DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 12/30/2025, the following has occurred: Claim 1 has been amended; and new Claims 19-20 have been added.
Claims 1-20 are pending. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 12/30/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2014-120390 A (hereinafter “JP’390”) in view of JP 2021-054951 A (hereinafter “JP’951”).
As to Claim 1:
JP’390 discloses:
a battery cell including a battery case having an accommodation portion in which an electrode assembly is mounted, and a sealing portion formed by sealing an outer periphery of the battery case (p. 4, lines 1–12; p. 4, lines 13–22; Fig. 2);
the battery case is a laminate pouch case whose outer periphery is sealed by thermal bonding (p. 4, lines 18–22);
an electrode lead electrically connected to an electrode tab included in the electrode assembly, wherein the electrode lead is welded to the electrode tab and protrudes out of the battery case via the sealing portion (p. 5, lines 3–14; Fig. 2);
a lead film (lead terminal bonding film) located at a portion corresponding to the sealing portion, the lead film being arranged so as to contact at least one of a first side and a second side of the electrode lead (p. 6, lines 1–15; Fig. 3); and
the lead film includes a first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer, which are adhesive resin layers disposed on opposite sides of the lead film for bonding to the electrode lead and the sealing portion of the battery case (p. 6, lines 16–28).
However, JP’390 does not disclose that a moisture removal layer is disposed between the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer, nor does JP’390 disclose that such a moisture removal layer includes a getter material. The intermediate portion of the lead film in JP’390 is described as a base resin or functional layer for insulation or bonding, without any teaching of moisture removal or getter functionality (p. 6, lines 16–28).
JP’951 discloses a laminate film structure including a first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer, with a moisture removal layer disposed between the adhesive layers (p. 7, lines 5–18; Fig. 2). JP’951 further discloses that the moisture removal layer includes a getter material, such as silica, alkaline earth metal oxides, molecular sieves, or metal organic frameworks (MOFs), for absorbing moisture and improving sealing reliability (p. 7, lines 19–32; p. 8, lines 1–12).
JP’951 teaches that disposing a getter-containing moisture removal layer between adhesive layers is effective for suppressing moisture ingress at sealed laminate interfaces and improving long-term durability of sealed structures (p. 8, lines 13–24).
JP’390 and JP’951 are analogous art because both references are directed to laminate film structures used at sealed peripheral regions, and both address reliability and durability of sealed interfaces. JP’390 concerns lead films used at battery sealing portions, while JP’951 concerns laminate films with moisture-removal functionality for sealed regions. A person skilled in the art of battery packaging and sealing structures would reasonably look to JP’951 for solutions to moisture-related reliability problems in the lead film structure of JP’390.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lead film of JP’390 to include a moisture removal layer containing a getter material disposed between the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer, as taught by JP’951, in order to reduce moisture ingress at the sealing portion and improve long-term reliability of the battery cell. Such a modification represents the predictable use of known moisture-removal laminate technology in a known battery lead film structure, without altering the basic configuration or operation of the battery cell.
As to Claim 2:
JP’390 discloses a battery cell including a battery case having an accommodation portion in which an electrode assembly is mounted and a sealing portion formed by sealing an outer periphery of the battery case (p. 4, lines 1–12; p. 4, lines 13–22; Fig. 2). JP’390 further discloses an electrode lead electrically connected to an electrode tab included in the electrode assembly and protruding out of the battery case via the sealing portion (p. 5, lines 3–14; Fig. 2). JP’390 also discloses a lead film located at a portion corresponding to the sealing portion and contacting at least one side of the electrode lead, the lead film including a first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer (p. 6, lines 1–28; Fig. 3).
JP’390 does not disclose that the moisture removal layer includes at least one of calcium oxide (CaO), lithium chloride (LiCl), silica (SiO₂), barium oxide (BaO), barium (Ba), and calcium (Ca). JP’390 does not describe any getter material composition for a moisture removal layer disposed between the adhesive layers (p. 6, lines 16–28).
