DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . If status of the application as subject to 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending in the application. Claims 4-15 are withdrawn. Claims 1-3 are presently examined.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-3), in the reply filed on 11/24/2025, is acknowledged. Claims 4-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected groups.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1-3, the pdf document with the claims has poor resolution, especially Formula 1. Although examiner was able to discern, with difficulty, the structure of Formula 1, this structure won’t be clear in the granted patent. Examiner requests that Applicant submits a Word copy of the claims, with presumably improved resolution, with the next office action response.
Claims 2-3 recite “a lithium secondary battery”. This should be amended to “[[a]]the lithium secondary battery” because “a lithium secondary battery” was introduced in claim 1.
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite a “positive electrode additive for a lithium secondary battery” in the preamble. MPEP 2111.02(II) provides guidance for interpretation of this preamble:
“If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.”
The preamble of the claims is interpreted as a “purpose or intended use of the invention” and does not limit the claims for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claims are in bold font, the prior art is in parentheses.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by “Synthesis and Controllable Self-Assembly of a Novel Coronene Bisimide Amphiphile” (Rao).
Claim 1 recites:
A positive electrode additive for a lithium secondary battery
As discussed in the Claim Interpretation section above, this preamble doesn’t limit the claim for examination.
Claim 1 also recites:
<Formula 1>
wherein, R is a carbon chain
Rao teaches this chemical (see Figure A or Figure B below):
Figure A: Rao chemical 4 in Scheme 1, p. 2657 top of page
Figure B: Rao product in Scheme 1, p. 2657 top of page
Regarding Figure B, claim 1 doesn’t state that the carbons of the benzene rings can’t be substituted, so the chemical of Figure B also anticipates the claimed Formula 1.
With regard to claim 2, Rao teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Rao also teaches the following claim 2 limitation:
R is a linear carbon chain (see Figure A or Figure B above)
It is unclear from Figure A alone whether or not Rao’s moiety, that is attached to the imide group, is linear or branched. The product of the reaction, illustrated in Figure B, makes it clear that this moiety is linear.
With regard to claim 3, Rao teaches the limitations of claims 1-2 as noted above. Rao also teaches the following claim 3 limitation:
R is an alkyl group having 8 to 12 carbon atoms (see Figure A or Figure B above)
Conclusion
/R.G.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/SADIE WHITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721