DETAILED ACTION
This non-final office action is in response to claims 1, 4-12, and 15-16 filed on 01/14/2026 for examination. Claims 1, 4-12, and 15-16 are being examined and are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 14, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-12, and 15 remain pending in the application. Claim 16 is new. The claims have been amended. Applicant’s arguments and amendments to the claims are directed to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed October 14, 2025. Claims 1, 12, and 15-16 have necessitated a new ground(s) of rejection in this Office Action. Further, applicant’s arguments regarding claims 1, 4-12, and 15-16 have been fully considered but are not persuasive to differentiate over the prior art. Particularly:
Applicant opines that the combination of Brundage et al. (US20050067487) in view of Singal et al. (US20200334431) and Wilder (US20170186760) does not disclose “wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other.” Remarks, pgs. 9-10. Examiner disagrees. Examiner directs applicant to Wilder. Particularly, wherein the user guides their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at a target for authentication. See, e.g., Wilder at [0028-030], [0013-014], and [0020]. To be verified, the user may be required to maintain their face/pointer on the target for a specific duration of time <i.e., maintaining the direction of a face in the state>. Id. The image of the user is taken while their face is aligning with the target <e.g., their face is captured/displayed with the pointer aligning with the target>. Id. Accordingly, applicant’s associated remarks are unpersuasive.
In view of the foregoing, as well as hereinbelow with regards to 35 U.S.C. 103, applicant’s arguments regarding claims 1, 4-12, and 15-16 have been fully considered but are not persuasive to differentiate over the prior art.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 16 is/are objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 1 recites “the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other”. For grammatical consistency, examiner suggests amending to, e.g., “the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coincide with each other” or similar, if intended. Claims 12 and 16 recite a similar deficiency, and are objected to under like rationale.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1, 4-12, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Particularly: Claim 1 recites the limitation "the direction" in lines 14 and 21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 12 and 16 recite a similar deficiency, and are rejected under like rationale. Claims 4-11 and 15 incorporate the deficiency of their parent claim, and are rejected under like rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 10-12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brundage et al. (US20050067487, hereinafter “Brundage”) in view of Singal et al. (US20200334431, hereinafter “Singal”) and Wilder (US20170185760, hereinafter “Wilder”).
Regarding claim 1, Brundage teaches an information processing device comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions ([0056-057] – system comprises instructions stored in memory and being executing via processor); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions ([0056-057] – system comprises instructions stored in memory and being executing via processor) to:
acquire a certificate and generate a certificate image ([0032], [0059-062], and [0081] – An identification document <i.e., certificate> is presented <i.e., acquired>. An image is generated based on the identification document <i.e., certificate image generated>);
acquire a first hash value from the certificate (Fig. 6, [0081], [0054], and [0061-062]– A watermark is read from the certificate. The watermark comprises a hash value <i.e., first hash value>. When the hash <i.e., first hash value> of the watermark matches a hash calculated based on the certificate image, a match is determined; [0045-046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document);
read character information and a face image from the certificate image (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image read from the certificate image>. A hash is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document);
calculate a second hash value using the character information and the face image read from the certificate image (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image from certificate image>. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document);
compare the second hash value with the first hash value (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image from certificate image>. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document); and
store information related to the certificate based on (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] –When the calculated hash coincides with the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined <i.e., information related to the identity document is stored based on the compared hashes>; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document) [[the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and]] the first hash value and the second hash value coinciding with each other [[and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other]] (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] –When the calculated hash coincides with the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined <i.e., information related to the identity document is stored based on the compared hashes>; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document).
Yet, Brundage appears to fail to specifically disclose the system configured to acquire a face image of a user by a camera; compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image; display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; and store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other.
However, Singal teaches a similar system for verifying identification when presented and identification document (see abstract), comprising acquire a face image of a user by a camera ([0057-061] and [0089] – the user takes a selfie using the client device <i.e., acquires a face image by a camera>);
compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image ([0057-061] and [0089] – the user takes a selfie using the client device <i.e., acquires a face image by a camera>. The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>);
store information related to the certificate based on ([0057-061] and [0089] – The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>, and an approval or rejection is stored) the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other ([0057-061] and [0089] – The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>, and an approval or rejection is stored).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brundage with the teachings of Singal, configured to acquire a face image of a user by a camera; compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image; and store information related to the certificate based on the first hash value and the second hash value coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, to ensure that the user presenting the ID document is the user represented by the ID document (see, e.g., Singal at [0057-061] and [0089]).
