DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I, claims 1-11 and 16 in the reply filed on 2/18/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search burden to examine the claims together. This is not found persuasive because applications filed 35 USC 371 are restricted on the basis of unity of invention, which does not consider search burden. See MPEP § 823 and MPEP § 1893.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 12-15 and 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/18/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: There is no space between a numerical value and its associated units. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites the limitation “drying unit” which uses the functional language “drying” coupled with the generic placeholder “unit” without reciting any additional structure of the drying unit. The claim is therefore interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). A review of applicant’s specification indicates that the corresponding structure for a drying unit is a series of internally steam heated cylinders (page 15, lines 33-35, page 16, lines 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the claim requires the binding agent and the tobacco product to be applied on the RTB sheet in one manufacturing step. However, claim 1 requires the RTB sheet only to be created when the binding agent is applied. It is therefore unclear how the binding agent could be applied to the RTB sheet, since claim 1 indicates that the RTB sheet does not exist prior to application of the binding agent. It is also unclear how the binding agent and tobacco product could be applied in one manufacturing step, since claim 1 requires the tobacco product to be applied to the formed RTB sheet. The instant claim is therefore indefinite. For the purposes of this Office action, the claim will be interpreted as not further limiting claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, it is unclear what is required by the limitation “as a last manufacturing step for a further processing.” The further processing itself could be considered an additional manufacturing step. Does that mean that the claimed last manufacturing step must be followed by another step? The claim is therefore indefinite. For the purposes of this Office action, the limitation will be interpreted as if it neither requires nor excludes additional process steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selke (US 4,542,755) in view of Gellatly (US 5,724,998).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Selke discloses a method of making reconstituted tobacco in which fibrized tobacco stems and scrap, which are considered to meet the claim limitation of a raw tobacco material, are deposited on a moving foraminous surface to form a web, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a raw tobacco material layer. An adhesive, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a binding agent, is applied to the web of the tobacco particles, and the composition is subsequently dried. Tobacco fines, which are considered to meet the claim limitation of tobacco particles, are applied to the web along with the adhesive (column 2, lines 30-68, column 3, lines 1-9). The tobacco fibers are laid by a forming head (column 5, lines 22-46, figure 2, reference numeral 20). The moving surface is a belt that moves around support rolls (column 5, lines 22-46), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a conveyor belt. The fines are smaller than 60 mesh (column 8, lines 60-68, column 9, lines 1-11). Some of the binder is added in a liquid carrier (column 6, lines 43-68, column 7, lines 1-6), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a liquid medium. Selke does not explicitly teach the tobacco fines having an average particle size of 30 microns or less.
Gellatly teaches reconstituted tobacco sheets (abstract) made from tobacco dust that is ground to a particle size of less than about 32 microns to improve the homogeneity of the tobacco material (column 4, lines 20-31).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the tobacco fines of Selke have the particle size of Gellatly. One would have been motivated to do so since Gellatly teaches a tobacco particle size that improves homogeneity. In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 4, Selke discloses that the binder is applied by spraying (column 5, lines 47-68, column 6, lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 5, Selke discloses that the sprayer is applied by a sprayer (column 5, lines 47-68, column 6, lines 1-9, figure 2, reference numeral 53), which is considered to form a pattern since it is located in a constant position relative to the web.
Regarding claim 7, Selke discloses that the drying is through dryer that includes a vacuum (column 5, lines 47-68, column 6, lines 1-9), which is considered to be an equivalent of the claimed dryer unit as interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
Regarding claim 8, Selke discloses that the stems are sprayed with water and then equilibrated in sealed containers (column 7, lines 61-68, column 8, lines 1-20), indicating that the spraying occurs prior to forming the web with the reinforcing sheet.
Regarding claim 9, Selke discloses that the reconstituted tobacco is shredded by a shredded for use (column 5, lines 47-68, column 6, lines 1-9).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selke (US 4,542,755) in view of Gellatly (US 5,724,998) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Klipfel (US 10,321,707, hereafter referred to as Klipfel ‘707).
