DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed 12/31/25.
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges the amendment of claims 1,8-10, the addition of claims 14-21 and the cancellation of claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,3-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 1 from which claim 14 depends recites the limitation of evaluating the validation of the radio wave based on the plurality kind of measurement result of the radio wave transmitted from the peripheral device based on the decryption of the encrypted message. The limitation recited in claim 14 of “each of the plurality of statistical distribution parameters derived based on the plurality of different kinds of the measurement result for each of the plurality of peripheral devices used in evaluating the validity of the radio wave based on the plurality of different kinds of measurement result of the radio wave transmitted from the peripheral device is acquired in advance of receiving the radio wave including the encrypted response message transmitted from the peripheral device” is therefore inconsistent with the limitation of claim 1 which requires the reception of the encrypted response message before evaluating the validity of the radio wave.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-4,6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buttolo et al. US Patent 9875589 in view of Varughese et al. US Patent Application Publication 20220036254 and further in view of Movva et al. US Patent Application Publication 20210400492.
Regarding claim 1, Buttolo et al. teaches a smart entry system comprising:
A central device including processing circuitry (vehicle computing system, fig. 1) configured to:
encrypt heartbeat data, and transmit the encrypted heartbeat data (vehicle transmit broadcast signal, col. 2 lines 42-59);
a peripheral device (152) including processing circuitry (162,fig.2) configured to:
received the encrypted heartbeat data (col. 2 lines 44-55),
when the encrypted heartbeat data can be decrypted, decrypt the encrypted heartbeat data, encrypt a response message, and transmit a radio wave including the encrypted response message to the central device (col. 2 lines 44-59, col. 7 line 62-col. 8 line 5), wherein the processing circuit of the central device is further configured to:
received radio wave including the encrypted response message transmitted from the peripheral device (col. 8 lines 6-20),
measure a value regarding the radio wave including encrypted response message (signal strength, col. 8 lines 6-32),
and when the encrypted response message can be decrypted (col. 2 lines 43-59),
evaluate validity of the radio wave based on a plurality of kinds of measurement results of the radio wave transmitted from the peripheral device and on a plurality of criterion, each of the plurality of criterion being based on a distribution of measurement results from a respective one of a plurality of peripheral devices acquired in advance, and determine whether or not to permit entry based on a result of the evaluation (col. 4 lines 15-26, col. Col. 8 lines 6-24). Buttolo teaches different kind of measurement (signal strength, location, identifier, col. 8 lines 6-32). The criterion for each of the kind of measurement is inherently different because the unit of measurement for each criterion is different. Buttolo teaches specific criterion is different for each of the peripheral devices because each of the peripheral devices can be located differently (col. 4 lines 15-46). Buttolo is silent on teaching a plurality of statistical distribution parameters derived based on a plurality of different kinds of the measurement result for each of the plurality of devices. Varughese et al in an analogous art teaches the plurality of kinds of measurement results include RTT (Round Trip Time) of the radio wave and RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indication) of the radio wave (paragraph 088). Varughese et al teaches the measurement teaches the parameter measurements are taken at different antennas (340) position around the vehicle (paragraph 071) and therefore provide for a statistical distribution of parameters. Buttolo in view of Varughese et al is not explicit in teaching ending a communication connection when the heartbeat data cannot be decrypted and et al. teaches the refusing entry when the response message cannot be decrypted. Movva et al. in an analogous art teaches aborting the decryption process and ending communication when the message is unable to be decrypted (paragraph 052). It is also the examiner’s position that the user is authorized to access the vehicle based on the decrypted information, therefore failure of the central device to decrypt the response message would result in the user not been authenticated and denied entry.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Buttolo as disclosed by Varughese et al in view of Movva because such modification increases the security of the access control system of the vehicle by ensuring the central device and the peripheral device is authorized to communicate and preventing the use of unauthorized devices to gain access.
Regarding claim 3, Buttolo teaches a plurality of peripheral devices (col. 4 lines 15-23), wherein the processing circuitry of the central device is configured to evaluate validity of a radio wave transmitted from a specific one of the plurality of peripheral devices based on the respective criterion for each of the peripheral device (col. 8 lines 6-24).
