DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 2/27/2026, claims 1- 29 were cancelled and claims 30- 32, 34, 37- 38, 40, 43- 46 and 49 are amended. Claims 30- 49 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 2/27/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has changed all independent claims by adding new limitations hence examiner believes that the scope has been changed. Therefor examiner has considered new reference Latheef et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0276471 A1), hereafter Fasil.
Double Patenting
Claims 30 and 49 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 30- 32, 40 of U.S. Patent No. 12464545 in view of Latheef et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0276471 A1), hereafter Fasil.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because please see table below:
Current APP# 18028623
US Pat. No. 12464545
30. A method of enhancing a scheduling process for multicast broadcast services (MBS), comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), via a physical downlink shared channel (PDCSH), one or more configuration messages for the MBS services, the one or more configuration messages comprising:
discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters associated with a first MBS service; and
semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration parameters associated with a second MBS service;
receiving, by the UE, first multicast broadcast data associated with the first MBS service, based on scheduling information determined by monitoring a control channel using the DRX configuration parameters; and
receiving, by the UE, second multicast broadcast data, associated with the second MBS service, based on the SPS configuration parameters,
wherein the control channel is associated with a common sub-band for MBS, the common sub-band being configured for a bandwidth part(BWP) configured for the UE.
30. A method of enhancing a scheduling process for multicast broadcast service (MBS) services, comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE), one or more configuration messages for the MBS services via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the one or more configuration messages comprising: discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters associated with a first MBS service; and semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration parameters associated with a second MBS service; receiving, by the UE, first multicast broadcast data associated with the first MBS service based on scheduling information determined by monitoring a control channel using the DRX configuration parameters; and receiving, by the UE, second multicast broadcast data associated with the second MBS service based on the SPS configuration parameters, wherein the SPS configuration parameters comprise an offset parameter indicating an offset of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, and wherein receiving, by the UE, second multicast broadcast data comprises receiving the second multicast broadcast data based on the offset parameter.
31. The method of claim 30, wherein receiving second multicast broadcast data associated with the second MBS service based on the SPS configuration parameters comprises determining radio resources for the second MBS service in response to receiving the SPS configuration parameters and without receiving an activation signaling for the SPS configuration parameters.
32. The method of claim 30, wherein receiving second multicast broadcast data associated with the second MBS service based on the SPS configuration parameters comprises determining radio resources for the second MBS service in response to receiving the SPS configuration parameters and receiving an activation signaling for the SPS configuration parameters.
49. An apparatus for utilization in wireless communications comprising:
an antenna for use in transmission of electromagnetic signals;
a memory for maintaining computer-readable code; and
a processor for executing the computer-readable code that causes the apparatus to:
receive, via a physical downlink shared channel (PDCSH), one or more configuration messages for the MBS services, the one or more configuration messages comprising:
discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters associated with a first MBS service; and
semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration parameters associated with a second MBS service;
receive first multicast broadcast data associated with the first MBS service, based on scheduling information determined by monitoring a control channel using the DRX configuration parameters; and
receive second multicast broadcast data, associated with the second MBS service, based on the SPS configuration parameters,
wherein the control channel is associated with a common sub-band for MBS, the common sub-band being configured for a bandwidth part(BWP) configured for the UE.
40. An apparatus for utilization in wireless communications comprising: an antenna for use in transmission of electromagnetic signals; a memory for maintaining computer-readable code; and
a processor for executing the computer-readable code that causes the apparatus to:
receive one or more configuration message for multicast broadcast services (MBS) services via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the one or more configuration message comprising discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters associated with a first MBS service and semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration parameters associated with a second MBS service;
receive first multicast broadcast data associated with the first MBS service based on scheduling information determined by monitoring a control channel using the DRX configuration parameters; and
receive second multicast broadcast data associated with the second MBS service based on the SPS configuration parameters,
wherein the SPS configuration parameters comprise an offset parameter indicating an offset of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, and
wherein receiving the second multicast broadcast data comprises receiving the second multicast broadcast data based on the offset parameter.