Yet, the combination of Brundage and Singal appears to fail to specifically disclose the system configured to display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other; and wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other.
However, Wilder teaches a similar system for capturing an authenticating selfie (see, e.g., Wilder at abstract, [0004]), configured to display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display ([0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication);
display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user (Fig. 1 and [0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> is displayed on the user’s screen that moves in accordance with the direction of the user’s face image); and
store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other ([0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication. When the user successfully aligns their face/virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> with the target, the user may be determined as a valid live user <i.e., information stored>), wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other ([0028-030], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user’s face is being captured by a camera on the user device, and displayed via a display on the user device. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication. The user may be required to align their face/pointer/target for a specific duration of time <i.e., maintaining face in the state>. An image is taken of the user while their face is aligned with the target <e.g., their face is captured/displayed with the pointer aligning with the target>. When the user successfully aligns their face/virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> with the target according to the rules, the user may be determined as a valid live user <i.e., information stored>).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ID authentication system of Brundage and Singal with the teachings of Wilder to further utilize the liveness check when capturing the face image. Particularly configured to: display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; and store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and the first hash value and the second hash value coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other, to align the user and to ensure a live, valid user is attempting to be authenticated (see, e.g., Wilder at [0004], [0013-0015], and [0020]; with Singal at [0057-061] and [0089]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder teach the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the first hash value is described on the certificate as code information, and wherein the one or more processors acquire the first hash value by reading the code information from the certificate image (Brundage at Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR and facial recognition software. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash <i.e., first hash> of a watermark stored on the identity document <i.e., a watermark is code information describing the first hash>, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder teach the information processing device according to claim 1, to wherein the first hash value is provided in the certificate as an electronic watermark, and wherein the one or more processors acquire the first hash value by reading the electronic watermark from the certificate image (Brundage at Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR and facial recognition software. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash <i.e., first hash> of a watermark stored on the identity document <i.e., a watermark is code information describing the first hash>, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document; [0038] – a QR code may also be used).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder teach the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the certificate includes a storage (Singal at [0005-0006] – the identification document can include an NFC chip/watermark <i.e., storage>; also Brundage at Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – When calculated hash of the watermark on the identity document matches a comparison hash <i.e., first hash>, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared hash can be of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document; [0038] – a QR code may also be used), wherein the first hash value is stored in the storage (Singal at [0071], [0077], and [0035] – the comparison hash value <i.e., first hash> can be stored on the NFC chip/watermark <i.e., storage>. The hash is read by a scanner to perform a authentication comparison; also Brundage at Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – When calculated hash of the watermark on the identity document matches a comparison hash <i.e., first hash>, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared hash can be of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document; [0038] – a QR code may also be used), and wherein the one or more processors read the first hash value from the storage of the certificate (Singal at [0071], [0077], and [0035] – the comparison hash value <i.e., first hash> can be stored on the NFC chip <i.e., storage>. The hash is read by a scanner to perform a authentication comparison; with Brundage at Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – When calculated hash of the watermark on the identity document matches a comparison hash <i.e., first hash>, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared hash can be of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document; [0038] – a QR code may also be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder with the teachings of Singal, wherein the certificate includes a storage, wherein the first hash value is stored in the storage, and wherein the one or more processors read the first hash value from the storage of the certificate, to securely store the hash on the identification document to retrieve it and ensure the document has not been tampered(see, e.g., Singal at [0035], [0071], and [0077]; with Brundage at [0054], [0038], and [0061-62]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder teach the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors generate the second hash value from a data string including the character information and the face image read from the certificate image (Brundage at Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image from certificate image>. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software <i.e., combination/string of both>. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder teach the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors store the certificate image in a database (Singal at [0024], [0034], and [0039] – wherein a server is provided the identification document and stores it <i.e., a database> in memory for subsequent analysis). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder with the teachings of Singal, wherein the one or more processors store the certificate image in a database, to efficiently and securely perform larger and/or more computationally intensive operations by a trusted party (see, e.g., Singal at [0024], [0034], and [0071]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder teach the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors store the character information included in the certificate image and the face image read from the certificate image in a database (Singal at [0024], [0034], [0058-059], and [0039] – wherein a server is provided the identification document and stores it <i.e., a database> in memory for subsequent analysis. OCR’d and face information may be extracted and analyzed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder with the teachings of Singal, wherein the one or more processors store the character information included in the certificate image and the face image read from the certificate image in a database, to efficiently and securely perform larger and/or more computationally intensive operations by a trusted party (see, e.g., Singal at [0024], [0034], and [0071]).
