DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on November 20, 2025 was received and has been entered. Claims 1 and 5 were amended. Claims 1-8 are in the application. Replacement Figs. 3 and 6 were submitted.
Drawings
The previous objection to the drawings because legends and captions are not clearly legible is withdrawn based on the submission of an amended Figure 6.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority. It is noted, however, that the certified copies of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55 have pages that appear out of order. Clarification is requested.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “analysis device” in claim 1.
Claim Objections
The previous objection to claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“comprises fixing means” is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 5.
Claim 1 recites “ apparatus for collecting photocuring generated gas”. A suggested revision is as follows: “ apparatus for collecting a photocuring generated gas”.
Claim 1 recites “ to irradiate light”. A suggested revision is as follows: “to irradiate a light”.
Claim 1 recites “ to receive transmission” . A suggested revision is as follows: “ to receive a transmission”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “analysis device”, “sample accommodating space”, and “heating space” in claim 1 and “fixing means” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The previous objection to claims 1 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. Pub. No. 20070298362 A1 to Rocha-Alvarez et al (hereinafter Rocha-Alvarez) and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20030029571 A1 to Goodman et al (hereinafter Goodman) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1.
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. Pub. No. 20070298362 A1 to Rocha-Alvarez et al (hereinafter Rocha-Alvarez) and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20030029571 A1 to Goodman et al (hereinafter Goodman) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190079418 A1 to Lin et al (hereinafter Lin) .
Regarding claim 1, Rocha-Alvarez teaches an apparatus for collecting photocuring generated gas, comprising: a chamber unit (122) with a sample accommodating space formed therein, the chamber unit being configured to accommodate a sample (112) within the sample accommodating space (space between 106 and 108);
a light source unit (104) configured to irradiate light to an upper surface of the chamber unit;
a purge gas injection flow conduit (between 128 and 110 in Fig. 1a-b) configured to receive an injection therethrough of a purge gas into the sample accommodating space; and an outgas discharge flow conduit (between 110 and 118 in Fig. 1a-b) configured to receive a discharge therethrough of an outgas generated in the sample accommodating space to a gas collection pipe located outside of the sample accommodating space, wherein the upper surface of the chamber unit includes a transparent material (108) configured to receive transmission therethrough of the light from the light source unit (104) . (See Rocha-Alvarez, Abstract, Figs. 1a-1b, 2a-2b, 3-6, and paragraphs 21, 30, 50. )
Further regarding claim 1, Rocha-Alvarez does not explicitly teach an oven unit having a heating space accommodating the chamber unit therein.
Goodman teaches high-temperature ovens are used to create structures of very fine features with a heating means in the form of an oven unit having a heating space (area surrounded by heating units 14) accommodating the chamber unit therein. (See Goodman, Abstract, paragraph 3 and Figs. 1-39.)
Goodman teaches throughput can be increased by additional heating processes. (See Goodman, Abstract, paragraphs 16 and Figs. 1-39.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to include an oven unit having a heating space accommodating the chamber unit therein, because Goodman teaches this structure allows substrate to be heated to the desired temperature in the desired time and increase throughput. (See Goodman, Abstract, paragraph 3, 15-20, 72, 74, 85, 98, 132, 151, 215, and Figs. 1-39.)
Further regarding claim 1, Rocha-Alvarez does not explicitly teach an outgas discharge flow conduit configured to receive a discharge therethrough of an outgas generated in the sample accommodating space to a gas collection pipe located outside of the sample accommodating space, the gas collection pipe being configured to be connected to an analysis device.
Lin teaches a system for discharging gas from a semiconductor manufacturing equipment. (See Lin, Abstract, paragraphs 2-4, 15, 22-27, 29, 33, 35, 37-39 and Figs. 1-6.)
