DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is in response to claims 1, 4-12, and 15-19 filed on 05/07/2026 for examination. Claims 1, 4-12, and 15-19 are being examined and are pending.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed May 7, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-12, and 15-16 remain pending in the application. Claims 2-3 and 13-14 are cancelled. Claims 17-19 are new. The claims have been amended. Applicant’s arguments and amendments to the claims have overcome each and every claim objection and 112 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed February 12, 2026. Claims 1, 12, and 16 have been amended and have necessitated a new ground(s) of rejection in this Office Action. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/07/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection because the arguments do not apply to any of the updated reference(s) being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, and 10-12, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brundage et al. (US20050067487, hereinafter “Brundage”) in view of Singal et al. (US20200334431, hereinafter “Singal”), Wilder (US20170185760, hereinafter “Wilder”), and Tunnell et al. (US20140108241; Hereinafter “Tunnell”).
Regarding claim 1, Brundage teaches an information processing device comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions ([0056-057] – system comprises instructions stored in memory and being executing via processor); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions ([0056-057] – system comprises instructions stored in memory and being executing via processor) to:
acquire a certificate and generate a certificate image ([0032], [0059-062], and [0081] – An identification document <i.e., certificate> is presented <i.e., acquired>. An image is generated based on the identification document <i.e., certificate image generated>);
acquire a first hash value from the certificate (Fig. 6, [0081], [0054], and [0061-062]– A watermark is read from the certificate. The watermark comprises a hash value <i.e., first hash value>. When the hash <i.e., first hash value> of the watermark matches a hash calculated based on the certificate image, a match is determined; [0045-046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document);
read character information and a face image from the certificate image (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image read from the certificate image>. A hash is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document);
calculate a second hash value using the character information and the face image read from the certificate image (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image from certificate image>. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document);
compare the second hash value with the first hash value (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image from certificate image>. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document); and
store information related to the certificate based on (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] –When the calculated hash coincides with the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined <i.e., information related to the identity document is stored based on the compared hashes>; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document) [[the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and]] the first hash value and the second hash value coinciding with each other [[and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other]] (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] –When the calculated hash coincides with the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined <i.e., information related to the identity document is stored based on the compared hashes>; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document).
Yet, Brundage appears to fail to specifically disclose the system configured to acquire a face image of a user by a camera; compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image; display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; and store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other; and receive a user's selection of display authentication method for displaying the stored information related to the certificate; and in a case where the display authentication of the user is successful by the display authentication method of the user's selection, display buttons for designating information to be displayed among the stored information related to the certificate.
However, Singal teaches a similar system for verifying identification when presented and identification document (see abstract), comprising acquire a face image of a user by a camera ([0057-061] and [0089] – the user takes a selfie using the client device <i.e., acquires a face image by a camera>);
compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image ([0057-061] and [0089] – the user takes a selfie using the client device <i.e., acquires a face image by a camera>. The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>);
store information related to the certificate based on ([0057-061] and [0089] – The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>, and an approval or rejection is stored) the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other ([0057-061] and [0089] – The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>, and an approval or rejection is stored).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brundage with the teachings of Singal, configured to acquire a face image of a user by a camera; compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image; and store information related to the certificate based on the first hash value and the second hash value coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, to ensure that the user presenting the ID document is the user represented by the ID document (see, e.g., Singal at [0057-061] and [0089]).
Yet, the combination of Brundage and Singal appears to fail to specifically disclose the system configured to display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other; and wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other; and receive a user's selection of display authentication method for displaying the stored information related to the certificate; and in a case where the display authentication of the user is successful by the display authentication method of the user's selection, display buttons for designating information to be displayed among the stored information related to the certificate.
