Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, 7-10, and 16-18 in the reply filed on 1/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all other groups have been cancelled. This is not found persuasive because the presented arguments fail to specifically outline how the positions taken within the restriction requirement of 11/20/2025 are in error.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7-10, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herschke (WO 2019/182576 A1) in view of Layman (US 2018/0171097 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 5, Herschke teaches three-dimensional printings derived from printing compositions comprising polymer powder, fusing agent mixture, and detailing agent (¶ 12-14). The printing composition comprises at least 50 wt% of polyolefin (¶ 12) and the fusing agent is present at 1-30 wt% of the printing composition, whereby the fusing agent comprises 40 wt% or less of active compound, 1-50 wt% organic co-solvent, and 0.01-10 wt% surfactant (¶ 166, 184, 191-193, 196-197). Therefore, the resulting printed objects would possess overlapping ranges with respect to polyolefin polymer and particular fusing compound / residual components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a range within the claimed range because a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art and Herschke suggests the claimed ranges. A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to use the claimed amount, based on the teachings of Herschke. See MPEP 2123.
Herschke differs from the subject matter claimed in that a particular method of recovering/recycling polyolefin from the printed objects is not described. Layman teaches methods of recycling plastic articles such as polyolefin articles comprising obtaining reclaimed product, reducing the size of the product, dissolving the product in solvent to form suspension, collecting undissolved particulates (i.e. separating solids), and then separating polymer from solvent to recover polymer (Abstract; Figure 2; ¶ 20, 57). Layman teaches the process is relatively simple and affords virgin-like quality materials (¶ 51). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recycle scrap materials of Herschke with the protocols of Layman because such processes are relatively simple and afford virgin-like materials as taught by Layman.
Herschke teaches the fusing agent can be various inorganic pigment materials such as carbon black (¶ 168-183). Layman teaches the step of separating solids from suspension can remove various insoluble particulate matter inclusive of carbon black (¶ 129-130). Therefore, there is an expectation that particulate fusing agent would be separated over the course of applying Layman’s method. Layman teaches separation of final polymer from solvent can entail solvent conversion from liquid to vapor phase (¶ 145), which is evaporation.
Regarding Claim 4, Herschke teaches embodiments where the fusing agent has an average particle diameter from greater than 0 to less than 220 nm (¶ 182), which overlaps the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a range within the claimed range because a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art and Herschke suggests the claimed ranges. A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to use the claimed amount, based on the teachings of Herschke. See MPEP 2123.
Regarding Claim 7, Layman teaches filtration (¶ 131).
Regarding Claim 10, Layman teaches solvent can be removed under vacuum (¶ 148), after which solvent is recycled as a dissolving solvent (dashed line of Figure 2; ¶ 155). Given Layman teaches collecting/recycling solvent under vacuum, Layman implies the use of a vacuum trap.
Regarding Claims 16 and 17, Layman teaches the process removes particulate additives to the extent that less than 3 wt% of said additives are present in the separated/purified polymer (¶ 153). Given the materials amounts described by Herschke above, the combination of references suggests overlapping ranges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a range within the claimed range because a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art and Layman suggests the claimed ranges. A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to use the claimed amount, based on the teachings of Layman. See MPEP 2123.
Regarding Claim 18, Layman teaches any undissolved materials are allowed to settle following the dissolution step (Figure 2), which implies the dissolution step takes place with agitation.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herschke (WO 2019/182576 A1) in view of Layman (US 2018/0171097 A1) and Miller-Chou (Prog. Polym. Sci. 2003, 28, 1223-1270).
The discussion regarding Herschke and Layman within ¶ 7-14 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claim 8, Layman teaches grinding articles to particles having a largest dimension of less than 25 mm, preferably less than about 10 mm (¶ 163). Layman differs from the subject matter claimed in that the particular dimensions claimed are not described. Miller-Chou teaches it was known in the art polymer dissolution is impacted by the surface area of substrate (Page 1230, Left Column). Thus, the surface area of the resulting particles, directly related to the size/shape of the particles, is a known result effective variable subject to routine optimization by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(II). Case law holds that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to discover workable or optimal particle shapes/sizes within the scope of the present claims so as to produce desired dissolution timeframes.
Regarding Claim 9, Layman taches dissolving at elevated temperatures, for example 90-220 degrees C (¶ 89), which overlaps the range claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a range within the claimed range because a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art and Layman suggests the claimed ranges. A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to use the claimed amount, based on the teachings of Layman. See MPEP 2123.
Layman differs from the subject matter claimed in that quantitative numbers in terms of time required for dissolution is not provided. Miller-Chou teaches it was known in the art polymer dissolution is impacted by temperature/timeframes in terms of swelling and ultimately dissolving polymeric substrates (Sections 2 and 2.1). Thus, the time required for a physical process such as dissolution is a known result effective variable subject to routine optimization by one of ordinary skill in the art since the overall solubility and rate of solubilization of substrates within a given solvent can vary. See MPEP 2144.05(II). Case law holds that “discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to discover workable/optimal dissolution times within the scope of the present claims so as to produce optimal quantities of recycled polymeric material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN E RIETH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759