Regarding claim 12, Brundage teaches an information processing method comprising:
acquiring a certificate and generating a certificate image ([0032], [0059-062], and [0081] – An identification document <i.e., certificate> is presented <i.e., acquired>. An image is generated based on the identification document <i.e., certificate image generated>);
acquiring a first hash value from the certificate (Fig. 6, [0081], [0054], and [0061-062]– A watermark is read from the certificate. The watermark comprises a hash value <i.e., first hash value>. When the hash <i.e., first hash value> of the watermark matches a hash calculated based on the certificate image, a match is determined; [0045-046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document);
reading character information and a face image from the certificate image (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image from certificate image>. A hash is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document);
calculating a second hash value using the character information and the face image read from the certificate image (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image from certificate image>. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document);
comparing the second hash value with the first hash value (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image from certificate image>. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document); and
storing information related to the certificate based on (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] –When the calculated hash coincides with the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined <i.e., information related to the identity document is stored based on the compared hashes>; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document) [[the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and]] the first hash value and the second hash value coinciding with each other [[and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other]] (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] –When the calculated hash coincides with the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined <i.e., information related to the identity document is stored based on the compared hashes>; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document).
Yet, Brundage appears to fail to specifically disclose the system configured to acquire a face image of a user by a camera; compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image; display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; and store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other.
However, Singal teaches a similar system for verifying identification when presented and identification document (see abstract), comprising acquiring a face image of a user by a camera ([0057-061] and [0089] – the user takes a selfie using the client device <i.e., acquires a face image by a camera>);
comparing the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image ([0057-061] and [0089] – the user takes a selfie using the client device <i.e., acquires a face image by a camera>. The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>);
store information related to the certificate based on ([0057-061] and [0089] – The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>, and an approval or rejection is stored) the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other ([0057-061] and [0089] – The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>, and an approval or rejection is stored).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brundage with the teachings of Singal, configured to acquire a face image of a user by a camera; compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image; and store information related to the certificate based on the first hash value and the second hash value coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, to ensure that the user presenting the ID document is the user represented by the ID document (see, e.g., Singal at [0057-061] and [0089]).
Yet, Singal appears to fail to specifically disclose the system configured to display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other; and wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other.
However, Wilder teaches a similar system for capturing an authenticating selfie (see, e.g., Wilder at abstract, [0004]), configured to display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display ([0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication);
displaying, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user (Fig. 1 and [0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> is displayed on the user’s screen that moves in accordance with the direction of the user’s face image); and
storing information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other ([0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication. When the user successfully aligns their face/virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> with the target, the user may be determined as a valid live user <i.e., information stored>), wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other ([0028-030], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user’s face is being captured by a camera on the user device, and displayed via a display on the user device. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication. The user may be required to align their face/pointer/target for a specific duration of time <i.e., maintaining face in the state>. An image is taken of the user while their face is aligned with the target <e.g., their face is captured/displayed with the pointer aligning with the target>. When the user successfully aligns their face/virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> with the target according to the rules, the user may be determined as a valid live user <i.e., information stored>).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ID authentication system of Brundage and Singal with the teachings of Wilder to further utilize the liveness check when capturing the face image. Particularly configured to: display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; and store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and the first hash value and the second hash value coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other, to align the user and to ensure a live, valid user is attempting to be authenticated (see, e.g., Wilder at [0004], [0013-0015], and [0020]; with Singal at [0057-061] and [0089]).