However, Wilder teaches a similar system for capturing an authenticating selfie (see, e.g., Wilder at abstract, [0004]), configured to display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display ([0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication);
display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with a direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user (Fig. 1 and [0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> is displayed on the user’s screen that moves in accordance with the direction of the user’s face image); and
store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other ([0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication. When the user successfully aligns their face/virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> with the target, the user may be determined as a valid live user <i.e., information stored>), wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other ([0028-030], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user’s face is being captured by a camera on the user device, and displayed via a display on the user device. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication. The user may be required to align their face/pointer/target for a specific duration of time <i.e., maintaining face in the state>. An image is taken of the user while their face is aligned with the target <e.g., their face is captured/displayed with the pointer aligning with the target>. When the user successfully aligns their face/virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> with the target according to the rules, the user may be determined as a valid live user <i.e., information stored>).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ID authentication system of Brundage and Singal with the teachings of Wilder to further utilize the liveness check when capturing the face image. Particularly configured to: display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; and store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and the first hash value and the second hash value coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other, to align the user and to ensure a live, valid user is attempting to be authenticated (see, e.g., Wilder at [0004], [0013-0015], and [0020]; with Singal at [0057-061] and [0089]).
Yet, the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder appears to fail to specifically disclose the device configured to receive a user's selection of display authentication method for displaying the stored information related to the certificate; and in a case where the display authentication of the user is successful by the display authentication method of the user's selection, display buttons for designating information to be displayed among the stored information related to the certificate.
However, Tunnell teaches a similar system for displaying information related to identification information (see, e.g., Tunnell at [0011] and [0094-109]), receive a user's selection of display authentication method for displaying the stored information related to the certificate ([0071] and [0094-109] – the user may configure a password/biometric password/pattern/signature authentication <i.e., user selects authentication method>. The authentication may be required to display private data <i.e., a display authentication method required to display the data>); and
in a case where the display authentication of the user is successful by the display authentication method of the user's selection, display buttons for designating information to be displayed among the stored information related to the certificate ([0011], [0088], and [0091] – after a successful authentication, the user selects ID/other information for viewing using a touch display. Associated information/aliases are selectable using buttons <i.e., buttons for designating information> and based on the user selections the user’s information may be selected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder with the teachings of Tunnell, configured to receive a user's selection of display authentication method for displaying the stored information related to the certificate; and in a case where the display authentication of the user is successful by the display authentication method of the user's selection, display buttons for designating information to be displayed among the stored information related to the certificate, to allow users to securely and conveniently review their stored identification information (see, e.g., Tunnell at [0011], [0077], and [0093-109]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell teach the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the first hash value is described on the certificate as code information, and wherein the one or more processors acquire the first hash value by reading the code information from the certificate image (Brundage at Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR and facial recognition software. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash <i.e., first hash> of a watermark stored on the identity document <i.e., a watermark is code information describing the first hash>, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell teach the information processing device according to claim 1, to wherein the first hash value is provided in the certificate as an electronic watermark, and wherein the one or more processors acquire the first hash value by reading the electronic watermark from the certificate image (Brundage at Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR and facial recognition software. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash <i.e., first hash> of a watermark stored on the identity document <i.e., a watermark is code information describing the first hash>, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document; [0038] – a QR code may also be used).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell teach the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the certificate includes a storage (Singal at [0005-0006] – the identification document can include an NFC chip/watermark <i.e., storage>; also Brundage at Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – When calculated hash of the watermark on the identity document matches a comparison hash <i.e., first hash>, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared hash can be of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document; [0038] – a QR code may also be used), wherein the first hash value is stored in the storage (Singal at [0071], [0077], and [0035] – the comparison hash value <i.e., first hash> can be stored on the NFC chip/watermark <i.e., storage>. The hash is read by a scanner to perform a authentication comparison; also Brundage at Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – When calculated hash of the watermark on the identity document matches a comparison hash <i.e., first hash>, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared hash can be of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document; [0038] – a QR code may also be used), and wherein the one or more processors read the first hash value from the storage of the certificate (Singal at [0071], [0077], and [0035] – the comparison hash value <i.e., first hash> can be stored on the NFC chip <i.e., storage>. The hash is read by a scanner to perform a authentication comparison; with Brundage at Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – When calculated hash of the watermark on the identity document matches a comparison hash <i.e., first hash>, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared hash can be of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document; [0038] – a QR code may also be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combination of the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell with the teachings of Singal, wherein the certificate includes a storage, wherein the first hash value is stored in the storage, and wherein the one or more processors read the first hash value from the storage of the certificate, to securely store the hash on the identification document to retrieve it and ensure the document has not been tampered(see, e.g., Singal at [0035], [0071], and [0077]; with Brundage at [0054], [0038], and [0061-62]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell teach the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors generate the second hash value from a data string including the character information and the face image read from the certificate image (Brundage at Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image from certificate image>. