DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in FR210586 on 2020-10-15. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FR210586 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
Examiner recommends augmenting the labeling of the figures to include the corresponding names from the specification, as feasible. For example, in Fig. 1, item “B1” should be labelled “transmitting coil B1”. In Fig. 1, item “10” should be labelled “microcontroller 10”, etc. This will assist future searchers of the patent database to quickly grasp the inventive concept of applicant’s disclosure. No new matter should be entered.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment to the specification received on 3/28/2023 is acceptable and made of record in accordance with MPEP 714.01 (e). Applicant’s statement of “no new matter entered” is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 5 recites the limitation “a transmitting coil” in line 3. However, lines 7, 10 and 14 recite, “the transmitting antenna”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for, at least, the first instance of the transmitting antenna. The antennas will be interpreted as the “transmitting coil” of line 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to for a potential antecedent basis issue:
line 1 recites, “an object to be charged …”;
while lines 2-3 recite, “… charging a portable item of user equipment …”.
The object and the portable item of user equipment appear to be one and the same. E.g., see par. 0070 of the specification, printed publication. If these are intended to be different things then please clarify. If they are intended to be the same then both instances should be referred to by the same name throughout the claims in order to maintain consistency. Examiner will interpret the object and the portable item as being the same thing, iaw par. 0070. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goodchild US 20220052565.
Regarding claim 1, Goodchild discloses a method for detecting an object to be charged, by a charging device [par. 0009, wireless charging device. Par. 0073, detection circuit 1400 may be provided in a wireless charger (Fig. 14. See reproduced)], comprising a transmitting coil [par. 0009, transmitter; Fig. 11, transmitting coil 1104. Fig. 14, power transmitting coil 1404] and a microcontroller [Fig. 11, processing circuit 1108. Processing circuit 1408, par. 0083] which are suitable for charging a portable item of user equipment (P) at an operating frequency [pars. 0011, 0073, chargeable device. Fig. 11, chargeable devices 1110], the method comprising:
a) transmitting a predetermined number of voltage pulses at the terminals of the transmitting coil [Fig. 14, pulse generator 1406. Par. 0038: note that the charging device may determine that a compatible device has been placed on the charging surface by sending an intermittent (i.e. more than one) test signal (active or digital ping). Par. 0073 note also that for multiple coils 1404 there will be a corresponding output pulse from each coil 1404], at a parasitic resonant frequency, between 800 kHz and 1.2 MHz [pars. 0044, 0074, 0077], said resonant frequency being different and distinct [par. 0028 …transmitting an excitation flux from the charging device, the excitation flux being transmitted in a first range of frequencies that includes a first nominal resonant frequency associated with compatible chargeable devices, determining that a compatible chargeable device is available for charging by the charging device when resonance is detected in response to the excitation flux] from the operating frequency [par. 0028 … the charging current being provided in a second range of frequencies that includes a second nominal resonant frequency associated with the compatible chargeable devices. Par. 0074],
b) measuring the voltage at the terminals [e.g. Fig. 11, see voltage measurement] of the transmitting coil [pars. 0049, 0075. Fig. 14, amplitude comparator 1416, frequency comparator 1418],
c) comparing a frequency of the voltage thus measured and said window of values [Fig. 14, see frequency comparator 1418], and
d) if the frequency of the voltage is contained in said window of values, then detecting a portable item of user equipment to be charged by the transmitting coil [pars. 0078-0079. See also pars. 0091-0094, 0095, 0097: The instructions may be configured to cause the one or more processors 1704 to determine a difference between frequency of the resonance and the first nominal resonant frequency, and configure an amplitude or frequency of the charging current based on the difference. Fig., 18, Par. 0098].
Regarding claims 2, 6, Goodchild discloses: wherein comparing the frequency of the voltage and the window of values comprises comparing the measured voltage and a minimum voltage threshold and a maximum voltage threshold for a predetermined time [pars. 0053, 0067, 0078 multiple thresholds are compared meaning, the lowest one can be considered as minimum whilst the highest one can be considered as maximum].