Regarding claim 4, Buttolo teaches measuring the received signal strength of the radio wave (col. 8 lines 6-24) but is silent on teaching the measurement include Round Trip Time. Varughese et al in an analogous art teaches the plurality of kinds of measurement results include RTT (Round Trip Time) of the radio wave and RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indication) of the radio wave (paragraph 088).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Buttolo in view of Movva as disclosed by Varughese et al because such modification represents the substation of known means for determining location information and providing the predictable result of determining the distance between the peripheral device and the central device.
Regarding claim 6, Buttolo. teaches a lock mechanism that is controlled by the central device, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to unlocking/locking of the lock mechanism, based on the result of the evaluation (col. 2 lines 30-42, col. 12 lines 42-54).
Regarding claim 7, Buttolo teaches the lock mechanism is an electronic lock installed on a door, and the processing circuitry of the central device is configured to cause the lock mechanism to unlock or lock the door, based on the result of the evaluation (col. 1 lines 11-16,col. 2 lines 30-42,col. 12 lines 42-54).
Regarding claim 8, Buttolo teaches a central device comprising:
processing circuitry (104) configured to:
encrypt heartbeat data, and transmit the encrypted heartbeat data (vehicle transmit broadcast signal, col. 2 lines 42-59);
receive a radio wave including an encrypted response message from a peripheral device (col. 8 lines 6-20), the encrypted message having been transmitted from the peripheral device after the peripheral device received the encrypted heartbeat data, decrypted the encrypted heartbeat data, encrypt the response message, and transmit the radio wave including the encrypted response message to the central device (col. 2 lines 44-59, col. 7 line 62-col. 8 line 5),
measure a value regarding the radio wave including the encrypted response message (measure RSSI, col. 8 lines 6-24),
when the encrypted response message can be decrypted,
evaluate validity of the radio wave based on a plurality of kinds of measurement results of the radio wave transmitted from the peripheral device and on a plurality of criterion, each of the plurality of criterion being based on a distribution of respective measurement results from a respective one of a plurality of peripheral devices acquired in advance, and
determine whether or not to permit entry, based on a result of the evaluation (col. 4 lines 15-26, col. Col. 8 lines 6-24). Buttolo teaches different kind of measurement (signal strength, location, identifier, col. 8 lines 6-32). The criterion for each of the kind of measurement is inherently different because the unit of measurement for each criterion is different. Buttolo teaches specific criterion is different for each of the peripheral devices because each of the peripheral devices can be located differently (col. 4 lines 15-46). ). Buttolo is silent on teaching a plurality of statistical distribution parameters derived based on a plurality of different kinds of the measurement result for each of the plurality of devices. Varughese et al in an analogous art teaches the plurality of kinds of measurement results include RTT (Round Trip Time) of the radio wave and RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indication) of the radio wave (paragraph 088). Varughese et al teaches the measurement teaches the parameter measurements are taken at different antennas (340) position around the vehicle (paragraph 071) and therefore provide for a statistical distribution of parameters. Buttolo in view of Varughese et al is not explicit in teaching ending a communication connection when the heartbeat data cannot be decrypted and et al. teaches the refusing entry when the response message cannot be decrypted. Movva et al. in an analogous art teaches aborting the decryption process and ending communication when the message is unable to be decrypted (paragraph 052). It is also the examiner’s position that the user is authorized to access the vehicle based on the decrypted information, therefore failure of the central device to decrypt the response message would result in the user not been authenticated and denied entry.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Buttolo as disclosed by Varughese in view of Movva because such modification increases the security of the access control system of the vehicle by ensuring the central device and the peripheral device is authorized to communicate and preventing the use of unauthorized devices to gain access.
