DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the battery module" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, from which claim 4 depends, defines “a plurality of battery modules”. As such, “the battery module” of claim 4, line 3 will be interpreted as “at least one battery module of the plurality of battery modules”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakazawa et al. (JP 2019-075191, see Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Nakazawa et al. discloses in Figs 1-6, a battery rack (ref 11) comprising: a plurality of battery modules (refs 2); a rack case ([0013], all structure listed) to accommodate the plurality of battery modules (refs 2); an injection pipe (ref 50) comprising: a main body portion (ref 62) including an inlet (from ref 68 through refs 66, 67) through which an extinguishing agent ([0041]) is injected (Fig 5) and the main body portion (ref 62) extending along an arrangement (Figs 5, 6) of the plurality of battery modules (refs 2); and a distribution unit (at refs 3b, 58) extending toward (Figs 5, 6) each of the plurality of battery modules (refs 2) from the main body portion (ref 62) and including an outlet (at ref 3b, Fig 5) inserted into (Fig 5) each of the plurality of battery modules (refs 2); and a flexible pipe (ref 64, [0041], [0043, Fig 6) to be bendable (Fig 6) and comprising: a first coupler (at refs 66, 67, Fig 6) located at one end (Fig 6) of the flexible pipe (ref 64) to be connectable to a supply pipe (at ref 67, Fig 6) for supplying the extinguishing agent ([0041]); and a second coupler (at ref 62 connection, Fig 6, [0041]) located at the other end (Figs 5, 6) of the flexible pipe (ref 64) to be connectable to the inlet (Figs 5, 6, junction to ref 50) of the injection pipe (ref 50).
Regarding claim 3, Nakazawa et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the distribution unit (at refs 3b, 58) of the injection pipe (ref 50) protrudes and extends toward (Figs 5, 6) each of the plurality of battery modules (refs 2, in ref 11, Fig 6) in a shape branched (Fig 6) from the main body portion (ref 62), and an extended end portion (Figs 5, 6) of the distribution unit (at refs 3b, 58, Fig 6) is inserted into (Fig 5) each of the plurality of battery modules (refs 2, [0026]) by penetrating the same ([0026], via back panel ref 40, Figs 5, 6).
Regarding claim 4, Nakazawa et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the end portion (Fig 6) of the distribution unit (at ref 58) includes a passive valve (ref 63b, [0046]) to be opened when an internal temperature ([0046]) of the battery module (refs 2) rises above a predetermined temperature ([0046]), which is inserted into (Figs 5, 6) each of the battery modules (refs 2) by penetrating the same (Figs 5, 6).
Regarding claim 9, Nakazawa et al. discloses in Figs 1-6, a power storage device (ref 10) comprising one or more of the battery rack (ref 11) as set forth above.
Regarding claim 10, Nakazawa et al. discloses in Figs 1-6, a power generation system ([0006], ref 1) comprising one or more of the battery rack (ref 11) as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa et al. (JP 2019-075191, see Machine Translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Goitsuka et al. (US 2018/0241092).
Regarding claim 2, Nakazawa et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose a connector provided at an outlet of the supply pipe or the inlet of the injection pipe, having a nozzle shape, and comprising a fixing groove formed by retreating a portion of the nozzle shape in an inward direction, wherein the first coupler or the second coupler includes an accommodating space into which a portion of the connector is inserted, and the first coupler or the second coupler comprises a fixing protrusion to be fixed to the fixing groove of the connector in the accommodating space when the connector is inserted into the accommodating space.
Goitsuka et al. discloses in Figs 1-22, a battery pack (Abstract) including a fire extinguishing structure including an extinguishing agent supply pipe having a nozzle (ref 242a) connected to a feed port (ref 238) having a shape for receiving (Fig 21, [0228]) the nozzle (ref 242a). This configuration enhances the connection and supply of fire extinguishing agent to the battery pack, enhancing overall safety (Abstract, [0228], [0013], Abstract).
Nakazawa et al. and Goitsuka et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the nozzle – coupling structure disclosed by Goitsuka et al. into the piping structure of Nakazawa et al. to
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa et al. (JP 2019-075191, see Machine Translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Olivo et al. (2020/0139178).
Regarding claim 5, Nakazawa et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose a lower end of the injection pipe includes a connector is provided at a lower end of the injection pipe, and the battery rack further comprises: a drain pipe comprising a third coupler located at one end portion of the drain pipe and configured to be connected to the connector provided at the lower end of the injection pipe; and a discharge valve located at the other end portion of the drain pipe and configured to control whether the extinguishing agent is discharged.
Olivio et al. discloses in Figs 1-19, a battery rack (ref 940) comprising a plurality of battery modules (ref 950). The battery rack (ref 940) includes basin drain (ref 990) for allowing and enhancing collection and discharge of fire extinguishing agent ([0053]), working in conjunction with valves ([0048]-[0049]), thereby enhancing overall performance and safety of the battery rack structure ([0053], Fig 9)
Nakazawa et al. and X are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the drain and valve structures disclosed by Olivia et al. into the structure of Nakazawa et al. to enhance overall performance and safety of the battery rack structure
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Instant dependent claim 6 discloses the rack case is among a plurality of rack cases of the battery rack, the plurality of rack cases being stacked in upward and downward directions, the injection pipe is provided on each of plurality of rack cases, and the battery rack further comprises an intermediate pipe to connect between an injection pipe provided on a rack case located on a relatively upper portion and an injection pipe provided on a rack case located on a relatively lower portion, the rack cases being from among the plurality of rack cases, and to have a bendable form.
Nakazawa et al. is considered to be the prior art reference of record closest to the aforementioned structural limitations of instant dependent claim 6. However, it does not disclose or render obvious alone or in combination with any other prior art reference all of the aforementioned structural instant claim limitations. Namely, the structure of the injection pipe and intermediate pipe connection spatially within the structure of the battery rack of the instant claims is not disclosed or rendered obvious. Further, claims 7 and 8 are objected to since they depend from claim 6.
Conclusion
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725