JP’951 discloses a moisture removal layer disposed between adhesive layers that includes getter materials, and expressly teaches that the getter materials may include silica (SiO₂), alkaline earth metal oxides, and metal-based moisture absorbents, which correspond to the recited materials of Claim 2 (p. 7, lines 19–32; p. 8, lines 1–12).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the getter materials disclosed in JP’951, such as silica and alkaline earth metal oxides, into the moisture removal layer of the lead film of JP’390, in order to improve moisture absorption and sealing reliability.
As to Claim 3:
JP’390 discloses the battery cell and lead film structure as described above for Claim 2, including the first adhesive layer, second adhesive layer, and an intermediate layer in the lead film (p. 6, lines 16–28).
However, JP’390 does not disclose that the getter material has a structure of a metal organic framework (MOF). JP’390 does not describe the structural type of any getter material used in an intermediate layer of the lead film (p. 6, lines 16–28).
JP’951 expressly discloses that the getter material included in the moisture removal layer may be a metal organic framework (MOF), and explains that MOFs are suitable for moisture absorption due to their high surface area and pore structure (p. 7, lines 19–32).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use a metal organic framework (MOF) as the getter material in the moisture removal layer of the lead film of JP’390, as taught by JP’951, in order to enhance moisture absorption performance.
As to Claim 4:
JP’390 discloses a battery cell including a battery case having an accommodation portion in which an electrode assembly is mounted and a sealing portion formed by sealing an outer periphery of the battery case (p. 4, lines 1–12; p. 4, lines 13–22; Fig. 2). JP’390 further discloses an electrode lead electrically connected to an electrode tab included in the electrode assembly and protruding out of the battery case via the sealing portion (p. 5, lines 3–14; Fig. 2).
JP’390 also discloses a lead film located at a portion corresponding to the sealing portion and contacting at least one side of the electrode lead, wherein the lead film includes a first adhesive layer, a second adhesive layer, and an intermediate layer disposed between the adhesive layers (p. 6, lines 1–28; Fig. 3). JP’390 explains that the intermediate layer functions as a base resin layer for insulation and bonding (p. 6, lines 16–22).
Importantly, JP’390 expressly discloses that this intermediate base resin layer is formed of a polyolefin resin, specifically block polypropylene, selected for its insulating properties, heat resistance, and compatibility with adjacent adhesive layers (p. 6, lines 22–28).
However, JP’390 does not explicitly characterize the intermediate layer as a “moisture removal layer” in functional terms, nor does it expressly describe the intermediate layer as being configured to remove moisture, despite disclosing its polyolefin resin composition (p. 6, lines 16–28).
JP’951 discloses a laminate film structure including a moisture removal layer disposed between adhesive layers, wherein the moisture removal layer includes a getter material dispersed in a polyolefin-based resin matrix, such as polypropylene (p. 6, lines 10–22; p. 7, lines 5–18). JP’951 explains that polyolefin-based resins are particularly suitable for moisture removal layers due to their chemical stability, compatibility with heat sealing, and ability to uniformly disperse getter materials (p. 6, lines 18–22).
JP’390 and JP’951 are analogous art because both references relate to laminate film structures used at sealed peripheral portions of battery cells and both address material selection for layers disposed between adhesive films to ensure insulation, sealing reliability, and durability. A person skilled in the art of battery packaging would reasonably consult JP’951 to adapt the known polyolefin-based intermediate layer of JP’390 to additionally perform moisture removal.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the polyolefin-based intermediate layer (block polypropylene) disclosed in JP’390 as a moisture removal layer, as taught by JP’951, by incorporating getter material therein. JP’390 already teaches the use of a polyolefin resin in the intermediate layer for insulation and bonding, and JP’951 teaches that the same class of polyolefin resins is suitable as a matrix for moisture removal layers. Modifying the known polyolefin intermediate layer of JP’390 to additionally provide moisture removal functionality represents a predictable use of known materials for their established properties and would have been well within the routine skill of a person in the art.
