DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 of the claim “the processor” is repeated in the recited language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-7, 9, 11-12, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (CN113630656; wherein US Patent Publication No. 2024/0179364 is used as an equivalent; hereinafter Zhu).
With reference to claims 1 and 17-20, Zhu discloses, an electronic device (200) comprising a memory, a processor (250) and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor [the processor], wherein the computer program is executed by the processor (see paragraphs 63, 87, 156-157; Figs. 3-4), the following methods are implemented for a screen projection control method, being applicable to a first electronic device (300), wherein the first electronic device (300) has been paired with one or more second electronic devices (200) (see paragraphs 44-46, 100; Figs. 6-7);
the method (see paragraph 99, 143-149) comprises:
in response to detecting a setting operation, sending a first packet to the one or more second electronic devices (200) that have been paired, wherein the first packet is configured to control the one or more second electronic devices (200) to start up in a screen-off state (in teaching sending messages to the second device to “WAKEUP”; see paragraphs 87, 91; Fig. 6), and the screen-off state indicates that a backlight of the one or more second electronic devices is turned off (in teaching the display enters a working state from a standby state; see paragraphs 94-96); and
when the one or more second electronic devices (200) are in a start-up and screen-off state (in teaching the display enters a working state from a standby state; see paragraphs 94-96, 98), in response to receiving a screen projection instruction, sending screen projection data to the one or more second electronic devices to enable the one or more second electronic devices to enter a screen-on state after receiving the screen projection data and display the received screen projection data (see paragraphs 97-101);
wherein the first packet at least comprises a media access control (MAC) address of the plurality of second electronic devices (200), so that the plurality of second electronic devices perform verification based on the MAC address comprised in the received first packet, and perform a process of starting up in the screen-off state in response to that the MAC address passes the verification (see paragraphs 87, 89, 94, 96; Fig. 6);
wherein the first electronic device (300) is installed with a target application, and the target application is an application supporting wake on WLAN (see paragraphs 95-98); and
the one or more second electronic devices (200) are configured with a target function, and the target function is a wake on WLAN function (see paragraphs 97-99);
wherein a process of pairing the first electronic device with the one or more second electronic devices comprises (see Fig. 6):
obtaining the MAC address of the one or more second electronic devices (200) configured with the wake on WLAN function through the application supporting wake on WLAN in the first electronic device (300) and storing the obtained MAC address, so that the first electronic device is paired with the one or more second electronic devices (200) (see paragraphs 87, 94, 97-99; Fig. 6, 11);
wherein in response to detecting the setting operation, sending the first packet to the one or more second electronic devices (200 that have been paired (see paragraphs 87, 91) comprises:
in response to detecting the setting operation, sending the first packet to a plurality of second electronic devices (200) that have been paired and located within a setting range through broadcast (220) (see paragraphs 62, 100; Figs. 3, 7), so that the second electronic (200) device that has been configured to turn on the target function in advance receives the first packet sent by the first electronic device (300) (see paragraphs 100-101);
wherein the setting operation comprises:
an operation event of a setting type occurs in a setting application in the first electronic device (300), wherein the setting application is a multimedia application, and the operation event of the setting type is that the setting application is opened (see paragraphs 86-87, 166-169; Figs. 11-13);
wherein starting up in the screen-off state comprises:
in the screen-off state, supplying power to a central processing unit (CPU), a logic circuit and an embedded multimedia card (eMMC) of the one or more second electronic device (200) to enable the one or more second electronic device to monitor the screen projection data through the CPU, the logic circuit and the eMMC (see paragraphs 63, 99; Figs. 3-4).
With reference to claim 4, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the setting operation further comprises at least one of: a position of the first electronic device (300) changes (see paragraphs 141-142); or an operation event of a setting type occurs in a setting application in the first electronic device (see paragraphs 141-142).
With reference to claim 6, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein after when the one or more second electronic devices (200) are in the start-up and screen-off state (see paragraphs 94, 96), in response to receiving the screen projection instruction (see paragraph 93), sending screen projection data to the one or more second electronic devices (see paragraph 100; Fig. 7), the method further comprises: in response to detecting a play adjustment operation, sending a play adjustment instruction to the one or more second electronic devices, wherein the play adjustment instruction is configured to control the one or more second electronic devices to adjust content being played on a screen (see paragraphs 73, 101, 167-169; Fig. 13-15).