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software <i.e., combination/string of both>. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell teach the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors store the certificate image in a database (Singal at [0024], [0034], and [0039] – wherein a server is provided the identification document and stores it <i.e., a database> in memory for subsequent analysis). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder with the teachings of Singal, wherein the one or more processors store the certificate image in a database, to efficiently and securely perform larger and/or more computationally intensive operations by a trusted party (see, e.g., Singal at [0024], [0034], and [0071]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell teach the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors store the character information included in the certificate image and the face image read from the certificate image in a database (Singal at [0024], [0034], [0058-059], and [0039] – wherein a server is provided the identification document and stores it <i.e., a database> in memory for subsequent analysis. OCR’d and face information may be extracted and analyzed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder with the teachings of Singal, wherein the one or more processors store the character information included in the certificate image and the face image read from the certificate image in a database, to efficiently and securely perform larger and/or more computationally intensive operations by a trusted party (see, e.g., Singal at [0024], [0034], and [0071]).
Regarding claim 12, Brundage teaches an information processing method comprising:
acquiring a certificate and generating a certificate image ([0032], [0059-062], and [0081] – An identification document <i.e., certificate> is presented <i.e., acquired>. An image is generated based on the identification document <i.e., certificate image generated>);
acquiring a first hash value from the certificate (Fig. 6, [0081], [0054], and [0061-062]– A watermark is read from the certificate. The watermark comprises a hash value <i.e., first hash value>. When the hash <i.e., first hash value> of the watermark matches a hash calculated based on the certificate image, a match is determined; [0045-046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document);
reading character information and a face image from the certificate image (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image from certificate image>. A hash is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document);
calculating a second hash value using the character information and the face image read from the certificate image (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image from certificate image>. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document);
comparing the second hash value with the first hash value (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image from certificate image>. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document); and
storing information related to the certificate based on (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] –When the calculated hash coincides with the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined <i.e., information related to the identity document is stored based on the compared hashes>; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document) [[the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and]] the first hash value and the second hash value coinciding with each other [[and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other]] (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] –When the calculated hash coincides with the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined <i.e., information related to the identity document is stored based on the compared hashes>; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document).
Yet, Brundage appears to fail to specifically disclose the system configured to acquire a face image of a user by a camera; compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image; display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; and store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other; and receive a user's selection of display authentication method for displaying the stored information related to the certificate; and in a case where the display authentication of the user is successful by the display authentication method of the user's selection, display buttons for designating information to be displayed among the stored information related to the certificate.
However, Singal teaches a similar system for verifying identification when presented and identification document (see abstract), comprising acquiring a face image of a user by a camera ([0057-061] and [0089] – the user takes a selfie using the client device <i.e., acquires a face image by a camera>);
comparing the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image ([0057-061] and [0089] – the user takes a selfie using the client device <i.e., acquires a face image by a camera>. The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>);
store information related to the certificate based on ([0057-061] and [0089] – The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>, and an approval or rejection is stored) the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other ([0057-061] and [0089] – The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>, and an approval or rejection is stored).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brundage with the teachings of Singal, configured to acquire a face image of a user by a camera; compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image; and store information related to the certificate based on the first hash value and the second hash value coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, to ensure that the user presenting the ID document is the user represented by the ID document (see, e.g., Singal at [0057-061] and [0089]).
Yet, Singal appears to fail to specifically disclose the system configured to display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other; and wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other; and receive a user's selection of display authentication method for displaying the stored information related to the certificate; and in a case where the display authentication of the user is successful by the display authentication method of the user's selection, display buttons for designating information to be displayed among the stored information related to the certificate.
