DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2016/03518167) (Kim) in view of Yoon et al (US 20190305227) (Yoon).
In reference to claims 1-5, Kim teaches compounds of the formula 1 as shown below (Kim [0050]
for example, wherein in the formula 1, R11 to R18 are each deuterium (Kim [0051]), R19 is a group of formula 1E and R20 is a group of formula 1A as shown above (Kim [0051] [0054]), wherein in the formula 1A, a101 is 1 (Kim [0102]), L101 is formula 3-1 as shown above (Kim [0091]), X11 and X12 are each O (Kim [0073]), and A11, A12 and A13 are each benzene (Kim [0081]; as in compound H122, Kim p 63) and in the formula 1E a102 is 0 (Kim [0102]), R108 is formula 5-1 (Kim [0137]) .
Kim discloses the compound of formula 1 that encompasses the presently claimed compounds, including wherein in the formula 1, R11 to R18 are each deuterium, R19 is a group of formula 1E and R20 is a group of formula 1A as shown above, wherein in the formula 1A, a101 is 1, L101 is formula 3-1 as shown above, X11 and X12 are each O, and A11, A12 and A13 are each benzene and in the formula 1E a102 is 0, R108 is formula 5-1. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Kim are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of the compound of formula 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for the compound of formula 1 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Kim and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Kim does not expressly teach that the deuterium atoms are preferred on the anthracene group as instantly claimed. With respect to the difference, Yoon teaches anthracene compounds with aryl and dibenzofuran substituents that optionally include additional ring fusions as those disclosed by Kim or instantly claimed (Yoon abstract, [0015]). Kim further teaches that deuteration of the anthracene group results in improvements in device lifetime as evidenced therein (Yoon Table 1, [0153]).
In light of the motivation of using deuterated anthracene as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the deuterated anthracene as described by Yoon in order to improve device lifetime and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: Reads on formula 1 wherein a1 is 8, each of R1 to R8 is hydrogen, L1 is an unsubstituted arylene group and Ar1 is an unsubstituted aryl.
For Claim 2: Reads on formula 1-2.
For Claim 3: Reads on formula 1-3.
For Claim 4: Reads on L1 is phenylene and Ar1 is phenyl.
For Claim 5: Reads on the second compound.
In reference to claims 6-11, Kim in view of Yoon teaches the device as described above and further teaches that it is used in an organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode and an organic layer between them and wherein the organic layer includes the compound as a host compound and a fluorescent dopant of formula 2, which is an arylamine-based compound and that this configuration leads to improved thermal stability, lower driving voltage and higher efficiency (Kim abstract).
While Kim does not exemplify this material in this configuration of a device, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have selected a known device configuration from those taught by Kim to use the compound of Kim with the anticipation of proving a device with improved stability, lower driving voltage and higher efficiency.
With respect to claim 7 and 8, while the ‘organic layer’ of Kim in view of Yoon is not given the same name as those claimed, the name of the layer does not change its position relative to other layers as claimed nor its composition and the organic layer of Kim meets all structural and compositional requirements for the claimed layers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that, as amended, the instant claims require 8 deuterium atoms specifically as substituents on the central anthracene group and that deuteration at these positions rather than other deuteration positions gives rise to improvements in device service lifetime (LT 95).
For a finding of unexpected results, the results presented need to be of both statistical and practical significance and be commensurate in scope with the subject matter claimed (See MPEP 716.02).
First, while the inventive examples allegedly show improvements in device lifetime, the specification has provided no information that would allow the analysis of the statistical significance of the results. That is, there is no indication if more than one device was prepared and analyzed for each comparative and exemplary device and there is no information on the reproducibility or precision of the measured parameters presented in the data tables.
Second, the results appear to be expected based on the prior art of record. As set forth above herein, Yoon teaches that deuteration of anthracene gives rise to an improvement in device lifetimes (LT 95) when compared to deuteration at other positions on similar compounds. The magnitude of the improvement appears to be essentially identical. Taken together, the effect that Applicant claims is unexpected appears to be what would be anticipated based on the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786