DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 6/11/2026, claims 9- 10, 17 and 20 are cancelled, claims 1 and 16 are amended. Claims 1- 8, 16, 18- 19 are pending for examination.
Examiner Note
Regards to claim 18, please change its dependent claim 17 to claim 16 since claim 17 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 6/11/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has changed limitations hence examiner believes that the scope has been changed, hence examiner has considered a new reference Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0330780 A1). Kim teaches in [0006] regarding a method for dividing one discovery resource pool into a plurality of time slots, determining a discovery resource region adaptively for a UE for each time slot on the basis of an estimated energy level over an energy detection interval set for the time slot (i.e. third sensing resource region is one of them), and transmitting a discovery message by using discovery resources selected within the determined discovery resource region; further see claims 1- 9 .. wherein the UE senses the determined discovery resource region and arbitrarily selects the discovery resource from among the resources of which the energy level falls within a predetermine range; see claim 3; further refer to claim 9 wherein, in case the UE starts sensing one of the discovery resource regions from among the discovery resource regions configured for each of the plurality of time slots, the discovery resource is selected within the discovery resource region next to the discovery resource region (i.e. third sensing resource region i.e. changing operation) over which the UE has started sensing (i.e. initially sensed region (i.e. here first sensing region) and next region where the selected resource lies); further see [0016] in above context about the discovery resource can be selected by sensing only part of the discovery resource regions from among the discovery resource regions configured for each of the plurality of time slots (i.e. hence sensing stops once a resource in the next region is chosen rather than continuing to the end of the first region and all regions); further see [0013].. , size of the discovery resource region can be determined on the basis of the estimated energy level.. (i.e. region size is a function of energy level (i.e. congestion) , means higher energy tends to higher congestion (i.e. small region size); see [0018- 0020] i.e. adaptively reducing power use means smaller size of sensing resource region i.e. first region may be configured with a larger size under lower energy/congestion and third region size may be configured with smaller size under higher energy).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5- 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0060929 A1) in view of in view of Darius et al. (WO 2021/064135 A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0330780 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hassan teaches an operation method of a transmitting terminal in a communication system (see [0079- 0081]; UE as a transmitting terminal), the operation method comprising:
identifying a congestion level in one or more measurement regions (see [0079- 0081].. In case of pre-configurations (or configurations conveyed by the network), one or more resource pools may be used for congestion control/resolution using a CBR (Channel Busy Ratio) value adapted to the congestion situation by modifying the associated CR (Channel occupancy Ratio) values with regards the QoS profiles. Hence, one or more resource pools can be used for congestion resolution when a measured CBR exceeds a CBR threshold…..An adaptive sensing window and/or a selection/re-selection window is designed as a parameter for QoS and/or resource pool congestion parameters (i.e. measurement regions). Hence, for every QoS class-based on e.g. 5QI parameters such as priority, there is an associated sensing window (CBR measurement window) with a specific associated CBR value for the window. For example, for transmissions with given CBR values, a high QoS can perform a faster (short) sensing using e.g. a Listen Before Talk (LBT) approach. The CBR measurement window may be configured by the network based on at least the QoS profile; further see [0094] the resource pool selection is classified based on the congestion levels to allow the congestion control mechanism. An example of a congestion level is the CBR and CR measurement of a resource pool);
selecting a first sensing resource region from among a plurality of resource pools, when the congestion level is greater than or equal to a first reference value (see [0143- 0148].. the sensing for CBR measurements based on QoS may be split into a long sensing window and a short sensing window (LBT resource selection). The sensing window and the sensing interval selection may be a function of the QoS profile/flow/field metrics previously presented… if the UE receives a high QoS data packet in its buffer while the UE is performing CBR/CR measurements during the long sensing window for a low QoS data packet (i.e. refer to in context with [0102] 2. Select higher CBR: In this embodiment, if the data packet has a QoS profile for low/ultra-low latency services or the data has 5QI for low latency, any or all of the resource pools with a CBR/CR value above a certain threshold are e.g. selected. As an example, a CBR/CR value larger than or equal to 65% (or larger than or equal to 70 or larger than or equal to 80), is selected, where the CR can take a high transmission probability. The latency requirements may be less than 5 ms or less than 1 ms or 2 ms respectively).. the UE may trigger a shorter sensing and adjust a back-off timer based on the start of the short sensing window. The sensing type (long or short) may be a function of the QoS profile/flow/field identified));
performing a sensing operation within the first sensing resource region (already discussed above see [0143- 0148]); and
performing sidelink communication with a receiving terminal based on a result of the sensing operation (see [0092]..sidelink communication).