However, Wilder teaches a similar system for capturing an authenticating selfie (see, e.g., Wilder at abstract, [0004]), configured to display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display ([0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication);
displaying, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with a direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user (Fig. 1 and [0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> is displayed on the user’s screen that moves in accordance with the direction of the user’s face image); and
storing information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other ([0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication. When the user successfully aligns their face/virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> with the target, the user may be determined as a valid live user <i.e., information stored>), wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other ([0028-030], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user’s face is being captured by a camera on the user device, and displayed via a display on the user device. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication. The user may be required to align their face/pointer/target for a specific duration of time <i.e., maintaining face in the state>. An image is taken of the user while their face is aligned with the target <e.g., their face is captured/displayed with the pointer aligning with the target>. When the user successfully aligns their face/virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> with the target according to the rules, the user may be determined as a valid live user <i.e., information stored>).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ID authentication system of Brundage and Singal with the teachings of Wilder to further utilize the liveness check when capturing the face image. Particularly configured to: display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; and store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and the first hash value and the second hash value coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other, to align the user and to ensure a live, valid user is attempting to be authenticated (see, e.g., Wilder at [0004], [0013-0015], and [0020]; with Singal at [0057-061] and [0089]).
Yet, the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder appears to fail to specifically disclose the device configured to receive a user's selection of display authentication method for displaying the stored information related to the certificate; and in a case where the display authentication of the user is successful by the display authentication method of the user's selection, display buttons for designating information to be displayed among the stored information related to the certificate.
However, Tunnell teaches a similar system for displaying information related to identification information (see, e.g., Tunnell at [0011] and [0094-109]), receive a user's selection of display authentication method for displaying the stored information related to the certificate ([0071] and [0094-109] – the user may configure a password/biometric password/pattern/signature authentication <i.e., user selects authentication method>. The authentication may be required to display private data <i.e., a display authentication method required to display the data>); and
in a case where the display authentication of the user is successful by the display authentication method of the user's selection, display buttons for designating information to be displayed among the stored information related to the certificate ([0011], [0088], and [0091] – after a successful authentication, the user selects ID/other information for viewing using a touch display. Associated information/aliases are selectable using buttons <i.e., buttons for designating information> and based on the user selections the user’s information may be selected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder with the teachings of Tunnell, configured to receive a user's selection of display authentication method for displaying the stored information related to the certificate; and in a case where the display authentication of the user is successful by the display authentication method of the user's selection, display buttons for designating information to be displayed among the stored information related to the certificate, to allow users to securely and conveniently review their stored identification information (see, e.g., Tunnell at [0011], [0077], and [0093-109]).
Regarding claim 16, Brundage teaches an information processing device comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions ([0056-057] – system comprises instructions stored in memory and being executing via processor); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions ([0056-057] – system comprises instructions stored in memory and being executing via processor) to:
acquire a certificate and generate a certificate image ([0032], [0059-062], and [0081] – An identification document <i.e., certificate> is presented <i.e., acquired>. An image is generated based on the identification document <i.e., certificate image generated>);
read a face image from the certificate image (Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image read from the certificate image>. A hash is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document).
Yet, Brundage appears to fail to specifically disclose the system configured to acquire a face image of a user by a camera; compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image; display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; and store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other; and receive a user's selection of display authentication method for displaying the stored information related to the certificate; and in a case where the display authentication of the user is successful by the display authentication method of the user's selection, display buttons for designating information to be displayed among the stored information related to the certificate.
However, Singal teaches a similar system for verifying identification when presented and identification document (see abstract), configured to
acquire a face image of a user by a camera ([0057-061] and [0089] – the user takes a selfie using the client device <i.e., acquires a face image by a camera>);
compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image ([0057-061] and [0089] – the user takes a selfie using the client device <i.e., acquires a face image by a camera>. The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>);
store information related to the certificate based on ([0057-061] and [0089] – The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>, and an approval or rejection is stored) the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other ([0057-061] and [0089] – The face image is compared against the photo visible on the ID document <i.e., the face image read from the certificate image>, and an approval or rejection is stored).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brundage with the teachings of Singal, configured to acquire a face image of a user by a camera; compare the acquired face image of the user with the face image read from the certificate image; and store information related to the certificate based on the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, to ensure that the user presenting the ID document is the user represented by the ID document (see, e.g., Singal at [0057-061] and [0089]).
