Notice of AIA Status
is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Specification
A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed, providing informative value in classifying and searching.
The following title is suggested: See MPEP § 606.01.
WIRE CONNECTOR HAVING A THREE PART SEAL RETAINER
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed first and second insertion holes must be shown or the features cancelled from claim 2.
See MPEP § 608.02(d)
Although the specification identifies (42a, 42b, 52A, 52B) as insertion holes, they are not in fact “holes” by any stretch of the definition of such; which is understood as an opening through something hence bound by a defined area. Furthermore, the claimed introducing grooves (43a, 43b, 53A, 53B) are adjacent said holes where a “groove” by definition is bound by two sides as in a furrow or channel which is what is depicted in FIG. 4, which negates the existence of any “hole”.
“Any structural detail that is of sufficient importance to be described should be shown in the drawing.” (Ex parte Good, 1911 C.D. 43, 164 O.G. 739 (Comm’r Pat. 1911).
“The question is not whether one skilled in the art can decipher the invention, but whether the drawing is so clearly and artistically executed as to facilitate a ready understanding of the invention both at the time of examination and in searches afterward in which reference to the patent must be made.”
No new matter should be entered in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(e).
If the changes are not accepted by the Examiner, the Applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without clarity on the “second introducing groove”, which is critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claims in a manner consistent with the disclosure.
Paragraph [0038] provides antecedent basis for first introducing grooves 43a, 43b extending from the first insertion holes 42a, 42b, within the first retainer.
Paragraph [0040] contradicts the precedent set in paragraph [0038] by citing “the second insertion hole 42b via the second introducing groove 43b”, also as part of the first retainer.
Compounding this matter is the fact that Claim 2 ascribes the second insertion hole and second introducing groove as part of the second retainer.
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible such errors which hinder the overall clarity. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting all remaining errors and ambiguity in the specification such as those instances depicted above while taking great care in not introducing any new matter.
For examination purposes, FIG. 4 will be used as guidance with respect to those instances of ambiguity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 - § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. §103 as unpatentable over Okabe Toshiaki (JP 10 012 317) [IDS filed March 28 2023].
With respect to Claim 1; Okabe Toshiaki discloses a connector 1, comprising: a housing 2 including an accommodating portion [occupied by 3], a wire 4b penetrating through the accommodating portion [Fig. 7]; a sealing member 3 for sealing between an inner surface of the accommodating portion and an outer peripheral surface of the wire [Figs. 4, 6]; and a retainer 11 for retaining the sealing member 3 by being fixed to the housing 2, the retainer including a first retainer 12 and a second retainer 13 overlapping in a length direction of the wire with respect to the sealing member [Fig. 7].
With respect to Claim 2 as best understood; Okabe Toshiaki discloses the first retainer 12 includes a first insertion hole / groove 17a, 17b the wire 4b being inserted through the first insertion hole / groove; and the second retainer 13 includes a second insertion hole / groove 22, the wire 4b being inserted through the second insertion hole / groove, and extending in a direction different from that of the first hole / groove [Fig. 1].
With respect to Claim 3; Okabe Toshiaki discloses the housing 2 includes a first locking protrusion 6a, 6b and a second locking protrusion [forming 5a] on a peripheral surface, the first retainer 12 includes a first body portion 16a. 16b overlapping the sealing member 3 in the length direction of the wire 4b and a first mounting portion 18a-c for mounting the first body portion 12 on the housing 2 by being engaged with the first locking protrusion 6a, 6b, and the second retainer 13 includes a second body portion overlapping the first body portion in the length direction of the wire [Fig. 7] and a second mounting portion 21a, 21b for mounting the second body portion on the housing 2 by being engaged with the second locking protrusion [forming 5a].
With respect to Claim 4; Okabe Toshiaki discloses first 6a, 6b and second [forming 5a] locking protrusions are arranged to be shifted in a circumferential direction of the housing 2, and the first 18a-c and second 21a, 21b mounting portions are arranged to be shifted in the circumferential direction of the housing [Fig. 1].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form or amended into the respective independent base claim including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5; allowability resides at least in part with the prior art not showing or fairly teaching a wire connector comprising a housing including a sealing member fixed to the housing by a retainer which includes first and second retainers which overlap in a length direction of the wire with both retainers having mounting portions which engage respective locking protrusions on the housing such that the second retainer includes a locking/covering portion covering the first mounting portion of the first retainer in conjunction with ALL the remaining limitations within claims 1, 3 and 5.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure: US 10,573,988 Mellott et al. discloses a wire connector having two analogous retainers (24), (32), (30). However the analogous “first retainer” (24) does not mount to the connector housing.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning communications from the examiner should be directed to
Vanessa Girardi: Office phone 571.272.5924
Mon-Fri 9am-5pm est
Vanessa.Girardi@USPTO.Gov
To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Authorization for Email Communication — In the event Applicant wishes to communicate with the Examiner via electronic mail, written authorization should be provided in Applicant’s next response. See MPEP § 502.03. The following is a sample authorization statement which may be used by Applicant:
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, we hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with any authorized representative concerning any subject matter of this application by electronic mail. We understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
The central fax phone number for the organization is 571.273.8300.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx about filing in DOCX format.
[AltContent: textbox (VANESSA GIRARDI )]For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VANESSA GIRARDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833