DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action in response to the Amendment received on 3 December 2025. Claims 1-10 have been previously cancelled. Claims 11-30 have been amended. Claims 11-30 remain pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 3 December 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 11-30 under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the present application does not describe an obvious mathematical fact, Examiner disagrees. As drafted, the limitations “setting a limit value correlated with available power set for each of the consumers for a specific time period, wherein the processor sets the limit value such that when the predicted value of each of the plurality of consumers for the specific time period is relatively small, a value obtained by dividing the limit value by the predicted value is larger than when the predicted value is relatively large” are mathematical concepts. Mathematical concepts cover mathematical relationships and mathematical formulas or equations. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because claims are directed to abstract ideas of mathematical concepts without significantly more.
Applicant's arguments, filed 3 December 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 11 and 30 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Koji fails to disclose, teach, and/or suggest each and every limitation of the claims, Examiner disagrees. Koji discloses system supervisory control means for determining whether or not it is required to adjust electric energy used by users, and calculating the adjustment amount of the electric energy used if it is required to adjust electric energy used, and control means for controlling adjustment of the electric energy used by a plurality of users on the basis of the adjustment amount of the electric energy used thus calculated. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Claim Interpretation
The amendments to the claims were received on 3 December 2025. These corrections are acceptable. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendments to the claims were received on 3 December 2025. These corrections are acceptable. The previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is withdrawn.
Claims 11-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “relatively small” and “relatively large” in claims 11-13 and 30 are relative terms which render the claims indefinite. The terms “relatively small” and “relatively large” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The terms “relatively small” and “relatively large” do not appear to be defined by the claim or specification, and are relative terms where it is impossible to determine the metes and bounds of the claims. It is unclear how “small” or “large” a value must be to be considered “relatively small” or “relatively large” in the context of the claims, and are therefore indefinite. Similarly, claim 12 states that “the predicted value becomes large”, which is indefinite as it is unclear how big a value must be to be considered “large”.
Dependent claims do not perfect the deficiencies of the independent claim and are, therefore, rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-30 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s), in part, acquiring a predicted value of power usage for each of the plurality of consumers; setting a limit value correlated with available power set for each of the consumers for a specific time period, wherein the processor sets the limit value such that when the predicted value of each of the plurality of consumers for the specific time period is relatively small, a value obtained by dividing the limit value by the predicted value is larger than when the predicted value is relatively large. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because claims are directed to abstract ideas of concepts performed in the human mind (mental process -- acquiring a predicted value of power usage for each of the plurality of consumers) and mathematical concepts (setting a limit value correlated with available power set for each of the consumers for a specific time period, wherein the processor sets the limit value such that when the predicted value of each of the plurality of consumers for the specific time period is relatively small, a value obtained by dividing the limit value by the predicted value is larger than when the predicted value is relatively large). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because claims are directed to abstract ideas and extra-solution activities that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as mere data gathering, insignificant application, and/or mere instructions to apply a judicial exception.
The following is an analysis based on 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG).
Step 1, Statutory Category?
Claims 11-29 are directed to a power control system.
Claim 30 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium.
Claims 11-30 are directed to at least one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A, Prong One, Judicial Exception Recited?
Claims 11-30 remain directed to abstract ideas of concepts performed in the human mind (mental process -- acquiring a predicted value of power usage for each of the plurality of consumers) and mathematical concepts (setting a limit value correlated with available power set for each of the consumers for a specific time period, wherein the processor sets the limit value such that when the predicted value of each of the plurality of consumers for the specific time period is relatively small, a value obtained by dividing the limit value by the predicted value is larger than when the predicted value is relatively large) given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
As per claim 11 and 30, these claims similarly recite the limitations of “acquiring a predicted value of power usage for each of the plurality of consumers and setting a limit value correlated with available power set for each of the consumers for a specific time period, wherein the processor sets the limit value such that when the predicted value of each of the plurality of consumers for the specific time period is relatively small, a value obtained by dividing the limit value by the predicted value is larger than when the predicted value is relatively large.” As drafted, these limitations encompass mathematical concepts and concepts performed in the human mind. Mathematical concepts cover mathematical relationships and mathematical formulas or equations.
As per claims 12, 14-19, these claims similarly recite the limitations of “the processor sets the limit value.” As drafted, these limitations encompass mathematical concepts and concepts performed in the human mind. Mathematical concepts cover mathematical relationships and mathematical formulas or equations.
As per claim 13, this claim recites the limitation of “the processor corrects the limit value.” As drafted, these limitations encompass mathematical concepts. Mathematical concepts cover mathematical relationships and mathematical formulas or equations.
As per claim 20, this claim recites the limitation of “the processor sets the lower limit.” As drafted, these limitations encompass mathematical concepts and concepts performed in the human mind. Mathematical concepts cover mathematical relationships and mathematical formulas or equations.
As per claims 21-29, these claims similarly recite the limitations of “the processor sets, for one or more consumers included in the group, the limit value.” As drafted, these limitations encompass mathematical concepts and concepts performed in the human mind. Mathematical concepts cover mathematical relationships and mathematical formulas or equations.
