DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a) — (d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration
2. Oath and declaration filed on 3/29/2023 is accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The prior art documents submitted by application in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 3/29/2023 and 11/20/2024 and 2/18/2025 have all been considered and made of record ( note the attached copy of form PTO – 1449).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness -type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 respectively U.S.Patent Application No. 17//433,611.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical they are not patentable distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the patented claims.
The claims of the instant application corresponds to the patented claim as follows:
Instant application 18/029,108
Regarding claim 1,A lens unit comprising: a plurality of lenses aligned with each other along an optical axis; and a lens barrel that accommodates and holds the plurality of lenses. wherein a first lens located closest to an object side among the plurality of lenses and an optical component adjacent to the first lens on an image side are bonded together to be waterproofed with a low-moisture permeable adhesive.
U.S.Patent Application No. 17/433,611
Regarding claim 1, A lens unit comprising: an optical element including at least a lens group in which a plurality of lenses are arranged along an optical axis; a cylindrical lens barrel having an inner accommodation space for accommodating and holding the optical element; and a sealing member for sealing a space inside the lens barrel between a first lens and the lens barrel, wherein the lens group includes [[a]] the first lens located closest to the object side thereof; and a second lens adjacent to the first lens on the image side thereof ,optical elements and/or the optical element and the lens barrel are bonded to each other in an airtight state, such that an inter-lens space between the first lens and the second lens is sealed to the outside, facing surfaces of the first lens and the second lens facing each other in the optical axis direction are bonded to each other using an adhesion medium, in a manner such that the inter- lens space is sealed to the outside, and adhesive areas of the facing surfaces of the first lens and the second lens that are bonded to each other by the adhesion medium face the space inside the lens barrel that is sealed by the sealing member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsuruoka et al (2022/0019051 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuruoka et al discloses (refer to figures 1-4) a lens unit (1) comprising: a plurality of lenses (L1 and L2) (paragraph 0034) aligned with each other along an optical axis; and a lens barrel (paragraph 002) that accommodates and holds the plurality of lenses (paragraph 0034) . wherein a first lens located closest to an object side (La and Lb) (paragraph 0043) among the plurality of lenses and an optical component adjacent to the first lens on an image side are bonded together to be waterproofed with a low-moisture permeable adhesive (i.e., low protective film 19 , paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuruoka et al discloses wherein the first lens L1 and and the lens barrel are bonded together to be waterproofed with the low-moisture permeable adhesive (figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuruoka et al discloses wherein an outer circumferential surface of the first lens and an inner circumferential surface of the lens barrel are bonded together to be waterproofed with the low-moisture permeable adhesive(figures 1-4) .
Regarding claim 4,. Tsuruoka et al discloses wherein an end surface on the image side of the first lens and a surface that intersects with an axial direction of the lens barrel are bonded together to be waterproofed with the low-moisture permeable adhesive (figures 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, , Tsuruoka et al discloses A camera module comprising the lens unit according (figures 1-4).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
7. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: wherein the low-moisture permeable adhesive has an elastic modulus of 1 MPa to 1000 MPa and a Tg of 40°C to 60°C. Conclusion
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED A HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 5/29/2025