DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 8-13 and 16 (filed 10/08/2025) have been considered in this action. Claims 1, 13 and 16 have been amended. Claims 6, 7, 14 and 15 have been canceled. Claims 2-5 and 8-12 have been presented in the same format as previously presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9 paragraph 2, filed 10/08/2025, with respect to objection to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9 paragraph 3, filed 10/08/2025, with respect to objection to claim 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9 paragraph 4, filed 10/08/2025, with respect to rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see page 9 paragraph 5, filed 10/08/2025, with respect to rejection of claims 1-13 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that:
“[page 10]…the present amendment transform the alleged abstract idea into a practical application by improving the physical manufacturing process of the coating production by utilizing the claimed adjusted drying process. This is described in [0085] of the published application….”
The examiner disagrees, and as noted in the previous rejection, no practical application is afforded because no claimed element or limitation requires the use of the at least one drying process. While the newly amended claimed feature relate to how a drying process is partitioned into multiple stages/procedures, the claim does not every require that a practical application of those stages is actually utilized as either an improvement to the functioning of a computer, or the implementation of the process to improve a drying process for manufacturing a product that is improved. The stages are claimed in the form of a further description of an intended use, as the wherein clause that states:
providing at least one recommended procedure for adjusting the at least one drying process which comprises the at least one predictive value for the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer suitable for being used during the at least one of the drying stages, wherein the at least one drying process is partitioned into an initial drying stage, a critical drying stage following the initial drying stage, and a final drying stage which follows the critical drying stage, wherein the at least one drying process is adjusted by using an evaporation rate of a drying profile during the initial drying stage, applies the evaporation rate of a mild drying profile during the critical drying stage, and returns to the evaporation rate of the rough drying profile during the final drying stage.
The underlined material is merely further describing an intended use of “for adjusting the at least one drying process” because the claim does not recite under the BRI, that the practical application of actually performing a drying process with the recommended procedure is performed. The applicant’s arguments are therefore found unpersuasive, and the examiner maintains their previous rejection of claims 1-5 and 8-13 under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11 paragraph 1, filed 10/08/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 6-8 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and claims 2-5, 9-11 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of applicant provided reference by Stefan Jaiser “Film Formation of Lithium-Ion Battery Electrodes during Drying: The Interrelation of Process, Microstructure and Properties” which teaches the use of three drying stages with different drying rate (evaporation rates). See below for a mapping of the newly amended features to Jaiser.
It is noted that applicant’s arguments regarding Kiel and how “drying zones” are differentiated by “drying stages” by zones only referring to a physical consecutive spatial arrangement, while drying stages refers to consecutive procedures is not found persuasive. Accordingly, this description of Keil is not in line with the explanation provided by Keil, in which it is described that “[0045] in preferred embodiments, comprised of two or more zones each having an independent set of air temperature and air velocity settings. Further, one or more zones may include the aforementioned technologies, including infrared, ultraviolet, electron beam, or any combination, to enhance the heating and drying of the coating layers at a given stage of the drying profile within the overall drying time in the dryer” and “[0069] each of said zones having specific air velocity and air temperature settings in order to reach a target web exit temperatures corresponding to the target exit moisture of 2.5%” which teaches that zones have different settings, and thus correspond well with different stages because different drying parameters are utilized in the different zones. Accordingly, the use of different parameters in different zones corresponds with different stages when drying a substrate in a dryer, as performed by Kiel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception in the form of an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims are directed to the statutory category of invention of a method.
Step 2A Prong One:
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-12 are method claims directed to (A) Mathematical concepts and Mental processes. The acts of employing at least one model and determining a predictive value using the model from claim 1 are directed to abstract ideas of mathematical concepts in the form of mathematical calculations using a model, and the acts of determining a predictive value using a model and providing a recommendation are directed to abstract ideas of mental processing steps in the form of making mental determinations and recommendations with the aid of pen and paper.
Step 2A Prong Two:
The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered individually and in combination because the additional elements, which are recited at a high level of generality, provide conventional functions that do not add meaningful limits to practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 1 recites, in part the additional elements of, receiving information and a computer-implemented method for adjusting at least one drying process by providing a recommendation. These limitations describe the concept of use of mathematical concepts in the form of a model, and the mental processing of making recommendations, which corresponds to the concepts identified as abstract ideas by the courts. The above additional elements such as receiving information is the insignificant extra-solution activity of information gathering, while the recitation of the method being providing a recommendation for the adjusting at least one drying process and for the use of three drying stages without the actual implementation of that adjustment recites a mere field of use that relates the abstract ideas to the particular field of drying processes without significantly more, and merely associates the recommendation as an intended use to adjust the drying process, without actually having to adjust the drying the process.
For example: limitation described above as the process being for adjusting at least one drying process using three drying stages is extra solution activity and amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application”, (see MPEP 2106.05(h): “..vi. Limiting the abstract idea of collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis to data related to the electric power grid, because limiting application of the abstract idea to power-grid monitoring is simply an attempt to limit the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, Electric Power Group”) while the receiving of information and providing a recommendation are elements that amount to little more than information gathering steps that that fail to place meaningful limits on the claim as they amount to mere data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g): “…In Flook, the Court reasoned that "[t]he notion that post-solution activity, no matter how conventional or obvious in itself, can transform an unpatentable principle into a patentable process exalts form over substance. A competent draftsman could attach some form of post-solution activity to almost any mathematical formula". 437 U.S. at 590; 198 USPQ at 197; Id. (holding that step of adjusting an alarm limit variable to a figure computed according to a mathematical formula was "post-solution activity"). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 79, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1968 (2012) (additional element of measuring metabolites of a drug administered to a patient was insignificant extra-solution activity).”).
The abstract idea described in claim 1 is not meaningfully different than those abstract ideas found by the courts, therefor the claim is considered to be directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim recites the additional elements of:
receiving information about a layout of the at least two consecutive drying stages, about a composition of the preparation, and about the at least one substrate; This limitation amounts to an additional element that merely collects additional information in the form of layout and substrate composition information.
providing at least one recommended procedure for adjusting the at least one drying process which comprises the at least one predictive value for the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer suitable for being used during the at least one of the drying stages, wherein the at least one drying process is partitioned into an initial drying stage, a critical drying stage following the initial drying stage, and a final drying stage which follows the critical drying stage, wherein the at least one drying process is adjusted by using an evaporation rate of a drying profile during the initial drying stage, applies the evaporation rate of a mild drying profile during the critical drying stage, and returns to the evaporation rate of the rough drying profile during the final drying stage. This limitation recite an intended use of “for adjusting at least one drying process” and the remaining elements of the limitation are merely further limiting this intended use, but fails to afford a practical application of that intended use as a claimed step.
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. The claim does not recite under the BRI, that the practical application of actually performing a drying process with the recommended procedure is performed. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves another technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementations and functions directed towards an intended use.
Dependent claims 2-12 are drawn to additional elements that fail to offer a practical application of the abstract idea. These limitations are considered to be drawn to the abstract idea without adding significantly more. For example, claims 2-5 further specify optional parameters surrounding the model, but fail to offer any use of the model that affords a practical application. Claims 6-12 relate to procedures performed in a drying process, however the claims are interpreted in such a way that no actual drying process needs to be performed, because the claim is a method and thus is only limited by the method steps of receiving, employing, determining, and recommending, as outlined by claim 1. In other words, claim 1 does not require a drying process actually be performed, thus limitations that limit a drying process fail to substantially limit a claim. See MPEP 2111.04 for further explanation of how “wherein” clauses fail to limit a method when they fail to offer any meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps.
Claims 1-12 are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed towards an abstract idea without significantly more.
In regards to Claim 13, the claim is directed towards a system/machine that implements the method steps of claim 1. Accordingly, a similar analysis as applied to claim 1 and finding an abstract idea can be afforded to those corresponding steps of claim 13. Claim 13 contains the additional elements of at least one processing unit, at least one communication interface, and at least one further communication interface. These additional elements are merely computer hardware used as a tool for implementing the abstract ideas of claim 1. In other words, these additional elements amount to little more than appending the words “apply it” to the claim as outlined in MPEP 2106.05(f).