30. A method of enhancing a scheduling process for multicast broadcast service (MBS) services, comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE), one or more configuration messages for the MBS services via a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the one or more configuration messages comprising: discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters associated with a first MBS service; and semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration parameters associated with a second MBS service; receiving, by the UE, first multicast broadcast data associated with the first MBS service based on scheduling information determined by monitoring a control channel using the DRX configuration parameters; and receiving, by the UE, second multicast broadcast data associated with the second MBS service based on the SPS configuration parameters, wherein the SPS configuration parameters comprise an offset parameter indicating an offset of a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process, and wherein receiving, by the UE, second multicast broadcast data comprises receiving the second multicast broadcast data based on the offset parameter.
31. The method of claim 30, wherein receiving second multicast broadcast data associated with the second MBS service based on the SPS configuration parameters comprises determining radio resources for the second MBS service in response to receiving the SPS configuration parameters and without receiving an activation signaling for the SPS configuration parameters.
32. The method of claim 30, wherein receiving second multicast broadcast data associated with the second MBS service based on the SPS configuration parameters comprises determining radio resources for the second MBS service in response to receiving the SPS configuration parameters and receiving an activation signaling for the SPS configuration parameters.
Here U.S. Patent No. 12464545 is silent regarding amended limitations, “wherein the control channel is associated with a common sub-band for MBS, the common sub-band being configured for a bandwidth part(BWP) configured for the UE”; however Fasil teaches wherein the control channel is associated with a common sub-band for MBS, the common sub-band being configured for a bandwidth part(BWP) configured for the UE; see in context with just discussed above regarding MCCH; now refer to [0041].. the one or more MCCHs may have different configuration parameters such as, but are not limited to, a repetition period, a modification period, a first slot, a duration, a Bandwidth Part (BWP), a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) (i.e. common sub-band), Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configurations, a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI), a beamforming configuration, a modulation and coding scheme, and so on; further refer to [0054].. BS 102 divides a transmission frequency resource of the one or more MBS services into at least one of, a plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) and Common Frequency Resources (CFRs); further see [0055].. BS 102 provides the one or more MBS services to the UE 104 using at least one of, the plurality of BWPs and the CFRs. The one or more MBS services may be supported per carrier or per BWP. In an embodiment, the BS 102 provides the same MBS service supported by the one or more BWPs/CRFs to the UE 104. Alternatively, the BS 102 provides the different MBS services supported by the plurality of different BWPs to the UE 104. In another embodiment, the BS 102 dynamically allocates Physical Resource Blocks over at least one of, a BWP from the plurality of BWPs, and a CFR from the plurality of CFRs to provide the one or more MBS services to the UE 104 at each scheduling occasion using a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH). The BS 102 allocates the PRBs on the PDSCH; further see [0056].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Fasil with the teachings of U.S. Patent No. 12464545 to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the control channel is associated with a common sub-band for MBS, the common sub-band being configured for a bandwidth part(BWP) configured for the UE; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 30- 32, 37, 43- 44, 47- 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Latheef et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0276471 A1), hereafter Fasil.
