DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Receipt of the response to the non-final office action, the amendments to the specification and claims as well as applicant arguments/remarks, filed 12/09/2025, is acknowledged. Amendments to the specification have been entered.
Claims 1-2, 7-17, 20-23 are pending in this action. Claims 3, 4 have been cancelled. Claims 5-6, 18-19, 24-25 have been cancelled previously. Claims 1-2, 7-14, 16, 20-23 have been amended. Claims 1-2, 7-17, 20-23 are currently under consideration.
Any rejection or objection not reiterated in this action is withdrawn. Applicant's amendments necessitated new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/MX2020/050034, filed September 29, 2020.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 16, 21-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As stated previously, claim 1 comprises the typographic error “atorvastatin, or an equivalent of a salt thereof” that need to be corrected to “atorvastatin or an equivalent of a salt thereof”.
Newly amended claim 1 recites the limitation “acceptable amount in the range of from 20 ± 0.7 mg, inclusive of the boundary amounts of 19.3 and 20.7” that needs to be corrected to “acceptable amount in the range of from 19.3 mg to 20 mg” for clarity.
Newly amended claim 1 further recites the limitation “amount in the range of from 160 mg and 200 mg, inclusive of the boundary amounts of 160 mg and 200 mg” that needs to be corrected to “amount in the range of from 160 mg to 200 mg” for clarity.
The acronym “DPS” recited in claim 1 should be removed, because said acronym is not used in subsequent claims. Similar is applied to claims 16 and 23 regarding the acronyms “PVA” and/or “SDS”.
Newly amended claim 2 recites the limitation “atorvastatin is the atorvastatin calcium salt trihydrate form” that needs to be corrected to “atorvastatin is in its calcium trihydrate form” (see specification, Para. 0022, 0052) or clarified.
Claims 21 and 22 comprise the acronym “DCL-11” that is defined in said claims by different full terms, i.e., “lactose monohydrate” (claim 21) and “direct compressed lactose monohydrate grade 11” (claim 22) that needs to be corrected or clarified. To this point, it is noted that the acronym should be given once in parenthesis after the first use of the full term, and then the acronym is used alone thereafter if needed.
As stated previously, claim 22 comprises the typographic errors “the atorvastatin”, “the sodium starch glycolate” that needs to be corrected to “atorvastatin”, “sodium starch glycolate”, respectively.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-2, 7-17, 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Newly amended claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the micronized fenofibrate has a (diameter) particle size distribution of less than 30 µm (100% of the particles)” that is not reasonably clear. In the present case, it is noted that parenthetical expressions are not permissible, which do not contribute to clearness or exactness in stating applicant’s invention (Ex parte Cahill, 1893 C. D., 78; 63 O. G., 2125). This limitation was interpreted as best understood as “wherein micronized fenofibrate has a particle diameter of less than 30 µm as measured by a laser diffraction method with dynamic powder segregation module” (see specification, Fig. 1, Para. 0056). Similar is applied to other limitations associated with “d10”, “d50”, “d90”. To this point, it is noted that is unclear what “% of the particles” (i.e., 10%, 50%, 90%) is used – by volume, by mass, or by number. Clarification is required.
Newly amended claim 2 recites the limitation "atorvastatin is the atorvastatin calcium salt trihydrate form in an amount of 21.65 mg equivalent to 20 mg of atorvastatin" that is not reasonably clear. In the present case, it is unclear what “form” should be used. This limitation was interpreted as best understood as “atorvastatin is in its calcium trihydrate form” (see specification, Para. 0022, 0052). Clarification is required.
As stated previously, claim 7 (dependent on claim 1) recites the limitation “pharmaceutical compositions … comprising surfactants” that is unclear. To this point, it is noted that independent claim 1 discloses compositions in a solid form. Further, it is noted that “surfactant” is a chemical compound that decreases the surface tension or interfacial tension between two liquids, a liquid and a gas, or a liquid and a solid (see Wikipedia), i.e., between different phases. Therefore, it is unclear what is understood as a surfactant in the claimed solid compositions. Similar is applied to the limitations “pH modulators”, “solvents”, as well as to claim 12 (i.e., the pH modulator), claim 13 (i.e., the surfactant), claim 17 (i.e., the solvent). Clarification is required.
Claim 8 contains the trademark/trade name “poloxamer 188 BASF®”. As stated previously, where a trademark/trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark/trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark/trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark/trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark/trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a binder to be used in the claimed compositions, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. MPEP 2173.05(u). Similar is applied to claims 16 and/or 23 regarding “Opdary AMB II®” and claims 21 and/or 22 regarding “lactose monohydrate DCL-11”. Clarification is required.
Newly amended claim 20 recites the limitation “a stage of granulation activated by heating micronized fenofibrate” that is unclear, because it is not clear what should be granulated. Clarification is required.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “performing a particle size reduction operation by mesh (1.27 mm or 0.050 in.)” that is unclear, because the recited parenthetical expression does not clarify the scope of the claim. As stated above, parenthetical expressions are not permissible, which do not contribute to clearness or exactness in stating applicant’s invention (Ex parte Cahill, 1893 C. D., 78; 63 O. G., 2125). This limitation was interpreted as best understood as “performing a particle size reduction operation by 1.27 mm mesh”. Similar is applied to claim 22. Clarification is required.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “3.23% of preferably a mixture of…” that is unclear and indefinite. First, it is noted that recited amount is shown without units of measurements. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are not reasonably clear. Second, it is unclear what the term “preferably” does imply. Clarification is required.