Lin teaches an outgas discharge flow conduit (210) configured to receive a discharge therethrough of an outgas generated in the sample accommodating space (semiconductor manufacturing tools) to a gas collection pipe (225, 226) located outside of the sample accommodating space (semiconductor manufacturing tools) , the gas collection pipe (225, 226) being configured to be connected to an analysis device (230) . (See Lin, Abstract, paragraphs 2-4, 15, 22-27, 29, 33, 35, 37-39 and Figs. 1-6.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to include an outgas discharge flow conduit configured to receive a discharge therethrough of an outgas generated in the sample accommodating space to a gas collection pipe located outside of the sample accommodating space, the gas collection pipe being configured to be connected to an analysis device, because Lin teaches this structure allows compounds at possibly hazardous levels to be detected. (See Lin, Abstract, paragraphs 2-4, 15, 22-27, 29, 33, 35, 37-39 and Figs. 1-6.)
Intended use language is located in the preamble of claim 1 (apparatus for collecting photocuring generated gas). A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951). Rocha-Alvarez in view of Goodman is capable of this intended use and as a result meets this claim limitation.
Claim 1 recites an intended use clause (i. e. space accommodating the chamber unit). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Rocha-Alvarez in view of Goodman is capable of this intended use and as a result meets this claim limitation.
Regarding claim 6, Rocha-Alvarez teaches the light source unit is configured to irradiate the light downward from a lower surface of the light source unit, such that the lower surface is a surface light source. (See Rocha-Alvarez, Abstract, Figs. 1a-1b, 2a-2b, 3-6, and paragraphs 21, 30, 50. )
The previous rejection of claims 2-4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20070298362 A1 to Rocha-Alvarez et al (hereinafter Rocha-Alvarez) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030029571 A1 to Goodman et al (hereinafter Goodman) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US Pat. Num. 7,025,831 B1 to Butterbaugh et al (hereinafter Butterbaugh) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20070298362 A1 to Rocha-Alvarez et al (hereinafter Rocha-Alvarez) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030029571 A1 to Goodman et al (hereinafter Goodman) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190079418 A1 to Lin et al (hereinafter Lin) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US Pat. Num. 7,025,831 B1 to Butterbaugh et al (hereinafter Butterbaugh).
Regarding claim 2, Rocha-Alvarez does not explicitly teach wherein the chamber unit comprises: a body part having a sample mounting groove formed
Butterbaugh is directed to a chamber for treating the surface of a substrate.
Butterbaugh teaches the chamber unit comprises: a body part having a sample mounting groove (126) formed extending into an upper surface thereof, the sample mounting groove defining the sample accommodating space therein; and a transparent cover part (136, 138) covering the sample mounting groove and coupled to the upper surface of the body part, the transparent cover part (136, 138) containing the transparent material (sapphire), and wherein the transparent cover part is configured to receive transmission therethrough of the light from the light source unit (114, 116). (See Butterbaugh, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 31, 38-39, 40-41, 43. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to include the chamber unit comprises: a body part having a sample mounting groove formed extending into an upper surface thereof, the sample mounting groove defining the sample accommodating space therein; and a transparent cover part covering the sample mounting groove and coupled to the upper surface of the body part, the transparent cover part containing the transparent material, and wherein the transparent cover part is configured to receive transmission therethrough of the light from the light source unit, because Butterbaugh teaches this structure allows light to penetrate to the surface of the substrate and create a uniform circumferential gas flow to exhaust the gas after it has reacted with the wafer surface. (See Butterbaugh, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 31, 38-39, 40-41, 43. )
Regarding claim 3, Rocha-Alvarez teaches the transparent cover part has an inlet (302) and an outlet (118, 210) extending therethrough, the inlet configured to receive the injection therethrough of the purge gas and the outlet configured to receive the discharge therethrough of the outgas, the purge gas injection flow conduit (between 128 and 110 in Fig. 1a-b) being connected to the inlet, and the outgas discharge flow conduit (between 110 and 118 in Fig. 1a-b) being connected to the outlet (118). (See Rocha-Alvarez, Abstract, Figs. 1a-1b, 2a-2b, 3-6, and paragraphs 9-10, 21, 23,30-32, 35, 39, 49-50. )
Regarding claim 4, Rocha-Alvarez teaches wherein the transparent cover part is a quartz plate (quartz dielectric window). (See Rocha-Alvarez, Abstract, Figs. 1a-1b, 2a-2b, 3-6, and paragraphs 21, 23,30, 50. )
The previous rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20070298362 A1 to Rocha-Alvarez et al (hereinafter Rocha-Alvarez) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030029571 A1 to Goodman et al (hereinafter Goodman) in view of US Pat. Num. 7,025,831 B1 to Butterbaugh et al (hereinafter Butterbaugh) as applied to claim 5 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220143657 A1 to Jelic et al (hereinafter Jelic) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20070298362 A1 to Rocha-Alvarez et al (hereinafter Rocha-Alvarez) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030029571 A1 to Goodman et al (hereinafter Goodman) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190079418 A1 to Lin et al (hereinafter Lin) in view of US Pat. Num. 7,025,831 B1 to Butterbaugh et al (hereinafter Butterbaugh) as applied to claim 5 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220143657 A1 to Jelic et al (hereinafter Jelic).
