DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed January 29, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Applicant has submitted amendments to the claims along with other remarks. Claims 1-20 are still rejected by prior art references, refer to the following rejection for details.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pp. 7-11 of the response, filed January 29, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration for the amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new reference, please see the rejection for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2021/0345113 (hereinafter “Parron”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2009/0156213 (hereinafter "Spinelli") and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2010/0217882 (hereinafter “Yang”)
Regarding claim 1, Parron teaches: A method for access to Virtual Private Dial-up Networks (VPDN), comprising:
receiving, by an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), an access request for VPDN from a user, the access request for VPDN comprising a Data Network Name (DNN), an account and a key of a target VPDN (Abstract: receive a request from a user equipment (UE) device comprising a virtual local area network data network name (VLAN DNN), [0060] receipt of an intermediate key that was established as a result of the UE 601 authentication process, [024] the UE 210 initiates the process at 201 by including a “VLAN Request” field (indicating a request for the ULAN DNN or an address (e.g., IP address or FQDN) of the VLAN Function) in the additional parameters list in an extended PCO information element (IE) or ePCO IE.);
determining, by the AMF, through a Network Function Repository Function (NRF), a target Session Management Function (SMF) supporting a service of VPDN, and sending a session management context request to the target SMF ([0022] the AMF 120 selects the session/slice management function (SMF) 130 supporting the VLAN, and sends, at 104, a CreateSMContext request in the form of a Namf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request to the SMF 130.); and
selecting, by the SMF, according to the session management context request, a User Plane Function (UPF) supporting the service of VPDN to establish a session, to enable a tunnel between the UPF and the target VPDN to be established ([0023] If authentication is successful, then the SMF sends at 106 a CreateSMContext response in the form of a Namf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Response to the AMF 120, a session is established at 107 involving the policy control function (PCF), and send Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer messages at 108 between the AMF 120 and the SMF 130. In some cases, on successful authentication of the UE 110's credentials for VLAN establishment, the VLAN function may interwork with the user plane function (UPF) to setup additional Quality Flows at 111.).
Although Parron teaches VLAN/VPN formation it does not explicitly teach a VPDN.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Spinelli teaches creating a private tunnel using the RADIUS (Remote Authentication Dial-In User Service) protocol. Specifically, Spinelli teaches: access to Virtual Private Dial-up Networks (VPDN) ([0060] FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating a femto cell to femto cell fast handoff in accordance with certain embodiments. FIG. 11 includes a mobile node 310, a femto cell 1 114a, a femto cell 2 114b, a gateway providing a femto gateway 118, and an authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) server 312. In FIG. 11, IPSec tunnels are already established between femto cell 1 114a and femto gateway 118 with IPSec tunnel 390 as well as femto cell 2 114b and femto gateway 118 with IPSec tunnel 392. A data call or session startup signaling 394 between mobile node 310 and femto cell 114a is used to startup the session or call. Femto cell 114a sends an A11 registration request 396 with the phone number, for example, in digits. Femto gateway 118 sends an A11 registration reply 398. PPP-LCP signaling 400 can begin between mobile node 310 and femto gateway 118. PPP authorization signaling 402 along with radius/diameter authorization signaling 404 is used to authenticate the mobile node 310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parron to include the feature of creating a private tunnel using the RADIUS protocol and a combination of Parron with Spinnelli renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., creating a private tunnel using the RADIUS).
Although Parron teaches receiving a data network name and protocol configuration options (PCO, ePCO), the combination of Parron and Spinelli may not explicitly teach: enable the target VPDN to authenticate the account and key.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches: receiving the access request for VPDN comprising an account and a key of a target VPDN ([0100] Step s1003: The remote system continues to request for establishing an IP session. The remote system initiates a DHCP Request or AUTH (authentication) message, where the DHCP Request or AUTH (authentication) message may include ID information. The ID information further includes key information, where the key information includes a key encrypted with the Challenge value. [0173] thus access a home network of the user using a VPDN) and enable the target VPDN to authenticate the account and key ([0107-108] Step s1011: The authentication and authorization performed by the AAA server of the home network is successful, the AAA server may then respond a successful message of the authentication and authorization (Access Accept) to the SNS. [0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Parron and Spinelli to include the feature of authentication of credentials received in the request and a combination of Parron and Spinelli with Yang renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., authentication of credentials received in the request).