Accordingly, claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed towards an abstract idea without significantly more.
It is noted that claim 16 affords a practical application, as it includes the use of a control unit that implements the recommended procedure through control actions to control the coating device, and thus does not receive a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101. It is recommended that a similar step be implemented in the above rejected claims 1-13 to overcome the determination of the claims being directed towards abstract ideas without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 13 and 16 each recites the limitation "the rough drying profile" in the final limitation of each independent claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear what “the rough drying profile” is and how it relates to “returning to the evaporation rate of the rough drying profile” as there is no previously established rough drying profile linked to the “initial drying stage” to return to. It is unclear what the scope of “rough drying profile” is. For the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner shall consider “the rough drying profile” to mean a drying profile during a final drying stage with an evaporation/drying rate that is the same as the initial stage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keil et al. (US 20190081317, hereinafter Keil) in view of Stefan Jaiser “Film Formation of Lithium-Ion Battery Electrodes during Drying: The Interrelation of Process, Microstructure and Properties” (hereinafter, Jaiser).
In regards to Claim 1, Keil discloses “A computer-implemented method for adjusting at least one drying process designated for producing at least one coating on at least one substrate, wherein the at least one drying process is applied to at least one preparation deposited on the at least one substrate” ([0001] The embodiments disclosed herein relate to a system and method for coating a substrate, such as coating operations, for example those used in manufacturing batteries, where the substrate is coated in a series of discrete patches (intermittent coating) and/or in lanes; [0045] The flotation dryer 30 may be comprised of a single zone having a set air temperature and set air jet velocity from the convection nozzles throughout the entire dryer length or, in preferred embodiments, comprised of two or more zones each having an independent set of air temperature and air velocity settings; [0063] The processing unit may be a general purpose computing device such as a microprocessor. Alternatively, it may be a specialized processing device, such as a programmable logic controller (PLC)) “wherein the at least one drying process comprises at least two consecutive drying stages after which the at least one coating is produced” ([0045] The flotation dryer 30 may be comprised of a single zone having a set air temperature and set air jet velocity from the convection nozzles throughout the entire dryer length or, in preferred embodiments, comprised of two or more zones each having an independent set of air temperature and air velocity settings; [0051] In certain embodiments, an inline secondary drying step may be carried out after calendering. As shown in FIG. 5, a secondary dryer 34 may be positioned downstream of the calendering operation to further dry the coatings on the substrate and reduce the residual solvent level to the final targeted value) “wherein the method comprises:(i) receiving information about a layout of the at least two consecutive drying stages, about a composition of the preparation, and about the at least one substrate” ([0045] The flotation dryer 30 may be comprised of a single zone having a set air temperature and set air jet velocity from the convection nozzles throughout the entire dryer length or, in preferred embodiments, comprised of two or more zones each having an independent set of air temperature and air velocity settings. [0051] In certain embodiments, the secondary dryer is configured to contain and convey a continuous web of substrate inside a drying enclosure, where the web is guided in a serpentine or “festoon” like path with the coating having been solidified or cured in a prior drying step. This arrangement provides a web path of substantial cumulative length to be contained within the volume of the secondary dryer while exposing both sides of the coated substrate to a drying atmosphere. Relatively long exposure times, such as drying times in the range of one half minute to 5 minutes may be accomplished in a smaller volume footprint as compared to other web path arrangements such as planar or arched roll support ovens. Exposure time may be calculated by dividing the cumulative path length of the festoon by the transport speed of the substrate to be dried. Total cumulative path lengths from 10 to 50 meters are practical with cumulative path lengths of 100 meters or more achievable with low inertia rollers or driven rollers; wherein the length of the festoon is a layout parameter used to change the second drying process along with the transport/conveyance speed, and the use of single zone vs. many zones is a layout of the first dryer; [0041] A substrate 20, such as a current collector, is shown wrapped around an unwind roller 22. In certain embodiments, the current collector is a metal foil suitable for use as an electrode for a battery, such as a lithium-ion battery. Typically the metal foil is copper for the anode and aluminum for the cathode. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that substrates other than current collectors may be used in the systems and methods disclosed herein, and the metal foil current collector substrate is merely an exemplary embodiment. [0062] In some embodiments, a series of combined dual side coating and calendering operations can be combined to create multilayer, variable density electrodes, or electrodes with varying coating compositions. These multilayer electrodes could be coated in multiple layers at the preferred coating location, or a series of sequential or tandem simultaneous dual side coating machines could be connected in series to carry out to coat, dry and calender multilayer or variable density or electrodes with varying compositions; wherein the configuration of the substrate as single sided or dual sided is information about the substrate used for control, or whether it is copper or aluminum [0067] Based on said coat weight measurement and the specific gravity of the solids in the wet slurry as specified in the slurry formulation, a mass-balance determination of the equivalent dry coating mass per unit area and calendered thickness can be made in the controller unit 100 and compared to the coat weight density and thickness specifications previously stated. These specifications or production targets are entered into the controller unit 100 memory through a human-machine interface (HMI) 101. These specifications are set up as recipes for easy retrieval and modification for the various product type production targets stored within; wherein specific gravity and mass weight are of the coating/preparation) “(ii) employing at least one model configured to generate at least one predictive value for at least one setting parameter for at least one associated dryer being used during at least one of the drying stages” ([0069] Said corresponding web temperature and velocity settings are predetermined in the control unit by algorithms developed for each type of battery coating from structured experiments (such a “designs of experiments” known as DOE's), regression studies, drying engineering models or other suitable techniques alone or in combination as are known to those skilled in the art of drying operations. The predetermined settings are typically stored as recipes in memory in HMI 101 and loaded in the controller unit 100 (PLC) memory during make ready procedures for the battery collector product to me produced) “(iii) determining the at least one predictive value for the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer being used during the at least one of the drying stages based on the at least one model and the information;” ([0069] The predetermined settings are typically stored as recipes in memory in HMI 101 and loaded in the controller unit 100 (PLC) memory during make ready procedures for the battery collector product to me produced. In the present example the flotation air jet velocities are set by the control unit are in the range of 30 to 35 meters per second in order to deliver heat transfer coefficients in the range of 50 to 100 watts per square meter per Celsius degree, and the web exit temperature control in Zone 3 measured with sensor 130 is set at 65° C. as determined in said algorithm to reach the exit target of 2.5% moisture. Said zone air temperatures are measured and regulated to set points of 110, 115 and 120° C. in Zones 1, 2 and 3 respectively by closed-loop control systems included for each zone. Nozzle air jet velocities are preferably measured and regulated to set point by closed-loop control systems included for each zone) “and (iv) providing at least one recommended procedure for adjusting the at least one drying process which comprises the at least one predictive value for the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer suitable for being used during the at least one of the drying stages” ([0063] The controller unit may be in electrical communication (e.g., wired, wirelessly) with one or more of the operating units in the system, including one or more of the coating heads, the dryer, the calender, the slitter, web conveying equipment, sensors, etc. The controller also may be associated with a human machine interface or HMI that displays or otherwise indicates to an operator one or more of the parameters involved in operating the system and/or carrying out the methods described herein. [0069] The web temperature is measured at the exit of the dryer by non-contact IR sensor 130 and in preferred embodiments similarly at the end of each dryer zone, each of said zones having specific air velocity and air temperature settings in order to reach a target web exit temperatures corresponding to the target exit moisture of 2.5%. Said corresponding web temperature and velocity settings are predetermined in the control unit by algorithms developed for each type of battery coating from structured experiments (such a “designs of experiments” known as DOE's), regression studies, drying engineering models or other suitable techniques alone or in combination as are known to those skilled in the art of drying operations. The predetermined settings are typically stored as recipes in memory in HMI 101 and loaded in the controller unit 100 (PLC) memory during make ready procedures for the battery collector product to me produced; wherein the setpoints determined by the models/DOEs are recommended procedures to adjust a drying process to those setpoints) “wherein the at least one drying process is partitioned into an initial drying stage, a critical drying stage following the initial drying stage, and a final drying stage which follows the critical drying stage…” ([0045] in preferred embodiments, comprised of two or more zones each having an independent set of air temperature and air velocity settings. Further, one or more zones may include the aforementioned technologies, including infrared, ultraviolet, electron beam, or any combination, to enhance the heating and drying of the coating layers at a given stage of the drying profile within the overall drying time in the dryer; [0069] Immediately following the aforementioned applications of wet coating on both sides of the substrate, the coated web is subsequently dried (both sides simultaneously) in, for example, a 3-zone flotation dryer 30… the web exit temperature control in Zone 3 measured with sensor 130 is set at 65° C. as determined in said algorithm to reach the exit target of 2.5% moisture. Said zone air temperatures are measured and regulated to set points of 110, 115 and 120° C. in Zones 1, 2 and 3 respectively by closed-loop control systems included for each zone. Nozzle air jet velocities are preferably measured and regulated to set point by closed-loop control systems included for each zone).