Regarding claim 9, Buttolo teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having, stored therein, a smart entry program used in a central device that receives a radio wave from a peripheral device, the program causing a computer to perform a method, the method comprising:
encrypt heartbeat data, and transmit the encrypted heartbeat data (vehicle transmit broadcast signal, col. 2 lines 42-59);
a peripheral device (152) including processing circuitry (162,fig.2) configured to:
received the encrypted heartbeat data (col. 2 lines 44-55),
when the encrypted heartbeat data can be decrypted, decrypt the encrypted heartbeat data, encrypt a response message, and transmit a radio wave including the encrypted response message to the central device (col. 2 lines 44-59, col. 7 line 62-col. 8 line 5), wherein the processing circuit of the central device is further configured to:
received radio wave including the encrypted response message transmitted from the peripheral device (col. 8 lines 6-20),
measure a value regarding the radio wave including encrypted response message (signal strength, col. 8 lines 6-24),
and
when the encrypted response message can be decrypted,
evaluate validity of the radio wave based on a plurality of kinds of measurement results of the radio wave transmitted from the peripheral device and on a plurality of criterion, each of the plurality of criterion being based on a distribution of measurement results from a respective one of a plurality of peripheral devices acquired in advance, and determine whether or not to permit entry based on a result of the evaluation (col. 4 lines 15-26, col. Col. 8 lines 6-24). Buttolo teaches different kind of measurement (signal strength, location, identifier, col. 8 lines 6-32). The criterion for each of the kind of measurement is inherently different because the unit of measurement for each criterion is different. Buttolo teaches specific criterion is different for each of the peripheral devices because each of the peripheral devices can be located differently (col. 4 lines 15-46). Buttolo is silent on teaching a plurality of statistical distribution parameters derived based on a plurality of different kinds of the measurement result for each of the plurality of devices. Varughese et al in an analogous art teaches the plurality of kinds of measurement results include RTT (Round Trip Time) of the radio wave and RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indication) of the radio wave (paragraph 088). Varughese et al teaches the measurement teaches the parameter measurements are taken at different antennas (340) position around the vehicle (paragraph 071) and therefore provide for a statistical distribution of parameters. Buttolo in view of Varughese is not explicit in teaching ending a communication connection when the heartbeat data cannot be decrypted and et al. teaches the refusing entry when the response message cannot be decrypted. Movva et al. in an analogous art teaches aborting the decryption process and ending communication when the message is unable to be decrypted (paragraph 052). It is also the examiner’s position that the user is authorized to access the vehicle based on the decrypted information, therefore failure of the central device to decrypt the response message would result in the user not been authenticated and denied entry.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Buttolo as disclosed by Varughese in view of Movva because such modification increases the security of the access control system of the vehicle by ensuring the central device and the peripheral device is authorized to communicate and preventing the use of unauthorized devices to gain access.
Regarding claim 10, Buttolo teaches a smart entry method in a central device, the method comprising:
encrypt heartbeat data, and transmit the encrypted heartbeat data (vehicle transmit broadcast signal, col. 2 lines 42-59);
receiving a radio wave including an encrypted response message from a peripheral device, the encrypted message having been transmitted from the peripheral device after the peripheral device received the encrypted heartbeat data, decrypted the encrypted heartbeat data, encrypting the response message, and transmit the radio wave including the encrypted response message in the central device (col. 2 lines 44-59, col. 7 line 62-col. 8 line 5);
measure a value regarding the radio wave including encrypted response message (signal strength, col. 8 lines 6-24);
when the encrypted response message can be decrypted,
evaluate validity of the radio wave based on a plurality of kinds of measurement results of the radio wave transmitted from the peripheral device and on a plurality of criterion, each of the plurality of criterion being based on a distribution of measurement results from a respective one of a plurality of peripheral devices acquired in advance, and determine whether or not to permit entry based on a result of the evaluation (col. 4 lines 15-26, col. Col. 8 lines 6-24). Buttolo teaches different kind of measurement (signal strength, location, identifier, col. 8 lines 6-32). The criterion for each of the kind of measurement is inherently different because the unit of measurement for each criterion is different. Buttolo teaches specific criterion is different for each of the peripheral devices because each of the peripheral devices can be located differently (col. 4 lines 15-46). Buttolo is silent on teaching a plurality of statistical distribution parameters derived based on a plurality of different kinds of the measurement result for each of the plurality of devices. Varughese et al in an analogous art teaches the plurality of kinds of measurement results include RTT (Round Trip Time) of the radio wave and RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indication) of the radio wave (paragraph 088). Varughese et al teaches the measurement teaches the parameter measurements are taken at different antennas (340) position around the vehicle (paragraph 071) and therefore provide for a statistical distribution of parameters. Buttolo in view of Varughese et al. is not explicit in teaching ending a communication connection when the heartbeat data cannot be decrypted and et al. teaches the refusing entry when the response message cannot be decrypted. Movva et al. in an analogous art teaches aborting the decryption process and ending communication when the message is unable to be decrypted (paragraph 052). It is also the examiner’s position that the user is authorized to access the vehicle based on the decrypted information, therefore failure of the central device to decrypt the response message would result in the user not been authenticated and denied entry.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Buttolo in view of Varughese as disclosed by Movva because such modification increases the security of the access control system of the vehicle by ensuring the central device and the peripheral device is authorized to communicate and preventing the use of unauthorized devices to gain access.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buttolo et al. US Patent 9875589 in view of Varughese et al. US Patent Application Publication 20220036254 in view of Movva et al. US Patent Application Publication 20210400492 and further in view of Nakajima et al. US Patent Application Publication 20080106375.
