DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
2. Applicants’ amendments with respect to claims filed on 08/11/2026 have been entered. Claims 1 and 3-12 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claims 8-12 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claim 2 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (Pub. No. JP 2015201388 A) in view of Du et al. (Pub. No. US 20210126242 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida teaches a positive electrode active material (positive electrode active material, see [0014]) for an all-solid-state battery (all solid secondary battery, see [0051] wherein the positive electrode active material is used in an all solid secondary battery), the positive electrode active material comprising (positive electrode active material, see [0014]): a core (core particle, see [0014]) containing a lithium metal oxide (lithium transition metal complex oxide, see [0014]); and a shell (covering layer, see [0014], the examiner would like to mention covering and coating layer in this application are one in the same for reference purposes) adsorbed onto a surface (surface of the core particle, see [0014] the covering layer is present on the surface not inside the material, therefore it is adsorbed) of the core (core particle, see [0014]) and containing niobium (Nb) (niobium, see [0014], see [0038] a specific example is coated in a niobium compound) and tungsten (W) (tungsten, see [0014], see [0037] gives specific example of coating with tungsten), and wherein niobium (Nb) (niobium, see [0014], see [0038] a specific example is coated in a niobium compound) and tungsten (W) (tungsten, see [0014], see [0037] gives specific example of coating with tungsten) are in the form of a mixture (see [0027] wherein the first material is coated, see [0032] wherein the niobium is coated after creating a layered mixture ) of niobium oxide particles (niobium oxide, see [0038] where an example shows niobium oxide was used) and tungsten oxide particles (tungsten oxide (VI), see [0028] wherein the element M can be an oxide form, see [0037] gives a specific example where tungsten oxide (VI) was used) or in the form of niobium tungsten oxide particles, but fails to teach wherein the lithium metal oxide is represented by the following Chemical Formula 1: Li.sub.x[Ni.sub.yCo.sub.zMn.sub.wM.sup.1.sub.v]O.sub.u [Chemical Formula 1] in Chemical Formula 1, M.sup.1 is one or more elements selected from the group consisting of W, Cu, Fe, V, Cr, Ti, Zr, Zn, Al, In, Ta, Y, La, Sr, Ga, Sc, Gd, Sm, Ca, Ce, Nb, Mg, B, and Mo, and x, y, z, w, v, and u satisfy 1.0≤x≤1.30, 0.7≤y≤0.95, z≤0.07, 0.01<w≤0.3, 0≤v≤0.1, and 1.5≤u≤4.5.
However, Du teaches wherein a lithium metal oxide (lithium-nickel transition metal oxide, see [0036]) is represented by the following Chemical Formula 1: Li.sub.x[Ni.sub.yCo.sub.zMn.sub.wM.sup.1.sub.v]O.sub.u (LiNi.sub.0.9Co.sub.0.05Mn.sub.0.05O.sub.2, see [0036] where the lithium-nickel transition metal oxide is LiNi.sub.0.9Co.sub.0.05Mn.sub.0.05O.sub.2) [Chemical Formula 1] in Chemical Formula 1, M.sup.1 (see below where v can be equal to zero, therefore M.sup.1 goes to zero) is one or more elements selected from the group consisting of W, Cu, Fe, V, Cr, Ti, Zr, Zn, Al, In, Ta, Y, La, Sr, Ga, Sc, Gd, Sm, Ca, Ce, Nb, Mg, B, and Mo, and x, y, z, w, v, and u satisfy 1.0≤x≤1.30 (1, see [0036]), 0.7≤y≤0.95 (0.9, see [0036]), z≤0.07 (0.05, see [0036]), 0.01<w≤0.3 (0.05, see [0036]), 0≤v≤0.1 (0, see [0036]), and 1.5≤u≤4.5 (2, see [0036]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoshida to substitute the lithium transition metal complex oxide as taught by Yoshida for the lithium-nickel transition metal oxide represented by formula LiNi.sub.0.9Co.sub.0.05Mn.sub.0.05O.sub.2 as taught by Du as an art effective equivalent lithium transition metal complex oxide to improve energy density of the battery (see [0036] of Du). Further Yoshida teaches that the core particle may be a known lithium transition metal complex oxide (see [0019]).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshida in view of Du teaches wherein the niobium (Nb) (niobium, see [0014], see [0038] a specific example is coated in a niobium compound) and tungsten (W) (tungsten, see [0014], see [0037] gives specific example of coating with tungsten) are contained in an amount of 0.01 to 5 wt % (2.77%, see math below) with respect to the total weight (100.2, see math below) of the positive electrode active material (positive electrode active material, see [0014]).
