DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed on and is a U.S. national Stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371 of International Patent Application No. PCT/US2021/053537 filed 10/05/2021, which claims the benefit of the priority of US Provisional application 63/089,122 filed 10/08/2020.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 03/27/2023, 01/09/2024, 03/20/2024, 12/31/2024, 04/14/2025, and 07/17/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 8-15, 17-27 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites “…comprises an insulin…”. Claim 11 should be amended to recite “…comprises insulin…”.
Regarding claim 25, the claim should be amended to recite “The method of claim 24, wherein the preservative is meta-cresol and the zinc source is zinc oxide”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 20, the claim contains a parenthesis in line 2. It is unclear whether the limitations in the parenthesis are a required part of the claimed invention.
Further, the phrase "for example" renders the claim 20 indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 9 depends on claim 8 and recites “…peptide is administered at least once daily for at least 7 weeks”.
Examiner notes that claim 9 does not further limit because the peptide is administered at the same frequency and duration recited in claim 8 since the peptide is administered at least once every day (i.e. the seven days in the week), for 7 weeks and the peptide in claim 8 is administered at least one a day for at least five days (which also includes the seven days in the week) for 7 weeks.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 11-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (Diabetes Care 27:2348–2355, 2004), in view of Al-Waili et al. (J Pak Med Assoc. 1999 Jul; 49(7): 167-9).
Harrison teaches administration of insulin peptide Humulin, and that Humulin was administered to human subjects with Type 1 diabetes (Title; Abstract; Page 2349, right col., paragraph 1-3), that the Humulin was administered orally to the human subjects (Page 2348, right col., 1st paragraph; page 2353, right col., last paragraph). Harrison further teaches that the method did not accelerate loss of pancreatic β -cell function (Title; Abstract; Page 2350, left col., last paragraph).
Harrison does not teach that the insulin was sublingually administered.
However, administration of insulin sublingually to subjects with Type 1 diabetes is known in the art as taught by Al-Waili et al. Al-Waili teaches sublingual administration of insulin to Type 1 diabetes subjects and that the insulin dose has a hypoglycemic effect and could be used to control hyperglycemia in type I diabetes (Abstract). Al-Waili teaches that administration of insulin sublingually exposed insulin for a longer period and may allow a larger amount of insulin to be absorbed (Page 3, line 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Harrison and administer insulin sublingually as taught by Al-Waili so as to increase the exposure of insulin (Page 3, line 10). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in administering insulin sublingually as taught by Al-Waili to allow a larger amount of insulin to be absorbed (Page 32nd paragraph). The disclosure render obvious claim 1.
Regarding claims 8-9, Harrison teaches that the insulin was administered daily for 10 consecutive days or 2 days a week for 6 months (Page 2348, left col., 2nd paragraph; Page 2349, right col., last paragraph). Harrison teaches that the insulin can be administered on more occasions over a 6-month period based on monthly interview and monitoring (Page 2350, whole of left col.). In addition, the concentration of the active agent is a result effective variable and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable may be characterized by routine experimentation (See MPEP 2144 II). It would be obvious and routine experimentation to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to optimize the dosages and duration to arrive at the dosages and duration of administration of the instant claims 8-9.
Regarding claims 11-13, Harrison teaches that Humulin was administered to the subjects and that Humulin contains pure recombinant human insulin at 4 mg/ml in a carrier of water (Page 2349, right col., 3rd paragraph, line 1-9).
Regarding claims 14, 15, and 17, Harrison teaches that the method of administering insulin was on human subjects at risk of developing Type 1 diabetes (Title; Abstract; (Page 2349, right col., 2nd paragraph, line 1-9). Examiner notes that the disclosure reads on “predisposed to the development of Type 1 diabetes”.
Regarding claim 18, Harrison teaches that the subjects were first-degree relatives of someone with type 1 diabetes (Page 2349, right col., 2nd paragraph, line 1-9).
Regarding claims 19-20, Harrison teaches that the method of administering insulin was on human subjects at risk of developing Type 1 diabetes (Title; Abstract; (Page 2349, right col., 2nd paragraph, line 1-9). Further, Harrison teaches that the subjects were first-degree relatives of someone with type 1 diabetes (Page 2349, right col., 2nd paragraph, line 1-9). Further, Harrison teaches the subjects has the HLA-DR genotype (Table 1 and Table 1 description). Examiner notes that such a subject is genetically predisposed to developing type 1 diabetes rendering obvious claim 19.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (Diabetes Care 27:2348–2355, 2004), in view of Al-Waili et al. (J Pak Med Assoc. 1999 Jul; 49(7): 167-9) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view UniProt (https://www.uniprot.org/uniprotkb/P01308/entry).