Regarding claim 5, Rocha-Alvarez does not explicitly teach an upper surface of the body part has coupling grooves formed therein, the transparent cover part has coupling holes formed therethrough at a-positions facing respective ones of the coupling grooves, and the apparatus further comprises fixing means passing through the coupling holes and into the coupling grooves, so that the transparent cover part is coupled to the body part by the fixing means
Jelic is directed to a chamber for receiving ultraviolet radiation.
Jelic teaches an upper surface of the body part has coupling grooves (402) formed therein, the transparent cover part has coupling holes (portion of flange to engage o-ring) formed therethrough at a-positions facing respective ones of the coupling grooves, and the apparatus further comprises fixing means (o-ring) passing through the coupling holes and into the coupling grooves (402), so that the transparent cover part is coupled to the body part by the fixing means (o-ring) . (See Jelic, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 8-10, 16, 19, 21, 23, 25, 29-33, 36, 38-44. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to include an upper surface of the body part has coupling grooves formed therein, the transparent cover part has coupling holes formed therethrough at a-positions facing respective ones of the coupling grooves, and the apparatus further comprises fixing means passing through the coupling holes and into the coupling grooves, so that the transparent cover part is coupled to the body part by the fixing means, because Jelic teaches this structure allows light to penetrate to the surface of the substrate and create a uniform circumferential gas in a separate chamber to cool the lamps to prevent particles from contacting the substrate. (See Jelic, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 8-10, 16, 19, 21, 23, 25, 29-33, 36, 38-44. )
The previous rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20070298362 A1 to Rocha-Alvarez et al (hereinafter Rocha-Alvarez) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030029571 A1 to Goodman et al (hereinafter Goodman) as applied to claim 6 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20050018930 A1 to Don Carl Powell (hereinafter Powell) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20070298362 A1 to Rocha-Alvarez et al (hereinafter Rocha-Alvarez) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030029571 A1 to Goodman et al (hereinafter Goodman) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190079418 A1 to Lin et al (hereinafter Lin) as applied to claim 6 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20050018930 A1 to Don Carl Powell (hereinafter Powell).
Regarding claim 7, Rocha-Alvarez does not explicitly teach wherein the light source unit is mounted on the chamber unit so that the lower surface of the light source unit contacts the upper surface of the chamber unit.
Powell is directed to a chamber for receiving ultraviolet radiation.
Powell teaches the light source unit is mounted on the chamber unit so that the lower surface of the light source unit contacts the upper surface of the chamber unit. (See Powell, Abstract, Figs. 1-8, paragraphs 8, 15, 17, 35, 37-40, 42-49, 51, 54, 58-59.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to include the light source unit is mounted on the chamber unit so that the lower surface of the light source unit contacts the upper surface of the chamber unit, because Powell teaches this structure allows desired transfer of energy to the substrate. (See Powell, Abstract, Figs. 1-8, paragraphs 8, 15, 17, 35, 37-40, 42-49, 51, 54, 58-59.)