Regarding claim 30, Fasil teaches a method of enhancing a scheduling process for multicast broadcast service (MBS) services (see Title managing MBS services), comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), via a physical downlink shared channel (PDCSH), one or more configuration messages for the MBS services, the one or more configuration messages comprising (see [0055].. the BS 102 dynamically allocates Physical Resource Blocks over at least one of, a BWP from the plurality of BWPs, and a CFR from the plurality of CFRs to provide the one or more MBS services to the UE 104 (i.e. user equipment) at each scheduling occasion using a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH). The BS 102 allocates the PRBs on the PDSCH; further see [0063]… Further, the BS 102 configures the UE 104 with a configuration of the SPS MBS services (referred hereinafter as SPS MBS services configuration) through at least one of an RRC reconfiguration message and the MCCH message. The SPS MBS services configuration may include at least one of, but is not limited to periodicity, a number of Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARM) processes, a PDSCH aggregation factor which is the number of repetitions of SPS MBS PDSCH, a BWP, a G-CS-RNTI, a modulation and coding scheme table, and so on. The SPS MBS configuration may be indicated with an index, for example, an MBS-SPS-ConfigIndex. The UE 104 determines the specific SPS MBS service from the corresponding G-CS-RNTI; further see [0068] the BS 102 may use the SPS scheduling of the one or more MBS services in conjunction with the DRX configurations of the one or more MBS services, which further reduces load on the PDCCH. In another example, the SPS MBS services (i.e., the SPS scheduled MBS services) may be activated and deactivated through the PDCCH. When the SPS MBS service is activated, the UE 104 stores a downlink assignment as a configured downlink assignment. While, when the SPS MBS service is deactivated, the UE 104 clears the configured downlink assignment and/or indicate an acknowledgement to the BS 102):
discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters associated with a first MBS service (in context with just discussed above in [0062]; pls refer to [0063].. further provide the DRX configurations to the UE 104 over the one or more MCCHs. The DRX configurations depict a DRX cycle for the UE 104, which depicts an ON duration and an OFF duration of the UE 104 for receiving the one or more MBS services. The DRX configurations provide flexibility for the BS 102 to schedule the MBS services/sessions (i.e. first MBS service) during any Transmission Time Interval (TTI) or a slot within an ON duration of the corresponding DRX cycle.); and
semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration parameters associated with a second MBS service (already discussed above in [0062].. a configuration of the SPS MBS services (referred hereinafter as SPS MBS services configuration)..; further see [0067] …. the BS 102 may use the SPS for scheduling of the one or more MBS services. In an example, the BS 102 may provide the SPS for the scheduling of example MBS services like IoT applications, which may be periodic and light in nature for the data traffic. In an embodiment, the MBS specific SPS on the PDSCH is supported for the scheduling of the multicast services (i.e. second MBS service).);
receiving, by the UE, first multicast broadcast data associated with the first MBS service, based on scheduling information determined by monitoring a control channel using the DRX configuration parameters (in context with [0062]; pls refer to [0063].. further provide the DRX configurations to the UE 104 over the one or more MCCHs (i.e. control channel here). The DRX configurations depict a DRX cycle for the UE 104, which depicts an ON duration and an OFF duration of the UE 104 for receiving the one or more MBS services. The DRX configurations provide flexibility for the BS 102 to schedule the MBS services/sessions (i.e. first MBS service) during any Transmission Time Interval (TTI) or a slot within an ON duration of the corresponding DRX cycle.); and
receiving, by the UE, second multicast broadcast data, associated with the second MBS service, based on the SPS configuration parameters (see [0062]…The UE 104 identifies the group scheduling configured for each group using the identifier. In an example, a number of SPS MBS services (i.e., the MBS services scheduled with the SPS); further see [0067] the BS 102 may use the SPS for scheduling of the one or more MBS services. In an example, the BS 102 may provide the SPS for the scheduling of example MBS services like IoT applications, which may be periodic and light in nature for the data traffic. In an embodiment, the MBS specific SPS on the PDSCH is supported for the scheduling of the multicast services; further see [0068].),
wherein the control channel is associated with a common sub-band for MBS, the common sub-band being configured for a bandwidth part(BWP) configured for the UE (in context with just discussed above regarding MCCH; now refer to [0041].. the one or more MCCHs may have different configuration parameters such as, but are not limited to, a repetition period, a modification period, a first slot, a duration, a Bandwidth Part (BWP), a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) (i.e. common sub-band), Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configurations, a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI), a beamforming configuration, a modulation and coding scheme, and so on; further refer to [0054].. BS 102 divides a transmission frequency resource of the one or more MBS services into at least one of, a plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) and Common Frequency Resources (CFRs); further see [0055].. BS 102 provides the one or more MBS services to the UE 104 using at least one of, the plurality of BWPs and the CFRs. The one or more MBS services may be supported per carrier or per BWP. In an embodiment, the BS 102 provides the same MBS service supported by the one or more BWPs/CRFs to the UE 104. Alternatively, the BS 102 provides the different MBS services supported by the plurality of different BWPs to the UE 104. In another embodiment, the BS 102 dynamically allocates Physical Resource Blocks over at least one of, a BWP from the plurality of BWPs, and a CFR from the plurality of CFRs to provide the one or more MBS services to the UE 104 at each scheduling occasion using a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH). The BS 102 allocates the PRBs on the PDSCH; further see [0056]).
