DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the Response to Non-Final Office Action (“Response”) on 27 January 2026 with respect to the rejection under 35 USC 101 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore the rejection under 35 USC 101 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of United States Patent No. 6,556,722 B1 to Russell et al. (“Russell”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0276558 A1 to Kim (“Kim”) in view of United States Patent No. 6,556,722 B1 to Russell et al. (“Russell”) and United States Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0256007 A1 to Cok (“Cok”).
As per claims 1 and 15, the claimed subject matter that is met by Kim includes:
an apparatus for determining location, comprising (Kim: ¶ 0018 and Fig. 4):
a device comprising a camera configured to capture an image of an object of a plurality of objects located at a predetermined location, the plurality of objects being arranged in an array and each object of the plurality of objects comprising coded information (Kim: ¶ 0018 and Figs. 4 and 7A); and
a processor configured to decode coded information associated with the object captured in the image and determine a location of the device as being the predetermined location based on the decoded information (Kim: ¶¶ 0018-0022 and 0054).
Kim fails to specifically teach 1.) an image containing at least some of a plurality of microscopic objects, 2.) decode coded information associated with the at least some of the plurality of microscopic objects and 3.) a microscopic object. The Examiner provides Russell to teach and disclose claimed features 1 and 2.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Russell includes:
a camera configured to capture an image containing at least some of a plurality of objects located at a predetermined location, the object being arranged in an array and each object of the plurality of objects comprising coded information (Russell: column 2, lines 45-62 and Fig. 1); and
decode coded information associated with the at least some of the plurality of objects captured in the image and determine a location as being the predetermined location based on the decoded information (Russell: column 2, lines 45-62 and Fig. 1)
Kim teaches a device for retrieving location information from coded objects. Russell teaches a comparable device for retrieving location information from coded objects that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Russell offers the embodiment of an image containing at least some of a plurality of objects and decode coded information associated with the at least some of the plurality of objects. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of determining location based on image with multiple codes as disclosed by Russell to the determining location based on image with a single code as taught by Kim for the predicted result of improved devices for retrieving location information from coded objects. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
Kim and Russell fail to specifically teach 3.) a microscopic object. The Examiner provides Cok to teach and disclose claimed feature 3.
The claimed subject matter that is met by Cok includes:
a device comprising a camera configured to capture an image of a microscopic object, the object comprising coded information (Cok: ¶¶ 0035 “second code 320 is microscopic”, 0037 and 0068 and Fig. 1); and
a processor configured to decode coded information (Cok: ¶¶ 0035 “second code 320 is microscopic”, 0037 and 0068 and Fig. 1)
Kim and Russell teach devices for retrieving coded information. Cok teaches a comparable device for retrieving coded information that was improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Cok offers the embodiment of microscopic object. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the adaptation of the microscopic objects/codes as disclosed by Cok to the objects/codes as taught by Kim and Russell for the predicted result of improved devices for retrieving coded information. No additional findings are seen to be necessary.
As per claim 2, the claimed subject matter that is met by Kim, Russell and Cok includes:
wherein the largest dimension of the microscopic object is within the range of 30 to 500 micrometers (Kim: ¶ 0062 and Cok: ¶ 0035 and Fig. 1).
Merely using different measurements of microscopic objects from that in the prior art would have been an obvious matter of design choice. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). Further motivation for combining the teachings of Kim, Russell and Cok are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 4, the claimed subject matter that is met by Kim, Russell and Cok includes:
wherein the plurality of microscopic objects comprises a repeating pattern of a group of microscopic objects (Kim: Figs. 5 and 7B and Cok: ¶ 0035).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Kim, Russell and Cok are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 5, the claimed subject matter that is met by Kim, Russell and Cok includes:
wherein a distance between adjacent microscopic objects of the plurality of microscopic objects is at least 5 times the largest dimension of each of the plurality of microscopic objects (Kim: Figs. 5 and 7B and 0062 and Cok: ¶ 0035).
Merely using different distances between adjacent microscopic objects from that in the prior art would have been an obvious matter of design choice. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). Further motivation for combining the teachings of Kim, Russell and Cok are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 6, the claimed subject matter that is met by Kim, Russell and Cok includes:
wherein the camera comprises an adjustable focal length (Cok: ¶ 0037).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Kim, Russell and Cok are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 7, the claimed subject matter that is met by Kim, Russell and Cok includes:
wherein the camera is configured with a focal length that provides a field of view of less than 5 cm (Kim: Fig. 4).
