Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-10 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 3 is a product-by-process claim. Lines 1-3 recite “the insert is formed between a bottom part of the silicone massage head and a top surface of the massage head holder by means of secondary plastic over-molding” which is a description of the process for forming or fixing the insert in the desired location. It is noted that "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). MPEP 2113(I).
Here, paragraph [0029] of the instant Specification states “each of the silicone massage heads 3 is disposed on the corresponding insert 5 for placing into a silicone mold together to perform secondary plastic over-molding, so that each of the inserts 5 is fixedly disposed between the bottom part of the corresponding silicone massage head 3 and the top surface of the corresponding massage head holder 2.” Thus, the process of secondary plastic over-molding is used to “fixedly dispose[]” the insert between the massage head and massage head holder. While plastic over-molding is used to fix the structures together, the structures themselves are not necessarily made of plastic.
Furthermore, "[t]he Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. MPEP 2113(II).
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the insert is formed … by means of secondary plastic over-molding” in claim 3. The phrase “by means of” in this context is synonymous with “by way of”, reciting product-by-process language rather than being a generic placeholder coupled with functional language.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (US 2022/0125673 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses a massage head assembly (Fig. 3), comprising a massage head base (body 10, Fig. 3), a massage head holder (head base 32, Fig. 3) and a silicone massage head (dome-shaped head 50 and dome-shaped soft cover 52, Fig. 3, are collectively considered the silicone massage head. The cover 52 is “made of soft resin such as silicon resin” see lines 4-7 of [0030], or “silicon rubber” see lines 4-6 of [0036]); the silicone massage head (50, 52, Figs. 2-3) is fixedly disposed on the massage head holder (massage head 50, 52, is fixedly disposed on the massage head holder 32 via screws B1, see Figs. 2-3; see the last sentence of [0033]); the massage head holder (32) is detachably disposed on the massage head base (massage head base 32 is indirectly connected to the massage head base 10 via a series of screws B1, B2, B3, see Figs. 2-3. A screw is necessarily capable of being unscrewed, and thus the components are able to be detached from one another as seen in Fig. 3 by detaching the screws. This reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of “detachable”, i.e., capable of being detached) the silicone massage head (50, 52) is of a hollow structure (the massage head 50, 52, is hollow as seen in Figs. 2-3 to provide a space to receive vibration motor 40); the silicone massage head (50, 52) has an inner wall (inner surface of 50, as seen in Fig. 2b), and a buffer space is formed between the inner wall and the massage head holder (the space below the inner wall of 50, including the space occupied by vibration motor 40 as seen in Fig. 2b is the “buffer space”).
Regarding claim 10, Watanabe discloses wherein a middle part of the massage head base (the central, middle space defined by massage head base 10 as seen in Fig. 2b) is provided with an eccentric component (vibration motor 40 includes an eccentric, vibrating piece 44 as seen in Fig. 2b. Thus, the central space defined by 10 is “provided” with a motor having an eccentric component 44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (EP 2022460 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0322257 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan discloses a massage head assembly (massage head 1000, Figs. 1-3), comprising a massage head base (massage-head fixing seat 150, Fig. 2), a massage head holder (heating-means fixing seat 140, Fig. 2. This is a “massage head holder” because massage head shell 100 is mounted to the fixing seat 140 via fixing holes 102 and 142, see lines 11-15 of [0039]) and a massage head (massage-head shell 100, Fig. 2); the massage head (100) is fixedly disposed on the massage head holder (140; “The fixing holes 102 of the massage-head shell 100, the fixing holes 132 of the circuit board 130 of the heating means, and the fixing holes 142 of the heating-means fixing seat 140 match with each other in order to be assembled together” see lines 11-15 of [0039]); the massage head holder (140) is detachably disposed on the massage head base (the massage head holder 140 is detachably disposed on the massage head base 150 by at least one screw that passes through sleeve 157, see Figs. 2-3; “The massage-head fixing seat 150 is mechanically connected with the heating-means fixing seat 140 at the sleeve 157 thereof by screws 400” see lines 10-12 of [0043]. A screw is necessarily capable of being unscrewed, and thus the components are able to be detached from one another as seen in Figs. 2-3 by detaching the screw(s). This reads on the broadest reasonable interpretation of “detachable”, i.e., capable of being detached); the massage head (100) is of a hollow structure (see Fig. 3); the massage head has an inner wall (the inner surface of massage head 100 as seen in Fig. 3), and a buffer space is formed between the inner wall and the massage head holder (as seen in Fig. 2-3, the massage head 100 is hollow and has a space between the inner wall of the head and the massage head holder 140. This space is at least partially filled with circuit-board 130, light-emitting lamps 137, heating plate 120, and heat transfer plate 110).