As to Claim 5:
JP’390 discloses the battery cell and lead film structure as described above for Claim 4, including first and second adhesive layers and an intermediate layer disposed therebetween (p. 6, lines 16–28).
However, JP’390 does not disclose that the moisture removal layer further includes polypropylene. JP’390 does not describe the resin composition of the intermediate layer as being polypropylene (p. 6, lines 16–28).
JP’951 expressly discloses that the polyolefin-based resin used in the moisture removal layer may be polypropylene, and identifies polypropylene as a preferred resin for forming the moisture removal layer containing getter materials (p. 6, lines 18–22).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use polypropylene as the polyolefin-based resin in the moisture removal layer of the lead film of JP’390, as taught by JP’951, in order to achieve suitable processability and moisture-removal performance.
As to Claim 6:
JP’390 discloses a battery cell including a battery case having an accommodation portion in which an electrode assembly is mounted, and a sealing portion formed by sealing an outer periphery of the battery case (p. 4, lines 1–12; p. 4, lines 13–22; Fig. 2). JP’390 further discloses an electrode lead electrically connected to an electrode tab included in the electrode assembly and protruding out of the battery case via the sealing portion (p. 5, lines 3–14; Fig. 2).
JP’390 also discloses a lead film located at a portion corresponding to the sealing portion, wherein the lead film includes a first adhesive layer, a second adhesive layer, and an intermediate layer disposed between the adhesive layers (p. 6, lines 16–28; Fig. 3).
However, JP’390 does not disclose that the intermediate layer, corresponding to the moisture removal layer, has a thickness of 60 μm or more. JP’390 does not provide any numerical thickness range for the intermediate layer disposed between the adhesive layers (p. 6, lines 16–28).
JP’951 discloses a moisture removal layer disposed between adhesive layers in a laminate structure, and expressly teaches that the moisture removal layer may be formed with a thickness of 60 μm or more in order to ensure sufficient moisture absorption capacity and durability (p. 8, lines 13–24).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the intermediate layer of the lead film of JP’390 with a thickness of 60 μm or more, as taught by JP’951, in order to improve moisture absorption performance and sealing reliability.
As to Claim 7:
JP’390 discloses the battery cell and lead film structure described above, including first and second adhesive layers with an intermediate layer disposed therebetween (p. 6, lines 16–28).
However, JP’390 does not disclose that the intermediate layer includes 0.01 percent weight to 80 percent weight of a getter material, based on the total weight of the moisture removal layer. JP’390 does not describe any getter content or weight percentage for the intermediate layer (p. 6, lines 16–28).
JP’951 expressly discloses that the moisture removal layer includes a getter material in an amount of 0.01 wt% to 80 wt%, based on the total weight of the moisture removal layer, in order to balance moisture absorption performance and mechanical properties (p. 9, lines 11–22).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate a getter material in an amount of 0.01 percent weight to 80 percent weight into the intermediate layer of the lead film of JP’390, as taught by JP’951, in order to achieve effective moisture removal while maintaining mechanical integrity.
As to Claim 8:
JP’390 discloses a battery cell including a battery case having an accommodation portion in which an electrode assembly is mounted and a sealing portion formed by sealing an outer periphery of the battery case (p. 4, lines 1–12; p. 4, lines 13–22; Fig. 2). JP’390 further discloses an electrode lead electrically connected to an electrode tab included in the electrode assembly and protruding out of the battery case via the sealing portion (p. 5, lines 3–14; Fig. 2).
JP’390 also discloses a lead film located at a portion corresponding to the sealing portion, wherein the lead film includes a first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer for bonding the electrode lead to the sealing portion of the battery case (p. 6, lines 1–15; Fig. 3).
However, JP’390 does not disclose that the first adhesive layer includes a polyolefin-based resin. JP’390 describes the first adhesive layer as an adhesive resin layer but does not specify that the resin is polyolefin-based (p. 6, lines 1–15).
