Status of the Application
Claims 1, 2, 8—10, 22, 23, 28 & 31 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on merits. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 02/10/2025 & 03/27/2023 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1—3, 7—10, 20—23, 25, 28, 30—31 in the reply filed on 06/06/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 20180132965 A1 to Nahum et al. (Nahum hereafter) in view of U.S Patent Application 2007/0043338 A1 to Moll et al. (Moll hereafter).
As per claim 1, Nahum teaches:
A support unlocking apparatus (Fig.8; para [0048]: unlocking apparatus generally shown), provided on a head brace fixing apparatus (6—Fig.8; para [0054]) of a surgery assisting robot system (3—Fig.8; para [0054])
and connected to a head brace apparatus (17 & 19—Fig.8; para [0054]) of a hospital bed system (18—Fig.8; para [0054]), comprising: a head brace adapter apparatus (19—Fig.8; para [0054]), comprising an adapter assembly connected to the head brace apparatus (annotated 19—Fig.8; para [0054]) and a mounting plate configured to mount the adapter assembly (annotated 19—Fig.8; para [0054]); and a clamping apparatus (12—Fig.6; para [0048]), provided on the head brace fixing apparatus (12—Fig.6; para [0048]) and, the clamping apparatus having an unlocked state and a locked state (para [0048]), the clamping apparatus being placed in the unlocked state (para [0050])
Nahum does not teach [a clamp] configured to clamp the mounting plate and the mounting plate moving with respect to the clamping apparatus when a drag force applied to the head brace adapter apparatus exceeds a threshold of the clamping apparatus, and the mounting plate being fixed by the clamping apparatus when the clamping apparatus is in the locked state.
Moll teaches: [a clamp] configured to clamp the mounting plate (27—Fig.3.3; para [0131]: clamp 89 configured to clamp to plate via 27) and the mounting plate moving with respect to the clamping apparatus when a drag force applied to the head brace adapter apparatus exceeds a threshold of the clamping apparatus (para [0131]), and the mounting plate being fixed by the clamping apparatus when the clamping apparatus is in the locked state (25—Fig.3.3; para [0131]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nahum (directed to a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system) and Moll (directed to a robot arm provided to a clamp assembly provided with a connecting plate) and arrived at a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system including a clamp assembly configured to clamp to a mounting plate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to attachably couple to a mounting structure disposed on an edge of the operating table as taught in Moll (para [0131]).
As per claim 2, Nahum (as modified) teaches: The support unlocking apparatus according to claim 1.
Nahum does not teach, wherein the clamping apparatus comprises a connecting plate and at least one clamping assembly, the connecting plate being mounted on the head brace fixing apparatus, the at least one clamping assembly being provided on the connecting plate and clamping the mounting plate.
Moll teaches, wherein the clamping apparatus comprises a connecting plate (33—Fig.3.3; para [0131]) and at least one clamping assembly (115 & 99—Fig.3.3; para [0131]), the connecting plate being mounted on the head brace fixing apparatus (1—Fig.3.2; para [0131]), the at least one clamping assembly being provided on the connecting plate and clamping the mounting plate (27 & 33—Fig.3.3; para [0131]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nahum (directed to a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system) and Moll (directed to a robot arm provided to a clamp assembly provided with a connecting plate ) and arrived at a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system including a clamp assembly configured to clamp to a mounting plate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to attachably couple to a mounting structure disposed on an edge of the operating table as taught in Moll (para [0131]).
As per claim 10, Nahum (as modified) teaches:
A surgery assisting robot system (Fig.8; para [0048]: unlocking apparatus generally shown), comprising a support frame (9—Fig.8; para [0054]), a surgical robotic arm arranged with the support frame (3—Fig.8; para [0054]), a head brace fixing apparatus (17 & 19—Fig.8; para [0054]), and a support unlocking apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the support unlocking apparatus is provided on the head brace fixing apparatus (6—Fig.8; para [0054]), and the head brace fixing apparatus is configured to support a head brace apparatus through the support unlocking apparatus (17 & 19—Fig.8; para [0054]), the surgical robotic arm being configured to perform a surgical operation (para [0039]).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 22 & 23, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 20180132965 A1 to Nahum in view of U.S Patent Application 2007/0043338 A1 to Moll in further view of U.S Patent Application 2007/0142969 A1 to Devengenzo (Devengenzo hereafter).