Regarding claim 16, Brundage teaches an information processing device comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions ([0056-057] – system comprises instructions stored in memory and being executing via processor); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions ([0056-057] – system comprises instructions stored in memory and being executing via processor) to:
acquire a certificate and generate a certificate image ([0032], [0059-062], and [0081] – An identification document <i.e., certificate> is presented <i.e., acquired>. An image is generated based on the identification document <i.e., certificate image generated>);
read a face image from the certificate image (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image read from the certificate image>. A hash is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document).
Yet, Brundage appears to fail to specifically disclose the system configured to acquire a face image of a user by a camera; compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image; display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; and store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other.
However, Singal teaches a similar system for verifying identification when presented and identification document (see abstract), configured to
acquire a face image of a user by a camera ([0057-061] and [0089] – the user takes a selfie using the client device <i.e., acquires a face image by a camera>);
compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image ([0057-061] and [0089] – the user takes a selfie using the client device <i.e., acquires a face image by a camera>. The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>);
store information related to the certificate based on ([0057-061] and [0089] – The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>, and an approval or rejection is stored) the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other ([0057-061] and [0089] – The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>, and an approval or rejection is stored).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brundage with the teachings of Singal, configured to acquire a face image of a user by a camera; compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image; and store information related to the certificate based on the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, to ensure that the user presenting the ID document is the user represented by the ID document (see, e.g., Singal at [0057-061] and [0089]).
Yet, the combination of Brundage and Singal appears to fail to specifically disclose the system configured to display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other; and wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other.
However, Wilder teaches a similar system for capturing an authenticating selfie (see, e.g., Wilder at abstract, [0004]), configured to display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display ([0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication);
display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user (Fig. 1 and [0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> is displayed on the user’s screen that moves in accordance with the direction of the user’s face image); and
store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other ([0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication. When the user successfully aligns their face/virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> with the target, the user may be determined as a valid live user <i.e., information stored>), wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other ([0028-030], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user’s face is being captured by a camera on the user device, and displayed via a display on the user device. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication. The user may be required to align their face/pointer/target for a specific duration of time <i.e., maintaining face in the state>. An image is taken of the user while their face is aligned with the target <e.g., their face is captured/displayed with the pointer aligning with the target>. When the user successfully aligns their face/virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> with the target according to the rules, the user may be determined as a valid live user <i.e., information stored>).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ID authentication system of Brundage and Singal with the teachings of Wilder to further utilize the liveness check when capturing the face image. Particularly configured to: display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; and store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other, to align the user and to ensure a live, valid user is attempting to be authenticated (see, e.g., Wilder at [0004], [0013-0015], and [0020]; with Singal at [0057-061] and [0089]).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder, further in view of Shingo et al. (JP2017021603, hereinafter “Shingo”) and Bradley et al. (US20030223584, hereinafter “Bradley”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder teach the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors generate the second hash value by combining a |character value| generated from the character information and a |media value| generated from the face image read from the certificate image (Brundage at Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image from certificate image>. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software <i.e., combination/string of both>. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document).
Yet, the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder appears to fail to specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors generate the second hash value by combining a third hash value generated from the character information and a fourth hash value generated from the face image read from the certificate image.
However, Shingo teaches a similar system for verifying authenticity of a media signature read from a face image (see, e.g., [0026-032], [0045], [0054-057]), wherein a media signature may be a hash generated from the face image ([0026-032], [0045], [0054-057] – a photo ID is scanned and feature information is extracted from the photo ID image. A hash is generated from the extracted feature information. The hash may be used in authenticating the photo ID).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the media value of the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder with the teachings of Shingo, wherein the one or more processors generate the combined value by combining a media value generated from the character information and a hash value generated from the face image, to provide secure authentication while reducing the combination calculations, and so that the face may be individually authenticated (see, e.g., Brundage at [0058-062], [0081], and [0038]; with Shingo at [0026-032], [0045], [0054-057]).