Claim 7 recites an intended use clause (i. e. source unit is mounted on the chamber unit). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Rocha-Alvarez in view of Goodman and Powell is capable of this intended use and as a result meets this claim limitation.
The previous rejection of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20070298362 A1 to Rocha-Alvarez et al (hereinafter Rocha-Alvarez) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030029571 A1 to Goodman et al (hereinafter Goodman) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20050018930 A1 to Don Carl Powell (hereinafter Powell) as applied to claim 7 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20200147657 A1 to Yamamori et al (hereinafter Yamamori) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20070298362 A1 to Rocha-Alvarez et al (hereinafter Rocha-Alvarez) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030029571 A1 to Goodman et al (hereinafter Goodman) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190079418 A1 to Lin et al (hereinafter Lin) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20050018930 A1 to Don Carl Powell (hereinafter Powell) as applied to claim 7 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20200147657 A1 to Yamamori et al (hereinafter Yamamori).
Regarding claim 8, Rocha-Alvarez does not explicitly teach the light source unit has a refrigerant circulation flow conduit configured to receive a flow of a refrigerant therethrough, the refrigerant circulation flow conduit being configured to deliver the flow of the refrigerant to an upper surface of the light source unit.
Yamamori is directed to a chamber for receiving ultraviolet radiation.
Yamamori teaches the light source unit has a refrigerant circulation flow conduit (59a) configured to receive a flow of a refrigerant therethrough, the refrigerant circulation flow conduit being configured to deliver the flow of the refrigerant to an upper surface of the light source unit (11, 51). (See Yamamori, Abstract, Figs. 1-8, paragraphs 7, 19-20, 38, 91, 106, 179. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to include the light source unit has a refrigerant circulation flow conduit configured to receive a flow of a refrigerant therethrough, the refrigerant circulation flow conduit being configured to deliver the flow of the refrigerant to an upper surface of the light source unit, because Yamamori teaches this structure allows optical cleaning to be performed and surface quality to be improved. (See Yamamori, Abstract, Figs. 1-8, paragraphs 7, 19-20, 38, 91, 106, 179. )
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. Pub. No. 20070298362 A1 to Rocha-Alvarez et al (hereinafter Rocha-Alvarez) and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20030029571 A1 to Goodman et al (hereinafter Goodman) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20070062647 A1 to Bailey et al (hereinafter Bailey).
Regarding claim 1, Rocha-Alvarez teaches an apparatus for collecting photocuring generated gas, comprising: a chamber unit (122) with a sample accommodating space formed therein, the chamber unit being configured to accommodate a sample (112) within the sample accommodating space (space between 106 and 108);
a light source unit (104) configured to irradiate light to an upper surface of the chamber unit;
a purge gas injection flow conduit (between 128 and 110 in Fig. 1a-b) configured to receive an injection therethrough of a purge gas into the sample accommodating space; and an outgas discharge flow conduit (between 110 and 118 in Fig. 1a-b) configured to receive a discharge therethrough of an outgas generated in the sample accommodating space to a gas collection pipe located outside of the sample accommodating space, wherein the upper surface of the chamber unit includes a transparent material (108) configured to receive transmission therethrough of the light from the light source unit (104) . (See Rocha-Alvarez, Abstract, Figs. 1a-1b, 2a-2b, 3-6, and paragraphs 21, 30, 50. )
Further regarding claim 1, Rocha-Alvarez does not explicitly teach an oven unit having a heating space accommodating the chamber unit therein.
Goodman teaches high-temperature ovens are used to create structures of very fine features with a heating means in the form of an oven unit having a heating space (area surrounded by heating units 14) accommodating the chamber unit therein. (See Goodman, Abstract, paragraph 3 and Figs. 1-39.)