Regarding claim 2, Parron teaches: wherein determining, by the AMF, through the NRF, the SMF supporting the service of VPDN comprises: the AMF sending a Network Function (NF) discover request to the NRF, the NF discover request comprising the DNN of the target VPDN; and determining, by the NRF, according to the DNN, an SMF supporting the service of VPDN, and feeding back the SMF as the target SMF to the AMF ([0068] The NRF 625 may support service discovery functions, receive NF discovery requests from NF instances, and provide the information of the discovered NF instances to the NF instances. NRF 625 also maintains information of available NF instances and their supported services. As used herein, the terms “instantiate,” “instantiation,” and the like may refer to the creation of an instance, and an “instance” may refer to a concrete occurrence of an object, which may occur, for example, during execution of program code. Additionally, the NRF 625 may exhibit the Nnrf service-based interface. [0022] the AMF 120 selects the session/slice management function (SMF) 130 supporting the VLAN).
Regarding claim 4, Parron teaches: wherein the access request for VPDN is carried by a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message ([0022] The VLAN DNN can be part of the UL NAS Transport message carrying the PDU Session Establishment Request).
Regarding claim 7, Parron teaches: further comprising, the UPF receiving a session establishment request from the SMF, and establishing the tunnel in a case where determining that the session to be established is for the service of VPDN ([0033] According to one embodiment, the SMF further checks whether the UE is authorized for VLAN establishment for a given DNN. The VLAN Function checks whether the UE is authorized for the requested VLAN ID (either a default VLAN ID corresponding to the DNN or the VLAN ID requested by the UE) that it manages. On successful authentication of UE's credentials for VLAN establishment, the VLAN function may interwork with IJPF for setting up additional Quality Flows. The VLAN function selects the VLAN ID for setting up the packet filters and communicates to SMF. The above feature may be inserted in TS23.502 V15.2.0 Section 4.3.2.2.1 after the last sentence in the above quote.).
Regarding claim 8, Parron teaches: A method for access to Virtual Private Dial-up Networks (VPDN), comprising: a User Equipment (UE) initiating a service request for VPDN on a 5G network, the service request for VPDN comprising an account and a key of a target VPDN; and a method for access to VPDN according to claim 1, performed by network side ([024] the UE 210 initiates the process at 201 by including a “VLAN Request” field (indicating a request for the ULAN DNN or an address (e.g., IP address or FQDN) of the VLAN Function) in the additional parameters list in an extended PCO information element (IE) or ePCO IE. [0060] receipt of an intermediate key that was established as a result of the UE 601 authentication process.).
Regarding claim 9, Parron teaches: A network-side system for access to Virtual Private Dial-up Networks (VPDN), comprising: an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), configured to perform a method according to claim 14; a NRF configured to determine an SMF supporting the service of VPDN, and feed back the SMF as the target SMF to the AMF; and an SMF configured to select, according to the session management context request, a User Plane Function (UPF) supporting the service of VPDN to establish a session, to enable a tunnel between the UPF and the target VPDN to be established ([0022] the AMF 120 selects the session/slice management function (SMF) 130 supporting the VLAN, and sends, at 104, a CreateSMContext request in the form of a Namf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request to the SMF 130. [0023] If authentication is successful, then the SMF sends at 106 a CreateSMContext response in the form of a Namf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Response to the AMF 120, a session is established at 107 involving the policy control function (PCF), and send Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer messages at 108 between the AMF 120 and the SMF 130. In some cases, on successful authentication of the UE 110's credentials for VLAN establishment, the VLAN function may interwork with the user plane function (UPF) to setup additional Quality Flows at 111. [0068] The NRF 625 may support service discovery functions, receive NF discovery requests from NF instances, and provide the information of the discovered NF instances to the NF instances. NRF 625 also maintains information of available NF instances and their supported services. As used herein, the terms “instantiate,” “instantiation,” and the like may refer to the creation of an instance, and an “instance” may refer to a concrete occurrence of an object, which may occur, for example, during execution of program code. Additionally, the NRF 625 may exhibit the Nnrf service-based interface. [0022] the AMF 120 selects the session/slice management function (SMF) 130 supporting the VLAN [0068] The NRF 625 may support service discovery functions, receive NF discovery requests from NF instances, and provide the information of the discovered NF instances to the NF instances. NRF 625 also maintains information of available NF instances and their supported services. As used herein, the terms “instantiate,” “instantiation,” and the like may refer to the creation of an instance, and an “instance” may refer to a concrete occurrence of an object, which may occur, for example, during execution of program code. Additionally, the NRF 625 may exhibit the Nnrf service-based interface. [0022] the AMF 120 selects the session/slice management function (SMF) 130 supporting the VLAN):
