DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 04/29/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claim 28 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Manohara et al. (US 2009/0187072 A1). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25 – 27, 29 – 30, 33 – 34, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hale et al. (US 8,711,177 B2).
Regarding claim 25, Hale discloses a throat examination device (Abstract, paragraph [0004]) for examining a throat of a patient, the throat examination device comprising:
- a support arm (Fig. 6, ref. 650) having a longitudinal axis (X) (ref. 60), the support arm having a rigid construction (the embodiment shown in Fig. 6 is rigid and not flexible and in addition the proximal end of the arm is disclosed as being either being rigid or flexible);
- a handle disposed at a proximal end of the support arm (Summary, (19)); and
- an imaging module comprising an imaging unit disposed at a distal end of the support arm, the imaging unit comprising at least one imaging sensor (Summary (18) discloses an HD image sensor located in the distal end) for capturing an image of at least a portion of a pharynx and at least a portion of an oral cavity (the sensor is fully capable of functioning in such a manner);
- the imaging module having one wide-angle lens disposed in a distal location and having an optical axis substantially aligned with or parallel to the longitudinal axis (Summary (38), Fig. 6, ref. 665);
- wherein the angular orientation of the imaging unit is fixed relative to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 26, Hale discloses the throat examination device as claimed in claim 25, wherein the wide-angle lens is a spherical lens or a part-spherical lens (Fig. 6 shows a partially spherical lens).
Regarding claim 27, Hale discloses the throat examination device as claimed in claim 25, wherein the wide-angle lens is a hemispherical lens (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 29, Hale discloses the throat examination device as claimed in claim 25 comprising at least one control unit, the at least one control unit comprising:
- an electronic processor (ref. 208) having:
- one or more electrical input for receiving image data generated by the at least one imaging sensor (region of interest signal ref. 216 and/or ref. 214 is considered the electrical input); and/or
- one or more electrical output for outputting image data to an external device (the video signal ref. 222 is considered the output).
Regarding claim 30, Hale discloses the throat examination device as claimed in claim 29 comprising a user interface for generating an image capture request in dependence on a user input, the at least one control unit being configured to capture image data generated by the at least one imaging sensor in dependence on the image capture request (the user interface is considered to be the standard display ref. 210 which displays the output from the imaging sensor).
Regarding claim 33, Hale discloses the throat examination device as claimed in claim 25 comprising a cover (ref. 670) for covering at least a portion of the imaging module (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 34, Hale discloses the throat examination device as claimed in claim 25, wherein the support arm comprises a cylindrical casing (the figures show an elongated cylindrical body where the outer surface is considered to the casing).
Regarding claim 37, Hale discloses the throat examination device as claimed in claim 25 comprising one or more light emitting devices disposed on the support arm and/or the imaging module (Summary (31) discloses a light emitting diode).
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manohara et al. (US 2009/0187072 A1).
Regarding claim 39, Manohara discloses a device fully capable of functioning as a throat examination device for examining a throat of a patient, the throat examination device comprising:
- a support arm having a longitudinal axis (Fig. 13A, ref. 1302); and
- an imaging unit comprising two or more imaging sensors for capturing images (paragraph [0140] discloses an image acquisition device ref. 1330 having an array 1337 which are considered the two or more sensors), the imaging unit being disposed on the support arm (Fig. 13B);
- wherein the imaging unit is configured to generate a composite image formed by combining the images captured by the two or more imaging sensors (paragraph [0140] discloses forming a 3D image from the captured images from the array/sensors).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31 - 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hale et al. (US 8,771,177 B2) in view of Marmor (US 2016/0150947 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Hale discloses the throat examination device as claimed in claim 25, except wherein the imaging module is removably mounted on the support arm.
Marmor teaches an analogous device in which an imagining module may be removably mounted to a medical device (Abstract) and more specifically wherein a light source may be threaded through a lumen of a blade (paragraph [0040]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment of the image module to the endoscope of Hale, such that it is removably threaded to the support arm, as taught by Marmor, for the purpose of being removable, sterilized or disinfected and
reused (paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 32, Hale in view of Marmor discloses the throat examination device as claimed in claim 31 comprising one or more mechanical fastener for releasably fastening the imaging module to the support arm (Marmor discloses a threading as a mechanical fastener).
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hale et al. (US 8,771,177 B2) in view of Hoeg et a. (US 2014/0046132 A1).
Regarding claim 35, Hale discloses the throat examination device as claimed in claim 25, except wherein the support arm has a diameter less than or equal to 20mm.
Hoeg teaches an endoscope having a diameter less than 20 mm (paragraph [0022] discloses a diameter less than 15 mm). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diameter of Hale such that the diameter is less than 20 mm, as taught by Hoeg, for the purpose of preventing unwanted tissue disruption during use.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hale et al. (US 8,771,177 B2) in view of Francher (US 2019/0313881 A1)
Regarding claim 36, Hale discloses the throat examination device as claimed in claim 25, except wherein the support arm is removably mounted to the handle.
Francher teaches an endoscope (Abstract) having a removably mounted handle (ref. 120, paragraph [0083]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the endoscope of Hale such that the support arm is removably mounted to the handle, as taught by Francher, for the purpose of reducing cost via disposable parts (paragraph [0031]).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hale et al. (US 8,771,177 B2) in view of Manohara et al. (US 2009/0187072 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Hale discloses an endoscope fully capable of functioning as a throat examination device for examining a throat of a patient, the throat examination device comprising:
-a support arm (Fig. 6, ref. 650) having a longitudinal axis (X) (ref. 60), the support arm having a rigid construction (the embodiment shown in Fig. 6 is rigid and not flexible and in addition the proximal end of the arm is disclosed as being either being rigid or flexible):
- a handle disposed at a proximal end of the support arm (Summary, (19)): and
- an imagine module comprising an imaging unit disposed at a distal end of the support arm, the imaging unit comprising a sensor (Summary (18) discloses an HD image sensor located in the distal end) for capturing an image of at least a portion of a pharynx and at least a portion of an oral cavity (the imaging module if fully capable of functioning in such a manner):
- the imaging module having a one wide-angle lens (Summary (19)) disposed in a distal location and having an optical axis substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 6):
- wherein the angular orientation of the imaging a unit is fixed relative to the longitudinal axis (Fig. 6).
Hale is silent that the sensor is a plurality of sensors.
Manohara teaches a device fully capable of functioning as a throat examination device for examining a throat of a patient, the throat examination device comprising:
- a support arm having a longitudinal axis (Fig. 13A, ref. 1302); and
- an imaging unit comprising a plurality of imaging sensors for capturing images (paragraph [0140] discloses an image acquisition device ref. 1330 having an array 1337 which are considered the two or more sensors), the imaging unit being disposed on the support arm (Fig. 13B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensor of Hale to be a plurality of sensors, as taught by Manohara for the purpose of creating a stereoscopic 3D image to better aid the user (paragraph [0140]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892. Specifically, please see Ratnakar (US 2023/0371789 A1) which although not used in the current rejections may be relied upon in the future.
/TESSA M MATTHEWS/Examiner, Art Unit 3773