But Hassan is silent about wherein a size of the first sensing resource region is larger than a size of a second sensing resource region which is selected from among the plurality of resource pools when the congestion level is less than the first reference value; further silent about based on an available resource detected by the sensing operation being located before an end time of a third sensing resource region among the plurality of resource pools, changing the first sensing resource region to the third sensing resource region, wherein a size of the third sensing resource region is smaller than the size of the first sensing resource region and also silent about wherein the changing the first sensing resource region to the third sensing resource region is performed when a preconfigured condition is satisfied, and the preconfigured condition is at least one of a case when data transmission associated with a high priority is required, a case when aperiodic data transmission is required, a case when data retransmission is required, or combinations thereof and also silent about limitations, “terminating the sensing operation at the end time of the third sensing resource region without performing the sensing operation up to an end time of the first sensing region”.
However Darius teaches wherein a size of the first sensing resource region is larger than a size of a second sensing resource region which is selected from among the plurality of resource pools when the congestion level is less than the first reference value; see page 17 lines 36- 35 regarding ….inventive concept relies on the idea, that the radio resources to be reserved for a transmission may be identified reliably, precisely and/or computationally efficiently, by adjusting sizes of the one or more sensing windows during which resources used for the prediction of occupied resources are detected. For example, the sensing windows may be adjusted according to a zone information which may represent operational conditions of data traffic and/or off the user device. For example, a periodicity of transmissions, a delay between transmissions, or a traffic load may depend on the operational condition (i.e. here congestion level is less than the first reference value). Thus, adjusting the size of the sensing window to the operational condition may increase the reliability for selecting the reserved resources. As another example, the size of the sensing window may be adapted according to a quality of service information. This allows, for example, to spend more computational resources for transmissions of higher relevance, providing for both an efficient processing and a high reliability of important data transmissions; now refer to page 20 lines 1- 11 regarding .. the user device is to map a zone information (which is, for example, communicated to the user device using a higher-level signaling) onto sizes (e.g. temporal lengths, or sizes in time- and frequency direction) of one or more sensing windows (e.g. onto a size of a long-term sensing window and onto a size of a short term sensing window)(wherein there are, for example, at least two different combinations, or at least three different combinations of sizes of the long-term sensing window and of the short-term sensing window) …; now refer to page 19 lines 1 -10 about .. for example, the size of the one or more long term sensing windows is longer than the size of the one or more short term sensing windows (i.e. here second and third sensing resource region sizes are smaller than first sensing resource region (i.e. long term sensing window))…
Further Darius teaches regarding based on an available resource detected by the sensing operation being located before an end time of a third sensing resource region among the plurality of resource pools, changing the first sensing resource region to the third sensing resource region, wherein a size of the third sensing resource region is smaller than the size of the first sensing resource region and Further Darius teaches regarding wherein the changing the first sensing resource region to the third sensing resource region is performed when a preconfigured condition is satisfied, and the preconfigured condition is at least one of a case when data transmission associated with a high priority is required, a case when aperiodic data transmission is required, a case when data retransmission is required, or combinations thereof.