JP’951 discloses laminate structures used at sealing portions, wherein adhesive layers include polyolefin-based resins, such as polyethylene and polypropylene, due to their excellent adhesion to laminate films and chemical stability (p. 5, lines 18–30; p. 6, lines 1–12). JP’951 teaches that polyolefin-based adhesive layers are particularly suitable for sealed laminate interfaces requiring durability and moisture resistance.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the first adhesive layer of the lead film in JP’390 from a polyolefin-based resin, as taught by JP’951, in order to improve adhesion and sealing reliability.
As to Claim 9:
JP’390 discloses the battery cell and lead film structure described above for Claim 8, including a first adhesive layer disposed on the electrode lead side of the lead film (p. 6, lines 1–15).
However, JP’390 does not disclose that the first adhesive layer includes polypropylene treated with maleic anhydride (MAH). JP’390 does not describe any surface-modified polypropylene or MAH-grafted resin in the first adhesive layer (p. 6, lines 1–15).
JP’951 discloses that polyolefin-based adhesive layers may be chemically modified, including maleic-anhydride–grafted polypropylene, in order to improve adhesion to metal components and laminate films (p. 6, lines 13–22). JP’951 explains that MAH-treated polypropylene is particularly effective for bonding to metal leads and laminate cases.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use polypropylene treated with maleic anhydride as the material for the first adhesive layer of the lead film in JP’390, as taught by JP’951, in order to improve adhesion to the electrode lead and sealing portion.
As to Claim 11:
JP’390 discloses a battery cell including a battery case having an accommodation portion in which an electrode assembly is mounted, and a sealing portion formed by sealing an outer periphery of the battery case (p. 4, lines 1–12; p. 4, lines 13–22; Fig. 2). JP’390 further discloses an electrode lead electrically connected to an electrode tab included in the electrode assembly and protruding out of the battery case via the sealing portion (p. 5, lines 3–14; Fig. 2).
JP’390 also discloses a lead film located at a portion corresponding to the sealing portion, wherein the lead film includes a first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer, the first adhesive layer being disposed on the electrode-lead side of the lead film (p. 6, lines 1–15; Fig. 3).
However, JP’390 does not disclose that the first adhesive layer has a thickness of 60 μm or more. JP’390 does not provide any numerical thickness range for the first adhesive layer (p. 6, lines 1–15).
JP’951 discloses laminate structures used at sealed portions, wherein adhesive layers are formed with sufficient thickness to ensure sealing reliability, and teaches that adhesive layers may have a thickness of 60 μm or more to improve bonding strength and durability (p. 6, lines 23–30; p. 7, lines 1–8).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the first adhesive layer of the lead film in JP’390 with a thickness of 60 μm or more, as taught by JP’951, in order to improve adhesion strength and sealing reliability.
As to Claim 12:
JP’390 discloses the battery cell and lead film structure described above, including a first adhesive layer on the electrode-lead side and a second adhesive layer on the sealing-portion side of the lead film (p. 6, lines 1–15; Fig. 3).
However, JP’390 does not disclose that the second adhesive layer includes a polyolefin-based resin. JP’390 describes the second adhesive layer as an adhesive resin layer but does not specify the resin type (p. 6, lines 1–15).
JP’951 discloses that adhesive layers used in laminate sealing structures may include polyolefin-based resins, such as polyethylene or polypropylene, due to their excellent adhesion to laminate films and sealing portions (p. 5, lines 18–30; p. 6, lines 1–12).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the second adhesive layer of the lead film in JP’390 from a polyolefin-based resin, as taught by JP’951, in order to improve adhesion and sealing reliability.
As to Claim 14:
JP’390 discloses a battery cell including a battery case having an accommodation portion in which an electrode assembly is mounted, and a sealing portion formed by sealing an outer periphery of the battery case (p. 4, lines 1–12; p. 4, lines 13–22; Fig. 2). JP’390 further discloses an electrode lead electrically connected to an electrode tab included in the electrode assembly and protruding out of the battery case via the sealing portion (p. 5, lines 3–14; Fig. 2).