Regarding claim 31, Fasil teaches as per claim 30, wherein the SPS configuration parameters comprise first configuration parameters of a first SPS configuration associated with the second MBS service; in context with [0062] pls refer to [0067].. may use the SPS for scheduling of the one or more MBS services. In an example, the BS 102 may provide the SPS for the scheduling of example MBS services like IoT applications , which may be periodic and light in nature for the data traffic. In an embodiment, the MBS specific SPS on the PDSCH is supported for the scheduling of the multicast services.
Regarding claim 32, Fasil teaches as per claim 31, wherein the SPS configuration parameters correspond to one or more SPS configurations comprising the first SPS configuration; see [0062]... . In an example, a number of SPS MBS services (i.e., the MBS services scheduled with the SPS) supported simultaneously is determined by the UE capability and the UE 104 indicates the number of supported SPS MBS services to the BS 102 through at least one of a UE capability information message, a UE assistance information message, and an MBS interest indication message. Further, the BS 102 configures the UE 104 with a configuration of the SPS MBS services (referred hereinafter as SPS MBS services configuration).
Regarding claim 37, Fasil teaches as per claim 31, wherein the SPS configuration parameters comprise at least one parameter indicating that the SPS configuration parameters are associated with the second MBS service; in context with [0062] pls refer to [0067].. may use the SPS for scheduling of the one or more MBS services. In an example, the BS 102 may provide the SPS for the scheduling of example MBS services like IoT applications, which may be periodic and light in nature for the data traffic. In an embodiment, the MBS specific SPS on the PDSCH is supported for the scheduling of the multicast services.
Regarding claim 43, Fasil teaches as per claim 30, wherein: the one or more configuration messages comprise a first parameter and a second parameter; and receiving at least one of the first multimedia broadcast data or the second multicast broadcast data is based on the first parameter and the second parameter; see [0062]…The UE 104 identifies the group scheduling configured for each group using the identifier. In an example, a number of SPS MBS services (i.e., the MBS services scheduled with the SPS); further see [0067] the BS 102 may use the SPS for scheduling of the one or more MBS services. In an example, the BS 102 may provide the SPS for the scheduling of example MBS services like IoT applications, which may be periodic and light in nature for the data traffic. In an embodiment, the MBS specific SPS on the PDSCH is supported for the scheduling of the multicast services; further see [0068]..
Regarding claim 44, Fasil teaches as per claim 30, wherein the multicast broadcast configuration parameter is received via a multicast control channel; in context with [0062]; pls refer to [0063].. further provide the DRX configurations to the UE 104 over the one or more MCCHs (i.e. control channel here). The DRX configurations depict a DRX cycle for the UE 104, which depicts an ON duration and an OFF duration of the UE 104 for receiving the one or more MBS services. ..
Regarding claim 47, Fasil teaches as per claim 44, further comprising receiving one or more messages including scheduling information for receiving the multicast control channel; in context with [0062]; pls refer to [0063].. further provide the DRX configurations to the UE 104 over the one or more MCCHs (i.e. control channel here). The DRX configurations depict a DRX cycle for the UE 104, which depicts an ON duration and an OFF duration of the UE 104 for receiving the one or more MBS services. ..
Regarding claim 48, Fasil teaches as per claim 47, wherein the one or more messages comprise a broadcast message; see [0081].. broadcasts the different MBS control and configuration information corresponding to the plurality of MBS services to the UEs 104 over the mapped plurality of different MCCHs.