Goodman teaches throughput can be increased by additional heating processes. (See Goodman, Abstract, paragraphs 16 and Figs. 1-39.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to include an oven unit having a heating space accommodating the chamber unit therein, because Goodman teaches this structure allows substrate to be heated to the desired temperature in the desired time and increase throughput. (See Goodman, Abstract, paragraph 3, 15-20, 72, 74, 85, 98, 132, 151, 215, and Figs. 1-39.)
Further regarding claim 1, Rocha-Alvarez does not explicitly teach an outgas discharge flow conduit configured to receive a discharge therethrough of an outgas generated in the sample accommodating space to a gas collection pipe located outside of the sample accommodating space, the gas collection pipe being configured to be connected to an analysis device.
Bailey teaches a system for discharging gas from a substrate processing apparatus.
Bailey teaches an outgas discharge flow conduit (24) configured to receive a discharge therethrough of an outgas generated in the sample accommodating space (processing area 37) to a gas collection pipe (212) located outside of the sample accommodating space (37) , the gas collection pipe (212) being configured to be connected to an analysis device (214) . (See Bailey, Abstract, paragraphs 66-68 and Fig. 12.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to include an outgas discharge flow conduit configured to receive a discharge therethrough of an outgas generated in the sample accommodating space to a gas collection pipe located outside of the sample accommodating space, the gas collection pipe being configured to be connected to an analysis device, because Lin teaches this structure allows compounds at possibly hazardous levels to be detected. (See Bailey, Abstract, paragraphs 10-16 and 66-68 and Figs. 12-13.)
Intended use language is located in the preamble of claim 1 (apparatus for collecting photocuring generated gas). A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951). Rocha-Alvarez in view of Goodman is capable of this intended use and as a result meets this claim limitation.
Claim 1 recites an intended use clause (i. e. space accommodating the chamber unit). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Rocha-Alvarez in view of Goodman is capable of this intended use and as a result meets this claim limitation.
Regarding claim 6, Rocha-Alvarez teaches the light source unit is configured to irradiate the light downward from a lower surface of the light source unit, such that the lower surface is a surface light source. (See Rocha-Alvarez, Abstract, Figs. 1a-1b, 2a-2b, 3-6, and paragraphs 21, 30, 50. )
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20070298362 A1 to Rocha-Alvarez et al (hereinafter Rocha-Alvarez) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030029571 A1 to Goodman et al (hereinafter Goodman) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20070062647 A1 to Bailey et al (hereinafter Bailey) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US Pat. Num. 7,025,831 B1 to Butterbaugh et al (hereinafter Butterbaugh).
Regarding claim 2, Rocha-Alvarez does not explicitly teach wherein the chamber unit comprises: a body part having a sample mounting groove formed
Butterbaugh is directed to a chamber for treating the surface of a substrate.
Butterbaugh teaches the chamber unit comprises: a body part having a sample mounting groove (126) formed extending into an upper surface thereof, the sample mounting groove defining the sample accommodating space therein; and a transparent cover part (136, 138) covering the sample mounting groove and coupled to the upper surface of the body part, the transparent cover part (136, 138) containing the transparent material (sapphire), and wherein the transparent cover part is configured to receive transmission therethrough of the light from the light source unit (114, 116). (See Butterbaugh, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 31, 38-39, 40-41, 43. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to include the chamber unit comprises: a body part having a sample mounting groove formed extending into an upper surface thereof, the sample mounting groove defining the sample accommodating space therein; and a transparent cover part covering the sample mounting groove and coupled to the upper surface of the body part, the transparent cover part containing the transparent material, and wherein the transparent cover part is configured to receive transmission therethrough of the light from the light source unit, because Butterbaugh teaches this structure allows light to penetrate to the surface of the substrate and create a uniform circumferential gas flow to exhaust the gas after it has reacted with the wafer surface. (See Butterbaugh, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 31, 38-39, 40-41, 43. )