Kiel fails to teach “…wherein the at least one drying process is adjusted by using an evaporation rate of a drying profile during the initial drying stage, applies the evaporation rate of a mild drying profile during the critical drying stage, and returns to the evaporation rate of the rough drying profile during the final drying stage”.
Jaiser teaches “…wherein the at least one drying process is adjusted by using an evaporation rate of a drying profile during the initial drying stage, applies the evaporation rate of a mild drying profile during the critical drying stage, and returns to the evaporation rate of the rough drying profile during the final drying stage” ([page 227] A low drying rate (LDR) was adjusted during this characteristic stage to prevent the binder from depleting at the film domains close to the substrate. In order to reduce the total drying time, a high drying rate (HDR) was adjusted during the initial and the third drying stages. Samples were produced through the developed tripartite process that feature the same level of adhesion as reference samples produced at significantly lower average drying rate. Therefore, a custom tripartite drying process could be experimentally realized, thereby allowing for the maintenance of adhesion while the drying time was successfully reduced by about 40%. Within the framework of the presented experiments, the drying rate was solely altered by a variation in the aerodynamic gas flow conditions. The film temperature during drying as well as the solvent loading in the gas phase are also considered major drying parameters and will definitely introduce further challenges and options for drying profile customization”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the three zones of drying that correspond with three different stages of drying that have different parameter settings for the dryer to achieve during a drying profile execution as taught by Kiel, with the use of drying profiles of Jaiser in which evaporation/drying rates are adjusted so that a first and final drying stage utilize a high drying rate during the first and final drying stages, while the middle/characteristic drying stage utilizes a drying rate is a low drying rate, because it would gain the stated benefit of Jaiser, namely that “[page 227]…the drying time was successfully reduced by about 40%”. This is further supported by the fact that both references are in the same field of use (drying processes for substrate materials) and both recommend adjustment of air flow parameters to achieve a desired drying process through multiple zones/stages. By combining these references, it can be considered taking the known drying methods of Keil which dries a substrate at different settings in three different zones/stages, and improving it by modifying the three zones/stages with the use of a high drying rate in the first and final drying stage/zone, while the middle stage/zone utilizes a low drying rate, in a known way that would achieve predictable results.
In regards to Claim 8, the combination of Keil and Jaiser teaches the method of drying as incorporated by claim 1 above. Keil further teaches “The computer-implemented method according to claim 1 wherein the at least one recommended procedure comprises adjusting the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer to a constant value during the at least one drying stage.” ([0074] Continuing the example, following the calendering step and weight and thickness measurements of the coating, the web is preferably guided into an inline secondary drying operation to reduce the residual moisture from 2.5% to the target value, e.g., less than 200 ppm. The target exit web temperature and drying atmosphere temperature in the secondary dryer is predetermined to be 175° C. in the control unit by algorithms developed for each type of battery coating from structured experiments (such a “designs of experiments” known as DOE's), regression studies, drying engineering models or other suitable techniques alone or in combination as are known to those skilled in the art of drying operations. In the present example the air is heated by an electric coil to a set point temperature of 180° C. and regulated by a closed loop control system regulating the heat output from the electric coil). Jaiser further teaches “…adjusting the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer to a constant value during the at least one drying stage” ([page 227] A low drying rate (LDR) was adjusted during this characteristic stage to prevent the binder from depleting at the film domains close to the substrate. In order to reduce the total drying time, a high drying rate (HDR) was adjusted during the initial and the third drying stages).
In regards to Claim 13, Keil teaches “A system for adjusting at least one drying process designated for producing at least one coating on at least one substrate, the system comprising:- at least one processing unit, wherein the at least one processing unit is configured to perform a computer-implemented method for adjusting at least one drying process designated for producing at least one coating on at least one substrate, wherein the at least one drying process is applied to at least one preparation deposited on the at least one substrate” ([0001] The embodiments disclosed herein relate to a system and method for coating a substrate, such as coating operations, for example those used in manufacturing batteries, where the substrate is coated in a series of discrete patches (intermittent coating) and/or in lanes; [0045] The flotation dryer 30 may be comprised of a single zone having a set air temperature and set air jet velocity from the convection nozzles throughout the entire dryer length or, in preferred embodiments, comprised of two or more zones each having an independent set of air temperature and air velocity settings; [0063] a controller may be provided, the controller having a processing unit and a storage element. The processing unit may be a general purpose computing device such as a microprocessor. Alternatively, it may be a specialized processing device, such as a programmable logic controller (PLC)...The storage element may contain instructions, which when executed by the processing unit, enable the system to perform the functions described herein) “wherein the at least one drying process comprises at least two consecutive drying stages after which the at least one coating is produced” ([0045] The flotation dryer 30 may be comprised of a single zone having a set air temperature and set air jet velocity from the convection nozzles throughout the entire dryer length or, in preferred embodiments, comprised of two or more zones each having an independent set of air temperature and air velocity settings; [0051] In certain embodiments, an inline secondary drying step may be carried out after calendering. As shown in FIG. 5, a secondary dryer 34 may be positioned downstream of the calendering operation to further dry the coatings on the substrate and reduce the residual solvent level to the final targeted value) “wherein the method comprises: (i) receiving information about a layout of the at least two consecutive drying stages, about a composition of the preparation, and about the at least one substrate” ([0045] The flotation dryer 30 may be comprised of a single zone having a set air temperature and set air jet velocity from the convection nozzles throughout the entire dryer length or, in preferred embodiments, comprised of two or more zones each having an independent set of air temperature and air velocity settings. [0051] In certain embodiments, the secondary dryer is configured to contain and convey a continuous web of substrate inside a drying enclosure, where the web is guided in a serpentine or “festoon” like path with the coating having been solidified or cured in a prior drying step. This arrangement provides a web path of substantial cumulative length to be contained within the volume of the secondary dryer while exposing both sides of the coated substrate to a drying atmosphere. Relatively long exposure times, such as drying times in the range of one half minute to 5 minutes may be accomplished in a smaller volume footprint as compared to other web path arrangements such as planar or arched roll support ovens. Exposure time may be calculated by dividing the cumulative path length of the festoon by the transport speed of the substrate to be dried. Total cumulative path lengths from 10 to 50 meters are practical with cumulative path lengths of 100 meters or more achievable with low inertia rollers or driven rollers; wherein the length of the festoon is a layout parameter used to change the second drying process, and the use of single zone vs. many zones is a layout of the first dryer; [0041] A substrate 20, such as a current collector, is shown wrapped around an unwind roller 22. In certain embodiments, the current collector is a metal foil suitable for use as an electrode for a battery, such as a lithium-ion battery. Typically the metal foil is copper for the anode and aluminum for the cathode. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that substrates other than current collectors may be used in the systems and methods disclosed herein, and the metal foil current collector substrate is merely an exemplary embodiment. [0062] In some embodiments, a series of combined dual side coating and calendering operations can be combined to create multilayer, variable density electrodes, or electrodes with varying coating compositions. These multilayer electrodes could be coated in multiple layers at the preferred coating location, or a series of sequential or tandem simultaneous dual side coating machines could be connected in series to carry out to coat, dry and calender multilayer or variable density or electrodes with varying compositions; wherein the configuration of the substrate as single sided or dual sided is information about the substrate used for control [0067] Based on said coat weight measurement and the specific gravity of the solids in the wet slurry as specified in the slurry formulation, a mass-balance determination of the equivalent dry coating mass per unit area and calendered thickness can be made in the controller unit 100 and compared to the coat weight density and thickness specifications previously stated. These specifications or production targets are entered into the controller unit 100 memory through a human-machine interface (HMI) 101. These specifications are set up as recipes for easy retrieval and modification for the various product type production targets stored within; wherein specific gravity and mass weight are of the coating/preparation) “(ii) employing at least one model configured to generate at least one predictive value for at least one setting parameter for at least one associated dryer being used during at least one of the drying stages” ([0069] Said corresponding web temperature and velocity settings are predetermined in the control unit by algorithms developed for each type of battery coating from structured experiments (such a “designs of experiments” known as DOE's), regression studies, drying engineering models or other suitable techniques alone or in combination as are known to those skilled in the art of drying operations. The predetermined settings are typically stored as recipes in memory in HMI 101 and loaded in the controller unit 100 (PLC) memory during make ready procedures for the battery collector product to me produced) “(iii) determining the at least one predictive value for the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer being used during the at least one of the drying stages based on the at least one model and the information” ([0069] The predetermined settings are typically stored as recipes in memory in HMI 101 and loaded in the controller unit 100 (PLC) memory during make ready procedures for the battery collector product to me produced. In the present example the flotation air jet velocities are set by the control unit are in the range of 30 to 35 meters per second in order to deliver heat transfer coefficients in the range of 50 to 100 watts per square meter per Celsius degree, and the web exit temperature control in Zone 3 measured with sensor 130 is set at 65° C. as determined in said algorithm to reach the exit target of 2.5% moisture. Said zone air temperatures are measured and regulated to set points of 110, 115 and 120° C. in Zones 1, 2 and 3 respectively by closed-loop control systems included for each zone. Nozzle air jet velocities are preferably measured and regulated to set point by closed-loop control systems included for each zone) “(iv) providing at least one recommended procedure for adjusting the at least one drying process which comprises the at least one predictive value for the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer being used during the at least one of the drying stages;” ([0069] The web temperature is measured at the exit of the dryer by non-contact IR sensor 130 and in preferred embodiments similarly at the end of each dryer zone, each of said zones having specific air velocity and air temperature settings in order to reach a target web exit temperatures corresponding to the target exit moisture of 2.5%. Said corresponding web temperature and velocity settings are predetermined in the control unit by algorithms developed for each type of battery coating from structured experiments (such a “designs of experiments” known as DOE's), regression studies, drying engineering models or other suitable techniques alone or in combination as are known to those skilled in the art of drying operations. The predetermined settings are typically stored as recipes in memory in HMI 101 and loaded in the controller unit 100 (PLC) memory during make ready procedures for the battery collector product to me produced; wherein the setpoints determined by the models/DOEs are recommended procedures to adjust a drying process to those setpoints) “at least one communication interface configured to receive the information according to step (i); and - at least one further communication interface configured to provide the at least one recommended procedure for adjusting the at least one drying process according to step (iv)” ([0063] The controller unit may be in electrical communication (e.g., wired, wirelessly) with one or more of the operating units in the system, including one or more of the coating heads, the dryer, the calender, the slitter, web conveying equipment, sensors, etc. The controller also may be associated with a human machine interface or HMI that displays or otherwise indicates to an operator one or more of the parameters involved in operating the system and/or carrying out the methods described herein. [0067] These specifications or production targets are entered into the controller unit 100 memory through a human-machine interface (HMI) 101. These specifications are set up as recipes for easy retrieval and modification for the various product type production targets stored within. If the calculated coat weight differs from the target value, a new target wet thickness is calculated automatically in the control unit (or alternatively by manual means) and the volumetric flow rate of wet slurry supplied to the first coating head 24 is increased in the case of the measured value being less than the target, or decreased in the case where the measured thickness value exceeds the target. Accordingly the pump speed is increased or decreased by the control function output to the pump drive in the control unit; wherien the interface for sending display output of recommendation via HMI is one interface, while that for receiving the parameters via HMI is another interface) “wherein the at least one drying process is partitioned into an initial drying stage, a critical drying stage following the initial drying stage, and a final drying stage which follows the critical drying stage…” ([0045] in preferred embodiments, comprised of two or more zones each having an independent set of air temperature and air velocity settings. Further, one or more zones may include the aforementioned technologies, including infrared, ultraviolet, electron beam, or any combination, to enhance the heating and drying of the coating layers at a given stage of the drying profile within the overall drying time in the dryer; [0069] Immediately following the aforementioned applications of wet coating on both sides of the substrate, the coated web is subsequently dried (both sides simultaneously) in, for example, a 3-zone flotation dryer 30… the web exit temperature control in Zone 3 measured with sensor 130 is set at 65° C. as determined in said algorithm to reach the exit target of 2.5% moisture. Said zone air temperatures are measured and regulated to set points of 110, 115 and 120° C. in Zones 1, 2 and 3 respectively by closed-loop control systems included for each zone. Nozzle air jet velocities are preferably measured and regulated to set point by closed-loop control systems included for each zone).
Kiel fails to teach “…wherein the at least one drying process is adjusted by using an evaporation rate of a drying profile during the initial drying stage, applies the evaporation rate of a mild drying profile during the critical drying stage, and returns to the evaporation rate of the rough drying profile during the final drying stage”.
Jaiser teaches “…wherein the at least one drying process is adjusted by using an evaporation rate of a drying profile during the initial drying stage, applies the evaporation rate of a mild drying profile during the critical drying stage, and returns to the evaporation rate of the rough drying profile during the final drying stage” ([page 227] A low drying rate (LDR) was adjusted during this characteristic stage to prevent the binder from depleting at the film domains close to the substrate. In order to reduce the total drying time, a high drying rate (HDR) was adjusted during the initial and the third drying stages. Samples were produced through the developed tripartite process that feature the same level of adhesion as reference samples produced at significantly lower average drying rate. Therefore, a custom tripartite drying process could be experimentally realized, thereby allowing for the maintenance of adhesion while the drying time was successfully reduced by about 40%. Within the framework of the presented experiments, the drying rate was solely altered by a variation in the aerodynamic gas flow conditions. The film temperature during drying as well as the solvent loading in the gas phase are also considered major drying parameters and will definitely introduce further challenges and options for drying profile customization”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the three zones of drying that correspond with three different stages of drying that have different parameter settings for the dryer to achieve during a drying profile execution as taught by Kiel, with the use of drying profiles of Jaiser in which evaporation/drying rates are adjusted so that a first and final drying stage utilize a high drying rate during the first and final drying stages, while the middle/characteristic drying stage utilizes a drying rate is a low drying rate, because it would gain the stated benefit of Jaiser, namely that “[page 227]…the drying time was successfully reduced by about 40%”. This is further supported by the fact that both references are in the same field of use (drying processes for substrate materials) and both recommend adjustment of air flow parameters to achieve a desired drying process through multiple zones/stages. By combining these references, it can be considered taking the known drying methods of Keil which dries a substrate at different settings in three different zones/stages, and improving it by modifying the three zones/stages with the use of a high drying rate in the first and final drying stage/zone, while the middle stage/zone utilizes a low drying rate, in a known way that would achieve predictable results.
Claims 2-5, 9-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keil as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamakawa et al. (WO 2014129214, hereinafter Yamakawa).