As per claim 8, Nahum (as modified) teaches: The support unlocking apparatus according to claim 2.
Nahum does not teach, wherein the clamping apparatus further comprises a guide assembly, the mounting plate being connected to the connecting plate through the guide assembly, and the mounting plate being movable with respect to the connecting plate through the guide assembly, and wherein the guide assembly comprises a first guide member and a second guide member, the first guide member being provided on the mounting plate, the second guide member being provided on the connecting plate, and the first guide member slidingly engaging with the second guide member.
Devengenzo teaches, wherein the clamping apparatus (108—Fig.6C) further comprises a guide assembly(104—Fig.6C), the mounting plate being connected to the connecting plate through the guide assembly (102—Fig.6C; para [0050]: 102 and 106 connected via guide assembly), and the mounting plate being movable with respect to the connecting plate through the guide assembly (para [0049]), and wherein the guide assembly comprises a first guide member and a second guide member (104—Fig.6C; para [0049]: left and right sides of element 104), the first guide member being provided on the mounting plate (para [0049]), the second guide member being provided on the connecting plate, and the first guide member slidingly engaging with the second guide member (para [0049]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nahum (directed to a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system) and Moll (directed to a robot arm provided to a clamp assembly provided with a connecting plate) and Devengenzo (directed to a robot arm provided to a clamp assembly provided with a telescopic head brace fixing apparatus ) and arrived at a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system including a telescopic head brace fixing apparatus. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to enable a two-quadrant surgery with a single setup (e.g., a colorectal surgery), and providing for more space and visibility near the surgical field as taught in Devengenzo (para [0048]).
As per claim 9, Nahum (as modified) teaches: The support unlocking apparatus according to claim 2.
Nahum does not teach, wherein the clamping apparatus further comprises a friction member provided on the connecting plate and abutting against the mounting plate.
Devengenzo teaches, wherein the clamping apparatus further comprises a friction member (112 –Fig.6C; para [0053]) provided on the connecting plate and abutting against the mounting plate (112—Fig.6a).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nahum (directed to a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system) and Moll (directed to a robot arm provided to a clamp assembly provided with a connecting plate) and Devengenzo (directed to a robot arm provided to a clamp assembly provided with a clamping apparatus including a friction member) and arrived at a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system including a telescopic head brace fixing apparatus. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to enable a two-quadrant surgery with a single setup (e.g., a colorectal surgery), and providing for more space and visibility near the surgical field as taught in Devengenzo (para [0048]).
As per claim 22, Nahum (as modified) teaches:
A head brace fixing apparatus (6—Fig.8; para [0054]), provided in a surgery assisting robot system (3—Fig.8; para [0054]) and connected to a head brace apparatus (17 & 19—Fig.8; para [0054]) of a hospital bed system (18—Fig.8; para [0054]),
Nahum does not teach comprising: a telescoping assembly, telescopically arranged with a support frame of the surgery assisting robot system and connectable to the head brace apparatus; and a second locking assembly, configured to lock or unlock the telescoping assembly, the second locking assembly limiting a movement of the telescoping assembly when locking the telescoping assembly.
Devengenzo teaches comprising: a telescoping assembly, telescopically arranged with a support frame of the surgery assisting robot system and connectable to the head brace apparatus (100—Fig.5b; para [0048]); and a second locking assembly, configured to lock or unlock the telescoping assembly, the second locking assembly limiting a movement of the telescoping assembly when locking the telescoping assembly (316—Fig.11B; para [0063]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nahum (directed to a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system) and Moll (directed to a robot arm provided to a clamp assembly provided with a connecting plate) and Devengenzo (directed to a robot arm provided to a clamp assembly provided with a telescopic head brace fixing apparatus ) and arrived at a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system including a telescopic head brace fixing apparatus. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to enable a two-quadrant surgery with a single setup (e.g., a colorectal surgery), and providing for more space and visibility near the surgical field as taught in Devengenzo (para [0048]).