The teachings of Harrison and Al-Waili are disclosed above and incorporated herein by reference.
Harrison does not teach the sequence of the insulin peptide as recited in claim 10.
Examiner notes that Harrison teaches that Humulin was administered to the subjects and that Humulin contains pure recombinant human insulin at 4 mg/ml in a carrier of water (Page 2349, right col., 3rd paragraph, line 1-9). Examiner notes that human insulin comprises the A and B chains and as taught by UniProt, and the A and B chains of insulin comprise the instant SEQ ID NO: 9 and 4 (See page 8 of UniProt).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Harrison and Al-Waili and use the insulin peptide with A and B chains as taught by Uniprot so as to arrive to the instant petides. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in administering the human insulin peptide taught by Uniprot sublingually so as to allow a larger amount of insulin to be absorbed for conserving pancreatic beta cell function. The disclosures render obvious claim 10.
Claims 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (Diabetes Care 27:2348–2355, 2004), in view of Al-Waili et al. (J Pak Med Assoc. 1999 Jul; 49(7): 167-9) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nguyen et al. (American Journal of Rhinology & Allergy. 2011; 25(5): 342-345), FDA label (https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/drugsatfda_docs/label/2018/018781s181lbl.pdf) and Becker et al. (US20110301081A1 – hereinafter “Becker”).
The teachings of Harrison and Al-Waili are disclosed above and incorporated herein by reference.
Harrison does not teach the addition of at least 30% glycerin as recited in claim 21, and does not teach the addition of zinc oxide as recited in claim 25.
Regarding the addition of glycerin at the recited amounts, Nguyen teaches compositions for sublingual administration (Title; Abstract) and that the composition comprises 50% glycerin and the 50% glycerin helps with protein stability preservation and has been shown to provide the most complete protection against loss of antigen potency (Page 344, left col., last paragraph). Nguyen teaches that unpleasant oral sensation or nausea that could be characterized as potential adverse events were less commonly reported with 50% glycerin (Page 344, right col., last paragraph) and that the use of 50% glycerin is recommended for compositions administered sublingually (Page 345, left col. Last paragraph). Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the composition of Harrison to include 50% glycerin.
Further, with regards to zinc oxide, FDA label teaches Humulin compositions that comprises human insulin and that the amino acid sequence of HUMULIN is identical to human insulin (page 5 section 11), and that the composition comprises 100 units of insulin human, 0.35 mg of protamine sulfate, 16 mg of glycerin, 3.78 mg of dibasic sodium phosphate, 1.6 mg of metacresol, 0.65 mg of phenol, zinc oxide content adjusted to provide 0.025 mg zinc ion (Page 5 section 11). In addition, Becker teaches insulin formulations that comprise human insulin and that the formulation comprises 90 μg zinc, 2.7 mg m-cresol, 20 mg glycerol 85%, HCl and NaOH, and phosphate buffer(Abstract; [0039, 0048, 0829, 0836]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Harrison to include at least 30% glycerin since Nguyen teaches that compositions for sublingual administration with 50% glycerin helps with protein stability preservation and has been shown to provide the most complete protection against loss of antigen potency (Page 344, left col., last paragraph). It would have been obvious to include zinc oxide in the insulin composition as taught by FDA label and Becker since both references teach insulin composition comprising zinc so as to use the composition to treat diabetes. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in including glycerin in the composition since Nguyen teaches that the unpleasant oral sensation or nausea that could be characterized as potential adverse events were less commonly reported with 50% glycerin (Page 344, right col., last paragraph).
Regarding claims 21, and 23, Harrison teaches that the Humulin administered to the subjects contains pure recombinant human insulin at 4 mg/ml in a carrier of water with 1.6 mg/ml glycerol and 0.25/ml m-cresol preservative (Page 2349, right col., 3rd paragraph, line 1-11). With regards to the amount of glycerin recited, Nguyen teaches compositions for sublingual administration (Title; Abstract) and that the composition comprises 50% glycerin and the 50% glycerin helps with protein stability preservation and has been shown to provide the most complete protection against loss of antigen potency (Page 344, left col., last paragraph). Nguyen teaches that unpleasant oral sensation or nausea that could be characterized as potential adverse events were less commonly reported with 50% glycerin (Page 344, right col., last paragraph) and that the use of 50% glycerin is recommended for compositions administered sublingually (Page 345, left col. Last paragraph). Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the composition of Harrison to include 50% glycerin.