Darius as discussed above states regarding third sensing resource region size is smaller than long-term sensing window; now refer to page 20 lines 12- 19 about the user device is to adjust sizes of one or more sensing windows in dependence on a resource type of data to be transmitted, and/or in dependence on a priority of data to be transmitted, and/or in dependence on a packed delay budget of data to be transmitted, and/or in dependence on a permissible packet error rate of data to be transmitted, and/or in dependence on characteristics of an averaging windowing, and/or in dependence on a maximum data burst volume of data to be transmitted.; now refer to page 58 lines 10- 15 about ,..a short-term sensing window may be particularly beneficial for sensing resources occupied by a specific traffic type, for example aperiodic traffic; further see page 19 lines 11- 24 about … the user device is to adjust a size of a sensing window which is used for a determination (e.g. a determination which is based on an analysis of SCI) of radio resources used by one or more further user devices for a transmission of data of an aperiodic traffic type (e.g. a size of a short term sensing window) in dependence on the zone information and/or in dependence on the quality of service information, and/or wherein the user device is to adjust a size of a sensing window which is used for a determination (e.g. a determination which is based on a pattern recognition) of radio resources used by one or more further user devices for a transmission of data of a periodic traffic type in dependence on the zone information and/or in dependence on the quality of service information. Adjusting the size of a sensing window which is used for a specific traffic type, such as aperiodic traffic or periodic traffic, allows for an adjustment of the sensing window under consideration of the respective type of traffic, so that a high accuracy in predicting resources for the respective traffic type may be achieved; further see page 18 lines 25- 35; further see page 20 lines 12- 25.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Darius with the teachings of Hassan to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein a size of the first sensing resource region is larger than a size of a second sensing resource region which is selected from among the plurality of resource pools when the congestion level is less than the first reference value; and based on an available resource detected by the sensing operation being located before an end time of a third sensing resource region among the plurality of resource pools, changing the first sensing resource region to the third sensing resource region, wherein a size of the third sensing resource region is smaller than the size of the first sensing resource region and wherein the changing the first sensing resource region to the third sensing resource region is performed when a preconfigured condition is satisfied, and the preconfigured condition is at least one of a case when data transmission associated with a high priority is required, a case when aperiodic data transmission is required, a case when data retransmission is required, or combinations thereof; greater way resources can be utilized/managed in the communication system.
But Hassan is silent about limitations, “terminating the sensing operation at the end time of the third sensing resource region without performing the sensing operation up to an end time of the first sensing region”; however Kim teaches in [0006] regarding a method for dividing one discovery resource pool into a plurality of time slots, determining a discovery resource region adaptively for a UE for each time slot on the basis of an estimated energy level over an energy detection interval set for the time slot (i.e. third sensing resource region is one of them), and transmitting a discovery message by using discovery resources selected within the determined discovery resource region; further see claims 1- 9 .. wherein the UE senses the determined discovery resource region and arbitrarily selects the discovery resource from among the resources of which the energy level falls within a predetermine range; see claim 3; further refer to claim 9 wherein, in case the UE starts sensing one of the discovery resource regions from among the discovery resource regions configured for each of the plurality of time slots, the discovery resource is selected within the discovery resource region next to the discovery resource region (i.e. third sensing resource region i.e. changing operation) over which the UE has started sensing (i.e. initially sensed region (i.e. here first sensing region) and next region where the selected resource lies); further see [0016] in above context about the discovery resource can be selected by sensing only part of the discovery resource regions from among the discovery resource regions configured for each of the plurality of time slots (i.e. hence sensing stops once a resource in the next region is chosen rather than continuing to the end of the first region and all regions); further see [0013].. , size of the discovery resource region can be determined on the basis of the estimated energy level.. (i.e. region size is a function of energy level (i.e. congestion) , means higher energy tends to higher congestion (i.e. small region size); see [0018- 0020] i.e. adaptively reducing power use means smaller size of sensing resource region i.e. first region may be configured with a larger size under lower energy/congestion and third region size may be configured with smaller size under higher energy). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Hassan in view of Darius to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein terminating the sensing operation at the end time of the third sensing resource region without performing the sensing operation up to an end time of the first sensing region; greater way resources can be adaptively utilized in order to save energy in the communication system; see [0018- 0022] of Kim.
Regarding claim 5, Hassan in view of Darius and Kim teaches as per claim 1, wherein the congestion level is determined based on a ratio between the one or more measurement regions and at least one measurement region determined to be congested among the one or more measurement regions; Hassan see [0006- 0008, 0145- 0149].
Regarding claim 6, Hassan in view of Darius and Kim teaches as per claim 1, wherein a degree of congestion of a congestion level equal to or greater than the first reference value is higher than a degree of congestion of the congestion level less than the first reference value, and the size of the first sensing resource region is larger than the size of the second sensing resource region; Hassan see [0099- 0106] a low CBR(i.e. less than a threshold) and high CBR (i.e. higher than a threshold).
Regarding claim 7, Hassan in view of Darius and Kim teaches as per claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from a base station, configuration information of the one or more measurement regions and configuration information of the plurality of resource pools; Hassan already described above see [0079- 0081, 0099- 0106].
Claim(s) 2- 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0060929 A1) in view of in view of Darius et al. (WO 2021/064135 A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0330780 A1) and further in view of BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0211920 A1), hereafter Bala.