As per claim 23, Nahum (as modified) teaches: The head brace fixing apparatus according to claim 22.
Nahum does not teach, wherein the telescoping assembly comprises a support arm and a linear motion member, the support arm being movable with respect to the support frame through the linear motion member, and wherein the linear motion member comprises a third guide member and a slide member slidingly engaged with the third guide member, the third guide member being provided in an axial direction of the support arm, the slide member being arranged with the support frame.
Devengenzo teaches, wherein the telescoping assembly comprises a support arm (50—Fig.5A; para [0049]) and a linear motion member (201 & 202—Fig.10B; para [0058]), the support arm being movable with respect to the support frame through the linear motion member (para [0063]), and wherein the linear motion member comprises a third guide member and a slide member slidingly engaged with the third guide member (101 & 102—Fig.5A; para [0049]), the third guide member being provided in an axial direction of the support arm, the slide member being arranged with the support frame (102 & 104—Fig.5A; para [0049]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nahum (directed to a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system) and Moll (directed to a robot arm provided to a clamp assembly provided with a connecting plate) and Devengenzo (directed to a robot arm provided to a clamp assembly provided with a telescopic head brace fixing apparatus) and arrived at a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system including a telescopic head brace fixing apparatus. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to enable a two-quadrant surgery with a single setup (e.g., a colorectal surgery), and providing for more space and visibility near the surgical field as taught in Devengenzo (para [0048]).
As per claim 28, Nahum (as modified) teaches: The head brace fixing apparatus according to claim 23.
Nahum does not teach, wherein the head brace fixing apparatus further comprises a restricting assembly provided on the support arm and configured to limit a movement of the linear motion member, and wherein the restricting assembly comprises a restricting member provided at an end portion of the support arm and configured to limit a motion stroke of the third guide member.
Devengenzo teaches, wherein the head brace fixing apparatus further comprises a restricting assembly (600—Fig.8A; para [0060]) provided on the support arm and configured to limit a movement of the linear motion member (para [0059]), and wherein the restricting assembly comprises a restricting member provided at an end portion of the support arm and configured to limit a motion stroke of the third guide member (214—Fig.8A; para [0060]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nahum (directed to a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system) and Moll (directed to a robot arm provided to a clamp assembly provided with a connecting plate) and Devengenzo (directed to a robot arm provided to a clamp assembly provided with a telescopic head brace fixing apparatus) and arrived at a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system including a telescopic head brace fixing apparatus. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to enable a two-quadrant surgery with a single setup (e.g., a colorectal surgery), and providing for more space and visibility near the surgical field as taught in Devengenzo (para [0048]).
As per claim 31, Nahum (as modified) teaches:
A surgery assisting robot system (3—Fig.8; para [0054]), comprising
a support frame (9—Fig.8; para [0054]), a surgical robotic arm arranged with the support frame (3—Fig.8; para [0054]), and a head brace fixing apparatus according to claim 22 (17 & 19—Fig.8; para [0054]), wherein the surgical robotic arm is movably arranged with the support frame (3—Fig.8; para [0054])
Nahum does not teaches, and the head brace fixing apparatus is arranged with the support frame and is telescopic with respect to the support frame, the head brace fixing apparatus, when extending out of the support frame, is connected to and fix the head brace apparatus.