Yuan is silent regarding the massage head being silicone. However, it is well known in the art to use silicone for a massage applicator, and selecting a silicone material provides an expected result that the massage head will exhibit a degree of flexibility and elasticity for a comfortable applicator surface.
For example, Lee teaches a related massage applicator with hollow massage heads (hollow domes 30, Fig. 2; “rounded hollow domes made of soft silicone rubber” see the last sentence of [0019]). The massage heads (30) are able to apply a gentle, flexible massage with an ability to conform to the subject’s body contours for a pleasing massage (see para. [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the massage head of Yuan to be made of a silicone rubber as taught by Lee because this provides an expected result of a massage head that can apply a soft, comfortable massage, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Yuan/Lee device discloses further comprising an insert (fixing posts 102, Figs. 2-3 of Yuan, are considered an “insert” because the posts are inserted through holes 132 and 142, Fig. 2 of Yuan); the insert (102) is formed between a bottom part of the silicone massage head (the post(s) 102 extend slightly from the bottom of the massage head 100 as seen in Fig. 2 of Yuan) and a top surface of the massage head holder (the posts 102 extend to the top surface of massage head holder 140, by being inserted into holes 142, see Fig. 2 and see lines 11-15 of [0039] of Yuan) by means of secondary plastic over-molding (it is reiterated that this is product-by-process language. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." MPEP 2113(I). Here, the process of secondary plastic over-molding is merely used to fixedly dispose the insert between the massage head and massage head holder. Yuan’s insert 102 discloses the same structure as recited, or at least renders the structure obvious, because the insert 102 is fixedly disposed between the bottom part of the massage head 100 and a top surface of the massage head holder 140).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Yuan/Lee device discloses further comprising a heating member (positive temperature coefficient (PTC) heating plate 120 and heat transfer plate 110, Fig. 2 of Yuan); the heating member (110, 120, Fig. 2 of Yuan) is fixedly disposed inside the silicone massage head (“heating plate 120 is fixed on a top end of the first sleeve 145” see lines 15-16 of [0041] and Figs. 2-3 of Yuan. This sleeve 145 extends into the hollow massage head 100, and “The massage-head shell 100 encloses the heat transfer plate 110, the positive coefficient heating plate 120 and the circuit board 130” see lines 18-20 of [0041] of Yuan. Thus, the heating plate is fixedly disposed to the top of sleeve 145, inside the silicone massage head 100).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Yuan/Lee device discloses further comprising a light board (circuit board 130, Fig. 2 of Yuan) with a plurality of light beads (light-emitting lamps 137, Fig. 2 of Yuan); the heating member (120, 110, Fig. 2 of Yuan) is fixedly disposed on the light board (the two pins 121, 121, of the heating plate 120 are connected to the circuit board 130, and thus the heating member is fixedly disposed on the light board via the pins 121 connection, see Fig. 2 and see lines 12-14 of [0041] of Yuan); the light board (130) is fixedly disposed on the massage head holder (“The massage-head shell 100 and the circuit board 130 are fixed to the heating-means fixing seat 140.” See lines 14-16 of [0037] of Yuan); the massage head holder (140) is provided with a wire outlet (lead hole(s) 143, see Figs. 2-3 of Yuan) for a light board electrical connection wire (lead(s) 133, Figs. 2-3 of Yuan) of the light board (130) and a heating member electrical connection wire (lead(s) 133, Figs. 2-3 of Yuan. One lead 133 is considered the light board electrical connection wire, while the other lead 133 is considered the heating member electrical connection wire. This is because the wires 133 electrically connect the circuit board 130, which powers both the lamps 137 and the heating member 120 via connection pins 121) of the heating member (120 110, Figs. 2-3) to pass through (“the two leads 133 of the connection means each has one end thereof electrically connecting to the circuit board 130 and the other end thereof passing through the lead hole 143 of the heating-means fixing seat 140. The two pins 121 of the positive temperature coefficient heating plate 120 are electrically connected to the circuit board 130.” See lines 8-14 of [0041] of Yuan).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Yuan/Lee device discloses wherein a middle part (see “1. Middle Part” in annotated Figure A below. It is noted that “a middle part” is broad language, and the “Middle Part” in Fig. A is a portion of massage head base 150 that is arranged along a transverse line that bi-sects the substantially circular base) of the massage head base (150) is provided with an eccentric component (massage-head shell 300 is an “eccentric component” because it is positioned eccentrically relative to the central point of the substantially circular base 150. The “Middle Part” (1) in Figure A is “provided with” the massage-head shell 300 via hole 330, see Figs. 2-3 of Yuan).