Regarding claim 2, modified Selke teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Selke does not explicitly a temperature at which the binder, liquid carrier, and tobacco fines are applied to the web.
Klipfel ‘707 teaches a method of preparation of a sully for the production of a homogenized tobacco material in which the tobacco powder is suspended in a tank to form a slurry at a temperature of between about 10 °C and 40 °C (column 6, lines 28-35) so that the slurry has suitable properties (column 9, lines 2-23).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cool the binder, liquid carrier, and tobacco fines of modified Selke to the temperature of Klipfel ‘707. One would have been motivated to do so since Klipfel ‘707 teaches that controlling the temperature of a slurry used to form a reconstituted tobacco sheet ensures that the sheet has suitable properties. In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selke (US 4,542,755) in view of Gellatly (US 5,724,998) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Klipfel (US 2018/0242631, hereafter referred to as Klipfel ‘631).
Regarding claim 3, modified Selke teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Selke additionally discloses that the reconstituted tobacco incorporates cellulose fibers for strength enhancement (column 6, liens 26-42). Modified Selke does not explicitly teach the cellulose fibers being in the form of a fleece.
Klipfel ‘631 teaches homogenized tobacco material that contains a porous reinforcement sheet (abstract). Klipfel ‘631 additionally teaches that using a sheet rather than loose fibers allows tripling of strength without changing the composition of the overall homogenized tobacco material [0010].
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the fibers of modified Selke for the sheet of Klipfel ‘631. One would have been motivated to do so since Klipfel ‘631 teaches that reinforcing reconstituted tobacco using a sheet instead of loose fibers allows tripling of strength without changing the composition of the overall homogenized tobacco material.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selke (US 4,542,755) in view of Gellatly (US 5,724,998) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2022/0295870).
Regarding claim 10, modified Selke teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Selke additionally discloses that the web includes cellulose fibers for strength enhancement (column 6, lines 26-42). Modified Selke does not explicitly teach the slurry of binder, tobacco fines, and liquid carrier having a viscosity within the claimed range.
Kim teaches a fragrance containing sheet for a smoking article [0007] that has a slurry viscosity of from about 100 cp to about 10,000 cp that has excellent fragrance retention properties in a cellulose based slurry [0062] that also contains a fragrance including tobacco [0063].
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the binder and tobacco solution of modified Selke with the viscosity of Kim. One would have been motivated to do so since Kim teaches a suitable viscosity for a tobacco material having good flavor retention. In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selke (US 4,542,755) in view of Gellatly (US 5,724,998) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zang (CN 106942783, machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claim 11, modified Selke discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Selke additionally discloses that the binder is applied by spraying (column 5, lines 47-68, column 6, lines 1-9). Modified Selke does not explicitly disclose a density of the slurry containing binder, tobacco fines, and liquid carrier.
Zang teaches a method for making reconstituted tobacco in which tobacco insoluble material is made into a paper substrate and then coated with a coating liquid (page 2, middle). The coating solution has a density of 1.18 to 1.12 g/cm3 (page 4, sixth paragraph) so that the coating solution can be sprayed (page 3, tenth paragraph).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sprayed binder of modified Selke at the density of Zang. One would have been motivated to do so since Zang teaches a density suitable for spraying a reconstituted tobacco coating.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selke (US 4,542,755) in view of Gellatly (US 5,724,998) and Klipfel (US 2018/0242631, hereafter referred to as Klipfel ‘631) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Nakanishi (US 6,761,175).
Regarding claim 16, modified Selke teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Klipfel ‘631 additionally teaches that the sheet is a cellulose sheet [0064]. Modified Selke does not explicitly teach the sheet being a nonwoven sheet.
Nakanishi teaches a tobacco having a carrier sheet made of nonwoven plant fibers (abstract) that is formed by a process that does not a lot of water to reduce drying cost and prevent deterioration (column 2, lines 33-38).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the cellulose sheet of modified Selke from the nonwoven process of Nakanishi. One would have been motivated to do so since Nakanishi teaches that a nonwoven process reduces drying cost and prevents deterioration due to low water use.
Conclusion
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755