Merely using different sized fields of view from that in the prior art would have been an obvious matter of design choice. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). Further motivation for combining the teachings of Kim, Russell and Cok are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 8, the claimed subject matter that is met by Kim, Russell and Cok includes:
wherein the camera is configured with a scene resolution of 25 micrometers or less (Cok: ¶¶ 0033 and 0044).
Merely using different resolution strengths from that in the prior art would have been an obvious matter of design choice. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). Further motivation for combining the teachings of Kim, Russell and Cok are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and are incorporated herein.
As per claims 9 and 17, the claimed subject matter that is met by Kim, Russell and Cok includes:
the device comprises an inertial system configured to obtain information indicative of: a distance travelled by the device from a last known position, and a direction of travel of the device; the apparatus comprises a memory device configured to store a location of at least one of the plurality of microscopic objects relative to the last known position; and the processor is configured to determine when the at least one of the plurality of microscopic objects appears within a field of view of the camera based on the information obtained by the inertial system and the location of the at least one of the plurality of microscopic objects relative to the last known position (Kim: ¶¶ 0004, 0006-0007 and 0057).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Kim, Russell and Cok are discussed in the rejection of claims 1 and 15, and are incorporated herein.
As per claims 10 and 18, the claimed subject matter that is met by Kim, Russell and Cok includes:
Wherein each of the plurality of microscopic objects comprises a QR code or other binary code (Cok: ¶ 0029).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Kim, Russell and Cok are discussed in the rejection of claims 1 and 15, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 11, the claimed subject matter that is met by Kim, Russell and Cok includes:
wherein the memory device is configured to store a plurality of library images each having an associated location, and the processor is configured to decode the coded information by comparing the image to the plurality of library images (Kim: ¶¶ 0018 and 0052 and Cok: ¶¶ 0042 and 0058).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Kim, Russell and Cok are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 12, the claimed subject matter that is met by Kim, Russell and Cok includes:
wherein the coded information comprises location information, and the processor is configured to decode the coded information by processing the image to obtain the location information (Kim: ¶¶ 0018-0022).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Kim, Russell and Cok are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 13, the claimed subject matter that is met by Kim, Russell and Cok includes:
wherein each of the plurality of microscopic objects is arranged on a floor of the predetermined location (Kim: ¶¶ 0017-0018 and Fig. 6).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Kim, Russell and Cok are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 14, the claimed subject matter that is met by Kim, Russell and Cok includes:
comprising a self-powered or manually operated inventory carrier, wherein the device is fixed to the inventory carrier (Kim: ¶¶ 0003 and 0045).
The motivation for combining the teachings of Kim, Russell and Cok are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and are incorporated herein.
As per claim 16, the claimed subject matter that is met by Kim, Russell and Cok includes:
wherein the method comprises: providing a microscopic object wherein the largest dimension of the microscopic object is within the range of 30 to 500 micrometers (Kim: ¶ 0062 and Cok: ¶ 0035 and Fig. 1);
providing a microscopic object that is one of a plurality of identical microscopic objects arranged in an array (Kim: Figs. 5 and 7B and Cok: ¶ 0035); and
arranging the plurality of identical microscopic objects such that the distance between adjacent microscopic objects is at least 5 times the largest dimension of the plurality of identical microscopic objects (Kim: Figs. 5 and 7B and 0062 and Cok: ¶ 0035).
Merely using different measurements of microscopic objects from that in the prior art would have been an obvious matter of design choice and merely using different distances between adjacent microscopic objects from that in the prior art would have also been an obvious matter of design choice. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975). Further motivation for combining the teachings of Kim, Russell and Cok are discussed in the rejection of claim 15, and are incorporated herein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0121068 A1 to Emanuel et al. (“Emanuel”) teaches and discloses “method and apparatus for determining position and rotational orientation of an object within a predetermined area is disclosed. Position markers, encoded with their identity, are viewed with a camera, images are captured and processed, and the position and rotational orientation of the object are calculated. Three embodiments are disclosed; the first having a camera mounted on the movable object while position markers bearing linear bar codes are fixed in location, the second having a camera mounted on the movable object while position markers bearing two-dimensional bar codes are fixed in location, and the third having a position marker of either type affixed to the object while the camera is fixed in location” (Emanuel: Abstract) and “Once the image has passed preprocessing, it is analyzed 24 to locate all position markers. This stage determines whether single or multiple position markers appear within the field of view, and superfluous image data such as position marker printed text and background objects and the coordinate reference net are ignored. Position markers found fully visible within the field of view are analyzed for readability 25 to determine if the bar code associated with the marker can be decoded” (Emanuel: ¶ 0101).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A. Hunter Wilder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627