Regarding claim 49, Fasil teaches an apparatus for utilization in wireless communications comprising:
an antenna for use in transmission of electromagnetic signals;
a memory for maintaining computer-readable code; and
a processor for executing the computer-readable code that causes the apparatus to (see Title managing MBS services):
receive via a physical downlink shared channel (PDCSH), one or more configuration messages for the MBS services, the one or more configuration messages comprising (see [0055].. the BS 102 dynamically allocates Physical Resource Blocks over at least one of, a BWP from the plurality of BWPs, and a CFR from the plurality of CFRs to provide the one or more MBS services to the UE 104 (i.e. apparatus) at each scheduling occasion using a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH). The BS 102 allocates the PRBs on the PDSCH; further see [0063]… Further, the BS 102 configures the UE 104 with a configuration of the SPS MBS services (referred hereinafter as SPS MBS services configuration) through at least one of an RRC reconfiguration message and the MCCH message. The SPS MBS services configuration may include at least one of, but is not limited to periodicity, a number of Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARM) processes, a PDSCH aggregation factor which is the number of repetitions of SPS MBS PDSCH, a BWP, a G-CS-RNTI, a modulation and coding scheme table, and so on. The SPS MBS configuration may be indicated with an index, for example, an MBS-SPS-ConfigIndex. The UE 104 determines the specific SPS MBS service from the corresponding G-CS-RNTI; further see [0068] the BS 102 may use the SPS scheduling of the one or more MBS services in conjunction with the DRX configurations of the one or more MBS services, which further reduces load on the PDCCH. In another example, the SPS MBS services (i.e., the SPS scheduled MBS services) may be activated and deactivated through the PDCCH. When the SPS MBS service is activated, the UE 104 stores a downlink assignment as a configured downlink assignment. While, when the SPS MBS service is deactivated, the UE 104 clears the configured downlink assignment and/or indicate an acknowledgement to the BS 102):
discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters associated with a first MBS service (in context with just discussed above in [0062]; pls refer to [0063].. further provide the DRX configurations to the UE 104 over the one or more MCCHs. The DRX configurations depict a DRX cycle for the UE 104, which depicts an ON duration and an OFF duration of the UE 104 for receiving the one or more MBS services. The DRX configurations provide flexibility for the BS 102 to schedule the MBS services/sessions (i.e. first MBS service) during any Transmission Time Interval (TTI) or a slot within an ON duration of the corresponding DRX cycle.); and
semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration parameters associated with a second MBS service (already discussed above in [0062].. a configuration of the SPS MBS services (referred hereinafter as SPS MBS services configuration)..; further see [0067] …. the BS 102 may use the SPS for scheduling of the one or more MBS services. In an example, the BS 102 may provide the SPS for the scheduling of example MBS services like IoT applications, which may be periodic and light in nature for the data traffic. In an embodiment, the MBS specific SPS on the PDSCH is supported for the scheduling of the multicast services (i.e. second MBS service).);
receive first multicast broadcast data associated with the first MBS service, based on scheduling information determined by monitoring a control channel using the DRX configuration parameters (in context with [0062]; pls refer to [0063].. further provide the DRX configurations to the UE 104 over the one or more MCCHs (i.e. control channel here). The DRX configurations depict a DRX cycle for the UE 104, which depicts an ON duration and an OFF duration of the UE 104 for receiving the one or more MBS services. The DRX configurations provide flexibility for the BS 102 to schedule the MBS services/sessions (i.e. first MBS service) during any Transmission Time Interval (TTI) or a slot within an ON duration of the corresponding DRX cycle.); and
receiving second multicast broadcast data, associated with the second MBS service, based on the SPS configuration parameters (see [0062]…The UE 104 identifies the group scheduling configured for each group using the identifier. In an example, a number of SPS MBS services (i.e., the MBS services scheduled with the SPS); further see [0067] the BS 102 may use the SPS for scheduling of the one or more MBS services. In an example, the BS 102 may provide the SPS for the scheduling of example MBS services like IoT applications, which may be periodic and light in nature for the data traffic. In an embodiment, the MBS specific SPS on the PDSCH is supported for the scheduling of the multicast services; further see [0068].),