In regards to Claim 2, the combination of Keil and Jaiser teaches the method as incorporated by claim 1 above. Keil further teaches “The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one model is generated by using at least one known value for the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer being used during the at least one of the drying stages wherein the at least one known value for the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer is acquired in at least one test drying process comprising at least one test layout of the at least two consecutive drying stages” ([0069] The web temperature is measured at the exit of the dryer by non-contact IR sensor 130 and in preferred embodiments similarly at the end of each dryer zone, each of said zones having specific air velocity and air temperature settings in order to reach a target web exit temperatures corresponding to the target exit moisture of 2.5%. Said corresponding web temperature and velocity settings are predetermined in the control unit by algorithms developed for each type of battery coating from structured experiments (such a “designs of experiments” known as DOE's), regression studies, drying engineering models or other suitable techniques alone or in combination as are known to those skilled in the art of drying operations. The predetermined settings are typically stored as recipes in memory in HMI 101 and loaded in the controller unit 100 (PLC) memory during make ready procedures for the battery collector product to me produced; [0074] following the calendering step and weight and thickness measurements of the coating, the web is preferably guided into an inline secondary drying operation to reduce the residual moisture from 2.5% to the target value, e.g., less than 200 ppm. The target exit web temperature and drying atmosphere temperature in the secondary dryer is predetermined to be 175° C. in the control unit by algorithms developed for each type of battery coating from structured experiments (such a “designs of experiments” known as DOE's), regression studies, drying engineering models or other suitable techniques alone or in combination as are known to those skilled in the art of drying operations. In the present example the air is heated by an electric coil to a set point temperature of 180° C. and regulated by a closed loop control system regulating the heat output from the electric coil...The temperature of the web exiting the secondary dryer is measured at one or more locations across the width of the web by means of a non-contact infrared temperature sensor 134 (or array of infrared temperature sensors or alternatively a line-scanner temperature sensor) sighted at the moving web through ports in the dryer enclosure or mounted internally with suitable cooling of the infrared sensors. Adjustments to the air set point temperature are made based on the deviation of the measured value of the web exit temperature and the target exit web temperature adjusting the air set point temperature as a cascade control function; wherein it is known that the exit moisture should be 2.5%, thus the models/DOEs correspond this with known information about the specific product being formed, and the second drying needs to reach the less than 200ppm set point, thus the model/DOEs correspond with this known information about the specific product being formed and the dryer being used and is controlled to output a known web temperature from the dryer because they are algorithms developed specifically for that product as a recipe from the design experiments of the drying process).
The combination of Keil and Jaiser fails to teach “the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer is acquired in at least one test drying process comprising at least one test layout of the at least two consecutive drying stages”. While Keil mentions a design of experiment and modeled scenarios of the drying process, they are not specific in that the experiment is on the equipment itself that includes the multiple stages/zones of drying.
Yamakawa teaches “the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer is acquired in at least one test drying process comprising at least one test layout of the at least two consecutive drying stages” ([page 3] the drying process is divided into an initial drying stage, a middle drying stage, and a
late drying stage, and the remaining amount of solvent in the coating film is set to an appropriate range for each of them… each target range of the remaining amount of solvent in the initial stage of drying, the middle stage of drying, and the latter stage of drying is determined in advance, and each operating condition is set to fall within each range. This is a method that is limited to setting operating conditions. Therefore, in order to determine the target range of desirable operating conditions, it is necessary to find out the range of desirable operating conditions in advance by testing or the like. Also, if the desired operating condition range does not vary at all, once it is actually found by a test or the like, the operating condition may be set every time based on it).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the design of experiments for a drying process to determine setting parameters for a drying machine to produce the battery electrode of Keil, with the testing experiments of Yamakawa in which a test of the actual layout of the drying process is performed in real-life so that parameters for each of the drying stages/zones is determined for optimized drying conditions, because it can be considered taking the known teachings of Yamakawa of using a testing procedure based on the actual layout of the drying machine, and applying it to the drying machine and process of Keil in a similar way. In fact, such a combination is suggested by Keil, in that they mention the methods of using design of experiments and models for a drying process are well-known and used in the drying industry [0069, 0074], and thus taking these teachings from Yamakawa to apply to Keil is obvious.
In regards to Claim 3, the combination of Keil, Jaiser and Yamakawa teaches the method of claim 2. Keil further discloses “The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one model is based on at least one of a composition of the preparation, at least one parameter related to at least one property of at least one component of the preparation, at least one measured value for at least one material parameter related to the at least one coating after the at least two drying stages, at least one known influence on crack formation in the at least one coating, and at least one value for an energy consumption as a consequence of the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer being used during at least one of the drying stages” ([0067] Based on said coat weight measurement and the specific gravity of the solids in the wet slurry as specified in the slurry formulation, a mass-balance determination of the equivalent dry coating mass per unit area and calendered thickness can be made in the controller unit 100 and compared to the coat weight density and thickness specifications previously stated. These specifications or production targets are entered into the controller unit 100 memory through a human-machine interface (HMI) 101. These specifications are set up as recipes for easy retrieval and modification for the various product type production targets stored within; [0069] Said corresponding web temperature and velocity settings are predetermined in the control unit by algorithms developed for each type of battery coating from structured experiments (such a “designs of experiments” known as DOE's), regression studies, drying engineering models or other suitable techniques alone or in combination as are known to those skilled in the art of drying operations. The predetermined settings are typically stored as recipes in memory in HMI 101 and loaded in the controller unit 100 (PLC) memory during make ready procedures for the battery collector product to me produced; wherein the recipes are different for each product, and a corresponding web temperature is chosen based on the product (property of at least one component of the preparation)).
In regards to Claim 4, the combination of Keil, Jaiser and Yamakawa teaches the method of claim 3 as incorporated above. Keil further teaches “The computer-implemented method according to claim 3, wherein the at least one material parameter related to the at least one coating after the at least two drying stages is selected from at least one parameter related to at least one of an adhesion of the at least one coating on the at least one substrate and a performance of the at least one coating in at least one application” ([0006] Ideal battery performance generally requires that the coating be uniform on the metal foil substrates. Non-uniform coating results in a difference in the lithium-ion concentration which can create hot spots in the battery that may lead to decreased battery life and/or performance; [0069] Drying air temperature and flow velocities supplied to the flotation nozzles in the flotation dryer 30 are selected to sufficiently dry both the top (first) and second (bottom) coatings uniformly to a target residual moisture level of 2.5% known to maintain plasticity which is helpful in subsequent calendering operations; wherein the coatings must be uniform to prevent hot spots, and thus the selected temperature is to maintain uniformity which affects an application of the coating in a battery (i.e. prevents hot spots)).
In regards to Claim 5, the combination of Keil, Jaiser and Yamakawa teaches the method as incorporated by claim 3 above. Yamakawa further teaches “The computer-implemented method according to claim 3, wherein the at least one model is generated by applying an optimizing procedure in which it is intended to increase at least one value of the at least one parameter related to at least one of an adhesion of the at least one coating on the at least one substrate and of the performance of the at least one coating in at least one application and to decrease at least one value for the at least one known influence on crack formation in the at least one coating and the at least one value for an energy consumption” ([page 4] By this method, the drying progress state of the coating film can be grasped substantially in real time including the state inside the coating film. In addition, the solvent concentration gradient calculated from the solvent concentration distribution, the binder concentration gradient calculated from the binder concentration distribution, or both of them, and the peel strength from the substrate of the coated film after drying, etc. If the relationship is obtained in advance by a simple off-line test or the like, the peel strength from the substrate of the coated film after drying can be grasped substantially in real time...If it is determined in advance by a simple offline test, etc., the peel strength from the substrate of the coated film after drying can be grasped substantially in real time, and the range of desirable operating conditions must be determined in advance. Absent. In addition, since many parameters included in the operating condition data can be automatically optimized using the optimization method, the drying time can be greatly shortened, and the productivity can be greatly improved. The optimum operating condition obtained by the coating / drying simulation apparatus and the operating condition data acquired from the operating condition data acquiring means 20 are sent to the operating condition control means 25, and the operation is performed with reference to the difference between the optimum operating condition and the operating condition data; wherein a reduction of a drying time is a decrease in energy consumption, and an optimization in peel strength relates to an adhesion).
In regards to Claim 9, the combination of Keil and Jaiser teaches the method as incorporated by claim 1 above.
The combination of Keil and Jaiser fails to teach “The computer-implemented method according to claim 1 wherein the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer comprises at least one of an individual temperature profile and an individual heat transfer profile during the at least one drying stage.”.