Devengenzo teaches and the head brace fixing apparatus is arranged with the support frame and is telescopic with respect to the support frame (100—Fig.5b; para [0048]), the head brace fixing apparatus, when extending out of the support frame, is connected to and fix the head brace apparatus (8—Fig.5B; para [0049]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Nahum (directed to a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system) and Moll (directed to a robot arm provided to a clamp assembly provided with a connecting plate) and Devengenzo (directed to a robot arm provided to a clamp assembly provided with a telescopic head brace fixing apparatus ) and arrived at a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system including a telescopic head brace fixing apparatus. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to enable a two-quadrant surgery with a single setup (e.g., a colorectal surgery), and providing for more space and visibility near the surgical field as taught in Devengenzo (para [0048]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 25 & 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claims 3, 5, 25 & 30 , the closest prior art of record U.S Patent Application 20180132965 A1 to Nahum teaches a robot arm assembly provided with a head brace fixing apparatus configured to integrate with a hospital bed system. Nahum further teaches a fixing bracket (29—Fig.3.3; para [0131]), a first elastic member provided in the fixing bracket (97—Fig.3.3; para [0131]), and an abutting member provided at an end portion of the first elastic member. Nahum as modified by the following teach:
(U.S Patent Application 2007/0043338 A1 to Moll) teaches a robot arm provided with a clamp assembly including a connecting plate.
(U.S Patent Application 2007/0142969 A1 to Devengenzo) a robot arm provided to a clamp assembly provided with a telescopic head brace fixing apparatus.
(U.S Patent Application 2006/0255220 A1 to Skripps) a clamp is provided for securing an accessory to a rail of a patient support apparatus.
(U.S Patent Application 2010/0241136 A1 to Doyle) a positioning mechanism holding the instrument is coupled to a control mechanism such that mechanical manipulation of the control mechanism results in movement of the positioning mechanism relative to a patient's body.
Regarding dependent claims 3, 7, 25 & 30 there is no teaching suggestion or motivation in the prior art of record presented above which would reasonably permit a combination which would arrive at the combination of elements presented in dependent claims 3, 7, 25 & 30. Specifically, the limitation with respect to:
wherein the at least one clamping assembly comprises a fixing bracket, a first elastic member provided in the fixing bracket, and an abutting member provided at an end portion of the first elastic member, the fixing bracket being connected to the connecting plate, and the abutting member abutting against the mounting plate under an elastic force of the first elastic member, wherein the at least one clamping assembly further comprises an adjustment member movably provided in the fixing bracket and abutting against the first elastic member, the adjustment member being configured to adjust the elastic force of the first elastic member, and wherein the mounting plate includes a restricting recess engageable with the abutting member, and the abutting member is capable of moving into or out of the restricting recess.
and the abutting member abutting against the mounting plate under an elastic force of the first elastic member, wherein the at least one clamping assembly further comprises an adjustment member movably provided in the fixing bracket and abutting against the first elastic member, the adjustment member being configured to adjust the elastic force of the first elastic member, and wherein the mounting plate includes a restricting recess engageable with the abutting member, and the abutting member is capable of moving into or out of the restricting recess.
wherein the at least one clamping assembly comprises a clamping sleeve provided on the connecting plate, a locking member movably provided in the clamping sleeve, and a pressing tab provided at an end portion of the locking member, the pressing tab abutting against the mounting plate, and the locking member being configured to adjust an abutting force between the pressing tab and the mounting plate.
wherein the second locking assembly comprises a transmission member and a braking member, the braking member being arranged with the support frame, the braking member extending through the transmission member to connect to the support arm, wherein the transmission member comprises a locking gear and a locking rack engaged with each other, the locking gear being rotatably connected to the braking member, the locking rack being provided in an axial direction of the support arm, and the locking gear locking the locking rack when the braking member locks the locking gear, and wherein the braking member comprises an electromagnetic brake with a friction plate, and the friction plate is in contact with the locking gear when the electromagnetic brake is powered off.
the restricting assembly further comprises a shock absorber provided on a surface of the restricting member facing the third guide member, the shock absorber being capable of abutting against the slide member.
Therefor upon exhausting the art, it is concluded by the examiner for those reasons stated above that inconsideration with deficiencies of the prior art, that applicant’s invention would be considered non-obvious in light of the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
(U.S Patent Application 2006/0255220 A1 to Skripps) teaches a clamp is provided for securing an accessory to a rail of a patient support apparatus.
(U.S Patent Application 2010/0241136 A1 to Doyle) teaches A positioning mechanism holding the instrument is coupled to a control mechanism such that mechanical manipulation of the control mechanism results in movement of the positioning mechanism relative to a patient's body.
/D.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3673 02/27/2026
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673