wherein the control channel is associated with a common sub-band for MBS, the common sub-band being configured for a bandwidth part(BWP) configured for the UE (in context with just discussed above regarding MCCH; now refer to [0041].. the one or more MCCHs may have different configuration parameters such as, but are not limited to, a repetition period, a modification period, a first slot, a duration, a Bandwidth Part (BWP), a Common Frequency Resource (CFR) (i.e. common sub-band), Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configurations, a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI), a beamforming configuration, a modulation and coding scheme, and so on; further refer to [0054].. BS 102 divides a transmission frequency resource of the one or more MBS services into at least one of, a plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) and Common Frequency Resources (CFRs); further see [0055].. BS 102 provides the one or more MBS services to the UE 104 using at least one of, the plurality of BWPs and the CFRs. The one or more MBS services may be supported per carrier or per BWP. In an embodiment, the BS 102 provides the same MBS service supported by the one or more BWPs/CRFs to the UE 104. Alternatively, the BS 102 provides the different MBS services supported by the plurality of different BWPs to the UE 104. In another embodiment, the BS 102 dynamically allocates Physical Resource Blocks over at least one of, a BWP from the plurality of BWPs, and a CFR from the plurality of CFRs to provide the one or more MBS services to the UE 104 at each scheduling occasion using a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH). The BS 102 allocates the PRBs on the PDSCH; further see [0056]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latheef et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0276471 A1), hereafter Fasil in view of Shi et al. WO 2016/127648 A1; see IDS filed on 8/27/2025 page 2.
Regarding claim 33, Fasil teaches as per claim 32, but fails to teach about wherein the SPS configuration parameters correspond to a common cell; however Shi states on page 4 about …Optionally, the specific semi-persistent scheduling opportunity of the UE and the semi-persistent scheduling opportunity common to the cell include a semi-persistent scheduling opportunity period or a semi-persistent scheduling subframe bitmap parameter. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Shi with the teachings of Fasil to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the SPS configuration parameters correspond to a common cell; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latheef et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0276471 A1), hereafter Fasil in view of Shi et al. WO 2016/127648 A1; see IDS filed on 8/27/2025 page 2 and in further view of Guo et al. (US Pat. No. 12114264 B2).
Regarding claim 34, Fasil in view of Shi teaches as per claim 33, but Fasil fails to teach about wherein the SPS configuration parameters correspond to a same BWP of the same cell; however Guo states in col. 79 lines 1- 13 about … In some implementations, a specific BWP has one or more of the following characteristic: 1) A BWP with the minimum BWP index, or maximum BWP index, or no BWP index 2) A BWP with the narrowest bandwidth, or the smallest PRB 3) A initial or default BWP 4) A specific BWP is same with BWP for SPS DL scheduling, or the BWP for SPS DL scheduling after DL SPS (semi-persistent scheduling) scheduling is actived or before DL SPS scheduling... It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Guo with the teachings of Fasil to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the SPS configuration parameters correspond to a same BWP of the same cell; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latheef et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0276471 A1), hereafter Fasil in view of Elshafie et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0095363 A1), hereafter Ahmed.
Regarding claim 35, Fasil teaches as per claim 32, but fails to teach about wherein the SPS configuration parameters comprise at least one parameter indicating sub-slot-based transmission for the second multicast broadcast data; however Ahmed states about … the UE can be configured with a downlink grant indicating the resources for SPS downlink transmissions. The downlink grant may also indicate a configured K1 value that indicates a number of slots or sub-slots, after the SPS downlink transmission, at which to transmit feedback corresponding to the SPS downlink transmission. Where the symbol or slot for feedback is indicated as downlink (e.g., in the slot format or in a grant for additional SPS downlink transmissions)…. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Ahmed with the teachings of Fasil to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the SPS configuration parameters comprise at least one parameter indicating sub-slot-based transmission for the second multicast broadcast data; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latheef et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0276471 A1), hereafter Fasil in view of Kung et al. TW 202046752 A; see attached translated copy.