Regarding claim 5, Buttolo in view of Movva in view of Varughese et al. is silent on teaching the processing unit is configured to evaluates validity of the radio wave, based on a Mahalanobis distance calculated from distribution of the plurality of kinds of measurement results obtained by the measurement unit, and on the criterion. Nakajima et al. in an analogous art teaches the determination unit evaluates validity of the radio wave, based on a Mahalanobis distance calculated from distribution of the plurality of kinds of measurement results obtained by the measurement unit, and on the criterion (paragraph 056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Buttolo in view of Movva in view of Varughese et al. as disclosed by Nakajima et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Varughese et al. by increasing the accuracy of the distance measurement and further improving the reliability of the control system.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buttolo et al. US Patent 9875589 in view of Varughese et al. US Patent Application Publication 20220036254 in view of Movva et al. US Patent Application Publication 20210400492 and further in view of Smith et al. US Patent Application Publication 20200196103.
Regarding claim 11-12, Buttolo et al. teaches the validity is a determination that the radio wave is not relayed (col. 2 lines 44-52, col. 12 lines 18-25) but is not explicit in teaching each of the plurality of criterion is acquired in advance during a calibration mode for the respective one of the plurality of peripheral devices. Smith et al. in an analogous art teaches performing calibration in order to develop an accurate mapping of the variance in RSSI measurement in order to build up an accurate mapping of the ranging and localization data (col. 6 lines 56-67). Smith also teaches the validity is a determination that the radio wave is not relayed (col. 7 lines 1-24, 35-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Buttolo in view of Varughese in view of Movva as disclosed by Smith because such modification increases the accuracy and reliability of the distance determination system and further increases the security of the access control system.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buttolo et al. US Patent 9875589 in view of Movva et al. US Patent Application Publication 20210400492 in view of Leong et al. US Patent 9,160,519.
Regarding claim 13, Buttolo teaches the smart entry system received radio wave including the encrypted response message transmitted from the peripheral device (col. 8 lines 6-20) and measure a value regarding the radio wave including encrypted response message (signal strength, col. 8 lines 6-24). Buttolo teaches different kind of measurement (signal strength, location, identifier, col. 8 lines 6-32). The criterion for each of the kind of measurement is inherently different because the unit of measurement for each criterion is different. Buttolo teaches specific criterion is different for each of the peripheral devices because each of the peripheral devices can be located differently (col. 4 lines 15-46). Buttolo is silent on teaching the kind of measurement include a round trip time which is a difference between a time of transmission of the heartbeat data and time of reception of the encrypted response message and include an encryption time of the encrypted response message. Leong et al in an analogous art teaches measuring the round trip time and the round trip time include the transmission time and the encryption time (col. 3 lines 54-col. 4 line 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Buttolo in view of Movva as disclosed by Leong et al because such modification represents the substation of known means for determining location information and providing the predictable result of determining the distance between the peripheral device and the central device.
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buttolo et al. US Patent 9875589 in view of Varughese et al. US Patent Application Publication 20220036254 and further in view of Movva et al. US Patent Application Publication 20210400492 and further in view of Manolakos et al. US Patent Application Publication 20210160812.
Regarding claim 15, Buttolo et al is silent on teaching the measurement result for each of the plurality of peripheral devices includes a standard deviation of RTT (Round Trip Time) for each of the plurality of peripheral devices, a standard deviation of RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indication) for each of the plurality of peripheral devices, and a covariance of RTT and RSSI for each of the plurality of peripheral devices. Manolakos et al. in an analogous art teaches the measurement result for each of the plurality of peripheral devices includes a standard deviation of RTT (Round Trip Time) for each of the plurality of peripheral devices, a standard deviation of RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indication) for each of the plurality of peripheral devices, and a covariance of RTT and RSSI for each of the plurality of peripheral devices (paragraph 049,080,104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Buttolo in view of Varughese in view of Movva as disclosed by Manolakos et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Buttolo in view of Varughese in view of Movva by using statistical parameters determine a more precise location of the mobile device.
