DETAILED ACTION
In response to remarks filed on 14 August 2026
Status of Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending;
Claims 1-19 were previously presented;
Claim 20 is new;
Claims 1-20 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 14 August 2026 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive. As indicated before, the broad claim language and the lack of specific structure regarding the protrusions and depressions allow the prior art to be interpreted broadly. Regarding claim 1, the preamble stating a “flexible strip” does not mean that every element in the body of the claim is a flexible strip due to the use of the word “comprising”. The claim does not state that the reinforcement elements are flexible. “Reinforcement” is also a broad term and because Singleton refers to another element as “reinforcement” it does not mean that the elements examiner interpreted as reinforcement elements are not. The elements interpreted as reinforcement serve as reinforcements since they permit the strip body to adopt a position. The claim also does not state that the protrusions are made of flexible strips nor that they are “flexible” but rather states the protrusions are “located”. Regarding claim 9, examiner contends that the method steps are capable of being performed with the structure disclosed by Yamada. If claim 9 were to incorporate the newly presented limitations from claim 20, it would become allowable. Claim 20 would be allowable pending the resolution of the 112 issue presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 19, the claim recites “a plurality of first embossment projections extending longitudinally” “a plurality of second embossment projections extending longitudinally”. One of the plurality of projections should not be “longitudinally” since they intersect with the other plurality of projections and instead should be “transversally” or “generally transversally”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 14 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Singleton (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0133900).
As to Claim 1, Singleton discloses a flexible strip of polymeric material for producing a three-dimensional cellular structure, comprising:
A strip body having a surface (Surface of 10) and being comprised of protrusions (Annotated figure A, “protrusion”; 20 and 60 grouped together) located on said surface, and depressions (Annotated figure A, “depression”; Elements of sheet 12 between protrusions 20/60) alternating with said protrusions along said surface (There are three protrusions and three depressions alternatingly placed as per annotated figure A); and
Reinforcing elements (Annotated figure A, “reinforcement”) being arranged in contact with said surface,
Wherein said reinforcing elements (Annotated figure A, “reinforcement”) are in alternating contact with respective depressions and corresponding protrusions (The surface of the reinforcement contacts a protrusion 20/60, then a depression between protrusions, then another protrusion 20/60, then another depression and so on which is an alternating contact), and
Wherein said reinforcing elements (Annotated figure A, “reinforcement”) are embedded into (The reinforcements are embedded -i.e. enclosed and fixed by protrusions 20/60) and fixed by respective protrusions (Annotated figure A, “protrusion”; 20 and 60 grouped together).
Figure A. Cross section of strip (Singleton)
As to Claim 5, Singleton discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Singleton also discloses further comprising oval through holes (Paragraph 0075: “The reinforced silt retention fabric generally may have a maximum apparent opening size”).
As to Claim 7, Singleton discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Singleton also discloses being comprised of high density polyethylene (HDPE), or linear low density polyethylene (LLDPE), or a mixture of high density polyethylene (HDPE) and linear low density polyethylene (LLDPE) as the polymeric material (Paragraph 0046: “Typical thermoplastic polymers that may be suitable for use with the present invention include, but are not limited to, polyolefins, e.g. polyethylene, polypropylene, polybutylene, and copolymers thereof; polytetrafluoroethylene; polyesters, e.g. polyethylene terephthalate; vinyl polymers, e.g., polyvinyl chloride, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinylidene chloride, polyvinyl acetate, polyvinyl chloride acetate, polyvinyl butyral; acrylic resins, e.g. polyacrylate, polymethylacrylate, and polymethylmethacrylate; polyamides, e.g., nylon 6,6; polystyrenes; polyurethanes; cellulosic resins, e.g., cellulosic nitrate, cellulosic acetate, cellulosic acetate butyrate, ethyl cellulose; copolymers of any of the above materials; or any blend or combination thereof").