Regarding claim 2, Hassan in view of Darius and Kim teaches as per claim 1, but Hassan is silent about receiving, from a base station, a message including mapping relationship information between congestion levels and the plurality of resource pools, wherein each of the first sensing resource region and the second sensing resource region is selected based on the mapping relationship information; however Bala states in [0074] about .. a UE determining a level of channel congestion for a channel during a first sensing duration. For example, the UE may determine CBR, a percentage of free resources based on control information, a channel quality measurement, and/or a signal strength measurement. Determining the level of channel congestion for the channel may involve performing channel congestion measurements. Determining the level of channel congestion for the channel may include receiving an indication of the level of channel congestion from a sidelink UE, a BS, and/or a V-UE; now refer to [0075]… the UE determines a second sensing duration and a transmission duration based on the level of channel congestion for the channel (e.g., determined from the first sensing duration at block 805). In some examples, the UE may adaptively determine a ratio of sensing time to transmission time based on the level of channel congestion for the channel. The UE may determine a longer sensing duration when the determined level of channel congestion for the channel is higher, and the UE may determine a shorter sensing duration when the determined level of channel congestion for the channel is lower. In some examples, the UE may compare the level of channel congestion for the channel to a threshold, and the UE may adjust the second sensing duration based on whether the level of channel congestion for the channel exceeds the threshold. In some examples, the UE may select the second sensing duration based on a configured mapping of levels of channel congestion for the channel to sensing durations. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Bala with the teachings of Hassan in view of Darius and Kim to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein receiving, from a base station, a message including mapping relationship information between congestion levels and the plurality of sensing windows, wherein each of the first sensing window and the second sensing window is selected based on the mapping relationship information; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 3, Hassan in view of Darius and Kim and Bala teaches as per claim 2, wherein the message further includes: mapping relationship information between congestion levels and a plurality of periods, wherein the plurality of periods are associated with the plurality of resource pools; already discussed above Bala see [0074- 0075] mapping relationship information between congestion levels and first, second sensing duration and having longer and shorter sensing durations….
claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0060929 A1) in view of in view of Darius et al. (WO 2021/064135 A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0330780 A1) and further in view of BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0211920 A1), hereafter Bala and in further view of Cai et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0359659 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hassan in view of Darius and Kim and Bala teaches as per claim 3, but Hassan is silent about selecting a first period associated with the first sensing resource region from among the plurality of periods, wherein the sensing operation is performed within the first sensing resource region according to the first period; however Cai states in Fig. 1 and [0061- 0064] about UE senses the resource in the sensing window according to the parameter information of the sensing window, and selects a resource according to a sensing result, wherein parameter information includes at least one of the start time, the time span, or the quantity, and the sensing window may be a time period. For example, assuming that a reference moment of one sensing is n ms, the first UE may sense a resource in a sensing window whose start time is at (n−100) ms and time span is 10 ms. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Cai with the teachings of Hassan in view of Darius and Kim and Bala to make system more effective. Having a mechanism about selecting a first period associated with the first sensing window from among the plurality of periods, wherein the sensing operation is performed within the first sensing window according to the first period; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0060929 A1) in view of in view of Darius et al. (WO 2021/064135 A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0330780 A1) in further view of Mukamoto et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0186270 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Hassan in view of Darius and Kim teaches as per claim 7, but Hassan is silent about wherein when start times of the plurality of resource pools are same, the configuration information of the plurality of resource pools includes information on a common start time and information on individual end times; however Mukamoto states in [0044- 0045] about .. Changing the carrier-sensing time means at least changing the timing when carrier-sensing ends. If a plurality of communication devices 100 finish carrier-sensing at the same timing, the communication devices 100 simultaneously transmit packets after carrier-sensing, which inevitably causes collisions between radio waves. As long as carrier-sensing ends at respective different timings between the communication devices, the start timing of carrier-sensing may be changed or may be unchanged. If the start timing and the end timing are changed by the same length, the carrier-sensing time remains the same. Changing the start timing and the end timing by respective different lengths changes the carrier-sensing time. In the following description, the start timing is unchanged, whereas the end timing is changed from a predetermined standard value. In this case, the difference between the changed end timing and the standard value corresponds to the amount of change.. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Mukamoto with the teachings of Hassan in view of Darius and Kim to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein when start times of the plurality of resource pools are same, the configuration information of the plurality of resource pools includes information on a common start time and information on individual end times, greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0211920 A1), hereafter Bala and in further view of Darius et al. (WO 2021/064135 A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0330780 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Bala teaches an operation method of a transmitting terminal in a communication system (see Fig. 8; UE as a transmitting terminal; [0080]), the operation method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a message including mapping relationship information between a plurality of data types and a plurality of resource pools, the plurality of data types including the first data type and the second data type; selecting a first sensing resource region mapped to a first data type from among a plurality of resource pools based on the mapping relationship information (see [0074] about .. a UE determining a level of channel congestion for a channel during a first sensing duration. For example, the UE may determine CBR, a percentage of free resources based on control information, a channel quality measurement, and/or a signal strength measurement. Determining the level of channel congestion for the channel may involve performing channel congestion measurements. Determining the level of channel congestion for the channel may include receiving an indication of the level of channel congestion from a sidelink UE, a BS, and/or a V-UE; now refer to [0075]… the UE determines a second sensing duration and a transmission duration based on the level of channel congestion for the channel (e.g., determined from the first sensing duration at block 805). In some examples, the UE may adaptively determine a ratio of sensing time to transmission time based on the level of channel congestion for the channel. The UE may determine a longer sensing duration when the determined level of channel congestion for the channel is higher (i.e. first data type), and the UE may determine a shorter sensing duration when the determined level of channel congestion for the channel is lower. In some examples, the UE may compare the level of channel congestion for the channel to a threshold, and the UE may adjust the second sensing duration based on whether the level of channel congestion for the channel exceeds the threshold. In some examples, the UE may select the second sensing duration based on a configured mapping of levels of channel congestion for the channel to sensing durations; further see [0076] , the UE determines resources from a P2V resource pool to use for sensing the channel. In some examples, the P2V resource pool is time division multiplexed (TDMed) with non-P2V pool resources. In some examples, the UE randomly selects different frequency resources to use for transmission in different time resources..);
performing a sensing operation within the first sensing resource region (already discussed above see [0074] about .. a UE determining a level of channel congestion for a channel during a first sensing duration. For example, the UE may determine CBR, a percentage of free resources based on control information, a channel quality measurement, and/or a signal strength measurement. Determining the level of channel congestion for the channel may involve performing channel congestion measurements. Determining the level of channel congestion for the channel may include receiving an indication of the level of channel congestion from a sidelink UE, a BS, and/or a V-UE; now refer to [0075]… the UE determines a second sensing duration and a transmission duration based on the level of channel congestion for the channel (e.g., determined from the first sensing duration at block 805). In some examples, the UE may adaptively determine a ratio of sensing time to transmission time based on the level of channel congestion for the channel. The UE may determine a longer sensing duration when the determined level of channel congestion for the channel is higher (i.e. first data type));
transmitting data having the first data type to a receiving terminal based on a result of the sensing operation (in context with above discussed see [0080]),
wherein a size of the first sensing resource region is different from a size of a second sensing resource region mapped to a second data type among the plurality of resource pools (see [0075].. The UE may determine a longer sensing duration when the determined level of channel congestion for the channel is higher, and the UE may determine a shorter sensing duration when the determined level of channel congestion for the channel is lower. In some examples, the UE may compare the level of channel congestion for the channel to a threshold, and the UE may adjust the second sensing duration based on whether the level of channel congestion for the channel exceeds the threshold. In some examples, the UE may select the second sensing duration based on a configured mapping of levels of channel congestion for the channel to sensing durations.).