Claims 11-30 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim(s) 11-30 are directed to abstract ideas (mathematical concepts and concepts performed in the human mind).
Step 2A, Prong Two, Integrated into a Practical Application?
The claims recite the following additional limitations:
As per claim 11, this claim similarly recites the limitation of “a processor and a memory.”
As per claim 30, this claim similarly recites the limitation of “a computer.”
As drafted, these limitations encompass no more than mere instructions to apply an exception. Claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements recite mere instructions to apply an exception and do not provide integration into a practical application because they do no more than merely invoke computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process. The additional claim limitations, claim elements together and claims in their entirety do not provide integration into a practical application. The additional claim limitations, claim elements together and claims in their entirety do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The concept described in the claim(s) is not meaningfully different than those concepts found by the courts to be abstract ideas. As such, the description in the claims describes the concept identified as an abstract idea (data gathering, data outputting and data transmission). The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they do not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception.
Claims 11-30 do not integrate the recited abstract ideas into a practical application.
Step 2B, Inventive Concept (Significantly More)?
When considered both individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements and elements of claims 11-30 do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons discussed above as to why the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application. The additional elements of outlined in Step 2A performing functions as designed simply accomplish execution of the abstract ideas. The additional limitations identified as no more than mere instructions to apply an exception above are carried over and they also do not provide significantly more.
As per claims 11-30, these claims similarly recite the limitations of “acquiring a predicted value of power usage for each of the plurality of consumers and setting a limit value correlated with available power set for each of the consumers for a specific time period.” As drafted, these limitations encompass no more than mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination and the claims as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Hence, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 11-30 are therefore drawn to ineligible subject matter as they are directed to abstract ideas without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 and 30 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by JP 2013247691 A to KOJI et al.
As per claim 11, the KOJI et al. reference discloses a power control system for performing power control such that a target value set for a group including a plurality of consumers is not exceeded, the system comprising: a processor (see FIG. 1, “system monitoring and control device 6”); a memory (see FIG. 3 and page 4, “storage device 60”) to store a program (see page 6, “adjustment execution determination table”) which, when executed by the processor (see FIG. 1, “system monitoring control device 6”), the processor (see FIG. 1, “system monitoring control device 6”) performs processes of: acquiring a predicted value of power usage (see page 5, “total demand prediction unit 62”) for each of the plurality of consumers (see page 7, “each of the consumers 41 to 4m”); and setting a limit value (see page 3, “supplyable upper limit values”) correlated with available power set (“distributed power sources 31 to 3n”) for each of the consumers (“each of the consumers 41 to 4m”) for a specific time period (see page 3, “several tens of minutes ahead or several hours ahead”), wherein the processor (“system monitoring and control device 6”) sets the limit value (“supplyable upper limit values”) such that when the predicted value (see page 5, “future total demand prediction value”) of each of the plurality of consumers (“each of the consumers 41 to 4m”) for the specific time period (“several tens of minutes ahead or several hours ahead”) is relatively small (see page 6, “<threshold value a”), a value (see page 6, “the relationship between the threshold value a and the threshold value b”) obtained by dividing the limit value by the predicted value is larger than when the predicted value is relatively large (see page 6, “≧ threshold value a, ≧ threshold value b”).
As per claim 30, the KOJI et al. reference discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for causing a computer that controls a system for performing power control such that a target value set for a group including a plurality of consumers is not exceeded, to perform: acquiring a predicted value of power usage (see page 5, “total demand prediction unit 62”) for each of the plurality of consumers (see page 7, “each of the consumers 41 to 4m”); and setting a limit value (see page 3, “supplyable upper limit values”) correlated with available power set (“distributed power sources 31 to 3n”) for each of the consumers (“each of the consumers 41 to 4m”) for a specific time period (see page 3, “several tens of minutes ahead or several hours ahead”), wherein in the setting, the computer (see FIG. 1, “system monitoring control device 6”) is caused to set the limit value (“supplyable upper limit values”) such that when the predicted value (see page 5, “future total demand prediction value”) of each of the plurality of consumers (“each of the consumers 41 to 4m”) for the specific time period (“several tens of minutes ahead or several hours ahead”) is relatively small (see page 6, “<threshold value a”), a value (see page 6, “the relationship between the threshold value a and the threshold value b”) obtained by dividing the limit value by the predicted value is larger than when the predicted value is relatively large (see page 6, “≧ threshold value a, ≧ threshold value b”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to performing power control not exceed contract power:
US 10205320 B2 to Nakayama
US 10103550 B2 to Nakayama et al.
US 10042332 B2 to Saito et al.
JP 2015530070 A
WO 2013179459 A1 to UMAMOTO
WO 2013121700 A1 to MATSUSHITA et al.
CN 102522754 A to OUCHI et al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CRYSTAL J BARNES-BULLOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117 9 February 2026