated with different DMRS port groups are separated by ‘,’. It should be noted that this embodiment can also be extended to the case where two RV(s) are associated with a DMRS port group containing more than one port.) (given in Table 5).
the first set of DMRS antenna ports correspond to a first half of the plurality of DMRS antenna ports (Muruganathan; See table 5 value 10, CDM group 2, DMRS ports {0,1},),
the second set of DMRS antenna ports correspond to a second half of the plurality of DMRS antenna ports (Muruganathan; See table 5 - value 10, CDM group 2, DMRS ports, {2,3} ),.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Matsumura- Dou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Muruganathan in order to support data transmission over multiple TRPs, (Muruganathan; [0046]).
Regarding claim 12 Muruganathan-Jiang teaches, The method of claim 6,
Matsumura-Dou fails to explicitly teach, further comprising receiving the PDSCH with the two TCI states and the plurality of DMRS antenna ports based on the DCI format
Muruganathan further teaches, further comprising receiving the PDSCH with the two TCI states and the plurality of DMRS antenna ports based on the DCI format (Muruganathan; [0105] TCI state or TCI state ID may also be associated with the DMRS port group and the associated RV. Which TCI state or set of TCI states the UE shall use for demodulating the PDSCH is indicated to the UE in the DCI that schedules the PDSCH…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Matsumura- Dou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Muruganathan in order to support data transmission over multiple TRPs, (Muruganathan; [0046]).
Regarding claim 13 Muruganathan-Jiang teaches, The method of claim 6,
Matsumura-Dou fails to explicitly teach, wherein the DCI format comprises a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2
Muruganathan further teaches, wherein the DCI format comprises a DCI format 1_1 or a DCI format 1_2 (Muruganathan; [0038] For PDSCH transmission, one of the down-selected/activated TCI states is indicated by the TCI filed present in DCI format 1_1 to indicate the QCL relations for PDSCH transmission).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Matsumura- Dou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Muruganathan in order to support data transmission over multiple TRPs, (Muruganathan; [0046]).
Regarding claim 14 Muruganathan-Jiang teaches, The method of claim 6,
Matsumura-Dou fails to explicitly teach, further comprising transmitting a capability report of the UE,
wherein the capability report comprises information indicating an ability of the UE to receive the DCI format
Muruganathan further teaches, further comprising transmitting a capability report of the UE,
wherein the capability report comprises information indicating an ability of the UE to receive the DCI format (Muruganathan; [0107] the association between DMRS port group(s) and RV(s) are configured to the UE via at least RRC signaling. In some further embodiments, the TCI field in DCI format 1_1 is used for joint signaling of DMRS port group(s) and associated RV(s)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Matsumura- Dou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Muruganathan in order to support data transmission over multiple TRPs, (Muruganathan; [0046]).
Claims 3, 8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura- Dou as applied to claims 1, 6, and 16 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Kim hereafter) (US 20220239433 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 8, and 18 Matsumura- Dou teaches, The claims 1, 6, and 16
Matsumura- Dou fails to explicitly teach, wherein: the plurality of DMRS antenna ports is in two DMRS code-division multiplexing (CDM) groups
the first set of DMRS antenna ports correspond to a first DMRS CDM group of the two DMRS CDM groups
the second set of DMRS antenna ports correspond to a second DMRS CDM group of the two DMRS CDM groups
However, in the same field of endeavor Kim teaches, the plurality of DMRS antenna ports is in two DMRS code-division multiplexing (CDM) groups (Kim; [0355] a case that {TCI state A, TCI state B} is indicated to the UE may be assumed. In the case that DMRS port 0 (CDM group 0), 1 (CDM group 0), and 6 (CDM group 1) are indicated to the UE,);
the first set of DMRS antenna ports correspond to a first DMRS CDM group of the two DMRS CDM groups (Kim; [0355] DMRS port 0/1 may be referred to as the first DMRS port, and the corresponding CDM group 0 may be referred to as the first CDM group…the first TCI state, TCI state A may correspond to CDM group 0, the first CDM group (or DMRS port(s) included in CDM group 0),); and
the second set of DMRS antenna ports correspond to a second DMRS CDM group of the two DMRS CDM groups (Kim; [0355] DMRS port 6 may be referred to as the second DMRS port, and the corresponding CDM group 1 may be referred to as the second CDM group…the second TCI state, TCI state B may correspond to CDM group 1, the second CDM group (or DMRS port(s) included in CDM group 1).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Matsumura- Dou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Kim in order to minimizing mutual interference in channel estimation (Kim; [0337]).
Claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura-Dou as applied to claims 1, 6, and 16 above, and further in view of Gao et al. (Gao hereafter) (US 20240259078 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 9, and 19 Matsumura- Dou teaches, The claims 1, 6, and 16
Matsumura- Dou fails to explicitly teach, wherein each data layer of the physical downlink shared channel PDSCH is configured to be transmitted using a pair of DMRS ports of the plurality of DMRS antenna ports with different TCI states
However, in the same field of endeavor Gao teaches, wherein each data layer of the physical downlink shared channel PDSCH is configured to be transmitted using a pair of DMRS ports of the plurality of DMRS antenna ports with different TCI states (Gao; [0057] the network device 110 may need to indicate the selected DMRS ports for the TRP 130-1 and the TCI state for the first DMRS group as well as the selected DMRS ports for the TRP 130-2 and the TCI state for the second DMRS group to the termina).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Matsumura-Dou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Gao in order to successfully receive DMRSs transmitted (Gao; [0052]).
Regarding claims 5, 10, and 20 Matsumura- Dou-Gao teaches, The claims 4, 9, and 19
Matsumura- Dou fails to explicitly teach, wherein a first DMRS port of the first set of DMRS antenna ports is paired with a corresponding second DMRS port of the second set of DMRS antenna ports for transmission of a corresponding data layer of the physical downlink shared channel PDSCH.
Gao further teaches, wherein a first DMRS port of the first set of DMRS antenna ports is paired with a corresponding second DMRS port of the second set of DMRS antenna ports for transmission of a corresponding data layer of the physical downlink shared channel PDSCH (Gao; [0046] grouping of the DMRS ports, for DMRS type 2 as defined in 3GPP specifications, up to 2 DMRS groups (DMRS group G1 and/or DMRS group G2) may be configured. For example, if two DMRS groups are configured, DMRS group G1 may include at least one DMRS port from DMRS ports {0,1,6,7, 4,5,10,11}, and DMRS group G2 may include at least one DMRS port from DMRS ports {2,3,8,9} … if two DMRS groups are configured, DMRS group G1 may include at least one DMRS port from DMRS ports {0,1,6,7,2,3,8,9}, and DMRS group G2 may include at least one DMRS port from DMRS ports {4,5,10,11}).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Matsumura- Dou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Gao in order to successfully receive DMRSs transmitted (Gao; [0052]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura- Dou as applied to claims 6 above, and further in view of Frenne et al. (Frenne hereafter) (US 20220039124 A1)
Regarding claim11 Muruganathan-Jiang teaches, The method of claim 6,
Matsumura- Dou fails to explicitly teach, wherein the first TCI state represents a type A quasi-colocation (QCL) and a type D QCL for frequency range 2 for a first transmission reception point, and the second TCI state represents a type A QCL and a type D QCL for frequency range 2 for a second transmission reception point.
However, in the same field of endeavor Frenne teaches, wherein the first TCI state represents a type A quasi-colocation (QCL) and a type D QCL for frequency range 2 for a first transmission reception point, and the second TCI state represents a type A QCL and a type D QCL for frequency range 2 for a second transmission reception point (Frenne; [0025] A TCI state may contain two reference signal (RSs), one for time/frequency QCL source (e.g. Type A) and one for spatial QCL source (Type D) … operating in FR1and FR2, [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Matsumura- Dou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Frenne in order to determine a PDSCH scheduling (Frenne; [0033]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura- Dou as applied to claims 6 above, and further in view of Matsumura et al. (Matsumura763 hereafter) (US 20230199763 A1).
Regarding claim15 Matsumura-Dou teaches, The method of claim 6,
Matsumura-Dou fails to explicitly teach, further comprising receiving an indication of DMRS ports used based on a first DMRS indication table having a first size, wherein the first size is smaller than a second size of a second DMRS indication table
However, in the same field of endeavor Matsumura763 teaches, receiving an indication of DMRS ports used based on a first DMRS indication table having a first size, wherein the first size is smaller than a second size of a second DMRS indication table (Matsumura763; [0143] Whether the UE supports a plurality of (for example, two) TCI states for the same DMRS port for PDSCH (for each layer). [UE Capability 2] [0144] The maximum number of TCI states for the same DMRS port for PDSCH (for each layer). The maximum number may be reported when the maximum number is larger than two).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Matsumura-Dou to include the above recited limitations as taught by Matsumura763 in order to configured and correspond to all DMRS ports for PDSCH reception. (Matsumura763; [0149]).
Conclusion
/W. T/Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416