As to Claim 8, Singleton discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Singleton also discloses being comprised of polypropylene (PP) or propylene homopolymer (PP HO) or metallocene polypropylene (MPP) or random propylene copolymer (PPCP) as the polymeric material (Paragraph 0046: “Typical thermoplastic polymers that may be suitable for use with the present invention include, but are not limited to, polyolefins, e.g. polyethylene, polypropylene, polybutylene, and copolymers thereof; polytetrafluoroethylene; polyesters, e.g. polyethylene terephthalate; vinyl polymers, e.g., polyvinyl chloride, polyvinyl alcohol, polyvinylidene chloride, polyvinyl acetate, polyvinyl chloride acetate, polyvinyl butyral; acrylic resins, e.g. polyacrylate, polymethylacrylate, and polymethylmethacrylate; polyamides, e.g., nylon 6,6; polystyrenes; polyurethanes; cellulosic resins, e.g., cellulosic nitrate, cellulosic acetate, cellulosic acetate butyrate, ethyl cellulose; copolymers of any of the above materials; or any blend or combination thereof").
As to Claim 14, Singleton discloses a three-dimensional cellular structure comprising:
Flexible polymeric strips (10), each strip of the flexible polymeric strings according to claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion),
The strips (10) being arranged in rows connected therebetween in a staggered order along their length and stretched in a direction normal to their respective surfaces, wherein each of the reinforcing elements (6; Annotated figure A, “reinforcement”) of a respective flexible polymeric strip (10) are placed so as to contact a corresponding surface (Annotated figure A, “surface”) of a corresponding strip body and are embedded in corresponding protrusions (Annotated figure A, “protrusion”; 20 and 60 grouped together) located on the corresponding surface of the corresponding strip body at intersections of the corresponding protrusions and each of the reinforcing elements.
As to Claim 16, Singleton discloses the invention of Claim 14 (Refer to Claim 14 discussion). Singleton also discloses further comprising oval through holes (Paragraph 0075: “The reinforced silt retention fabric generally may have a maximum apparent opening size”) for quick mounting with the use of a key-type fastener, the holes being located in zones of connecting the strips, having an elongated shape extending in the direction of reinforcement and being provided in the interval between the reinforcing elements.
As to Claim 17, Singleton discloses the invention of Claim 14 (Refer to Claim 14 discussion). Singleton also discloses wherein at least one flexible polymeric strip comprises oval through holes (Paragraph 0075: “The reinforced silt retention fabric generally may have a maximum apparent opening size”) for quick mounting with the use of a key-type fastener, the holes being located near end regions of the at least one flexible polymeric strip and extended transversely.
As to Claim 18, Singleton discloses the invention of Claim 14 (Refer to Claim 14 discussion). Singleton also discloses wherein at least one flexible polymeric strip comprises oval through holes (Paragraph 0075: “The reinforced silt retention fabric generally may have a maximum apparent opening size”) for quick mounting with the use of a key-type fastener, the holes being located near end regions of the at least one flexible polymeric strip and extended longitudinally.
As to Claim 19, Singleton discloses the invention of Claim 14 (Refer to Claim 14 discussion). Singleton also discloses being a spatial geogrid (Figure 2).
Claims 9, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al (U.S. Patent No. 6,343,895).