Annotated Figure A (from Fig. 3 of Yuan): Yuan’s massage head base (150) has a “Middle Part” (1, darkened box), which is a portion of the base that is arranged along a transverse line (see dashed line) that bi-sects the substantially circular base. This “Middle Part” is provided with an eccentric component (massage-head shell 300) that is positioned eccentrically relative to the central point of the substantially circular base, as seen in Figs. 2-3.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (EP 2022460 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0322257 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2003/0199796 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Yuan/Lee device is silent regarding wherein an outer surface of the silicone massage head (100, Yuan as modified by Lee) is covered with a cloth cover.
Yamazaki teaches a related massage device (Fig. 1) with massage heads (pair of massaging balls 3, 4, Fig. 1), wherein an outer surface of the massage head(s) (3, 4) is covered with a cloth cover (“covering cloth 2 made from flexible polypropylene is attached on the aperture 1C to cover the massaging balls 3 and 4 that project from the aperture” see Fig. 1 and see the last sentence of [0018]). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the cloth cover (2) provides an expected result of preventing foreign objects or debris from interfering with the mechanical components of the massager, while still providing a comfortable massage surface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the massage head assembly of Yuan/Lee to have an outer surface of the massage head(s) be covered with a cloth cover as taught by Yamazaki because this provides an expected result of preventing foreign objects or debris from interfering with the mechanical components of the massager, while still providing a comfortable massage surface.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (EP 2022460 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0322257 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Lev et al. (US 2003/0028134 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Yuan/Lee device discloses wherein a plurality of positioning columns protrude at intervals (102, see Figs. 2-3 of Yuan); a plurality of positioning holes (four fixing holes 104, see Figs. 2-3 of Yuan) are provided on the massage head holder (140, Figs. 2-3 of Yuan); each of the positioning columns (102) passes through the corresponding positioning hole (“fixing holes 102 of the massage-head shell 100, the fixing holes 132 of the circuit board 130 of the heating means, and the fixing holes 142 of the heating-means fixing seat 140 match with each other in order to be assembled together” see lines 11-15 of [0039] and Figs. 2-3 of Yuan). The modified device is silent regarding the positioning columns protruding from the insert (i.e., a plurality of columns protruding from a single insert element).
Lev teaches a related heated massage head assembly (Fig. 4A; provided with heating elements see the first sentence of [0038]) having a hollow massage head (exterior surface member 100, see Fig. 4A, Fig. 5) and comprising an insert (internal frame 98, Fig. 5), the insert formed between a bottom part of the massage head (insert 98 is at a bottom part of massage head 100, see Fig. 4A, Fig. 5) and a top surface of a massage head holder (mounting plate 96 corresponds to a massage head holder, see Fig. 4A. The insert 98 is sandwiched between a bottom part of the massage head 100 and a top surface of the massage head holder 96, see Fig. 4A, Fig. 5). A plurality of positioning columns (four screws adjacent internal frame 98, as seen in Fig. 4A) protrude from a bottom surface of the insert at intervals (the screws protrude from a bottom surface of the insert 98 at intervals associated with four screw hole openings, for the screws to be inserted into the corresponding screw holes in the mounting plate 96 as seen by the dashed lines in Fig. 4A); a plurality of positioning holes are provided on the massage head holder (four positioning holes for the screws are provided in the massage head holder 96, as seen by the dashed lines in Fig. 4A); each of the positioning columns (screws) passes through the corresponding positioning hole (the four screws fasten to the positioning holes in the massage head holder 96, see the dashed lines in Fig. 4A). The insert (98) carries a heating element (“heating elements” and conductor 102, Fig. 4A; see para. [0038]) and is selectively fixed to the massage head (100) by a threaded connection that allows the massage head to be swapped out to provide different massage head intensities (soft, medium, or hard massage based upon different durometers, see the last twelve lines of [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the insert (posts 102 of Yuan) of Yuan/Lee to have a plurality of columns carried by a single insert frame located between the bottom surface of the massage head and the massage head holder, with the plurality of columns connecting to screw holes in the massage head holder, with the insert containing the heating element and being selectively fixed to the massage head as taught by Lev because this arrangement provides an advantage of allowing the massage head to be selectively fixed to the insert to allow the user to swap out massage heads of different durometers according to their preference.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Yuan/Lee/Lev device discloses wherein a fitting portion (sleeve 145, Fig. 2 of Yuan) protrudes upwards from a middle part of the massage head holder (sleeve 145 protrudes upwards from a middle of massage head holder 140, see Fig. 2 of Yuan); the insert (98 of Lev) is engaged with the fitting portion (the sleeve 145 of Yuan carries heating element 120 at its upper end. In the modified device, Yuan’s sleeve 145 and heating element 120 protrude upward within Lev’s insert 98 in order to press the heating element into contact with Lev’s conductor 102 to transmit heat from the heating element to the conductor. Thus, the fitting portion 145 of Yuan is engaged with the insert 98 of Lev).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (EP 2022460 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0322257 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu (US 2010/0160841 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Yuan/Lee device discloses wherein an accommodating column (first sleeve 145, see Figs. 2-3 of Yuan) protrudes downwards from a middle part of the massage head holder (first sleeve 145 protrudes downwards from a middle part of massage head holder 140 as seen in Figs. 2-3 of Yuan); the massage head base (150, Yuan) is provided with a connection column (sleeve 157, Figs. 2-3 of Yuan); the connection column (157) slides into a press-fit connection in the accommodating column (146; “sleeve 157 sandwiched between the first sleeve 145 and the second sleeve 146” see lines 16-17 of [0039] of Yuan). The modified device is silent regarding the connection column “snaps” into the accommodating column, which is interpreted to mean a snap-fit connection.