Regarding claims 22 and 27, Harrison teaches that the Humulin administered to the subjects contains pure recombinant human insulin at 4 mg/ml in a carrier of water with 1.6 mg/ml glycerol and 0.25/ml m-cresol preservative (Page 2349, right col., 3rd paragraph, line 1-11). Further, Becker teaches insulin formulation and that the formulation comprises 90 μg zinc, 2.7 mg m-cresol, 20 mg glycerol 85%, HCl and NaOH, and phosphate buffer(Abstract; [0039, 0048, 0829, 0836]). In addition, Nguyen teaches compositions for sublingual administration (Title; Abstract) and that the composition comprises 50% glycerin (Page 344, left col., last paragraph). Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the composition of Harrison to include 50% glycerin. The disclosures render obvious claim 22 and 27.
Regarding claim 24, Harrison teaches that the Humulin administered to the subjects contains pure recombinant human insulin at 4 mg/ml in a carrier of water with 1.6 mg/ml glycerol and 0.25/ml m-cresol preservative (Page 2349, right col., 3rd paragraph, line 1-11).
Regarding claim 25, Becker teaches insulin formulation and that the formulation comprises 90 μg zinc, 2.7 mg m-cresol, 20 mg glycerol 85%, HCl and NaOH, and phosphate buffer(Abstract; [0039, 0048, 0829, 0836]). Further, with regards to zinc oxide, FDA label teaches Humulin compositions that comprises human insulin and that the amino acid sequence of HUMULIN N is identical to human insulin (page 5 section 11), and that the composition comprises 100 units of insulin human, 0.35 mg of protamine sulfate, 16 mg of glycerin, 3.78 mg of dibasic sodium phosphate, 1.6 mg of metacresol, 0.65 mg of phenol, zinc oxide content adjusted to provide 0.025 mg zinc ion (Page 5 section 11). It would have been obvious to modify the composition of Harrison and add zinc oxide as a preservative.
Regarding claim 26, Harrison teaches that the Humulin administered to the subjects contains pure recombinant human insulin at 4 mg/ml (Page 2349, right col., 3rd paragraph, line 1-11).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8-15, 17-23, and 27, provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9-11, 13, 34-36, 39-41, 64, 69, 72-75 of copending Application No. 17/778,624. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application recite a method of delaying the onset of Type 1 diabetes or decreasing the likelihood of Type 1 diabetes in a subject in need thereof comprising: sublingually administering a therapeutically effective amount of an insulin-related peptide to the subject (claim 1).
The instant claims recite a method for delaying the onset of reduced serum C-peptide levels in a mammal, conserving pancreatic beta cell function in a mammal, or delaying the onset of decreased pancreatic beta cell function in a mammal, comprising: sublingually administering an effective amount of an insulin-related peptide to the mammal (claim 1).
The claims of the copending application anticipate the instant claims because the claims recite the same method step and same patient population, but different intended use. However, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the claims of the copending application recite the same active ingredient, administered in the same way to the same patient population, and as a result, is capable of performing the claimed intended use (see MPEP § 2112.01).
Regarding claims 8-9, the claims of the copending application recite wherein the insulin-related peptide is administered once a day, at least five days a week, for at least 7 weeks (claim 9) and wherein the insulin-related peptide is administered at least once daily for at least 7 weeks (claim 10).
Regarding claims 10, the claims of the copending application recite wherein the insulin-related peptide comprises a first amino acid sequence comprising an insulin beta chain 7-26 peptide sequence (SEQ ID NO: 9) or a variant thereof having one or more amino acid substitutions; and a second amino acid sequence comprising an insulin alpha chain 6-20 peptide sequence (SEQ ID NO: 4) or a variant thereof having one or more amino acid substitutions (claim 11, 36, 64).
Regarding claims 11-13, the claims of the copending application recite wherein:(a) the insulin-related peptide comprises one or more of insulin, proinsulin and preproinsulin; or (b) the insulin-related peptide comprises human insulin; or (c) the insulin-related peptide comprises human proinsulin and/or human preproinsulin (claim 13, 41), wherein the insulin-related peptide is a recombinant human insulin-related peptide (claim 34).
Regarding claims 14-15, 17-19, the claims of the copending application recite the method of decreasing the likelihood of Type 1 diabetes in a subject in need thereof comprising (claim 1), attenuating an antigenic response in a mammalian subject (claim 5).
Regarding claims 21-23, 27, the claims of the copending application recite wherein the composition comprises an effective amount of an insulin-related peptide; and an aqueous pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, which comprises at least about 30 vol.% glycerin; or (b) a composition comprising: an insulin-related peptide; and an aqueous pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, which comprises at least about 30 vol.% glycerin (claim 35, 72), wherein the aqueous pharmaceutically acceptable carrier further comprises a buffer (claim 39, 73-75).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MERCY H SABILA/Examiner, Art Unit 1654
/LIANKO G GARYU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1654