Regarding claim 36, Fasil teaches as per as per claim 32, but fails to teach about wherein the SPS configuration parameters comprise at least one parameter indicating repetition of a multicast broadcast transport block for a plurality of times in a SPS occasion; however Kung states on page 15 about … 23.14.1.2 Support V2X communication via Uu For V2X communication in the uplink, the eNB can configure a maximum of 8 SPS configurations with different parameters, and all SPS configurations can be active at the same time. The eNB signals the activation/deactivation of each SPS configuration through the PDCCH. Use the existing logical channel priority order for Uu. For V2X communication, UE assistance information can be provided to the eNB. The eNB configures the reporting of UE auxiliary information. The UE assistance information includes parameters related to SPS configuration (for example, a set of preferred SPS intervals, timing offset of subframe 0 relative to SFN 0, LCID, and maximum TB size based on the observed service mode). The UE implementation scheme determines the triggering of UE auxiliary information transmission. For example, when the estimated periodicity and/or timing offset of packet arrival changes, the UE is allowed to report UE assistance information. For V2X communication via Uu, SR masks based on traditional mechanisms can be used. For unicast transmission of V2X messages, V2X messages can be transmitted through non-GBR bearers and GBR bearers. In order to meet the QoS requirements of V2X message delivery for V2X services, the non-GBR QCI value and GBR QCI value of the V2X message are used, as specified in TS 23.285 [72]. In order to broadcast V2X messages, SC-PTM or MBSFN transmission can be used. In order to reduce the SC-PTM/MBSFN delay, the shorter (SC-)MCCH repetition period of SC-PTM/MBSFN, the modification period of SC-PTM/MBSFN and the MCH scheduling period of MBSFN are supported. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kung with the teachings of Fasil to make system more standardized.
Claim(s) 38- 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latheef et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0276471 A1), hereafter Fasil in view of Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0282126 A1).
Regarding claim 38, Fasil teaches as per claim 30, but fails to teach about wherein receiving the second r multicast broadcast data is based on receiving downlink control information indicating activation of the first SPS configuration; however Park in context with [0149] states in [0120- 0122] about … performs SPS transmission and reception with the subframe periodicity and offset indicated by the SPS information using resource assignment information indicated by the PDCCH upon receiving a PDCCH indicating activation (or reactivation) (more specifically, upon detecting a PDCCH masked with an SPS C-RNTI) and stops SPS transmission and reception upon receiving a PDCCH indicating SPS release…. SPS transmission and reception is resumed with the subframe periodicity and offset indicated by the SPS information using resource assignment information indicated by the PDCCH, upon receiving a PDCCH indicating activation (or reactivation).. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Park with the teachings of Fasil to make system more standardized.
Regarding claim 39,Fasil in view of Park teaches as per claim 38, further comprising determining radio resources of the second multicast broadcast data based on the downlink control information and the first configuration parameters; Park in context with [0149] states in [0120- 0122] about … performs SPS transmission and reception with the subframe periodicity and offset indicated by the SPS information using resource assignment information indicated by the PDCCH upon receiving a PDCCH indicating activation (or reactivation) (more specifically, upon detecting a PDCCH masked with an SPS C-RNTI) and stops SPS transmission and reception upon receiving a PDCCH indicating SPS release…. SPS transmission and reception is resumed with the subframe periodicity and offset indicated by the SPS information using resource assignment information indicated by the PDCCH, upon receiving a PDCCH indicating activation (or reactivation)..
Claim(s) 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latheef et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0276471 A1), hereafter Fasil in view of Samsung , “On Stage-2 aspects and overview of NR MBS”, R2-2007672; see IDS filed on 6/26/2023 page 1.