JP’390 also discloses a lead film located at a portion corresponding to the sealing portion, wherein the lead film includes a first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer disposed on opposite sides of the lead film (p. 6, lines 1–15; Fig. 3).
However, JP’390 does not disclose that the second adhesive layer has a thickness of 60 μm or more. JP’390 does not provide any numerical thickness range for the second adhesive layer (p. 6, lines 1–15).
JP’951 discloses laminate sealing structures in which adhesive layers disposed at sealing portions are formed with sufficient thickness, and teaches that the adhesive layers may have a thickness of 60 μm or more to ensure bonding strength, sealing reliability, and durability (p. 6, lines 23–30; p. 7, lines 1–8).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the second adhesive layer of the lead film in JP’390 with a thickness of 60 μm or more, as taught by JP’951, in order to improve sealing reliability and mechanical durability.
As to Claim 15:
JP’390 discloses a battery cell including a lead film disposed at the sealing portion, wherein a first adhesive layer is arranged on the electrode-lead side of the lead film and a second adhesive layer is arranged on the sealing-portion side of the lead film (p. 6, lines 1–15; Fig. 3). JP’390 further discloses that the first adhesive layer bonds to the electrode lead, and the second adhesive layer bonds to the inner surface of the battery case sealing portion (p. 6, lines 16–28; Fig. 3).
However, JP’390 does not explicitly describe the bonding relationship using the exact terminology of “the first adhesive layer is adhered to an outer surface of the electrode lead, and the second adhesive layer is adhered to an inner surface of the sealing portion.” While JP’390 shows the positional relationship, it does not expressly articulate this limitation in claim-like form.
JP’951 discloses laminate sealing structures in which an adhesive layer on one side of a laminate film is adhered to a metal member, and another adhesive layer on the opposite side is adhered to an inner surface of a sealing film, expressly describing this opposing-surface adhesion configuration (p. 5, lines 18–30; p. 6, lines 1–12).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the lead film of JP’390 such that the first adhesive layer is adhered to an outer surface of the electrode lead and the second adhesive layer is adhered to an inner surface of the sealing portion, as taught by JP’951, in order to achieve a stable and reliable sealing structure.
As to Claim 16:
JP’390 discloses a battery cell including a battery case having an accommodation portion in which an electrode assembly is mounted and a sealing portion formed by sealing an outer periphery of the battery case (p. 4, lines 1–12; p. 4, lines 13–22; Fig. 2). JP’390 further discloses an electrode lead electrically connected to an electrode tab included in the electrode assembly and protruding out of the battery case via the sealing portion (p. 5, lines 3–14; Fig. 2).
JP’390 also discloses a lead film disposed at the sealing portion, wherein lead terminal bonding films are arranged on both surfaces of the electrode lead (p. 5, lines 15–28; Fig. 3). In particular, JP’390 discloses that a lead film is disposed on one surface of the electrode lead and another lead film is disposed on the opposite surface of the electrode lead, thereby sandwiching the electrode lead at the sealing portion (p. 6, lines 1–15; Fig. 3).
However, JP’390 does not explicitly describe the first lead film as being located on an upper side of the electrode lead and the second lead film as being located on a lower side of the electrode lead using directional terminology corresponding to Claim 16.
JP’951 discloses laminate sealing structures in which adhesive films are disposed on opposite sides of a member, and explains that such films may be arranged on upper and lower surfaces of the member depending on assembly orientation (p. 5, lines 18–30; p. 6, lines 1–12). JP’951 teaches that describing laminate films as being disposed on upper and lower sides is a conventional positional designation based on installation orientation.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to interpret and implement the opposing lead films of JP’390 as being located on upper and lower sides of the electrode lead, as taught by the positional film arrangements in JP’951, since such directional designations depend on assembly orientation and do not alter the structure or function of the lead films.
As to Claim 18:
JP’390 discloses a battery cell structure as described above, including the electrode assembly, electrode lead, sealing portion, and lead film (p. 4, lines 1–22; p. 5, lines 3–28). JP’390 further discloses that a plurality of such battery cells may be assembled together to form a battery pack or module (p. 2, lines 10–20).