Bala is silent about based on an available resource detected by the sensing operation being located before an end time of a third sensing resource region among the plurality of resource pools, changing the first sensing resource region to the third sensing resource region, wherein a size of the third sensing resource region is smaller than the size of the first sensing resource region and also silent about wherein the changing the first sensing resource region to the third sensing resource region is performed when a preconfigured condition is satisfied, and the preconfigured condition is at least one of a case when data transmission associated with a high priority is required, a case when aperiodic data transmission is required, a case when data retransmission is required, or combinations thereof and also silent about limitations, “terminating the sensing operation at the end time of the third sensing resource region without performing the sensing operation up to an end time of the first sensing region”
However Darius teaches in page 17 lines 36- 35 regarding ….inventive concept relies on the idea, that the radio resources to be reserved for a transmission may be identified reliably, precisely and/or computationally efficiently, by adjusting sizes of the one or more sensing windows during which resources used for the prediction of occupied resources are detected. For example, the sensing windows may be adjusted according to a zone information which may represent operational conditions of data traffic and/or off the user device. For example, a periodicity of transmissions, a delay between transmissions, or a traffic load may depend on the operational condition (i.e. here congestion level is less than the first reference value). Thus, adjusting the size of the sensing window to the operational condition may increase the reliability for selecting the reserved resources. As another example, the size of the sensing window may be adapted according to a quality of service information. This allows, for example, to spend more computational resources for transmissions of higher relevance, providing for both an efficient processing and a high reliability of important data transmissions; now refer to page 20 lines 1- 11 regarding .. the user device is to map a zone information (which is, for example, communicated to the user device using a higher-level signaling) onto sizes (e.g. temporal lengths, or sizes in time- and frequency direction) of one or more sensing windows (e.g. onto a size of a long-term sensing window and onto a size of a short term sensing window)(wherein there are, for example, at least two different combinations, or at least three different combinations of sizes of the long-term sensing window and of the short-term sensing window) …; now refer to page 19 lines 1 -10 about .. for example, the size of the one or more long term sensing windows is longer than the size of the one or more short term sensing windows (i.e. here second and third sensing resource region sizes are smaller than first sensing resource region (i.e. long term sensing window))…
Darius as discussed above states regarding third sensing resource region size is smaller than long-term sensing window; now refer to page 20 lines 12- 19 about the user device is to adjust sizes of one or more sensing windows in dependence on a resource type of data to be transmitted, and/or in dependence on a priority of data to be transmitted, and/or in dependence on a packed delay budget of data to be transmitted, and/or in dependence on a permissible packet error rate of data to be transmitted, and/or in dependence on characteristics of an averaging windowing, and/or in dependence on a maximum data burst volume of data to be transmitted.; now refer to page 58 lines 10- 15 about ,..a short-term sensing window may be particularly beneficial for sensing resources occupied by a specific traffic type, for example aperiodic traffic; further see page 19 lines 11- 24 about … the user device is to adjust a size of a sensing window which is used for a determination (e.g. a determination which is based on an analysis of SCI) of radio resources used by one or more further user devices for a transmission of data of an aperiodic traffic type (e.g. a size of a short term sensing window) in dependence on the zone information and/or in dependence on the quality of service information, and/or wherein the user device is to adjust a size of a sensing window which is used for a determination (e.g. a determination which is based on a pattern recognition) of radio resources used by one or more further user devices for a transmission of data of a periodic traffic type in dependence on the zone information and/or in dependence on the quality of service information. Adjusting the size of a sensing window which is used for a specific traffic type, such as aperiodic traffic or periodic traffic, allows for an adjustment of the sensing window under consideration of the respective type of traffic, so that a high accuracy in predicting resources for the respective traffic type may be achieved; further see page 18 lines 25- 35; further see page 20 lines 12- 25.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Darius with the teachings of Bala to make system more effective. Having a mechanism based on an available resource detected by the sensing operation being located before an end time of a third sensing resource region among the plurality of resource pools, changing the first sensing resource region to the third sensing resource region, wherein a size of the third sensing resource region is smaller than the size of the first sensing resource region and regarding wherein the changing the first sensing resource region to the third sensing resource region is performed when a preconfigured condition is satisfied, and the preconfigured condition is at least one of a case when data transmission associated with a high priority is required, a case when aperiodic data transmission is required, a case when data retransmission is required, or combinations thereof; greater way resources can be utilized/managed in the communication system.
But Bala is silent about limitations, “terminating the sensing operation at the end time of the third sensing resource region without performing the sensing operation up to an end time of the first sensing region”; however Kim teaches in [0006] regarding a method for dividing one discovery resource pool into a plurality of time slots, determining a discovery resource region adaptively for a UE for each time slot on the basis of an estimated energy level over an energy detection interval set for the time slot (i.e. third sensing resource region is one of them), and transmitting a discovery message by using discovery resources selected within the determined discovery resource region; further see claims 1- 9 .. wherein the UE senses the determined discovery resource region and arbitrarily selects the discovery resource from among the resources of which the energy level falls within a predetermine range; see claim 3; further refer to claim 9 wherein, in case the UE starts sensing one of the discovery resource regions from among the discovery resource regions configured for each of the plurality of time slots, the discovery resource is selected within the discovery resource region next to the discovery resource region (i.e. third sensing resource region i.e. changing operation) over which the UE has started sensing (i.e. initially sensed region (i.e. here first sensing region) and next region where the selected resource lies); further see [0016] in above context about the discovery resource can be selected by sensing only part of the discovery resource regions from among the discovery resource regions configured for each of the plurality of time slots (i.e. hence sensing stops once a resource in the next region is chosen rather than continuing to the end of the first region and all regions); further see [0013].. , size of the discovery resource region can be determined on the basis of the estimated energy level.. (i.e. region size is a function of energy level (i.e. congestion) , means higher energy tends to higher congestion (i.e. small region size); see [0018- 0020] i.e. adaptively reducing power use means smaller size of sensing resource region i.e. first region may be configured with a larger size under lower energy/congestion and third region size may be configured with smaller size under higher energy). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Bala in view of Darius to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein terminating the sensing operation at the end time of the third sensing resource region without performing the sensing operation up to an end time of the first sensing region; greater way resources can be adaptively utilized in order to save energy in the communication system; see [0018- 0022] of Kim.
