DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/26/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
3. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 08/19/2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, and 12-14 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claims 6 and 8-9 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (Pub. No. US 20210408526 A1) in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 20210036306 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches a sulfur-carbon composite (sulfur-carbon composite, see [0091]) comprising: a porous carbon material (carbon material, see [0091], see [0092] describes the carbon material as porous); and sulfur (sulfur-series compound, see [0091]) on at least a portion of inside (supporting the sulfur-series compound inside the carbon material, see [0099]) of the porous carbon material (carbon material, see [0091], see [0092] describes the carbon material as porous), wherein the porous carbon material (carbon material, see [0091], see [0092] describes the carbon material as porous) is obtained by heat treatment (heat treatment, see [0185]) under an inert gas atmosphere (inert gas, see [0186]) including nitrogen gas (nitrogen, see [0189]), but is silent to wherein the porous carbon material has powder electrical conductivity of 25 S/cm or greater at powder density of 0.58 g/cc, and fails to teach wherein the porous carbon material is Ketjen black and the heat treatment is at a temperature of 650oC to 800oC, and the sulfur supported on at least a portion of the inside and a surface of the porous carbon material.
However, Song further teaches wherein the porous carbon material (carbon material, see [0091], see [0092] describes the carbon material as porous) is Ketjen Black (Ketjen Black, see [0094] where the carbon material is carbon black, and the carbon black is Ketjen Black), and heat treating (heat treatment, see [0185]) the Ketjen Black (Ketjen Black, see [0094] where the carbon material is carbon black, and the carbon black is Ketjen Black) at a temperature of 700oC to 900oC (700---oC to 900oC, see [0187]) for 1 to 5 hours (1 to 5 hours, see [0188]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Song such that Ketjen Black is used as the porous carbon material and heat treating the Ketjen Black for 1 to 5 hours at 700oC to 900oC as Song teaches it is known in the art to do so. It would have further been obvious to modify heat treatment temperature to stay between 700oC and 850oC as heat treatment temperature is a result effective variable of sufficient surface modification, increase in carbon content, specific surface area, and pore volume, and preventing decreased conductivity (see [0187] of Song). Further Song teaches that modifications can be made (see [0221] of Song).
Song is silent to wherein the porous carbon material has powder electrical conductivity of 25 S/cm or greater at powder density of 0.58 g/cc, and fails to teach and the sulfur supported on at least a portion of the inside and a surface of the porous carbon material.
However, Kim teaches sulfur (sulfur, see [0037]) on at least a portion of inside (part of inside, see [0037]) and a surface (surface, see [0037]) of the porous carbon material (porous carbon material, see [0037]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Song such that the sulfur-series compound is supported on at least a portion of the inside and a surface of the carbon material as taught by Kim to improve the electrical conductivity of the sulfur-carbon composite and improve operation characteristics of battery comprising the sulfur-carbon composite (see [0041] of Kim). Further Song teaches that the form of the sulfur-carbon composite is not limited (see [0099] of Song) and modifications can be made (see [0221] of Song).
Song in view of Kim are silent to wherein the porous carbon material has powder electrical conductivity of 25 S/cm or greater at powder density of 0.58 g/cc, however it is the Examiner’s position that if the powder electrical conductivity vs powder density of the porous carbon material as taught by Song in view of Kim was measured in the same way as the claimed invention one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the porous carbon material as taught by Song in view of Kim to exhibit a powder electrical conductivity of 25 S/cm or greater at a powder density of 0.58 g/cc or exhibit a range which obviates the claimed range as it is a result effective variable of heat treating Ketjen Black at a temperature range of 700-850oC in a nitrogen atmosphere.
Regarding claim 4, Song in view of Kim teaches wherein the sulfur (sulfur-series compound, see [0091]) includes one or more types of materials selected from the group consisting of inorganic sulfur (inorganic sulfur, see [0089]), Li.sub.2S.sub.n (n≥1) (Li.sub.2S.sub.n (n≥1), see [0089]), disulfide compounds (disulfide compounds, see [0089]), organosulfur compounds (organosulfur compounds, see [0089]), and carbon-sulfur polymers ((C.sub.2S.sub.x).sub.n, x=2.5 to 50, n≥2) (carbon-sulfur polymers ((C.sub.2S.sub.x).sub.n, x=2.5 to 50, n≥12), see [0089]).
Regarding claim 5, Song in view of Kim teaches wherein, in the sulfur-carbon composite (sulfur-carbon composite, see [0091]), the porous carbon material (carbon material, see [0091], see [0092] describes the carbon material as porous) and the sulfur (sulfur-series compound, see [0091]) have a weight ratio of 1:1 to 1:9 (1:1 to 1:9, see [0097]).
Regarding claim 12, Song in view of Kim teaches a positive electrode (positive electrode, see [0084]) for a lithium-sulfur battery (lithium secondary battery, see [0119]) comprising the sulfur-carbon composite (sulfur-carbon composite, see [0091], see [0090] the positive electrode active material is sulfur-carbon composite) of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Song in view of Kim teaches a lithium-sulfur battery (lithium secondary battery, see [0169], see [0119] where the positive electrode is the positive electrode above, and where the positive electrode includes a sulfur-carbon composite making the battery a lithium-sulfur battery) comprising: the positive electrode (positive electrode, see [0084]) for a lithium-sulfur battery (lithium secondary battery, see [0119]) of claim 12 (see rejection of claim 12 above); a negative electrode (negative electrode, see [0119]) including a negative electrode active material (negative electrode active material, see [0121]); and an electrolyte (electrolyte, see [0119]).
Regarding claim 14, Song in view of Kim fails to teach wherein the negative electrode active material includes one or more types of materials selected from the group consisting of lithium metal and lithium alloys.
However, Song teaches wherein the negative electrode active material (negative electrode active material, see [0121]) includes one or more types of materials selected from the group consisting of lithium metal (lithium metal, see [0123]) and lithium alloys (lithium alloy, see [0123]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Song in view of Kim such that the negative electrode active material includes lithium metal or lithium alloy as Song teaches it is known in the art to do so. Further Song in view of Kim teaches that modifications can be made (see [0221] of Song).
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Song in view of Kim only performs heat treatment on carbon nanotubes, and neither suggest that electrical conductivity is improved through the process, therefore increased electrical conductivity of Ketjen Black cannot be predicted. The Examiner respectfully disagrees because as seen in [0186] of Song the heat treatment is performed on a carbon material, not explicitly carbon nanotubes. Further, as seen in modifications above and in [0094] of Song the carbon material is Ketjen Black, therefore the heat treatment is taught by Song to be performed on Ketjen Black. Further, the prior art is not required to teach an increase in electrical conductivity of Ketjen Black caused by heat treatment, the conductivity is expected to be inherently present given the same material is used in the same method.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that Song in view of Kim fail to predict an effect of the claimed invention of improving the electrical conductivity of Ketjen Black. This argument is moot as the present invention is not a method claim and is instead a product claim which requires a Ketjen Black material having a specific powder electrical conductivity at a specific powder density, and since Song in view of Kim teach using the same material and processing the material in the same way, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the material to exhibit the same inherent characteristics.
In response to applicant's argument that the specific heat treating process applied to Ketjen Black provides the unexpected results of improved electrical conductivity at a given powder density, and Song in view of Kim would not have been able to predict the increased electrical conductivity. This argument is moot, as first the claims are directed to a product claim not a method claim. Further, Song in view of Kim teach nearly the exact same method of heat treating Ketjen Black, therefore the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723