Although Parron teaches VLAN/VPN formation it does not explicitly teach a VPDN.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Spinelli teaches creating a private tunnel using the RADIUS (Remote Authentication Dial-In User Service) protocol. Specifically, Spinelli teaches: access to Virtual Private Dial-up Networks (VPDN) ([0060] FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating a femto cell to femto cell fast handoff in accordance with certain embodiments. FIG. 11 includes a mobile node 310, a femto cell 1 114a, a femto cell 2 114b, a gateway providing a femto gateway 118, and an authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) server 312. In FIG. 11, IPSec tunnels are already established between femto cell 1 114a and femto gateway 118 with IPSec tunnel 390 as well as femto cell 2 114b and femto gateway 118 with IPSec tunnel 392. A data call or session startup signaling 394 between mobile node 310 and femto cell 114a is used to startup the session or call. Femto cell 114a sends an A11 registration request 396 with the phone number, for example, in digits. Femto gateway 118 sends an A11 registration reply 398. PPP-LCP signaling 400 can begin between mobile node 310 and femto gateway 118. PPP authorization signaling 402 along with radius/diameter authorization signaling 404 is used to authenticate the mobile node 310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parron to include the feature of creating a private tunnel using the RADIUS protocol and a combination of Parron with Spinnelli renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., creating a private tunnel using the RADIUS).
Although Parron teaches receiving a data network name, the combination of Parron and Spinelli may not explicitly teach: enable the target VPDN to authenticate the account and key.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches: receiving the access request for VPDN comprising an account and a key of a target VPDN ([0100] Step s1003: The remote system continues to request for establishing an IP session. The remote system initiates a DHCP Request or AUTH (authentication) message, where the DHCP Request or AUTH (authentication) message may include ID information. The ID information further includes key information, where the key information includes a key encrypted with the Challenge value. [0173] thus access a home network of the user using a VPDN) and enable the target VPDN to authenticate the account and key ([0107-108] Step s1011: The authentication and authorization performed by the AAA server of the home network is successful, the AAA server may then respond a successful message of the authentication and authorization (Access Accept) to the SNS. [0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Parron and Spinelli to include the feature of authentication of credentials received in the request and a combination of Parron and Spinelli with Yang renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., authentication of credentials received in the request).
Regarding claim 10, Parron teaches: The network-side system for access to VPDN according to claim 9, further comprising: a UPF configured to receive a session establishment request from the SMF, and establish the tunnel in a case where determining that the session to be established is for the service of VPDN ([0031] On successful authentication of a UE's credentials for VLAN establishment, the VLAN function may interwork with the UPF for setting up additional Quality Flows).
Regarding claim 11, Parron teaches: A network-side system for access to Virtual Private Dial-up Networks (VPDN), comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to perform a method according to claim 1 based on instructions stored in the memory ([0077]).
Regarding claim 12, Parron teaches: A system for access to Virtual Private Dial-up Networks (VPDN), comprising: a network-side system for access to VPDN according to claims 9; and a User Equipment (UE) configured to initiate a service request for VPDN on a 5G network, the service request for VPDN comprising an account and a key of a target VPDN (Abstract: receive a request from a user equipment (UE) device comprising a virtual local area network data network name (VLAN DNN) [0060] receipt of an intermediate key that was established as a result of the UE 601 authentication process. [024] the UE 210 initiates the process at 201 by including a “VLAN Request” field (indicating a request for the ULAN DNN or an address (e.g., IP address or FQDN) of the VLAN Function) in the additional parameters list in an extended PCO information element (IE) or ePCO IE.).