Yet, the combination of Brundage and Singal appears to fail to specifically disclose the system configured to display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other; and wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other; and receive a user's selection of display authentication method for displaying the stored information related to the certificate; and in a case where the display authentication of the user is successful by the display authentication method of the user's selection, display buttons for designating information to be displayed among the stored information related to the certificate.
However, Wilder teaches a similar system for capturing an authenticating selfie (see, e.g., Wilder at abstract, [0004]), configured to display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display ([0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication);
display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with a direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user (Fig. 1 and [0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> is displayed on the user’s screen that moves in accordance with the direction of the user’s face image); and
store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other ([0004], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication. When the user successfully aligns their face/virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> with the target, the user may be determined as a valid live user <i.e., information stored>), wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other ([0028-030], [0013-014], and [0020] – a user’s face, a virtual pointer, and a target <i.e., target point> are displayed for facial verification. The user’s face is being captured by a camera on the user device, and displayed via a display on the user device. The user must point their face <and by extension, the virtual pointer> at the target for authentication. The user may be required to align their face/pointer/target for a specific duration of time <i.e., maintaining face in the state>. An image is taken of the user while their face is aligned with the target <e.g., their face is captured/displayed with the pointer aligning with the target>. When the user successfully aligns their face/virtual pointer <i.e., cursor> with the target according to the rules, the user may be determined as a valid live user <i.e., information stored>).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ID authentication system of Brundage and Singal with the teachings of Wilder to further utilize the liveness check when capturing the face image. Particularly configured to: display the acquired face image of the user and a target point on a display; display, on the display, a cursor that moves in accordance with the direction of a user's face in the acquired face image of the user; and store information related to the certificate based on the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other and the acquired face image of the user and the face image read from the certificate image coinciding with each other, wherein the one or more processors acquire the face image of the user by the camera while the user maintains the direction of the face in a state that the position of the cursor and the position of the target point on the display coinciding with each other, to align the user and to ensure a live, valid user is attempting to be authenticated (see, e.g., Wilder at [0004], [0013-0015], and [0020]; with Singal at [0057-061] and [0089]).
Yet, the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder appears to fail to specifically disclose the device configured to receive a user's selection of display authentication method for displaying the stored information related to the certificate; and in a case where the display authentication of the user is successful by the display authentication method of the user's selection, display buttons for designating information to be displayed among the stored information related to the certificate.
However, Tunnell teaches a similar system for displaying information related to identification information (see, e.g., Tunnell at [0011] and [0094-109]), receive a user's selection of display authentication method for displaying the stored information related to the certificate ([0071] and [0094-109] – the user may configure a password/biometric password/pattern/signature authentication <i.e., user selects authentication method>. The authentication may be required to display private data <i.e., a display authentication method required to display the data>); and
in a case where the display authentication of the user is successful by the display authentication method of the user's selection, display buttons for designating information to be displayed among the stored information related to the certificate ([0011], [0088], and [0091] – after a successful authentication, the user selects ID/other information for viewing using a touch display. Associated information/aliases are selectable using buttons <i.e., buttons for designating information> and based on the user selections the user’s information may be selected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder with the teachings of Tunnell, configured to receive a user's selection of display authentication method for displaying the stored information related to the certificate; and in a case where the display authentication of the user is successful by the display authentication method of the user's selection, display buttons for designating information to be displayed among the stored information related to the certificate, to allow users to securely and conveniently review their stored identification information (see, e.g., Tunnell at [0011], [0077], and [0093-109]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell teach the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the buttons includes a button designating all information, a button designating an age, a button designating a name and an address, and a button designating a digital code (Brundage at [0044-049] – stores certificate information relating to an age/birth date, a name, an address, the barcode and watermark <i.e. digital codes>, and all information stored in the barcode; with Tunnell at [0088-092] – aliases/categories/stored personal information are presented through a user interface with buttons for selecting and viewing the selected private information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell with the teachings of Tunnell, wherein the buttons includes a button designating all information, a button designating an age, a button designating a name and an address, and a button designating a digital code, to allow users to securely and conveniently review their stored identification information (see, e.g., Tunnell at [0011], [0077], and [0093-109]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell teach the information processing device