However, JP’390 does not explicitly recite the term “battery module” using claim-like language specifying that the battery module comprises the battery cell according to Claim 1.
JP’951 discloses that battery cells having sealed laminate structures are assembled into battery modules for use in larger power systems, and explicitly teaches forming a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cells (p. 2, lines 15–25).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to assemble the battery cell of JP’390 into a battery module, as taught by JP’951, since forming modules from individual battery cells is a routine and well-known practice in the battery art.
As to Claim 19:
JP’390 discloses a battery cell including a battery case having an accommodation portion in which an electrode assembly is mounted, and a sealing portion formed by sealing an outer periphery of the battery case (p. 4, lines 1–12; p. 4, lines 13–22; Fig. 2). JP’390 further discloses an electrode lead electrically connected to an electrode tab included in the electrode assembly and protruding out of the battery case via the sealing portion (p. 5, lines 3–14; Fig. 2).
JP’390 also discloses a lead film disposed at a portion corresponding to the sealing portion, wherein the lead film includes a first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer, and is arranged between the electrode lead and the inner surface of the battery case sealing portion (p. 6, lines 1–15; Fig. 3). As shown in Fig. 3, the lead film is interposed so as to prevent direct contact between the electrode lead and the battery case.
However, JP’390 does not explicitly describe this interposed arrangement using the express claim language that “the lead film separates the battery case from the electrode lead.” While JP’390 depicts and implies physical separation, it does not recite this functional separation in explicit terms.
JP’951 discloses laminate sealing structures in which a laminate film is interposed between a metal member and a sealing film, and expressly teaches that such a laminate film functions to separate the metal member from the sealing film to prevent electrical shorting and to improve sealing reliability (p. 5, lines 18–30; p. 6, lines 1–12). JP’951 explicitly characterizes the laminate film as a separating layer between the metal component and the sealing film.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure and describe the lead film of JP’390 such that it separates the battery case from the electrode lead, as taught by JP’951, in order to prevent direct contact, improve electrical insulation, and enhance sealing reliability.
As to Claim 20:
JP’390 discloses:
a battery cell including a battery case having an accommodation portion in which an electrode assembly is mounted, and a sealing portion formed by sealing an outer periphery of the battery case (p. 4, lines 1–12; p. 4, lines 13–22; Fig. 2);
an electrode lead electrically connected to an electrode tab included in the electrode assembly and protruding out of the battery case via the sealing portion (p. 5, lines 3–14; Fig. 2);
a lead film located at a portion corresponding to the sealing portion on at least one side of the electrode lead, wherein the lead film includes a first adhesive layer and a second adhesive layer and is disposed between the electrode lead and an inner surface of the sealing portion of the battery case (p. 6, lines 1–15; Fig. 3); and
an intermediate layer is disposed between the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer in the lead film (p. 6, lines 16–28).
However, JP’390 does not disclose that the intermediate layer is a moisture removal layer including 30% to 70% by weight of a getter material, based on a total weight of the moisture removal layer. JP’390 does not describe any getter content or weight-percentage range for the intermediate layer disposed between the adhesive layers (p. 6, lines 16–28).
JP’951 discloses a laminate structure including a moisture removal layer disposed between adhesive layers and expressly teaches that the moisture removal layer includes a getter material in an amount of 30% to 70% by weight, based on the total weight of the moisture removal layer (p. 9, lines 11–22). JP’951 further explains that increasing getter content improves moisture absorption performance, but that approximately 70% by weight represents an upper limit beyond which processability, mechanical integrity, and heat-sealability of the laminate structure deteriorate (p. 8, lines 13–24; p. 9, lines 1–10). JP’951 therefore teaches that the disclosed 30%–70% range balances moisture-removal effectiveness with manufacturability and sealing reliability.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the intermediate layer of the lead film in JP’390 to be a moisture removal layer including 30% to 70% by weight of a getter material, as taught by JP’951, in order to improve moisture absorption while maintaining adequate mechanical strength and heat-sealability at the sealing portion. Because JP’951 expressly identifies approximately 70% by weight as an upper usability limit for maintaining laminate processability and sealing performance, selecting a getter concentration within the recited 30%–70% range represents routine optimization of a known result-effective variable. Such optimization involves balancing known competing considerations—moisture absorption versus manufacturability—and would have been well within the ordinary skill of a person in the art.