Wu teaches a related massage head assembly that includes a connection column (first mounting ring 21, Fig. 2) that snaps into an accommodating column (second mounting ring 31, Fig. 2; “retaining section 33 of the second mounting ring 31 is snapped onto the retaining portion 23 of the first mounting ring 21” see the first sentence of [0034]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that such a snap-fit connection provides an expected result of a simple connection mechanism in which the “snap” provides an audible indication that a secure connection is completed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection column and accommodating column of Yuan/Lee to have a snap-fit connection as taught by Wu to provide an expected result of a simple connection mechanism in which the “snap” provides an audible indication that a secure connection is completed.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (EP 2022460 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0322257 A1) and Wu (US 2010/0160841 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Sanders (US 1,719,140 A).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Yuan/Lee/Wu device is silent regarding wherein at least two positioning grooves recess into an inner wall of the accommodating column at intervals; at least two positioning rods protrude from an outer wall of the connection column at intervals; each of the positioning rods is slidably fitted inside the corresponding positioning groove.
Sanders teaches a related massage applicator (Fig. 3) wherein at least two positioning grooves (plurality of grooves 41, see Fig. 5) recess into an inner wall of an accommodating column (the grooves recess into an inner wall of shaft 42, see Fig. 3, Fig. 5) at intervals (see the plurality of grooves 41, Fig. 5), and at least two positioning rods (plurality of splines 40, see Fig. 2, Fig. 5) protrude from an outer wall of a connection column (shaft 36, see Figs. 2-3, Fig. 5) at intervals (see Fig. 5, the splines 40 protrude from an outer wall of shaft 36 at intervals); each of the positioning rods (splines 40) is slidably fitted inside the corresponding positioning groove (groove(s) 41, see col. 2, lines 85-89). This splined connection allows the detachable shaft(s) to be securely connected to one another and ensure that rotation is transmitted (see col. 2, lines 96-101).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accommodating column and connection column of Yuan/Lee/Wu to have at least two positioning grooves recess into an inner wall of the accommodating column at intervals; at least two positioning rods protrude from an outer wall of the connection column at intervals; and each of the positioning rods is slidably fitted inside the corresponding positioning groove as taught by Sanders because this provides an expected result of a detachable connection that helps ensure rotation is transmitted from one shaft/column to another.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shin (2007/0173748) discloses a related massage head assembly with a heating element within the massage head. Wu (2013/0131562) discloses a related massage head with an accommodating shaft and connection shaft having a plurality of grooves corresponding ribs. Chen (2013/0060175) discloses a related massage head assembly with a massage head holder that appears to have an accommodating column to fit with a connection column of the massage head base. Wright (2018/0325328) discloses a related massage device with a detachable massage head including a shaft with a plurality of tabs that extend into complementary slots. Chen (2016/0008210) discloses a related massage head assembly with an insert, a plurality of columns, and an eccentric component. Muchisky (2005/0222525) discloses a related massage head having an insert formed between a bottom part of the massage head and a top surface of the massage head holder, and a plurality of positioning columns protrude from a bottom surface of the insert at intervals. Mills (2017/0156975) discloses a related massage head assembly that is covered with a fabric cover. Chen (2012/0010544) discloses a related massage head assembly having a heating element and a massage head holder that appears to have an accommodating column that connects to a connection column of a massage head base. Wu (6,511,446) discloses a related massage head that houses a heating element and has a plurality of columns that extend to massage head holder. Wu (EP 2272480 A1) discloses a related massage head assembly with an insert, a plurality of columns, and an eccentric component. Chiang (EP 2080499 A1) discloses a related massage head assembly with an insert, a plurality of columns, and an eccentric component.
/CHRISTOPHER E MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785