Yet, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Shingo appears to fail to specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors generate the second hash value by combining a third hash value generated from the character information and a fourth hash value generated from the face image read from the certificate image.
However, Bradley teaches a similar system for verifying authenticity of a media signature read from a certificate image (see, e.g., Bradley at [0009-010], [0021], [0038-039]), wherein a media signature may be a hash generated from the character information ([0009-010], [0021], [0038-039] – an identification document is scanned and character information is extracted from the certificate image. A hash is generated from the extracted character information. The hash may be used in authenticating the identification document).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the media value of the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Shingo with the teachings of Bradley, wherein the one or more processors generate the combined value by combining a third hash value generated from the character information and a hash value generated from the face image, to provide secure authentication while reducing the combination calculations, and so that both the face and the character information may be individually authenticated (see, e.g., Brundage at [0058-062], [0081], and [0038]; with Shingo at [0026-032], [0045], [0054-057]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, Shingo, and Bradley teach the information processing device according to claim 8, wherein the one or more processors extract feature information from the face image read from the certificate image and generate the fourth hash value using the feature information (Shingo at [0026-032], [0045], [0054-057] – a photo ID is scanned and feature information is extracted from the photo ID image. A hash is generated from the extracted feature information. The hash may be used in authenticating the photo ID).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, Shingo, and Bradley with the teachings of Shingo, wherein the one or more processors extract feature information from the face image and generate the hash value using the feature information, to provide secure authentication while reducing the bit-size to be authenticated/embedded into the watermark (see, e.g., Bradley at [0009-011] and [0028-034]; with Shingo at [0026-032], [0045], [0054-057]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brundage, Singal, and Wilder, further in view of Takeshi et al. (JP2020064541, hereinafter “Takeshi”).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder teach the information processing device according to claim 1. Yet the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder appear to fail to specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to: display a first button indicating an authentication by passcode and a second button indicating ana authentication by face; perform the authentication by passcode in a case where the first button is selected by a user and perform the authentication by face based on the second button being selected by the user; and display a registered certificate image based on the display authentication being successful.
However, Takeshi teaches a similar system comprising reading information of a photo ID via a scanning system, and authenticating the photo ID (see, e.g., Takeshi at [0050-057]), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to: display a first button indicating an authentication by passcode and a second button indicating ana authentication by face ([0111-0115] – a first button is presented to the user for authenticating via PIN <i.e., passcode> authentication. A successful verification may be completed when the correct PIN is entered; [0177] and [0131-142] – a second button is presented to the user for authentication via face); perform the authentication by passcode in a case where the first button is selected by a user and perform the authentication by face based on the second button being selected by the user ([0111-0115] – a button is presented to the user for authenticating via PIN <i.e., passcode> authentication. When selected, a successful verification may be completed when the correct PIN is entered; [0177] and [0131-142] – a button is presented to the user for authentication via face. When selected, a successful authentication may be performed when the bearer of the photo ID’s face matches the face of the photo ID); and display a registered certificate image based on the display authentication being successful ([0175], [0111-0115], and [0131-142] – a photo ID is verified based on the user/user’s selections. The verification may be performed, e.g., when opening an account <i.e., registering> with a financial institution. A result of the registration is displayed to the user when an account is successfully opened).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bradley with the teachings of Takeshi, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to: display a first button indicating an authentication by passcode and a second button indicating ana authentication by face; perform the authentication by passcode in a case where the first button is selected by a user and perform the authentication by face based on the second button being selected by the user; and display a registered certificate image based on the display authentication being successful, to provide identification flexibility to users when registering with financial institutions (see, e.g., Takeshi at [0175], [0111-0115], and [0131-142]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yeom (KR100455311) teaches a system for generating a combined photo ID hash based on character information and image data, and verifying the photo ID based on the combined hash (see, e.g., abstract, [0025-026]). Rhoads et al. (US20100029380) teaches a system for verifying authenticity of a printed object by embedding watermarks into the printed object, and verifying the printed object using the embedded hash (see, e.g., abstract, [0080], and [0164]).
/J.R.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2438 /TAGHI T ARANI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2438