Regarding claim 13, Parron teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon computer program instructions which, when executed by a processor, implement steps of a method according to claims 1 ([0077]).
Regarding claim 14, Parron teaches: A method for access to Virtual Private Dial-up Networks (VPDN), which is performed by an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), comprising: receiving, an access request for VPDN from a user, the access request for VPDN comprising a Data Network Name (DNN), an account and a key of a target VPDN (Abstract: receive a request from a user equipment (UE) device comprising a virtual local area network data network name (VLAN DNN) [0060] receipt of an intermediate key that was established as a result of the UE 601 authentication process. [024] the UE 210 initiates the process at 201 by including a “VLAN Request” field (indicating a request for the ULAN DNN or an address (e.g., IP address or FQDN) of the VLAN Function) in the additional parameters list in an extended PCO information element (IE) or ePCO IE.); determining, through a Network Function Repository Function (NRF), a target Session Management Function (SMF) supporting a service of VPDN, and sending a session management context request to the target SMF ([0068] The NRF 625 may support service discovery functions, receive NF discovery requests from NF instances, and provide the information of the discovered NF instances to the NF instances. NRF 625 also maintains information of available NF instances and their supported services. As used herein, the terms “instantiate,” “instantiation,” and the like may refer to the creation of an instance, and an “instance” may refer to a concrete occurrence of an object, which may occur, for example, during execution of program code. Additionally, the NRF 625 may exhibit the Nnrf service-based interface. [0022] the AMF 120 selects the session/slice management function (SMF) 130 supporting the VLAN).
selecting, by the SMF, according to the session management context request, a User Plane Function (UPF) supporting the service of VPDN to establish a session, to enable a tunnel between the UPF and the target VPDN to be established ([0023] If authentication is successful, then the SMF sends at 106 a CreateSMContext response in the form of a Namf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Response to the AMF 120, a session is established at 107 involving the policy control function (PCF), and send Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer messages at 108 between the AMF 120 and the SMF 130. In some cases, on successful authentication of the UE 110's credentials for VLAN establishment, the VLAN function may interwork with the user plane function (UPF) to setup additional Quality Flows at 111.).
Although Parron teaches VLAN/VPN formation it does not explicitly teach a VPDN.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Spinelli teaches creating a private tunnel using the RADIUS (Remote Authentication Dial-In User Service) protocol. Specifically, Spinelli teaches: access to Virtual Private Dial-up Networks (VPDN) ([0060] FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating a femto cell to femto cell fast handoff in accordance with certain embodiments. FIG. 11 includes a mobile node 310, a femto cell 1 114a, a femto cell 2 114b, a gateway providing a femto gateway 118, and an authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) server 312. In FIG. 11, IPSec tunnels are already established between femto cell 1 114a and femto gateway 118 with IPSec tunnel 390 as well as femto cell 2 114b and femto gateway 118 with IPSec tunnel 392. A data call or session startup signaling 394 between mobile node 310 and femto cell 114a is used to startup the session or call. Femto cell 114a sends an A11 registration request 396 with the phone number, for example, in digits. Femto gateway 118 sends an A11 registration reply 398. PPP-LCP signaling 400 can begin between mobile node 310 and femto gateway 118. PPP authorization signaling 402 along with radius/diameter authorization signaling 404 is used to authenticate the mobile node 310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parron to include the feature of creating a private tunnel using the RADIUS protocol and a combination of Parron with Spinnelli renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., creating a private tunnel using the RADIUS).
Although Parron teaches receiving a data network name, the combination of Parron and Spinelli may not explicitly teach: enable the target VPDN to authenticate the account and key.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches: receiving the access request for VPDN comprising an account and a key of a target VPDN ([0100] Step s1003: The remote system continues to request for establishing an IP session. The remote system initiates a DHCP Request or AUTH (authentication) message, where the DHCP Request or AUTH (authentication) message may include ID information. The ID information further includes key information, where the key information includes a key encrypted with the Challenge value. [0173] thus access a home network of the user using a VPDN) and enable the target VPDN to authenticate the account and key ([0107-108] Step s1011: The authentication and authorization performed by the AAA server of the home network is successful, the AAA server may then respond a successful message of the authentication and authorization (Access Accept) to the SNS. [0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Parron and Spinelli to include the feature of authentication of credentials received in the request and a combination of Parron and Spinelli with Yang renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., authentication of credentials received in the request).