according to claim 17, wherein the one or more processors display the information corresponding to the button selected by the user on the display, in a case where the one or more processors receives a selection of the button (Brundage at [0044-049] – stores certificate information relating to an age/birth date, a name, an address, the barcode and watermark <i.e. digital codes>, and all information stored in the barcode; with Tunnell at [0088] and [0091] – the user selects, using buttons, an alias/personal information the user would like to view, and the user interface displays details of the corresponding alias/personal information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell with the teachings of Tunnell, wherein the one or more processors display the information corresponding to the button selected by the user on the display, in a case where the one or more processors receives a selection of the button, to allow users to securely and conveniently review their stored identification information (see, e.g., Tunnell at [0011], [0077], and [0093-109]).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell, further in view of Shingo et al. (JP2017021603, hereinafter “Shingo”) and Bradley et al. (US20030223584, hereinafter “Bradley”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell teach the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors generate the second hash value by combining a |character value| generated from the character information and a |media value| generated from the face image read from the certificate image (Brundage at Fig. 6, [0054], [0061-062], and [0081] – An image is captured of an identification document. Data from the image may be read via, e.g., OCR <i.e., character information from certificate image> and facial recognition software <i.e., face image from certificate image>. A hash <i.e., second hash> is calculated based on the OCR and facial recognition software <i.e., combination/string of both>. When the calculated hash matches the hash of a watermark stored on the identity document, a match is determined; [0046] – the compared watermark can be based on a hash of, e.g., the photograph, birth date, name, and card number located on an identity document).
Yet, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell appears to fail to specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors generate the second hash value by combining a third hash value generated from the character information and a fourth hash value generated from the face image read from the certificate image.
However, Shingo teaches a similar system for verifying authenticity of a media signature read from a face image (see, e.g., [0026-032], [0045], [0054-057]), wherein a media signature may be a hash generated from the face image ([0026-032], [0045], [0054-057] – a photo ID is scanned and feature information is extracted from the photo ID image. A hash is generated from the extracted feature information. The hash may be used in authenticating the photo ID).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the media value of the combination of the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell with the teachings of Shingo, wherein the one or more processors generate the combined value by combining a media value generated from the character information and a hash value generated from the face image, to provide secure authentication while reducing the combination calculations, and so that the face may be individually authenticated (see, e.g., Brundage at [0058-062], [0081], and [0038]; with Shingo at [0026-032], [0045], [0054-057]).
Yet, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, Tunnell, and Shingo appears to fail to specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors generate the second hash value by combining a third hash value generated from the character information and a fourth hash value generated from the face image read from the certificate image.
However, Bradley teaches a similar system for verifying authenticity of a media signature read from a certificate image (see, e.g., Bradley at [0009-010], [0021], [0038-039]), wherein a media signature may be a hash generated from the character information ([0009-010], [0021], [0038-039] – an identification document is scanned and character information is extracted from the certificate image. A hash is generated from the extracted character information. The hash may be used in authenticating the identification document).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the media value of the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, Tunnell, and Shingo with the teachings of Bradley, wherein the one or more processors generate the combined value by combining a third hash value generated from the character information and a hash value generated from the face image, to provide secure authentication while reducing the combination calculations, and so that both the face and the character information may be individually authenticated (see, e.g., Brundage at [0058-062], [0081], and [0038]; with Shingo at [0026-032], [0045], [0054-057]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, Tunnell, Shingo, and Bradley teach the information processing device according to claim 8, wherein the one or more processors extract feature information from the face image read from the certificate image and generate the fourth hash value using the feature information (Shingo at [0026-032], [0045], [0054-057] – a photo ID is scanned and feature information is extracted from the photo ID image. A hash is generated from the extracted feature information. The hash may be used in authenticating the photo ID).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, Tunnel, Shingo, and Bradley with the teachings of Shingo, wherein the one or more processors extract feature information from the face image and generate the hash value using the feature information, to provide secure authentication while reducing the bit-size to be authenticated/embedded into the watermark (see, e.g., Bradley at [0009-011] and [0028-034]; with Shingo at [0026-032], [0045], [0054-057]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brundage, Singal, and Wilder, and Tunnell, further in view of Takeshi et al. (JP2020064541, hereinafter “Takeshi”).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell teach the information processing device according to claim 1. Yet the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell appear to fail to specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to: display a first button indicating an authentication by passcode and a second button indicating ana authentication by face; perform the authentication by passcode in a case where the first button is selected by a user and perform the authentication by face based on the second button being selected by the user; and display a registered certificate image based on the display authentication being successful.