Math Calculations: Assuming 1 mol of core particle material, (see [0037] Tungsten is 0.5 mol%), (see [0038] niobium is 2 mol%), Nb = Niobium, W = Tungsten
Niobium/Tungsten Wt% = (wt of W + wt of Nb)/Total Weight *100 = (1.858+0.919)/100.2 *100 = 2.7%
Wt of W = mm of W*mol percent = 183.84*0.005 = 0.919 g
Wt of Nb = mm of Nb*mol percent = 92.906*0.02 = 1.858 g
Total Weight = Wt of Nb + Wt of W + Wt of Core = 1.858 + 0.919 + 97.455
Wt of Core = (molar ratio of each component)*(each components respective molar mass) = (1*mm of Li) + (0.9 * mm of Ni) + (0.05 * mm of Co) + (0.05 * mm of Mn) + (2 * mm of O) = 97.455 g/mol (assumed 1 mol so Wt of Core = 97.455 g).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshida in view of Du teaches wherein a content ratio (Nb/W) of the niobium (Nb) (niobium, see [0014], see [0038] a specific example is coated in a niobium compound) to the tungsten (W) (tungsten, see [0014], see [0037] gives specific example of coating with tungsten) is 0.1 to 3.0 (2.02, Wt of Nb/Wt of W = content ratio = 1.858 g/0.919 g = 2.02, see [0037] Tungsten is 0.5 mol%, see [0038] niobium is 2 mol%, calculating for 1 mol of core material: Wt of W = mm of W*mol percent = 183.84*0.005 = 0.919 g, Wt of Nb = mm of Nb*mol percent = 92.906*0.02 = 1.858 g).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshida in view of Du teaches wherein the shell (covering layer, see [0014]) is adsorbed onto 60% or more (100%, see [0027] 1st coating material covers whole surface, see [0032] covers whole surface of 1st coating material) of the total surface area (whole surface, see [0027] and [0032]) of the core (core particle, see [0014]). See 112 rejection above for interpretation.
5. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (Pub. No. JP 2015201388 A) in view of Du et al. (Pub. No. US 20210126242 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (Pub. No. WO 2021125869 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshida in view of Du teaches wherein the niobium (Nb) (niobium, see [0014], see [0038] a specific example is coated in a niobium compound) is contained at 2,500 ppm or more (18583 ppm, see calculations below) with respect to the total positive electrode active material (positive electrode active material, see [0014]), but fails to teach the tungsten (W) is contained at 6,000 ppm or less with respect to the total positive electrode active material.
Calculations: Assuming 1 mol of core particle material, (see [0037] Tungsten is 0.5 mol%), (see [0038] niobium is 2 mol%), Nb = Niobium, W = Tungsten
PPM of Nb = mass percent of Nb*1,000,000 = 0.018538*1000000 = 18528 ppm
Mass percent of Nb = Wt of Nb/Total Active Material Weight = 1.858/100.2 = 0.018583
Wt of W = mm of W*mol percent = 183.84*0.005 = 0.919 g
Wt of Nb = mm of Nb*mol percent = 92.906*0.02 = 1.858 g
Total Weight = Wt of Nb + Wt of W + Wt of Core = 1.858 + 0.919 + 97.455
Wt of Core = (molar ratio of each component)*(each components respective molar mass) = (1*mm of Li) + (0.9 * mm of Ni) + (0.05 * mm of Co) + (0.05 * mm of Mn) + (2 * mm of O) = 97.455 g/mol (assumed 1 mol so Wt of Core = 97.455 g).
However, Choi teaches the tungsten (W) (tungsten, see [0037]) is contained at 6,000 ppm or less (1000 ppm to 4000 ppm, see [0034]) with respect to the total positive electrode active material (entire cathode active material, see [0034]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoshida in view of Du such that tungsten is contained in 1000 to 4000 ppm with respect to the total positive electrode active material as Choi to reduce the initial resistance and improve high temperature lifespan characteristics.
6. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (Pub. No. JP 2015201388 A) in view of Du et al. (Pub. No. US 20210126242 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakayama et al. (Pub. No. US 20210288307 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshida in view of Du fails to teach wherein the positive electrode active material has an average particle size of 0.5 μm to 10 μm.
However, Nakayama teaches wherein the positive electrode active material (positive electrode active material, see [0038]) has an average particle size of 0.5 μm to 10 μm (1 μm to 10 μm, see [0038]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yoshida in view of Du such that the average particle size is between 1 μm and 10 μm as taught by Nakayama to ensure good contact with solid electrolyte, ensure utilization of lithium ions in active material, and prevent slurry viscosity increasing (see [0038] of Nakayama).
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Yoshida does not teach a mixture of niobium oxide particles and tungsten oxide particles and instead teaches two distinct coating layers. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Yoshida teaches that the coating/covering layers comprises two layers in which one layer has tungsten oxide and the other layer has niobium oxide. Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that the cover/coating layers is a heterogenous mixture of both tungsten oxide particles and niobium oxide particles. Further, the examiner would like to note that amended claim 1 does not require a homogeneous mixture of tungsten oxide particles and niobium oxide particles as seemingly applicant is arguing. In addition, the examiner would like to note that, “mixture” is defined by thefreedictionary as “a composition of two or more substances that are not chemically combined with each other and are capable of being separated” and the coating/covering layer taught by Yoshida is a coating composition of two substances, tungsten oxide particles and niobium oxide particles, that are not chemically combined with each other and are capable of being separated. i Therefore the covering/coating layer is a mixture of tungsten oxide particles and niobium oxide particles.
*Definition provided by thefreedictionary (thefreedictionary.com, 2016) as “a composition of two or more substances that are not chemically combined with each other and are capable of being separated”.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723