Regarding claim 15, Parron teaches: A method for access to Virtual Private Dial-up Networks (VPDN), comprising: a User Equipment (UE) initiating a service request for VPDN on a 5G network, wherein the service request for VPDN comprises a Data Network Name (DNN) (Abstract: receive a request from a user equipment (UE) device comprising a virtual local area network data network name (VLAN DNN)) an account and a key of a target VPDN (Abstract: receive a request from a user equipment (UE) device comprising a virtual local area network data network name (VLAN DNN), [0060] receipt of an intermediate key that was established as a result of the UE 601 authentication process, [024] the UE 210 initiates the process at 201 by including a “VLAN Request” field (indicating a request for the ULAN DNN or an address (e.g., IP address or FQDN) of the VLAN Function) in the additional parameters list in an extended PCO information element (IE) or ePCO IE.);
And the 5G network performs a method of: receiving, by an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), an access request for VPDN from a user, the access request for VPDN comprising a Data Network Name (DNN), an account and a key of a target VPDN (Abstract: receive a request from a user equipment (UE) device comprising a virtual local area network data network name (VLAN DNN), [0060] receipt of an intermediate key that was established as a result of the UE 601 authentication process, [024] the UE 210 initiates the process at 201 by including a “VLAN Request” field (indicating a request for the ULAN DNN or an address (e.g., IP address or FQDN) of the VLAN Function) in the additional parameters list in an extended PCO information element (IE) or ePCO IE.);
determining, by the AMF, through a Network Function Repository Function (NRF), a target Session Management Function (SMF) supporting a service of VPDN, and sending a session management context request to the target SMF ([0022] the AMF 120 selects the session/slice management function (SMF) 130 supporting the VLAN, and sends, at 104, a CreateSMContext request in the form of a Namf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Request to the SMF 130.); and
selecting, by the SMF, according to the session management context request, a User Plane Function (UPF) supporting the service of VPDN to establish a session, to enable a tunnel between the UPF and the target VPDN to be established ([0023] If authentication is successful, then the SMF sends at 106 a CreateSMContext response in the form of a Namf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext Response to the AMF 120, a session is established at 107 involving the policy control function (PCF), and send Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer messages at 108 between the AMF 120 and the SMF 130. In some cases, on successful authentication of the UE 110's credentials for VLAN establishment, the VLAN function may interwork with the user plane function (UPF) to setup additional Quality Flows at 111.).
Although Parron teaches VLAN/VPN formation it does not explicitly teach a VPDN.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Spinelli teaches creating a private tunnel using the RADIUS (Remote Authentication Dial-In User Service) protocol. Specifically, Spinelli teaches: access to Virtual Private Dial-up Networks (VPDN) ([0060] FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating a femto cell to femto cell fast handoff in accordance with certain embodiments. FIG. 11 includes a mobile node 310, a femto cell 1 114a, a femto cell 2 114b, a gateway providing a femto gateway 118, and an authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) server 312. In FIG. 11, IPSec tunnels are already established between femto cell 1 114a and femto gateway 118 with IPSec tunnel 390 as well as femto cell 2 114b and femto gateway 118 with IPSec tunnel 392. A data call or session startup signaling 394 between mobile node 310 and femto cell 114a is used to startup the session or call. Femto cell 114a sends an A11 registration request 396 with the phone number, for example, in digits. Femto gateway 118 sends an A11 registration reply 398. PPP-LCP signaling 400 can begin between mobile node 310 and femto gateway 118. PPP authorization signaling 402 along with radius/diameter authorization signaling 404 is used to authenticate the mobile node 310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parron to include the feature of creating a private tunnel using the RADIUS protocol and a combination of Parron with Spinnelli renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., creating a private tunnel using the RADIUS).