Claims 9-11, 14-15 are rejected as being dependent on rejected independent claim 1 and failing to cure the defect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-17, 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over García-Salgado López, WO 2014/195900A2 (cited in IDS, machine translation, hereinafter referred to as García-Salgado López), in view of Ryde et al., US 2003/0224058 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Ryde), and Shenoy et al., US 2009/0162442 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Shenoy).
García-Salgado López teaches solid oral pharmaceutical compositions that may include: (i) 10-80 mg of atorvastatin or its calcium salt, and (ii) 67-400 mg of fenofibrate that can be micronized, and further provides the examples of compositions comprising 20 mg or 20.7 mg of atorvastatin calcium salt and 160 mg of fenofibrate (Claims 1, 3, 6, 23; Detailed Description of the Invention; Examples 3, 4 as applied to claims 1, 2).
García-Salgado López further teaches that said compositions may include one or more excipients selected from diluents, binders, disintegrants, surfactants, lubricants, co-solvents, coating, etc. (Claims 7, 33; Detailed Description of the Invention as applied to claim 7). To this point, García-Salgado López teaches that said compositions may include: (i) 5-40 wt% of poloxamer, e.g., Poloxamer 188 (Claim 1; Detailed Description of the Invention; Examples as applied to claim 8); (ii) 5-50 wt% of lactose monohydrate (Claim 16; Detailed Description of the Invention as applied to claim 9); (iii) 1-5 wt% of sodium starch glycolate (Claim 12; Detailed Description of the Invention as applied to claim 11); (iv) 0.5-2 wt% of sodium lauryl sulfate (Claims 11, 13, 17 ; Detailed Description of the Invention; Examples as applied to claim 13); and (v) 0.25-5 wt% of magnesium stearate (Claim 11; Detailed Description of the Invention; Examples as applied to claim 14).
García-Salgado López does not teach micronized fenofibrate having a particle size of less than 30 µm (claim 1), and also does not teach compositions comprising magnesium aluminum silicate (claim 10), magnesium oxide (claim 12), or a coating comprising Opadry AMB II (claims 15, 16).
Ryde teaches solid dosage forms/compositions/tablets comprising fenofibrate particles having an effective average particle size of less than 2 µm (Para. 0013, 0014, 0140) that can used in combination with atorvastatin (Para. 0066-0068). Ryde teaches that said compositions/tablets may include: (i) a combination of surface stabilizers such as sodium lauryl sulfate, poloxamers such as Pluronic F-68 (that is the different name for Poloxamer 188; see Wikipedia) and magnesium aluminum silicate (Para. 0081-0083); (ii) lactose monohydrate/filling agent (Para. 0105); (iii) magnesium stearate/lubricant (Para. 0106); and (iv) can be coated with Opadry AMB present in an amount of 3.8-4.5 wt% (Para. 0196-0198).
Shenoy teaches compositions/tablets comprising fibrate/fenofibrate and statin/atorvastatin as active compounds (Title; Abstract; Para. 0060, 0064), wherein said compositions/tablets also include: (i) sodium lauryl sulfate/stabilizer (Para. 0063); (ii) magnesium aluminum silicate, magnesium oxide, lactose as absorbent carriers (Claim 15; Para. 0065, 0066, 0069, 0070); (iii) poloxamer, e.g., poloxamer 188, magnesium stearate as a carrier or lubricants (Para. 0068. 0070, 0096, 0104, 0105). Shenoy also teaches controlling average particle diameter of active compounds to be less than 10 microns (Para. 0079).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control fenofibrate particles size and/or use/try additional functional agents and/or a coating as taught by Ryde and Shenoy preparing composition as taught by García-Salgado López. One would do so with expectation of beneficial results, because the cited prior art teaches that said approach can be used for improving bioavailability of fenofibrate that is insoluble in water, as well as the efficiency and stability of compositions comprising a combination of fibrate/fenofibrate and statin/atorvastatin. Claims 20-23 are rejected as been dependent on rejected base claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 12/09/2025, have been fully considered, but they were not found to be persuasive for the reasons set forth above. New arguments and/or rejections have been added to the record to clarify the position of the examiner and/or to address newly introduced amendments. Additional examiner’s comments are set forth next.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, it is noted that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (“One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings.”); In re Linter, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991). Further, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of applicant’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In the present case, all cited references are reasonably drawn to the same field of endeavor, i.e., oral pharmaceutical compositions that include atorvastatin or its calcium salt, micronized fenofibrate, and other compounds/constituents as instantly claimed. Therefore, it is the examiner’s positions that the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made/filed, because every element of the invention has been collectively taught by the combined teachings of the references.
To this point, it is noted that the Supreme Court decided (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)) that: (i) The obviousness analysis needs not seek out precise teachings directed to the subject matter of the challenged claim and can take into account the inferences and creative steps that one of ordinary skill in the art would employ; (ii) The obviousness analysis cannot be confined by a formalistic conception of the words teaching, suggestion and motivation, or by overemphasis on the importance of published articles and the explicit content of issued patents; (iii) It is error to look only the problem the patentee was trying to solve. Any need or problem known in the field of endeavor at the time of invention and addressed by the prior art can provide a reason for combining the elements in the manner claimed; (iv) It is error to assume that one of ordinary skill in the art in attempting to solve a problem will be led only to those elements of prior art designed to solve the same problem. Common sense teaches that familiar items may have obvious uses beyond their primary purposes, and in many cases one of ordinary skill in the art will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle (one of ordinary skill in the art is not automaton); (v) It is error to assume that a patent claim cannot be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of elements was “obvious to try”. Applicant is advised to clarify the claim language and/or scope, the structure of the constituents to be included into the claimed compositions as well as method steps to make said compositions, and clearly point out the patentable novelty, which the applicant thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited, to place the application in conditions for allowance.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed at this time.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/OLGA V. TCHERKASSKAYA/
Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615