Yamakawa teaches “The computer-implemented method according to claim 1 wherein the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer comprises at least one of an individual temperature profile and an individual heat transfer profile during the at least one drying stage” ([page 5] The optimum operating condition obtained by the coating / drying simulation apparatus and the operating condition data acquired from the operating condition data acquiring means 20 are sent to the operating condition control means 25, and the operation is performed with reference to the difference between the optimum operating condition and the operating condition data. By controlling the conditions individually, it is possible to always maintain the optimal drying progress state over the entire area of the drying apparatus. [page 6] , the temperature distribution after a predetermined calculation step Δt seconds (time t1) is calculated by unsteady heat conduction analysis (ST009). Then, using this temperature distribution, the solvent concentration distribution, binder concentration distribution, coating film thickness, and residual solvent ratio at the same time t1 are calculated by unsteady diffusion analysis (ST010). Analysis results such as the calculated temperature distribution, solvent concentration distribution, and binder concentration distribution are stored in a storage unit such as a main storage device of the computer as an analysis result at time t1 (ST006). Subsequently, the analysis result at time t1 is used as an initial condition (ST008), and the temperature distribution after Δt seconds (time t2 = t1 + Δt) is calculated by unsteady heat conduction analysis (ST009); wherein a simulated temperature distribution is considered equivalent to a temperature profile…Under the constraint that the binder concentration gradient calculated from the agent concentration distribution or both of them are equal to or less than a predetermined value, an optimum operating condition that minimizes the drying time of the coating film is calculated.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the system which models a drying process for determining optimal parameter settings for a drying machine, with the use of a modeled temperature profile/distribution that models how the drying process and temperatures affects a concentration of solvents and binders to produce optimized operating parameters as taught by Yamakawa because it would gain the stated benefit of Yamakawa, namely an optimized peel strength and minimized drying time. By combining these elements, it can be considered taking the known use of simulations of drying that utilize a temperature profile/distribution within a product to determine setting parameters that optimize peel strength and drying time, and applying them to the drying device and modeling process of Keil in a known way that achieves predictable results.
In regards to Claim 10, the combination of Keil, Jaiser and Yamakawa teaches the method as incorporated by claim 9 above. Yamakawa further teaches “The computer-implemented method according to claim 9 wherein the at least one recommended procedure comprises adjusting at least one of the individual temperature profile by setting at least one temperature control unit and the individual heat transfer profile by setting at least one blowing unit” (page 5] The optimum operating condition obtained by the coating / drying simulation apparatus and the operating condition data acquired from the operating condition data acquiring means 20 are sent to the operating condition control means 25, and the operation is performed with reference to the difference between the optimum operating condition and the operating condition data. By controlling the conditions individually, it is possible to always maintain the optimal drying progress state over the entire area of the drying apparatus... Operation such as the conveyance speed of the base sheet, the set air volume of the air blowing nozzle, the set temperature, etc. under the constraint condition that the binder concentration gradient calculated from the binder concentration distribution or both of them are not more than a predetermined value The operation condition optimizing means 69 solves an optimization problem for minimizing the drying time using the conditions as design variables. [page 6] , the temperature distribution after a predetermined calculation step Δt seconds (time t1) is calculated by unsteady heat conduction analysis (ST009). Then, using this temperature distribution, the solvent concentration distribution, binder concentration distribution, coating film thickness, and residual solvent ratio at the same time t1 are calculated by unsteady diffusion analysis (ST010). Analysis results such as the calculated temperature distribution, solvent concentration distribution, and binder concentration distribution are stored in a storage unit such as a main storage device of the computer as an analysis result at time t1 (ST006). Subsequently, the analysis result at time t1 is used as an initial condition (ST008), and the temperature distribution after Δt seconds (time t2 = t1 + Δt) is calculated by unsteady heat conduction analysis (ST009)).
In regards to Claim 11, the combination of Keil, Jaiser and Yamakawa teaches the method as incorporated by claim 1 above. While Keil teaches that the information about layout, substrate and preparation are known and utilized (and thus had been received) Keil fails to teach an arrangement of two computers, one for performing the optimization and another for executing it (control). Yamakawa further teaches “The computer implemented method according to claim 1 further comprising providing the information about a layout of the at least two consecutive drying stages, about a composition of the preparation, and about the at least one substrate and receiving the at least one recommended procedure for adjusting the at least one drying process which comprises the at least one predictive value for the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer suitable for being used during the at least one of the drying stages” ([page 5] The optimum operating condition obtained by the coating / drying simulation apparatus and the operating condition data acquired from the operating condition data acquiring means 20 are sent to the operating condition control means 25, and the operation is performed with reference to the difference between the optimum operating condition and the operating condition data. By controlling the conditions individually, it is possible to always maintain the optimal drying progress state over the entire area of the drying apparatus. As a result, a product of desirable quality can be stably produced with high productivity without causing product loss. [page 5] A computer 55 such as a computer or a workstation includes a structure information data input means 61 for inputting structure information data of a drying device such as the width and interval of the air blowing nozzle, the height from the base sheet, and the density and specific heat of the active material. Material physical property data input means 62 for inputting material physical property data of a coating film such as thermal conductivity, substrate sheet thickness, density, thermal conductivity, specific heat, solvent molecular weight, heat of evaporation, specific gravity, etc., and substrate sheet Operating condition data acquisition means 63 for acquiring operating condition data from the coating and drying device such as the conveying speed, air blowing nozzle set air volume, and setting temperature, and sensor output data such as the temperature and gas concentration of each part in the drying device Sensor output data acquisition means 64, structure information data, material property data, operating condition data, sensor output data, unsteady heat conduction equation, unsteady diffusion method Drying simulation means 65 for calculating the temperature distribution of the coating film, the residual solvent ratio in the coating film, the solvent concentration distribution, and the binder concentration distribution according to the equation, the structure information data 72, the material property data 73, the operation in the auxiliary storage device 54; [page 6] Operation such as the conveyance speed of the base sheet, the set air volume of the air blowing nozzle, the set temperature, etc. under the constraint condition that the binder concentration gradient calculated from the binder concentration distribution or both of them are not more than a predetermined value The operation condition optimizing means 69 solves an optimization problem for minimizing the drying time using the conditions as design variables; wherein the simulation for determining optimal parameters is performed in the simulation computer which receives/is provided data from data acquisition means, while control means execute the recommended parameters).