As to Claim 9, Yamada discloses a method for producing a flexible strip of a polymeric material for production of a three-dimensional cellular structure, wherein the strip (3a, 3b) comprises a strip body having a surface (Annotated figure B, “surface”), depressions (Annotated figure B, “depression”) on said surface and protrusions (Annotated figure B, “protrusion”) on said surface, and reinforcing elements arranged in contact with said surface, the method comprising the steps of (The method steps are capable of being performed with the structure disclosed by Yamada):
Extruding (Column 4, Lines 28-32: “The drawn product of high density polyethylene is obtained by zone drawing, roll drawing, high pressure extrusion, high frequency hot drawing, gel drawing, or melting crystallization, and is expected as a material having a high strength and a high elastic modulus”) a polymeric material to produce a preform having a preform surface,
Laying the reinforcing elements (6; Annotated figure B, “reinforcement”) on the preform surface,
Processing the preform in rolls for forming the depressions and protrusions on the preform surface (Column 4, Lines 28-32: “The drawn product of high density polyethylene is obtained by zone drawing, roll drawing, high pressure extrusion, high frequency hot drawing, gel drawing, or melting crystallization, and is expected as a material having a high strength and a high elastic modulus”), and
Cutting (It is inherent that the sheet has to be cut to produce individual sheets) the preform into strips (3a, 3b),
Wherein, when the preform is processed in the rolls (Column 4, Lines 28-32: “The drawn product of high density polyethylene is obtained by zone drawing, roll drawing, high pressure extrusion, high frequency hot drawing, gel drawing, or melting crystallization, and is expected as a material having a high strength and a high elastic modulus”) in the step of forming the depressions and protrusions, the reinforcing elements are additionally embedded said protrusions at intersections of the corresponding protrusions and the reinforcing elements (figure 3 shows that each reinforcement element is made of portions embedded into respective protrusions at intersections between protrusions and reinforcement elements. Annotated figure B shows a reinforcement element made of portions).
As to Claim 11, Yamada discloses the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). Yamada also discloses wherein the preform is perforated to produce oval through holes (5).
As to Claim 13, Yamada discloses the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). Yamada also discloses wherein before laying the reinforcing elements (6) on the preform surface (Surface of 3a, 3b), the reinforcing elements (6) are impregnated with an adhesive formulation and/or a formulation that increases their resistance to adverse natural conditions (It is inherent that 6 has to be adhered to 3a. 3b so it does not separate).
Figure B. Strip (Yamada)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singleton (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0133900) alone.
As to Claim 2, Singleton discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Singleton also discloses wherein the protrusions (Annotated figure A, “protrusion”) located on the surface of the strip body (10) form a regular relief in the form of embossment, wherein the reinforcing elements (Annotated figure A, “reinforcement”) are arranged longitudinally. Singleton also discloses that the reinforcement elements “typically are wooden or metal, but can be formed from of any other resilient, durable material capable of supporting the web” as per Paragraph 0063. However, Singleton is silent about the reinforcing elements being and comprised of reinforcing threads and is silent about a height of an embossment protrusion, a thickness of the reinforcing thread, and a thickness of the flexible strip being preferably related therebetween by the following ratio 0.01 ≤ (a + c) / d ≤ 4; a - height of the embossment protrusions, a = 0.01-2 mm, c - thickness of the reinforcing thread, c = 0.01-2 mm, d - thickness of the flexible strip, d = 1-2 mm. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the reinforcing elements comprise reinforcing threads and also have the height of an embossment protrusion, a thickness of the reinforcing thread, and a thickness of the flexible strip being preferably related therebetween by the following ratio 0.01 ≤ (a + c) / d ≤ 4; a - height of the embossment protrusions, a = 0.01-2 mm, c - thickness of the reinforcing thread, c = 0.01-2 mm, d - thickness of the flexible strip, d = 1-2 mm since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. A change in size or material is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art.
As to Claim 3, Singleton as modified teaches the invention of Claim 2 (Refer to Claim 2 discussion). However, Singleton as modified is silent about the reinforcing threads having a fleecy surface, and are selected from the group consisting of lavsan textured threads, cord threads, polyester threads, polyamide threads, polypropylene threads, polyethylene threads, viscose threads, polyester lavsan-staple threads, or said threads combined with composite materials. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the reinforcing threads have a fleecy surface, and selected from the group consisting of lavsan textured threads, cord threads, polyester threads, polyamide threads, polypropylene threads, polyethylene threads, viscose threads, polyester lavsan-staple threads, or said threads combined with composite materials since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
As to Claim 4, Singleton as modified teaches the invention of Claim 2 (Refer to Claim 2 discussion). However, Singleton as modified is silent about having a strength by the following ratio 0.05 ≤ R x (h/b) ≤ 12, where: R - strength of the flexible strip under tension at maximum load, kN/m, b – reinforcement step, b ≥ 0.002 m, d - thickness of the flexible strip, d = 0.001-0.002 m, h - width of the flexible strip, h = 0.05-0.3 m. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a strength of the flexible strip and its reinforcement step are related therebetween by the following ratio 0.05 ≤ R x (h/b) ≤ 12, where: R - strength of the flexible strip under tension at maximum load, kN/m, b – reinforcement step, b ≥ 0.002 m, d - thickness of the flexible strip, d = 0.001-0.002 m, h - width of the flexible strip, h = 0.05-0.3 m since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art.