Regarding claim 5, Goodchild discloses a device for charging [par. 0009, wireless charging device. Par. 0073, detection circuit 1400 may be provided in a wireless charger (Fig. 14, see reproduced)] a portable item of user equipment [par. 0073, chargeable devices], comprising:
a transmitting coil [par. 0009, transmitter; Fig. 11, transmitting coil 1104. Fig. 14, power transmitting coil 1404] and a microcontroller [Fig. 11, processing circuit 1108. Processing circuit 1408, par. 0083], which are suitable for charging the portable item of user equipment at an operating frequency [pars. 0011, 0073, chargeable device. Fig. 11, chargeable devices 1110]
means for generating a predetermined number of voltage pulses [Fig. 14, pulse generator 1406. Par. 0038: note that the charging device may determine that a compatible device has been placed on the charging surface by sending an intermittent (i.e. more than one) test signal (active or digital ping). Par. 0073 note also that for multiple coils 1404 there will be a corresponding output pulse from each coil 1404] at the terminals of the transmitting antenna [one or more power transmitting coils 1404] at a parasitic resonant frequency between 800 kHz and 1.2 MHz [pars. 0044, 0074, 0077], which is different and distinct [par. 0028 …transmitting an excitation flux from the charging device, the excitation flux being transmitted in a first range of frequencies that includes a first nominal resonant frequency associated with compatible chargeable devices, determining that a compatible chargeable device is available for charging by the charging device when resonance is detected in response to the excitation flux] from the operating frequency [par. 0028 … the charging current being provided in a second range of frequencies that includes a second nominal resonant frequency associated with the compatible chargeable devices. Par. 0074],
means for measuring voltage at the terminals of the transmitting antenna [pars. 0049, 0075. Fig. 14, amplitude comparator 1416, frequency comparator 1418] and
means for detecting a portable item of user equipment to be charged by the transmitting coil depending on a frequency of the voltage at the terminals of the transmitting antenna thus measured [pars. 0078-0079. See also pars. 0091-0094, 0095, 0097: The instructions may be configured to cause the one or more processors 1704 to determine a difference between frequency of the resonance and the first nominal resonant frequency, and configure an amplitude or frequency of the charging current based on the difference. Fig., 18, Par. 0098].
Regarding claim 8, Goodchild discloses the charging device as claimed in claim 5, wherein the generation means, the measurement means and the detection means are contained in a printed circuit [par. 0035 the coils are the generation and detection means and are printed. Measurement means Fig. 14, amplitude comparator 1416, frequency comparator 1418 are a part of processing circuit (e.g. see 1408, Fig. 14) and are therefore printed electronics, par. 0079].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodchild US 20220052565.
Regarding claims 3, 7, Goodchild discloses: wherein the detection means comprise means for making domain frequency calculations of the voltage and for comparing the frequency of said voltage and the window of values [par. 0079].
Goodchild is silent regarding the use of the Fourier transform.
Examiner takes Official Notice, IAW MPEP 2144.03, as to the common knowledge of the recited subject matter.
Utilizing the Fourier transform in frequency analysis is well-known in the art of battery charging. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the Fourier transform to analyze Goodchild’s time and frequency domain (as stated in par. 0079) for the benefit of providing accurate insight into the signal behaviors of both domains.
Regarding claim 4, Goodchild discloses the detection method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the predetermined number is equal to
Goodchild does not disclose using three pulses.
Examiner takes Official Notice, IAW MPEP 2144.03, as to the common knowledge of the recited subject matter.
Utilizing three pulses (I.e. detection pings) is well-known in the art of battery charging. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize three pulses with Goodchild’s detection circuit for the benefit of providing a more robust reflected signal, making it easier to detect and discriminate.
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodchild US 20220052565 in view of Widmer et al. US 10324215.
Regarding claim 9, Goodchild discloses the charging device as claimed in claim 5, wherein the generation means comprise a pulse generator [Fig. 14, pulse generator 1406].
Goodchild is silent regarding the generation means comprising: a switch and a resistor which are connected in series to a voltage source.
Widmer discloses a generation means comprising: a switch [1254 MUX] and a resistor [Rser 1211] which are connected in series to a voltage source [DA 1250; col. 21 lines 6-12].
Goodchild and Widmer are analogous means of detecting foreign objects using inductive coupling. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to utilize a generation source comprising a resistor and switch as taught by Widmer for the benefit of being simple to implement at a circuit level and to easily vary the level of excitation current sent through the transmitting coil.
Regarding claim 10, Goodchild discloses
Goodchild does not disclose a motor vehicle.
Widmer discloses a motor vehicle [Fig. 1, electric vehicle 112. Col. 2 lines 39-49]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to utilize Goodchild’s detection system with a motor vehicle for the benefit of being able to determine not only ferromagnetic foreign objects such as metals in the way of the vehicle charging but other kinds of foreign objects as well [e.g. different EV’s that do not support inductive charging].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220179119 belongs to the instant assignee and is cited for background relevance.
Louis US 20190028148 discloses an inductive power transmitter comprising a transmission circuit having a coil, the transmission circuit tuned, adapted or optimised at or about a first frequency for inductive power transfer or object detection; an inverter operable to drive the transmission circuit at the first frequency; and a controller arranged to control the inverter to drive the transmission circuit at a second higher frequency, and to modulate a signal at the second higher frequency according to a predetermined handshake signal in order to generate a response from a predetermined non-authorised device proximate the coil.
unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be contacted at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273- 8300.
RICHARD V. MURALIDAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/RICHARD V MURALIDAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859