Regarding claim 3, Rocha-Alvarez teaches the transparent cover part has an inlet (302) and an outlet (118, 210) extending therethrough, the inlet configured to receive the injection therethrough of the purge gas and the outlet configured to receive the discharge therethrough of the outgas, the purge gas injection flow conduit (between 128 and 110 in Fig. 1a-b) being connected to the inlet, and the outgas discharge flow conduit (between 110 and 118 in Fig. 1a-b) being connected to the outlet (118). (See Rocha-Alvarez, Abstract, Figs. 1a-1b, 2a-2b, 3-6, and paragraphs 9-10, 21, 23,30-32, 35, 39, 49-50. )
Regarding claim 4, Rocha-Alvarez teaches wherein the transparent cover part is a quartz plate (quartz dielectric window). (See Rocha-Alvarez, Abstract, Figs. 1a-1b, 2a-2b, 3-6, and paragraphs 21, 23,30, 50. )
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20070298362 A1 to Rocha-Alvarez et al (hereinafter Rocha-Alvarez) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030029571 A1 to Goodman et al (hereinafter Goodman) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20070062647 A1 to Bailey et al (hereinafter Bailey) in view of US Pat. Num. 7,025,831 B1 to Butterbaugh et al (hereinafter Butterbaugh) as applied to claim 5 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220143657 A1 to Jelic et al (hereinafter Jelic).
Regarding claim 5, Rocha-Alvarez does not explicitly teach an upper surface of the body part has coupling grooves formed therein, the transparent cover part has coupling holes formed therethrough at a-positions facing respective ones of the coupling grooves, and the apparatus further comprises fixing means passing through the coupling holes and into the coupling grooves, so that the transparent cover part is coupled to the body part by the fixing means
Jelic is directed to a chamber for receiving ultraviolet radiation.
Jelic teaches an upper surface of the body part has coupling grooves (402) formed therein, the transparent cover part has coupling holes (portion of flange to engage o-ring) formed therethrough at a-positions facing respective ones of the coupling grooves, and the apparatus further comprises fixing means (o-ring) passing through the coupling holes and into the coupling grooves (402), so that the transparent cover part is coupled to the body part by the fixing means (o-ring). (See Jelic, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 8-10, 16, 19, 21, 23, 25, 29-33, 36, 38-44. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to include an upper surface of the body part has coupling grooves formed therein, the transparent cover part has coupling holes formed therethrough at a-positions facing respective ones of the coupling grooves, and the apparatus further comprises fixing means passing through the coupling holes and into the coupling grooves, so that the transparent cover part is coupled to the body part by the fixing means, because Jelic teaches this structure allows light to penetrate to the surface of the substrate and create a uniform circumferential gas in a separate chamber to cool the lamps to prevent particles from contacting the substrate. (See Jelic, Abstract, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs 8-10, 16, 19, 21, 23, 25, 29-33, 36, 38-44. )
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20070298362 A1 to Rocha-Alvarez et al (hereinafter Rocha-Alvarez) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030029571 A1 to Goodman et al (hereinafter Goodman) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20070062647 A1 to Bailey et al (hereinafter Bailey) as applied to claim 6 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20050018930 A1 to Don Carl Powell (hereinafter Powell).
Regarding claim 7, Rocha-Alvarez does not explicitly teach wherein the light source unit is mounted on the chamber unit so that the lower surface of the light source unit contacts the upper surface of the chamber unit.
Powell is directed to a chamber for receiving ultraviolet radiation.
Powell teaches the light source unit is mounted on the chamber unit so that the lower surface of the light source unit contacts the upper surface of the chamber unit. (See Powell, Abstract, Figs. 1-8, paragraphs 8, 15, 17, 35, 37-40, 42-49, 51, 54, 58-59.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to include the light source unit is mounted on the chamber unit so that the lower surface of the light source unit contacts the upper surface of the chamber unit, because Powell teaches this structure allows desired transfer of energy to the substrate. (See Powell, Abstract, Figs. 1-8, paragraphs 8, 15, 17, 35, 37-40, 42-49, 51, 54, 58-59.)