In regards to Claim 16, Keil teaches “A system for continuously producing at least one coating on at least one substrate, the system comprising:- a coating device, wherein the coating device comprises at last one conveyor drive configured to move at least one tape with a tape speed;” ([0042] the substrate 20 is generally flat, and includes first and second elongated sides, with the first side being opposite the second side. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 5, the first side 20A is coated with a first coating head 24, and the second side 20B is coated with a second coating head 26. The coating operations may be carried out simultaneously or nearly simultaneously. A backing roll 25 may be used to support the substrate 20 during the coating application with the first coating head 24. [0047] in certain embodiments, the initial drying and calendering are carried out without any intermediate off-line operations or apparatus. In some embodiments all of the apparatus and process steps to dual side coat the substrate 20 are carried out between the unwind and rewind rolls (or slitting/cell processing) without any off-line requirements. [0050] Suitable conveying speeds of the substrate are not particularly limited, and can be from about 0.1 meters/minute to about 50 meters/minute, and may be as high as about 200 meters/minute) “at least one application area configured to provide at least one preparation to be deposited onto at least one side of the tape” ([0042] the substrate 20 is generally flat, and includes first and second elongated sides, with the first side being opposite the second side. In the embodiment shown in FIG. 5, the first side 20A is coated with a first coating head 24, and the second side 20B is coated with a second coating head 26. The coating operations may be carried out simultaneously or nearly simultaneously. A backing roll 25 may be used to support the substrate 20 during the coating application with the first coating head 24) “and at least two consecutive drying zones configured to dry the at least one preparation, wherein each drying zone comprises at least one associated dryer” ([0045] The flotation dryer 30 may be comprised of a single zone having a set air temperature and set air jet velocity from the convection nozzles throughout the entire dryer length or, in preferred embodiments, comprised of two or more zones each having an independent set of air temperature and air velocity settings. Further, one or more zones may include the aforementioned technologies, including infrared, ultraviolet, electron beam, or any combination, to enhance the heating and drying of the coating layers at a given stage of the drying profile within the overall drying time in the dryer) “at least one programmable apparatus, wherein the at least one programmable apparatus is configured to: (i) receive information about a layout of the at least two consecutive drying zones, about a composition of the preparation, about the at least one substrate, and about the tape speed” ([0063] The controller unit may be in electrical communication (e.g., wired, wirelessly) with one or more of the operating units in the system, including one or more of the coating heads, the dryer, the calender, the slitter, web conveying equipment, sensors, etc. The controller also may be associated with a human machine interface or HMI that displays or otherwise indicates to an operator one or more of the parameters involved in operating the system and/or carrying out the methods described herein; [0045] The flotation dryer 30 may be comprised of a single zone having a set air temperature and set air jet velocity from the convection nozzles throughout the entire dryer length or, in preferred embodiments, comprised of two or more zones each having an independent set of air temperature and air velocity settings. [0051] In certain embodiments, the secondary dryer is configured to contain and convey a continuous web of substrate inside a drying enclosure, where the web is guided in a serpentine or “festoon” like path with the coating having been solidified or cured in a prior drying step. This arrangement provides a web path of substantial cumulative length to be contained within the volume of the secondary dryer while exposing both sides of the coated substrate to a drying atmosphere. Relatively long exposure times, such as drying times in the range of one half minute to 5 minutes may be accomplished in a smaller volume footprint as compared to other web path arrangements such as planar or arched roll support ovens. Exposure time may be calculated by dividing the cumulative path length of the festoon by the transport speed of the substrate to be dried. Total cumulative path lengths from 10 to 50 meters are practical with cumulative path lengths of 100 meters or more achievable with low inertia rollers or driven rollers; wherein the length of the festoon is a layout parameter used to change the second drying process along with the transport/conveyance speed, and the use of single zone vs. many zones is a layout of the first dryer; [0041] A substrate 20, such as a current collector, is shown wrapped around an unwind roller 22. In certain embodiments, the current collector is a metal foil suitable for use as an electrode for a battery, such as a lithium-ion battery. Typically the metal foil is copper for the anode and aluminum for the cathode. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that substrates other than current collectors may be used in the systems and methods disclosed herein, and the metal foil current collector substrate is merely an exemplary embodiment. [0062] In some embodiments, a series of combined dual side coating and calendering operations can be combined to create multilayer, variable density electrodes, or electrodes with varying coating compositions. These multilayer electrodes could be coated in multiple layers at the preferred coating location, or a series of sequential or tandem simultaneous dual side coating machines could be connected in series to carry out to coat, dry and calender multilayer or variable density or electrodes with varying compositions; wherein the configuration of the substrate as single sided or dual sided is information about the substrate used for control, or whether it is copper or aluminum [0067] Based on said coat weight measurement and the specific gravity of the solids in the wet slurry as specified in the slurry formulation, a mass-balance determination of the equivalent dry coating mass per unit area and calendered thickness can be made in the controller unit 100 and compared to the coat weight density and thickness specifications previously stated. These specifications or production targets are entered into the controller unit 100 memory through a human-machine interface (HMI) 101. These specifications are set up as recipes for easy retrieval and modification for the various product type production targets stored within; wherein specific gravity and mass weight are of the coating/preparation) “(ii) employ at least one model configured to generate at least one predictive value for at least one of the tape speed and at least one setting parameter for at least one associated dryer being used within at least one of the drying zones” ([0069] Said corresponding web temperature and velocity settings are predetermined in the control unit by algorithms developed for each type of battery coating from structured experiments (such a “designs of experiments” known as DOE's), regression studies, drying engineering models or other suitable techniques alone or in combination as are known to those skilled in the art of drying operations. The predetermined settings are typically stored as recipes in memory in HMI 101 and loaded in the controller unit 100 (PLC) memory during make ready procedures for the battery collector product to me produced) “(iii) determine the at least one predictive value for at least one of the tape speed and the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer within the at least one of the drying zones based on the at least one model and the information;” ([0069] The predetermined settings are typically stored as recipes in memory in HMI 101 and loaded in the controller unit 100 (PLC) memory during make ready procedures for the battery collector product to me produced. In the present example the flotation air jet velocities are set by the control unit are in the range of 30 to 35 meters per second in order to deliver heat transfer coefficients in the range of 50 to 100 watts per square meter per Celsius degree, and the web exit temperature control in Zone 3 measured with sensor 130 is set at 65° C. as determined in said algorithm to reach the exit target of 2.5% moisture. Said zone air temperatures are measured and regulated to set points of 110, 115 and 120° C. in Zones 1, 2 and 3 respectively by closed-loop control systems included for each zone. Nozzle air jet velocities are preferably measured and regulated to set point by closed-loop control systems included for each zone) “and (iv) provide at least one recommended procedure for adjusting the at least one drying process which comprises the at least one predictive value for at least one of the tape speed and the at least one setting parameter for the at least one associated dryer within the at least one of the drying zones” ([0063] The controller unit may be in electrical communication (e.g., wired, wirelessly) with one or more of the operating units in the system, including one or more of the coating heads, the dryer, the calender, the slitter, web conveying equipment, sensors, etc. The controller also may be associated with a human machine interface or HMI that displays or otherwise indicates to an operator one or more of the parameters involved in operating the system and/or carrying out the methods described herein. [0069] The web temperature is measured at the exit of the dryer by non-contact IR sensor 130 and in preferred embodiments similarly at the end of each dryer zone, each of said zones having specific air velocity and air temperature settings in order to reach a target web exit temperatures corresponding to the target exit moisture of 2.5%. Said corresponding web temperature and velocity settings are predetermined in the control unit by algorithms developed for each type of battery coating from structured experiments (such a “designs of experiments” known as DOE's), regression studies, drying engineering models or other suitable techniques alone or in combination as are known to those skilled in the art of drying operations. The predetermined settings are typically stored as recipes in memory in HMI 101 and loaded in the controller unit 100 (PLC) memory during make ready procedures for the battery collector product to me produced; wherein the setpoints determined by the models/DOEs are recommended procedures to adjust a drying process to those setpoints) “and - at least one control unit configured to interact with the at least one programmable apparatus and to control the coating device by adjusting the at least one drying process by implementing at least one recommended procedure” ([0069] The predetermined settings are typically stored as recipes in memory in HMI 101 and loaded in the controller unit 100 (PLC) memory during make ready procedures for the battery collector product to me produced. In the present example the flotation air jet velocities are set by the control unit are in the range of 30 to 35 meters per second in order to deliver heat transfer coefficients in the range of 50 to 100 watts per square meter per Celsius degree, and the web exit temperature control in Zone 3 measured with sensor 130 is set at 65° C. as determined in said algorithm to reach the exit target of 2.5% moisture. Said zone air temperatures are measured and regulated to set points of 110, 115 and 120° C. in Zones 1, 2 and 3 respectively by closed-loop control systems included for each zone. Nozzle air jet velocities are preferably measured and regulated to set point by closed-loop control systems included for each zone) “wherein the at least one drying process is partitioned into an initial drying stage, a critical drying stage following the initial drying stage, and a final drying stage which follows the critical drying stage…” ([0045] in preferred embodiments, comprised of two or more zones each having an independent set of air temperature and air velocity settings. Further, one or more zones may include the aforementioned technologies, including infrared, ultraviolet, electron beam, or any combination, to enhance the heating and drying of the coating layers at a given stage of the drying profile within the overall drying time in the dryer; [0069] Immediately following the aforementioned applications of wet coating on both sides of the substrate, the coated web is subsequently dried (both sides simultaneously) in, for example, a 3-zone flotation dryer 30… the web exit temperature control in Zone 3 measured with sensor 130 is set at 65° C. as determined in said algorithm to reach the exit target of 2.5% moisture. Said zone air temperatures are measured and regulated to set points of 110, 115 and 120° C. in Zones 1, 2 and 3 respectively by closed-loop control systems included for each zone. Nozzle air jet velocities are preferably measured and regulated to set point by closed-loop control systems included for each zone).
