DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed on 4/30/2026 in which claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 11, 14, and 15 were amended. No claims were cancelled and no new claims were added. The specification objection has been overcome. Therefore, claims 1-15 are pending examination below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant appears to argue Kang in isolation. The rejection does not require Kang alone to disclose every limitation. Song in view of Furukawa establish the base multi-pack structure with precharge and main relay control and Kang discloses the voltage collection and comparative switching control of the battery.
Applicant argues the “arithmetic sum disclosed by Kang in paragraph [0043] does not correspond to a sum of the "first voltages of the plurality of battery packs" that are "measured at an output terminal of each of the plurality of battery packs," as recited in claims 1 and 9. Thus, Kang fails to disclose "calculat[ing] a first result value by summing the first voltages of the plurality of battery packs"”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Kang ¶8 discloses the battery voltages being collected by the battery managers and controlling the switching behavior based on the comparison of those collected voltages, which reasonably reads on the “first voltages” being summed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song KR 20140131174 in view of Furukawa et al. JP 2010057290 further in view of Kang US 20180026456.
With regards to claims 1 and 9 Song discloses a battery management apparatus [Abstract “battery management apparatus”], comprising:
an information collector configured to obtain a first voltage measured at an output terminal of each of a plurality of battery packs connected in series [fig 2 charging voltage measurement unit 22] and
a second voltage that is an output voltage of a battery module included in each of the plurality of battery packs [fig 2 battery voltage measurement unit 21]; and
a controller configured to control operations [fig 2 control unit 29] of a precharge relay [fig 2 switch unit 23] included in each of the plurality of battery packs, based on the first voltage and the second voltage [¶32 “the controller 29 measures the voltage of the switch unit 23. The voltage of the switch unit 23 may be calculated by subtracting the battery voltage measured by the battery voltage measurement unit 22 from the charging voltage measured by the battery voltage measurement unit 21. The control unit 29 outputs a control signal of the pwm so that the maximum current allowed within the power limit of the power rating can flow in comparison with the measured voltage of the switch unit 23”],
wherein the precharge relay are connected between the battery module and the output terminal of a corresponding one of the plurality of battery packs [switch unit 23 is connected between the battery module and output terminal of the battery].
Song fails to disclose a main relay and the main relay are connected between the battery module and the output terminal of a corresponding one of the plurality of battery packs.
However, Furukawa discloses a main relay [Fig 1 contactor 3 (claimed main relay)] and the main relay are connected between the battery module and the output terminal of a corresponding one of the plurality of battery packs [fig 1 discloses the contactor (claimed main relay) is connected between the battery module and the output terminal of the battery].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the battery systems of Song and Furukawa to include a main contactor/relay in order to improve safety and more efficiently manage power.
Song fails to disclose wherein the controller is further configured to: calculate a first result value by summing the first voltages of the plurality of battery packs; compare a minimum value among the second voltages of the plurality of battery packs with the first result value; and control the operations of the precharge relay and the main relay in at least one of the plurality of battery packs based on a result of the comparison of the minimum value among the second voltages with the first result value.
However, Kang discloses, and wherein the controller is further configured to:
calculate a first result value by summing the first voltages of the plurality of battery packs [¶43 “the battery voltage may be an arithmetic sum of the detected cell voltages”];
compare a minimum value among the second voltages of the plurality of battery packs with the first result value; and control the operations of the precharge relay and the main relay in at least one of the plurality of battery packs based on a result of the comparison of the minimum value among the second voltages with the first result value [¶8 “each of the battery managers may collect battery voltages of the other battery modules from the module information, and when a size of battery voltage of a corresponding battery module is in a preset order among sizes of battery voltages of the other battery modules, the charge and discharge switches of a corresponding switch circuit may be closed and the precharge switch of the corresponding switch is to be opened”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the battery systems of Song with Kang to sum and compare the module voltages within the system in order to improve efficiency and power management.
With regards to claims 2 and 10, the combination discloses, the battery management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to generate a control signal for short-circuiting the precharge relay included in each of the plurality of battery packs and for opening the main relay included in each of the plurality of battery packs when the operations of the plurality of battery packs connected in series are initiated [Furukawa ¶33 “the control circuit 20 switches on the negative side contactor 3B and precharge relay 5 to precharge the load capacitor 11” which reads on the precharge relay being closed (short circuited) while the main contactor (main relay) is open in order to perform precharge functions].
With regards to claims 3 and 11 the combination discloses, the battery management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to:
generate a control signal for opening the precharge relay and for short-circuiting the main relay, each included in a battery pack having the second voltage corresponding to the minimum value among the plurality of battery packs, if the first result value is greater than the minimum value among the second voltages [Kang ¶8 “each of the battery managers may collect battery voltages of the other battery modules from the module information, and when a size of battery voltage of a corresponding battery module is in a preset order among sizes of battery voltages of the other battery modules, the charge and discharge switches of a corresponding switch circuit may be closed and the precharge switch of the corresponding switch is to be opened”].
With regards to claim 7 the combination discloses, the battery management apparatus of claim 1, wherein a precharge resistor is serially connected to the precharge relay [Furukawa fig 1 resistor 6 in series with relay 5].
With regards to claim 8 the combination discloses, he battery management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the battery module is provided in plural [Song ¶27 “The battery unit 1 corresponds to a battery unit, and the battery unit may be composed of at least one battery cell”].
With regards to claims 14 and 15 the combination discloses, the battery management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the precharge relay and the main relay are connected to each other in parallel and are each connected between a battery module and the output terminal in each of the plurality of battery packs [Furukawa fig 1 where the precharge relay 5 and main relay/contactor 3a are connected in parallel between the battery module 2 and the output terminal 7].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song KR 20140131174 in view of Furukawa et al. JP 2010057290 further in view of Kang US 20180026456 further in view of Yang US 20160241057.
With regards to claim 6 Song, Furukawa, and Kang fail to disclose, the battery management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the main relay and the precharge relay comprise a bipolar junction transistor (BJT) or a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET).
However, Yang discloses, the battery management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the main relay and the precharge relay comprise a bipolar junction transistor (BJT) or a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) [Fig 3 FETs 313 and 315].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the charging systems of Song in view of [Kang and Furukawa] with Yang to use FETs as the switching devices in order to prevent switch failure and improve overall safety and reliability of the circuit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest; with regards to claims 4 and 12 “calculate a second result value by summing the second voltages of battery packs comprising short-circuited main relays among the plurality of battery packs; calculate a third result value by summing the second result value and a minimum value among the second voltages of battery packs comprising short-circuited precharge relays among the plurality of battery packs; compare the first result value with the third result value; and generate the control signal for opening the precharge relay and for short-circuiting the main relay, each included in the battery pack having the second voltage corresponding to the minimum value among the second voltages of the battery packs including the short-circuited precharge relays, if the first result value is greater than the third result value”, and with regards to claims 5 and 13 “wherein the controller is further configured to: calculate a fourth result value by summing all of the second voltages of the plurality of battery packs; and generate a control signal for opening the precharge relays of the plurality of battery packs and for short-circuiting the main relays of the plurality of battery packs, if a difference between the fourth result value and the first result value is less than or equal to a reference value”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN J INSTONE/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859