With reference to claim 7, Zhu discloses, a screen projection control method, being applicable to a second electronic device (200), wherein the second electronic device (200) has been paired with a first electronic device (300) (see paragraphs 44-46; 100; Figs. 6-7);
the method (see paragraphs 99, 143-149) comprises:
in response to receiving a first packet sent by the first electronic device (300) that has been paired, starting up in a screen-off state (see paragraphs 91, 96; Fig. 6);
wherein the screen-off state indicates that a backlight of the one or more second electronic devices (200) is turned off (see paragraphs 94-96); and
in response to receiving screen projection data sent by the first electronic device (300), controlling the second electronic device (200) to enter a screen-on state from a start-up and screen-off state and displaying the received screen projection data on a screen (see paragraphs 94-96),
wherein the first packet at least comprises a media access control (MAC) address of the second electronic device (200) (see paragraphs 87, 95-99);
wherein in response to receiving the first packet sent by the first electronic device (300) that has been paired, starting up in the screen-off state (see paragraphs 95-99) comprises:
in response to receiving the first packet, performing verification on the MAC address comprised in the first packet (see paragraphs 79-80, 96-99; Fig. 6); and
in response to that the MAC address passes the verification, starting up in the screen-off state (see paragraphs 97-99);
wherein the first electronic device (300) is installed with a target application, and the target application is an application supporting wake on WLAN (see paragraphs 86-87); and the one or more second electronic devices (200) are configured with a target function, and the target function is a wake on WLAN function (see paragraphs 86-86, 166-169);
wherein a process of pairing the first electronic device with the second electronic device (see Fig. 6, 11) comprises:
sharing the MAC address of the second electronic device (200) with the first electronic device (300) installed with the target application through the target function of the second electronic device, so that the first electronic device is paired with the second electronic device (see paragraphs 86-86, 94-99, Fig. 6, 11);
wherein the first packet is sent by the first electronic device (300) to the second electronic device (200) that has been paired and located within a setting range through broadcast (220) in response to detecting a setting operation (see paragraphs 62, 100; Figs. 3, 7);
wherein the setting operation comprises:
an operation event of a setting type occurs in a setting application in the first electronic device (300), wherein the setting application is a multimedia application, and the operation event of the setting type is that the setting application is opened (see paragraphs 86-87, 166-169; Figs. 11-12);
wherein the second electronic (200) device is configured in advance to have a target function turned on (see paragraph 98-99);
before in response to receiving the first packet sent by the first electronic device that has been paired, starting up in the screen-off state (see paragraphs 97-101), the method further comprises:
in response to that the second electronic device (200) has turned on the target function, receiving the first packet sent by the first electronic (300) device through the target function (see paragraphs 86-87);
wherein starting up in the screen-off state comprises:
in the screen-off state, supplying power to a central processing unit (CPU), a logic circuit and an embedded multimedia card (eMMC) of the second electronic device (200) to enable the second electronic device to monitor the screen projection data through the CPU, the logic circuit and the eMMC (see paragraphs 63, 99; Figs. 3-4).
With reference to claim 11, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 7, and further discloses wherein before starting up in the screen-off state, the method further comprises: supplying power to a random access memory, a microcontroller unit, an Ethernet unit and a wireless overlay network unit of the second electronic device to support the second electronic device to receive the first packet sent by the first electronic device through the target function (in teaching supplying power to the basic operation system; see paragraph 63).
With reference to claim 12, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 7, and further discloses wherein before in response to receiving the first packet sent by the first electronic device that has been paired, starting up in the screen-off state, the method further comprises: in response to a mode setting operation on the second electronic device, setting the second electronic device to a low-power screen projection mode to enable the second electronic device to start up in the screen-off state in the low-power screen projection mode (see paragraphs 94-98).
With reference to claim 14, Zhu discloses the method according to claim 7, and further discloses wherein after in response to receiving screen projection data sent by the first electronic device, controlling the second electronic device to enter the screen-on state and displaying the received screen projection data on the screen, the method further comprises: in response to receiving a play adjustment instruction sent by the first electronic device, adjusting content being played on the screen (see paragraphs 73, 101, 167-169; Fig. 13-15).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LI (US2013/0132740) discloses a power controller to deliver different power levels to different devices wherein an eMMC defines a sleep mode function to save power consumption for the controller and logic circuits (see abstract, paragraphs 17-28, Figs. 1-6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Zhu fails to disclose “wherein the setting operation comprises: an operation event of a setting type occurs in a setting application in the first electronic device, wherein the setting application is a multimedia application, and the operation event of the setting type is that the setting application is opened” as recited. The examiner finds that Zhu discloses the recited subject matter in teaching that the first electronic device (300) sends packet information to the second device (200) for waking up the second device from a standby state wherein the display apparatus itself does not work, but the display apparatus is still capable of receiving data packets (see paragraphs 91-98). Zhu additionally teaches that the waking up of the second device occurs in response to the user opening an application on the first device (see paragraphs 88, 166-167). The applicant argues that Zhu teaches sending search instruction from the terminal device to the second device instead of a wake-up data packet. However, the examiner finds that Zhu specifically teaches the usage of wake-up on LAN data packets for operating the second device in response to the opening of an application, which may include a search instruction, from the terminal device (see paragraphs 86-100). For these reasons the examiner finds that Zhu discloses the subject matter argued by the applicant. The applicant also argues Zhu fails to disclose the subject matter previously recited in claim 9, now incorporated into claims 1, 7, and 17. The examiner finds that Zhu discloses supplying power to a CPU, a logic circuit, and an eMMC of the second electronic device to enable monitoring of the screen projection data though the CPU, logic, and eMMC as recited in teaching that the mobile terminal may send corresponding wake-up instructions (wake on LAN) to the display apparatus so as to wake up the display apparatus to wake up system processors and software on the display apparatus, wherein the wake on LAN (WoL) instructions are known to power on a computer from a low-power state (sleep, hibernate, backlight control, etc.) (see paragraphs 63, 99). For these reasons the examiner finds that Zhu discloses the subject matter argued by the applicant. Therefore the rejection has been maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADE/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625