Regarding claim 16-17, Buttolo et al is silent on teaching the processing circuitry of the central device is configured to calculate the standard deviation of RTT, the standard deviation of RSSI, and the covariance of RTT and RSSI based on a plurality of RTTs and a plurality of RSSIs acquired by repeating transmission of the encrypted heartbeat data and reception of the encrypted response message for a predetermined period in a calibration mode for each of the plurality of peripheral devices. Manolakos et al. in an analogous art teaches the processing circuitry of the central device is configured to calculate the standard deviation of RTT, the standard deviation of RSSI, and the covariance of RTT and RSSI based on a plurality of RTTs and a plurality of RSSIs acquired by repeating transmission of the encrypted heartbeat data and reception of the encrypted response message for a predetermined period in a calibration mode for each of the plurality of peripheral devices (paragraph 06-07,015,049, 080,0110, 0104) in order to train the location determining models for determining the location information. Manolakos teaches the plurality of statistical distribution parameters are stored as a parameter group matrix associated with an identifier of the respective one of each of the plurality of peripheral devices (fig.4, paragraph 094)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Buttolo in view of Varughese in view of Movva as disclosed by Manolakos et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Buttolo in view of Varughese in view of Movva by training the location determining models for a more accurate determination of the location information.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buttolo et al. US Patent 9875589 in view of Varughese et al. US Patent Application Publication 20220036254 in view of Movva et al. US Patent Application Publication 20210400492 in view of Manolakos et al. US Patent Application Publication 20210160812 and further in view of Nakajima et al. US Patent Application Publication 20080106375.
Regarding claim 18, Buttolo in view of Movva in view of Varughese et al. is silent on teaching the processing unit is configured to evaluates validity of the radio wave, based on a Mahalanobis distance calculated from distribution of the plurality of kinds of measurement results obtained by the measurement unit, and on the criterion. Nakajima et al. in an analogous art teaches the determination unit evaluates validity of the radio wave, based on a Mahalanobis distance calculated from distribution of the plurality of kinds of measurement results obtained by the measurement unit, and on the criterion (paragraph 056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Buttolo in view of Varughese et al in view of Movva in view of Manolakos et al. as disclosed by Nakajima et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Buttolo in view of Varughese et al in view of Movva in view of Manolakos et al by increasing the accuracy of the distance measurement and further improving the reliability of the control system.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buttolo et al. US Patent 9875589 in view of Varughese et al. US Patent Application Publication 20220036254 in view of Movva et al. US Patent Application Publication 20210400492 and further in view of Huntzicker US Patent Application Publication 20100191973.
Regarding claim 20, Buttolo teaches encrypting the data exchanged between the vehicle and remote device (fig.5) but is silent on teaching generate a public key, a secret key, and an electronic certificate for the public key, and transmit the public key and the electronic certificate together with a key exchange request to the peripheral device to establish a common key used for encrypting the heartbeat data. Huntzicker in an analogous art teaches teaching generate a public key, a secret key, and an electronic certificate for the public key, and transmit the public key and the electronic certificate together with a key exchange request to the peripheral device to establish a common key used for encrypting the heartbeat data (paragraph 038-038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Buttolo in view of Varughese in view of Movva as disclosed by Huntzicker because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Buttolo in view of Varughese in view of Movva by providing a reliable and secure means for exchanging data between the portable device and the vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of record is silent on teaching the processing circuitry of the central device is configured to determine whether or not to continue the calibration mode based upon movement of one of the plurality of peripheral devices, and when the calibration mode is continued, repeat the calculation of the standard deviation of RTT of the one of the plurality of peripheral devices, the standard deviation of RSSI of the one of the plurality of peripheral devices, and the covariance of RTT and RSSI of the one of the plurality of peripheral devices, and update the plurality of statistical distribution parameters stored as the parameter group matrix.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art of record is silent on teaching the plurality of statistical distribution parameters are stored as a parameter group matrix associated with an identifier of the respective one of each of the plurality of peripheral devices.
Conclusion
/VERNAL U BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686