Regarding claim 40, Fasil teaches as per claim 31, but fails to state about wherein receiving the second multicast broadcast data includes receiving the first configuration parameters without receiving an activation downlink control information for the SPS configuration; however Samsung teaches in page 3 2.2…The primary objective of this NR MBS WI is to specify a group scheduling mechanism to receive broadcast/ multicast services. LTE supports two group scheduling mechanisms – PMCH based eMBMS scheduling, and DRX based SC-PTM scheduling. The former is a semi static type of scheduling while (i.e. second service not associated with DRX config parameters and no need to monitor control channel here) the latter is more of a dynamic nature (i.e. second service here associated with DRX and also needs to monitor control channel) and hence, more resource efficient. SC-PTM is designed around a group scheduling mechanism where each supported multicast service is allocated a scheduling configuration and a unique identifier to receive the data…. It is possible that network way be able to provide a semi-static periodic scheduling for these packets. For such services, support of semi persistent scheduling of MBS traffic seems sensible. SPS for MBS (i.e. not monitoring the control channel since resources are allocated once and reuses those same resources at fixed) may serve as an alternative to DRX based scheduling. MBS SPS can also be used in conjunction with DRX to further reduce the load on PDCCH. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Samsung with the teachings of Fasil to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving the second multicast broadcast data includes receiving the first configuration parameters without receiving an activation downlink control information for the SPS configuration; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 41- 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latheef et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0276471 A1), hereafter Fasil in view of Miao (US Pub. No. 2022/0191934 A1).
Regarding claim 41, Fasil teaches as per claim 31, but fails to teach about wherein the first configuration parameters comprise an offset parameter and a periodicity parameter, and wherein receiving, by the UE, second multicast broadcast data includes receiving the second multicast broadcast data based on the offset parameter and the periodicity parameter; however Miao teaches in [0006] about the first RACH configuration provides a base RACH configuration, and the second RACH configuration includes one or more RACH extensions defined relative to the base RACH configuration. The one or more RACH extensions include one or more of: a scaling factor for a periodicity of the base RACH configuration, a frame offset with respect to a frame index of the base RACH configuration, a subframe offset with respect to a subframe index of the base RACH configuration, or a slot offset with respect to a slot index of the base RACH configuration; further see [0046- 0051]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Miao with the teachings of Fasil to make system more standardized.
Regarding claim 42 Fasil in view of Miao teaches as per claim 41, wherein the offset parameter is an offset to a system frame number with a first value; Miao see [0046- 0051].
Claim(s) 45- 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Latheef et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0276471 A1), hereafter Fasil in view of Wu (US Pat. No. 12477313 B2).
Regarding claim 45, Fasil teaches as per claim 44, but silent about wherein the multicast control channel is configured on a first BWP; and the first MBS service or the second MBS service is configured for reception in a second BWP; however Wu teaches in col. 7 lines 50- 60 about an MTCH of a service that the terminal is interested in is sent in BWP-2, and the terminal receives the MTCH of the service that the terminal is interested in BWP-2 after receiving, in BWP-1, an MCCH message of the service that the terminal is interested in. An update indication “N” of the MCCH message is sent in BWP-2. After receiving, in BWP-2, the update indication of the MCCH message, the terminal receives, in BWP-1, updated MCCH information, and then receives, in BWP-2, the MTCH of the service that the terminal is interested in. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wu with the teachings of Fasil to make system more standardized.
Regarding claim 46, Fasil teaches as per claim 44, but silent about the multicast control channel is configured on a BWP; and the MBS service and the second MBS service are configured for reception in the BWP; however Wu teaches in col. 7 lines 50- 60 about an MTCH of a service that the terminal is interested in is sent in BWP-2, and the terminal receives the MTCH of the service that the terminal is interested in BWP-2 after receiving, in BWP-1, an MCCH message of the service that the terminal is interested in. An update indication “N” of the MCCH message is sent in BWP-2. After receiving, in BWP-2, the update indication of the MCCH message, the terminal receives, in BWP-1, updated MCCH information, and then receives, in BWP-2, the MTCH of the service that the terminal is interested in. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wu with the teachings of Fasil to make system more standardized.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479