DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments received on November 24, 2025 are entered into the file. Currently, claims 1-3, 7, and 11-13 are amended; claims 5 and 9 are canceled; claims 15-17 are withdrawn; resulting in claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-14 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wiegelmann et al. (US 2015/0030817, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Wiegelmann et al. teaches a panel (decorative sheet) comprising a substrate (2), a primer layer (11) arranged on the visible side of the substrate, a décor (12; design layer) formed on the primer layer and sealed with a transparent protective layer (13), and a three-dimensional structure (8) applied to the protective layer ([0023], [0047], Figs. 3-4). As shown in Fig. 4, reproduced below, the three-dimensional structure comprises layers (8.11, 8.12, 8.13) made of a transparently-curing synthetic resin or lacquer which are overlaid on the décor [0047].
Wiegelmann et al. further teaches that the décor is a wood imitating décor (includes a pattern of one continuous surface of wood), and that indentations or pores (8.2) located between elevations (8.1) in the three-dimensional structure (8) correspond to locations of the wood imitating décor representing wood pores ([0001], [0032], Figs. 3-4). The upper two layers (8.12, 8.13) of the elevations shown in Figs. 3-4 correspond to the claimed raised layer including a raised region having raised portions each including an uneven surface like the surface of wood, wherein the indentations or pores (8.2) located between adjacent elevations correspond to the claimed non-raised region. The uneven surface includes protruding portions relative to the adjacent layer (8.11), while the steps (8.23) between the layers (8.11, 8.12) represent recessed portions in the uneven surface which include a bottom surface composed of a surface of a layer (8.11) adjacent to the raised layer. As shown in Fig. 4, the steps (8.23; recessed portions) include linear portions of which the orientations and lengths are not constant, and the steps surround a full perimeter of each corresponding raised layer (8.12, 8.13) of each elevation (8.1). As shown in Figs. 3-4, an interval between two adjacent raised portions (8.12, 8.13) is larger than two times a width of the linear portions of the steps (8.23).
Weigelmann et al. further teaches that the multi-layer construction of the three-dimensional structure produces decorative panels with a relatively large structural depth ([0047]), such that the protruding portions and recessed portions are capable of imparting a tactile sensation on inner portions of each of the raised portions.
Regarding claim 2, Wiegelmann et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. As noted above, Wiegelmann et al. teaches that the positions of the elevations (8.1) are matched to the wood imitating decor ([0001], [0032], Fig. 4), such that the raised portions each include a shape and a layout that imitate (i.e., reproduce) the surface of wood.
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Wiegelmann et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. As shown in Fig. 4, the linear portions represented by the steps (8.23) between the layers (8.11, 8.12) include curved-line shapes (see leftmost elevation) and straight-line shapes (see rightmost elevation).
Regarding claim 11, Wiegelmann et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. As shown in Fig. 4, at least part of the linear portions of the steps (8.23) include one end portion positioned inside the raised portions represented by elevations (8.1).
Regarding claim 12, Wiegelmann et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. As shown in annotated Fig. 4 below, orientations of two linear portions of the steps (8.23) included in one of the raised portions are within an angle range of 50° or less.
Regarding claim 13, Wiegelmann et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. As shown in annotated Fig. 4 below, orientations of two linear portions of the steps (8.23) included in one of the raised portions are inclined by 70° or more
Regarding claim 14, Wiegelmann et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 above. As shown in Fig. 4 above, each of the linear portions of the steps (8.23) includes small segments that are linear, wherein at an end portion thereof, each of the small segments connects to other small segments, makes up an end portion of the linear portion, or is positioned at an edge of the raised portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiegelmann et al. (US 2015/0030817, previously cited) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Higa et al. (JP 2018-167435, machine translation previously provided).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Wiegelmann et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Although Wiegelmann et al. teaches that the elevations (8.1) and indentations (8.2) may be matched to the décor such that, for example, corresponding indentations are arranged to fit precisely on locations of a wood imitating décor representing wood pores, thus forming a synchronous pore structure ([0032]), the reference does not expressly teach that the decor includes first and second regions having different densities in which the raised region is overlaid only on one of the first and second regions.
However, in the analogous art of decorative sheets, Higa et al. teaches a decorative sheet (1) comprising a substrate (2), a picture pattern layer (3; design layer), a first resin layer (4), a second resin layer (5; raised layer), and protrusions (6) ([0025], Fig. 1). Higa et al. teaches that the picture pattern layer (3) has a pattern that imitates wood grain, where the wood grain pattern is formed so that grain portion (3a) has a dark color [0026]. The grain portion (3a) therefore corresponds to the claimed second region in which the wood grain pattern has a higher density than the remaining areas of the picture pattern layer (3), which correspond to the claimed first region.
Higa et al. teaches that the second resin layer (5) is not formed on the grain portion (3a) of the picture pattern layer so as to be in harmony with the wood grain pattern ([0028], Fig. 1), such that the raised portion is overlaid only on the first region of the picture pattern layer. As shown in Figs. 1 and 2, the grain portion (3a) of the picture pattern layer is shown as elongated lines formed in a dark color, such that the pattern formed by the grain portion corresponds to one or more of a duct and a latewood.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the panel taught by Wiegelmann et al. by forming the decor to have first and second regions in which the pattern in the second region includes a duct or latewood and has a higher density than the first region and in which the elevations are overlaid only on the first region, as taught by Higa et al., in order for the elevations and the printed décor to cooperate to form a synchronous wood grain pattern.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiegelmann et al. (US 2015/0030817, previously cited) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Wiegelmann et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above but does not expressly teach that widths of the linear portions are 250 µm or less. It would, however, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear portions to have widths of 250 µm or less, in order to impart a desired pattern and/or surface texture to the panel. Furthermore, it is well settled that changes in size are prima facie obvious and are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 7, Wiegelmann et al. teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above but does not expressly teach that an interval between two adjacent raised regions is 1 mm or more. It would, however, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the raised regions such that an interval between two adjacent raised regions is 1 mm or more, in order to impart a desired pattern and/or surface texture to the panel. Furthermore, it is well settled that changes in size are prima facie obvious and are not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Objections
The previous objection to claim 1 is overcome by the Applicant’s amendment to the claim in the response filed November 24, 2025.
Response-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections of claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention are overcome by the Applicant’s amendments to claims 1-3, 7, and 11-14 in the response filed November 24, 2025.
Response-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-11 of the remarks filed November 24, 2025, have been considered but are moot because they do not address the new combination of references being used in the rejections above. In light of the amendments to claim 1, the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 based on Thiers are withdrawn, and new rejections based on Wiegelmann et al. are presented in the office action above.
Conclusion
/Rebecca L Grusby/Examiner, Art Unit 1785