Although Parron teaches receiving a data network name, the combination of Parron and Spinelli may not explicitly teach: enable the target VPDN to authenticate the account and key.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches: receiving the access request for VPDN comprising an account and a key of a target VPDN ([0100] Step s1003: The remote system continues to request for establishing an IP session. The remote system initiates a DHCP Request or AUTH (authentication) message, where the DHCP Request or AUTH (authentication) message may include ID information. The ID information further includes key information, where the key information includes a key encrypted with the Challenge value. [0173] thus access a home network of the user using a VPDN) and enable the target VPDN to authenticate the account and key ([0107-108] Step s1011: The authentication and authorization performed by the AAA server of the home network is successful, the AAA server may then respond a successful message of the authentication and authorization (Access Accept) to the SNS. [0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Parron and Spinelli to include the feature of authentication of credentials received in the request and a combination of Parron and Spinelli with Yang renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., authentication of credentials received in the request)..
Regarding claim 16, Parron does not teach: wherein the service request for VPDN further comprises PAP/CHAP protocol identifiers.
However, Spinelli teaches: wherein the service request for VPDN further comprises PAP/CHAP protocol identifiers ([0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parron to include the feature of PAP/CHAP protocols and a combination of Parron with Spinnelli renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing PAP/CHAP protocols).
Regarding claim 17, Parron teaches: A network-side system for access to Virtual Private Dial-up Networks (VPDN), comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to perform a method according to claim 14 based on instructions stored in the memory ([0077]).
Regarding claim 18, Parron teaches: A network-side system for access to Virtual Private Dial-up Networks (VPDN), comprising: a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to perform a method according to claim 15 based on instructions stored in the memory ([0077]).
Regarding claim 19, Parron teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon computer program instructions which, when executed by a processor, implement steps of a method according to claim 14 ([0077]).
Regarding claim 20, Parron teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon computer program instructions which, when executed by a processor, implement steps of a method according to claim 14 ([0077]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parron in view of Spinelli and Yang and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0227492 (hereinafter “Wang”)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Parron, Spinelli, and Yang does not explicitly teach: wherein the UPF supporting the service of VPDN is a UPF supporting an L2TP.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches: wherein the UPF supporting the service of VPDN is a UPF supporting an L2TP ([0134], [0152], [0208]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parron to include the feature of creating a private tunnel using the RADIUS protocol and a combination of Parron, Spinnelli, and Yang with Wang renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., creating a private tunnel using the RADIUS).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parron in view of Spinelli and Yang and further in view of TS 23.502
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Parron and Spinelli does not explicitly teach: wherein, in a case where the NRF does not find an SMF supporting the service of VPDN, the establishment of a session for the service of VPDN failing.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TS 23.502 teaches: wherein, in a case where the NRF does not find an SMF supporting the service of VPDN, the establishment of a session for the service of VPDN failing (p. 23/362 If the authentication/security procedure fails, then the registration shall be rejected, and the new AMF invokes the Namf_Communication_RegistrationStatusUpdate service operation with a reject indication towards the old AMF. The old AMF continues as if the UE context transfer service operation was never received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parron to include the feature of failing of the establishment of the session and a combination of Parron, Spinnelli, and Yang with TS 23.502 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., failing of the establishment of the session).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Parron and Spinelli does not explicitly teach: wherein, in a case where the SMF does not find a UPF supporting the service of VPDN, the establishment of a session for the service of VPDN failing.
However, in the same field of endeavor, TS 23.502 teaches: wherein, in a case where the SMF does not find a UPF supporting the service of VPDN, the establishment of a session for the service of VPDN failing (p. 23/362 If the authentication/security procedure fails, then the registration shall be rejected, and the new AMF invokes the Namf_Communication_RegistrationStatusUpdate service operation with a reject indication towards the old AMF. The old AMF continues as if the UE context transfer service operation was never received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Parron to include the feature of failing of the establishment of the session and a combination of Parron, Spinnelli, and Yang with TS 23.502 renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., failing of the establishment of the session).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Non-patent Literature, CISCO “Configure SSL Anyconnect With ISE Authentication And ClassAttribute For Group-Policy Mapping” (June 29, 2020) [retrieved on 6-12-2025]
U.S. Publication No. 2023/0232356 (JOHANSSON) related to storage of network slice authorization status
U.S. Publication No. 2002/0075844 (Hagen) related to integrating public and private network resources for optimized broadband wireless access and method
/JAB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/YUWEN PAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649