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2014-120390 A (JP’390) in view of JP 2021-054951 A (JP’951), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2019/358902 A1 (US’902).
As to Claim 10:
JP’390 discloses a battery cell including a battery case having an accommodation portion in which an electrode assembly is mounted and a sealing portion formed by sealing an outer periphery of the battery case (p. 4, lines 1–12; p. 4, lines 13–22; Fig. 2). JP’390 further discloses an electrode lead electrically connected to an electrode tab included in the electrode assembly and protruding out of the battery case via the sealing portion (p. 5, lines 3–14; Fig. 2). JP’390 also discloses a lead film located at a portion corresponding to the sealing portion, wherein the lead film includes a first adhesive layer disposed on the electrode-lead side and a second adhesive layer disposed on the sealing-portion side (p. 6, lines 1–15; Fig. 3).
However, JP’390 does not disclose that the first adhesive layer has a gas permeability of 20 Barrer to 60 Barrer at 60 °C, nor does JP’390 disclose any quantitative gas-permeability values or temperature-dependent permeability characteristics for the adhesive layers (p. 6, lines 1–28).
JP’951 discloses laminate sealing structures used in battery-related applications and teaches that adhesive layers disposed at sealed peripheral portions are selected in view of controlled gas transmission characteristics to balance sealing reliability and gas diffusion (p. 8, lines 13–24; p. 9, lines 1–10). JP’951 therefore establishes that gas permeability is a recognized design parameter for adhesive layers used in battery sealing regions.
US’902 expressly discloses polymer layers used in laminated structures and teaches that such polymer layers may have gas permeability values within a range of about 10 to 60 Barrer, including ranges overlapping 20 to 60 Barrer, as measured by standard gas-permeability testing methods ([0051]–[0053]). US’902 further explains that such permeability ranges are relevant for polymer layers functioning at elevated temperatures, including temperatures on the order of 60 °C, to allow controlled gas diffusion while maintaining mechanical integrity ([0062]).
JP’390, JP’951, and US’902 are analogous art because all three references relate to laminated structures used in battery or electrochemical device applications and address material selection for layers disposed at sealing portions, including considerations of gas transmission, durability, and reliability. A person skilled in the art of battery packaging would reasonably consult JP’951 and US’902 when selecting material properties for adhesive layers used in the lead film of JP’390.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the first adhesive layer of the lead film in JP’390 to have a gas permeability of 20 Barrer to 60 Barrer at 60 °C, as taught by US’902 and suggested by the gas-management considerations described in JP’951, in order to permit controlled gas diffusion while maintaining sealing reliability and mechanical strength at the sealing portion.
As to Claim 13:
JP’390 discloses a battery cell including a battery case having an accommodation portion in which an electrode assembly is mounted and a sealing portion formed by sealing an outer periphery of the battery case (p. 4, lines 1–12; p. 4, lines 13–22; Fig. 2). JP’390 further discloses an electrode lead electrically connected to an electrode tab included in the electrode assembly and protruding out of the battery case via the sealing portion (p. 5, lines 3–14; Fig. 2). JP’390 also discloses a lead film including a second adhesive layer disposed on the sealing-portion side of the lead film and bonded to the inner surface of the battery case sealing portion (p. 6, lines 1–15; Fig. 3).
However, JP’390 does not disclose that the second adhesive layer has a gas permeability of 20 Barrer to 60 Barrer at 60 °C, nor does JP’390 provide any quantitative disclosure of gas-permeability values or temperature-dependent permeability for the second adhesive layer (p. 6, lines 1–28).