However, Takeshi teaches a similar system comprising reading information of a photo ID via a scanning system, and authenticating the photo ID (see, e.g., Takeshi at [0050-057]), wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to: display a first button indicating an authentication by passcode and a second button indicating ana authentication by face ([0111-0115] – a first button is presented to the user for authenticating via PIN <i.e., passcode> authentication. A successful verification may be completed when the correct PIN is entered; [0177] and [0131-142] – a second button is presented to the user for authentication via face); perform the authentication by passcode in a case where the first button is selected by a user and perform the authentication by face based on the second button being selected by the user ([0111-0115] – a button is presented to the user for authenticating via PIN <i.e., passcode> authentication. When selected, a successful verification may be completed when the correct PIN is entered; [0177] and [0131-142] – a button is presented to the user for authentication via face. When selected, a successful authentication may be performed when the bearer of the photo ID’s face matches the face of the photo ID); and display a registered certificate image based on the display authentication being successful ([0175], [0111-0115], and [0131-142] – a photo ID is verified based on the user/user’s selections. The verification may be performed, e.g., when opening an account <i.e., registering> with a financial institution. A result of the registration is displayed to the user when an account is successfully opened).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell with the teachings of Takeshi, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to: display a first button indicating an authentication by passcode and a second button indicating ana authentication by face; perform the authentication by passcode in a case where the first button is selected by a user and perform the authentication by face based on the second button being selected by the user; and display a registered certificate image based on the display authentication being successful, to provide identification flexibility to users when registering with financial institutions (see, e.g., Takeshi at [0175], [0111-0115], and [0131-142]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brundage, Singal, and Wilder, and Tunnell, further in view of Krokhalev et al. (US20200234482, hereinafter “Krokhalev”).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder, and Tunnell teach the information processing device according to claim 17, wherein the one or more processors display the entire certificate image on the display in a case where the one or more processors receives a selection of the button designating all information, (Tunnell at [0045], [0088], and [0091] – a user selects an alias/personal information using a touch interface/buttons, and the device displays the selected card’s details/picture of front/picture of back/signature/all desired associated information <i.e., entire certificate image displayed>). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell with the teachings of Tunnell, wherein the one or more processors display the entire certificate image on the display, to allow users to securely and conveniently review their stored identification information (see, e.g., Tunnell at [0011], [0077], and [0093-109]). Yet, the combination of Brundage, Singal, Wilder, and Tunnell appear to fail to specifically disclose wherein the face image of the displayed certificate image is displayed as a moving image.
However, Krokhalev teaches a system for displaying face images (see abstract), wherein the face image of the displayed certificate image is displayed as a moving image ([0006-008], [0043-045], and [0048] – a displayed target image includes a face/background. The face is modified to imitate facial expressions/movements as an animated video).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Brundage, Singal, and Wilder, and Tunnell with the teachings of Krokhalev, wherein the face image of the displayed certificate image is displayed as a moving image, to provide photorealistic visual facial presentations while retaining the surrounding certificate image (see, e.g., Krokhalev at [0006-008] and [0048]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yeom (KR100455311) teaches a system for generating a combined photo ID hash based on character information and image data, and verifying the photo ID based on the combined hash (see, e.g., abstract, [0025-026]). Rhoads et al. (US20100029380) teaches a system for verifying authenticity of a printed object by embedding watermarks into the printed object, and verifying the printed object using the embedded hash (see, e.g., abstract, [0080], and [0164]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.R.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2438 /TAGHI T ARANI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2438