As to Claim 6, Singleton discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Singleton also discloses further comprising round through drain holes (Paragraph 0075: “The reinforced silt retention fabric generally may have a maximum apparent opening size”). However, Singleton is silent about the drain holes having a diameter from 6 to 13 mm, and a total perforation area being from 3 to 25% for every 150 to 250 mm of a length of the strip. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the drain holes having of a diameter from 6 to 13 mm, and a total perforation area being from 3 to 25% for every 150 to 250 mm of a length of the strip such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art.
As to Claim 15, Singleton discloses the invention of Claim 14 (Refer to Claim 14 discussion). Singleton also discloses wherein the flexible polymeric strips are provided with round through drain holes (Paragraph 0075: “The reinforced silt retention fabric generally may have a maximum apparent opening size”) arranged longitudinally in rows between the reinforcing elements, with the exception of zones where the strips are connected. However, Singleton is silent about the drain holes having a diameter from 6 to 13 mm, and a total perforation area being from 3 to 25% for every 150 to 250 mm of a length of the strip. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the drain holes having of a diameter from 6 to 13 mm, and a total perforation area being from 3 to 25% for every 150 to 250 mm of a length of the strip such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al (U.S. Patent No. 6,343,895) alone.
As to Claim 10, Yamada discloses the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). Yamada also discloses wherein, when the preform is processed in the rolls, the protrusions (Annotated figure B, “protrusion”) on the surface of the strip body are formed by providing a regular relief in the form of embossment; wherein the reinforcing elements (6; Annotated figure B, “reinforcement”) are arranged longitudinally; and wherein reinforcing threads (Column 5, Lines 66-67: “Each bar-like body (projecting portion) 6 made from nylon”) comprised of high-strength fibers, the fibers being twisted synthetic threads with a fleecy surface, are used as the reinforcing elements. However, Yamada is silent about a height of an embossment protrusion, a thickness of the reinforcing thread, and a thickness of the flexible strip being preferably related therebetween by the ratio 0.01 ≤ (a + c) / d ≤ 4; a - height of the embossment protrusions, a = 0.01-2 mm, c - thickness of the reinforcing thread, c = 0.01-2 mm, d - thickness of the flexible strip, d = 1-2 mm. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the height of an embossment protrusion, a thickness of the reinforcing thread, and a thickness of the flexible strip being preferably related therebetween by the following ratio 0.01 ≤ (a + c) / d ≤ 4; a - height of the embossment protrusions, a = 0.01-2 mm, c - thickness of the reinforcing thread, c = 0.01-2 mm, d - thickness of the flexible strip, d = 1-2 mm since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art.
As to Claim 12, Yamada discloses the invention of Claim 9 (Refer to Claim 9 discussion). Yamada also discloses wherein, before cutting into strips, the preform is perforated to produce round through drain holes (5). However, Yamada is silent about the drain holes having a diameter from 6 to 13 mm, and a total perforation area being from 3 to 25% for every 150 to 250 mm of a length of the strip. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the drain holes having of a diameter from 6 to 13 mm, and a total perforation area being from 3 to 25% for every 150 to 250 mm of a length of the strip such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action. If Claim 9 were to incorporate the newly presented limitations from Claim 20 amended to overcome the 112 rejection, it would also become allowable.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678