Kiel fails to teach “…wherein the at least one drying process is adjusted by using an evaporation rate of a drying profile during the initial drying stage, applies the evaporation rate of a mild drying profile during the critical drying stage, and returns to the evaporation rate of the rough drying profile during the final drying stage”.
Jaiser teaches “…wherein the at least one drying process is adjusted by using an evaporation rate of a drying profile during the initial drying stage, applies the evaporation rate of a mild drying profile during the critical drying stage, and returns to the evaporation rate of the rough drying profile during the final drying stage” ([page 227] A low drying rate (LDR) was adjusted during this characteristic stage to prevent the binder from depleting at the film domains close to the substrate. In order to reduce the total drying time, a high drying rate (HDR) was adjusted during the initial and the third drying stages. Samples were produced through the developed tripartite process that feature the same level of adhesion as reference samples produced at significantly lower average drying rate. Therefore, a custom tripartite drying process could be experimentally realized, thereby allowing for the maintenance of adhesion while the drying time was successfully reduced by about 40%. Within the framework of the presented experiments, the drying rate was solely altered by a variation in the aerodynamic gas flow conditions. The film temperature during drying as well as the solvent loading in the gas phase are also considered major drying parameters and will definitely introduce further challenges and options for drying profile customization”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the three zones of drying that correspond with three different stages of drying that have different parameter settings for the dryer to achieve during a drying profile execution as taught by Kiel, with the use of drying profiles of Jaiser in which evaporation/drying rates are adjusted so that a first and final drying stage utilize a high drying rate during the first and final drying stages, while the middle/characteristic drying stage utilizes a drying rate is a low drying rate, because it would gain the stated benefit of Jaiser, namely that “[page 227]…the drying time was successfully reduced by about 40%”. This is further supported by the fact that both references are in the same field of use (drying processes for substrate materials) and both recommend adjustment of air flow parameters to achieve a desired drying process through multiple zones/stages. By combining these references, it can be considered taking the known drying methods of Keil which dries a substrate at different settings in three different zones/stages, and improving it by modifying the three zones/stages with the use of a high drying rate in the first and final drying stage/zone, while the middle stage/zone utilizes a low drying rate, in a known way that would achieve predictable results.
Keil teaches that there is a controller and HMI as separate computing devices that are programmable, however some of the functionality of the modeling for predicting settings parameters is only taught as being performed on the controller, and thus not each and every element of claim 13 is explicitly taught by Keil, although Keil suggests these functions are fluid among the hardware.
Yamakawa teaches “at least one programmable apparatus…and - at least one control unit configured to interact with the at least one programmable apparatus and to control the coating device by adjusting the at least one drying process by implementing at least one recommended procedure” ([page 4] The data acquired by the operating condition data acquisition means 20 and the sensor 21 that detects the state in the drying apparatus are sent to the coating drying simulation apparatus 50. In the coating / drying simulation apparatus 50, each time of the coating film is obtained by numerical simulation from the obtained operating condition data and sensor output data, the material property data of the coating film and the structure information data of the drying apparatus previously input by the operator…The optimum operating condition obtained by the coating / drying simulation apparatus and the operating condition data acquired from the operating condition data acquiring means 20 are sent to the operating condition control means 25, and the operation is performed with reference to the difference between the optimum operating condition and the operating condition data. By controlling the conditions individually, it is possible to always maintain the optimal drying progress state over the entire area of the drying apparatus. As a result, a product of desirable quality can be stably produced with high productivity without causing product loss).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the computers of Keil in which operations performed by a controller and an HMI computer overlap, with the use of the setup of Yamakawa in which there is a separate modeling/simulation computer for making predictions about settings that determine optimized operating parameters and send those parameters to a controller for implementing the optimized operating parameters because it can be considered a mere design choice of where the computation happens for the modeling and control steps of the invention, and offers nothing of novelty beyond what would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill that knows that once one method for programming a computer is known, that same process can be applied to another computer. In other words, it would be obvious to use the hardware setup of Yamakawa to implement the steps of Keil in different computers, because it would the obvious benefit of not risking overloading a single computer with both tasks.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keil as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of English translation of Suzuki et al. (JP 2013187135, hereinafter Suzuki).
In regards to Claim 12, the combination of Keil and Jaiser teaches the method as incorporated by claim 1 above.
Keil further teaches “The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the producing of the at least one coating on the at least one substrate is performed in a continuous manner by continuously depositing the at least one preparation onto the at least one substrate, wherein at least one tape is or comprises the at least one substrate, or wherein the at least one tape carries the at least one substrate, wherein the at least one tape is moved during the at least two consecutive drying stages with a tape speed” ([0010] Problems of the prior art have been overcome by embodiments disclosed herein, which relate to a dual sided coating system and method for coating substrates, such as substrates useful as battery electrodes. In certain embodiments, the system includes an inline calender station positioned between the dryer and the rewind of the substrate; i.e., positioned downstream, in the direction of substrate (or web) travel, of the dryer, and upstream of the rewind. In the embodiments disclosed herein the term “inline” refers to carrying out a first process operation on a continuous web of substrate without winding and subsequent unwinding of said web prior to entering a second process operation; wherein the manufacture of a continuous web implies a continuous process; [0041] A substrate 20, such as a current collector, is shown wrapped around an unwind roller 22. In certain embodiments, the current collector is a metal foil suitable for use as an electrode for a battery, such as a lithium-ion battery. Typically the metal foil is copper for the anode and aluminum for the cathode; [0043] Suitable coatings applied to the first and second sides of the substrate 20 are not particularly limited. In embodiments where electrodes are being manufactured, the coatings are typically slurries that may include active material such as graphite (for the anode) and lithium (e.g., lithium oxide, for the cathode), and a binder; [0050] Suitable conveying speeds of the substrate are not particularly limited, and can be from about 0.1 meters/minute to about 50 meters/minute, and may be as high as about 200 meters/minute).
The combination of Keil and Jaiser fails to teach “wherein the at least one model is further configured to generate a predictive value for the tape speed, wherein the predictive value for the tape speed is further determined, and wherein the at least one recommended procedure for adjusting the at least one drying process further comprises outputting the predictive value for the tape speed”.
Suzuki teaches “wherein the at least one model is further configured to generate a predictive value for the tape speed, wherein the predictive value for the tape speed is further determined, and wherein the at least one recommended procedure for adjusting the at least one drying process further comprises outputting the predictive value for the tape speed” ([page 4] Next, the control method of the conveyance speed in the manufacturing apparatus 100 of the battery electrode 60 according to the present invention will be described. There are two embodiments of the method for controlling the conveyance speed. In the first embodiment, after the coating start portion S1 of the current collector C reaches the drying furnace 2, the current transport speed T of the current collector C is changed from the initial transport speed T1 in the initial drying stage to the steady transport in the dry stable stage. This is a control method for increasing the speed to T3. The initial transport speed V1 is a control method in which the viscosity of the electrode paste W is estimated and determined based on the viscosity. In the second embodiment, an intermediate conveyance speed T2 is set between the initial conveyance speed T1 and the steady conveyance speed T3, and based on the furnace temperature change amount ΔD when the coating start part S1 reaches the drying furnace 2. The intermediate transport speed T2 is determined....Next, as shown in FIG. 4, a proportional expression (V = KT) between the viscosity V of the electrode paste W and the conveying speed T is created based on the experimental data, and the electrode paste W obtained in FIG. The initial conveying speed T1 is obtained by applying the viscosity V1 of the above. The proportional formula (V = KT) between the viscosity V of the electrode paste W and the conveying speed T was estimated from the viscosity V of the electrode paste W from the vaporization medium amount (solvent and moisture) per unit volume in the coating part S).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of modeling a drying process to determine recommended parameter settings of the dryer as taught by Keil, with the use of a model which associates conveying speed with the viscosity of the paste to determine an optimized intermediate conveying speed as taught by Suzuki, because both Keil and Suzuki are in related fields of drying processes for producing battery electrodes, and thus the same benefits afforded by the process of Suzuki would be incorporated into Keil. It can be considered that because they are in the same field of invention, the motivation to combine would be obvious in and of itself.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN MICHAEL SKRZYCKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KAMINI S SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116