claim(s) 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0211920 A1), hereafter Bala and in further view of Darius et al. (WO 2021/064135 A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0330780 A1) and in further view of Cai et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0359659 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Bala in view of Darius and Kim teaches as per claim 17, wherein the message further includes mapping relationship information between the plurality of data types and a plurality of periods, the plurality of periods are associated with the plurality of resource pools; already discussed above Bala see [0074- 0075] mapping relationship information between congestion levels and first, second sensing duration and having longer and shorter sensing durations….; but Bala is silent about sensing operation is performed within the first sensing resource region according to a first period among the plurality of periods; however Cai states in Fig. 1 and [0061- 0064] about UE senses the resource in the sensing window according to the parameter information of the sensing window, and selects a resource according to a sensing result, wherein parameter information includes at least one of the start time, the time span, or the quantity, and the sensing window may be a time period. For example, assuming that a reference moment of one sensing is n ms, the first UE may sense a resource in a sensing window whose start time is at (n−100) ms and time span is 10 ms. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Cai with the teachings of Bala in view of Darius and Kim to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism about sensing operation is performed within the first sensing resource region according to a first period among the plurality of periods; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0211920 A1), hereafter Bala and in further view of Darius et al. (WO 2021/064135 A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0330780 A1) and further in view of Wang et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0266921 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Bala in view of Darius and Kim teaches as per claim 16, but Bala is silent about wherein when the first data type is periodic data, the second data type is aperiodic data, and when the first data type is aperiodic data, the second data type is periodic data; however Wang states in [0030] about .. an embodiment, the first type of traffic is periodic traffic and the second type of traffic is aperiodic traffic. The time duration of the second sensing window for the aperiodic traffic is shorter than that of the first sensing window for the periodic traffic, and the time duration of a second resource selection window for the aperiodic traffic is shorter than that of the first resource selection window for the periodic traffic... It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wang with the teachings of Bala in view of Darius and Kim to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein when the first data type is periodic data, the second data type is aperiodic data, and when the first data type is aperiodic data, the second data type is periodic data; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0053704 A1) teaches about a method performed by a UE in a communication system may comprise receiving, from a base station, a message including configuration information of a subchannel which is a sensing unit of a resource pool; determining a size of the subchannel based on the configuration information; and performing a sensing operation in units of the subchannel in the resource pool. Therefore, the sidelink communication can be efficiently performed, and the performance of the communication system can be improved; see abstract; further see [0100] Also, the UE may determine the number of beams to be used according to the type of sidelink traffic among N.sub.max,beam beams. The number of beams used for transmission of broadcast traffic may be set to be greater than the number of beams used for transmission of unicast traffic. For example, the UE may transmit broadcast traffic using N.sub.max,beam beams, and may transmit unicast traffic using one beam. [0101] On the other hand, when the beam switching is performed in a slot unit (or a subframe unit), a plurality of slots (or a plurality of subframes) may be required to repeatedly transmit the same data. In this case, a transmission latency may occur. For V2X traffic requiring low latency transmission, the same V2X traffic may be repeatedly transmitted using a plurality of beams in one slot (or one subframe). That is, the unit of performing the beam switching may be smaller than a slot unit (or a subframe unit).
Reference Yu et al. (US Pat. No. 11785627 B2) teaches about .. first terminal device obtains a first time interval and a second time interval, and preempts or determines not to preempt a first resource according to a first preset rule. The first resource is a resource reserved by a second terminal device or a resource reserved for a first service to be transmitted by the first terminal device. The first time interval is a time interval related to the first resource. The second time interval is used to indicate a preemption forbidden time. The first preset rule is determined based on the first time interval and the second time interval; see abstract.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479