JP’951 discloses battery sealing structures in which adhesive layers disposed at sealing portions are selected to permit controlled gas transmission, and teaches that gas permeability is an important material property for adhesive layers used in sealed battery structures to balance sealing reliability and gas release (p. 8, lines 13–24; p. 9, lines 1–10).
US’902 expressly discloses laminated polymer layers used in functional sealing applications and teaches that such layers may have gas permeability values in a range of about 20 Barrer to 60 Barrer at elevated temperatures, including temperatures around 60 °C, to allow controlled gas diffusion while maintaining adhesion and structural integrity ([0051]–[0053], [0062]). US’902 further indicates that these permeability ranges are applicable to polymer layers used on either side of laminated structures.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the second adhesive layer of the lead film disclosed in JP’390 to have a gas permeability of 20 Barrer to 60 Barrer at 60 °C, as taught by US’902 and suggested by the gas-management considerations described in JP’951, in order to achieve controlled gas diffusion while maintaining sealing reliability and structural integrity at the sealing portion.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2014-120390 A (hereinafter “JP’390”) in view of JP 2021-054951 A (hereinafter “JP’951”), as applied to Claim 16 above, and further in view of JP 2001-307777 A (hereinafter “JP’777”).
As to Claim 17:
JP’390 discloses a battery cell including a battery case having an accommodation portion in which an electrode assembly is configured to be mounted, and a sealing portion formed by sealing an outer periphery of the battery case (p. 4, lines 1–12; p. 4, lines 13–22; Fig. 2). JP’390 further discloses an electrode lead electrically connected to an electrode tab included in the electrode assembly and protruding out of the battery case via the sealing portion (p. 5, lines 3–14; Fig. 2).
JP’390 also discloses a lead film located at a portion corresponding to the sealing portion and contacting the electrode lead, the lead film including a first adhesive layer, a moisture removal layer, and a second adhesive layer (p. 6, lines 1–15; p. 6, lines 16–28; Fig. 3). JP’390 further teaches that the lead film may be disposed on opposite sides of the electrode lead, corresponding to an upper side and a lower side of the electrode lead, consistent with a configuration including multiple lead films (p. 6, lines 16–28; Fig. 3).
However, JP’390 does not explicitly disclose that an end of the first adhesive layer included in a first lead film is in contact with an end of the first adhesive layer included in a second lead film, as recited in Claim 17. While JP’390 discloses adhesive layers on opposite sides of the electrode lead, it does not expressly describe end-to-end contact between the first adhesive layers of the respective lead films.
JP’951 discloses battery sealing structures in which multiple sealing or adhesive films are disposed on opposite sides of a conductive member, and teaches that adjacent adhesive layers may be arranged so that their end portions contact each other to improve sealing reliability and moisture blocking at the penetration region (p. 10, lines 1–12; p. 10, lines 13–22; Fig. 6).
JP’777 further discloses laminated sealing members disposed on opposite sides of a lead or tab, wherein adhesive layers of the respective laminated members are arranged such that their end portions abut or contact each other, thereby forming a continuous adhesive barrier across the penetration region (p. 5, lines 8–20; p. 6, lines 1–12; Fig. 4). JP’777 explicitly teaches that contacting adhesive ends improves sealing performance and reduces leakage paths.
JP’390, JP’951, and JP’777 are analogous art because each reference relates to battery cells or sealed electrochemical devices having electrode leads or tabs passing through a sealing portion, and each addresses the structure and arrangement of adhesive or sealing layers at the lead-penetration region. A person of ordinary skill in the art of battery packaging would reasonably consult JP’951 and JP’777 when determining how to arrange multiple lead films and adhesive layers in JP’390 to enhance sealing performance.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lead-film structure of JP’390 so that an end of the first adhesive layer included in a first lead film contacts an end of the first adhesive layer included in a second lead film, as taught by JP’951 and JP’777, in order to improve sealing continuity, moisture blocking, and leakage prevention at the electrode-lead penetration region.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723