Claim 7 recites an intended use clause (i. e. source unit is mounted on the chamber unit). A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Rocha-Alvarez in view of Goodman and Powell is capable of this intended use and as a result meets this claim limitation.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20070298362 A1 to Rocha-Alvarez et al (hereinafter Rocha-Alvarez) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20030029571 A1 to Goodman et al (hereinafter Goodman) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20070062647 A1 to Bailey et al (hereinafter Bailey) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20050018930 A1 to Don Carl Powell (hereinafter Powell) as applied to claim 7 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20200147657 A1 to Yamamori et al (hereinafter Yamamori).
Regarding claim 8, Rocha-Alvarez does not explicitly teach the light source unit has a refrigerant circulation flow conduit configured to receive a flow of a refrigerant therethrough, the refrigerant circulation flow conduit being configured to deliver the flow of the refrigerant to an upper surface of the light source unit.
Yamamori is directed to a chamber for receiving ultraviolet radiation.
Yamamori teaches the light source unit has a refrigerant circulation flow conduit (59a) configured to receive a flow of a refrigerant therethrough, the refrigerant circulation flow conduit being configured to deliver the flow of the refrigerant to an upper surface of the light source unit (11, 51). (See Yamamori, Abstract, Figs. 1-8, paragraphs 7, 19-20, 38, 91, 106, 179. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to include the light source unit has a refrigerant circulation flow conduit configured to receive a flow of a refrigerant therethrough, the refrigerant circulation flow conduit being configured to deliver the flow of the refrigerant to an upper surface of the light source unit, because Yamamori teaches this structure allows optical cleaning to be performed and surface quality to be improved. (See Yamamori, Abstract, Figs. 1-8, paragraphs 7, 19-20, 38, 91, 106, 179. )
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 20, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that a person of skilled in the art would have no technical motivation to combine Rocha-Alvarez and Goodman in the second paragraph on page 8 of the Remarks Section.
Examiner disagrees. Goodman teaches throughput can be increased by additional heating processes. (See Goodman, Abstract, paragraphs 3, 16, and Figs. 1-39.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filed date of the claimed invention to include an oven unit having a heating space accommodating the chamber unit therein, because Goodman teaches this structure allows substrate to be heated to the desired temperature in the desired time and increase throughput. (See Goodman, Abstract, paragraph 3, 15-20, 85, 98, 215, and Figs. 1-39.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art would be reasonably understood to add a heating structure to improve heating efficiency.
This would be considered compatible with teachings of the primary reference, Rocha-Alvarez, because Rocha Alvarez teaches more than one type of heating may be used.
In the third paragraph on page 8 of the Remarks Section, Applicant argues that Rocha-Alvarez incorporates various forms of heating, there is no sufficient technical rationale for introducing the oven configuration of Goodman.
Examiner disagrees. Goodman teaches throughput can be increased by additional heating processes. (See Goodman, Abstract, paragraphs 3, 16, and Figs. 1-39.)
In the fourth paragraph on page 8 of the Remarks Section, Applicant argues that the heating method of Goodman adopts a structure in which the light source is arranged separately from the chamber, whereas the invention of amended claim 1 employs an oven unit that accommodates the chamber unit itself, resulting in a clear structural difference.
Examiner is considering the heating elements (14) of Goodman to meet the claim limitation by providing a heat space accommodating the chamber therein. (See Goodman, paragraphs 72, 74, 132, 151, and Fig. 1).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the new limitation added to claim 1, “ the gas collection pipe being configured to be connected to an analysis device”, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
A first new reference US Pat. Pub. No. 20190079418 A1 to Lin et al (hereinafter Lin) being used to address the new limitation added to claim 1, “ the gas collection pipe being configured to be connected to an analysis device” in a first set of rejections.
A second new reference US Pat. Pub. No. 20070062647 A1 to Bailey et al (hereinafter Bailey) is now being used to address the new limitation added to claim 1, “ the gas collection pipe being configured to be connected to an analysis device” in a second set of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARL KURPLE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717