DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on 02/06/2026 to the claims have overcome claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as preciously set forth in the Final Rejection Office Action mailed on 10/10/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 337-338, 340-348, 350-355, 361-362, 364, and 367-368 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins (US 9565403 B1) in view of Meadow et al (US 8890866 B2), hereinafter Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar et al (2015 ICCPEIC), hereinafter Gaulkar.
-Regarding claim 337, Higgins discloses a method for use in a vehicle (FIG. 1, sensor platform 108, 110 and 112; FIG. 2) that comprises a Digital Video Camera (DVC) (Col. 5, line 56, “a sensor system”; Col. 6, line 1, “a video camera”) that produces a video data stream (Col. 1, line 18, “a video data stream”; Col. 6, line 3, “generates video data”), and for use with a first server that is external to the vehicle (FIG. 1, ground stations 106, 107 and 109, computers 103, 104 and 105; FIG. 3; Col. 12, lines 40-45) and that stores a database (FIG. 3, databases 321, 314) that associates respective geographical locations to objects (FIGS. 2-3; Col. 13, lines 17-19; Col. 14, lines 15-20, “database 314 based on information 218 … include geographical coordinates … location information …”), the method comprising (Abstract; FIGS. 1-17): obtaining, in the vehicle, the video data from the video camera when the vehicle is moving (FIGS. 1-2; FIG. 9, operation 900); extracting, in the vehicle, a captured frame that comprises an image from the video stream (FIGS. 1-2; Col. 6, lines 39-48; FIGS. 4-6; FIG. 11, operation 1100; FIG. 12, operation 1200); automatically identifying, in the vehicle, an object in the image of the frame (FIG. 1; FIG. 2, module 204, object recognition process 242; FIG. 9, operation 902; Col. 4, lines 38-46; Col. 5, line 59-66, “mobile platform”; FIG. 11, operations 1104-1106); sending an identifier of the identified object to the first server (FIG. 1; FIG. 2, data 215, likes 216; Col. 7, lines 40-47; FIG. 9, operation 906); determining a geographic location of the object (Col. 18, lines 51-56, “at least one of locations”) and performing geo-registering with the received geographic location (FIG. 11, operation 1102; Col. 18, lines 26-30, “geo-registering the current image”, lines 34-40, “map images in a map database”).
Higgins does not disclose determining geographic location of the object in a server.
In the same field of endeavor, Meadow teaches a method to provide a street level view of a neighborhood surrounding a selected geographic location by incorporating a video storage server that stores video image files containing video drive-by data corresponding to a geographic location (Meadow: Abstract; FIS. 1-32). Meadow further teaches determining geographic location of the object in a server using databases in the server (Meadow: Abstract; Col. 2, lines 5-8, “encoded with GPS coordinates … map coordinates to provide … any location upon request”; Col. 4, lines 1-15, “a map server … provided … overhead view of the geographic location of interest”; FIG. 5; Col. 8, lines 51-63; FIG. 1; FIG. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Higgins with the teaching of Meadow by determining geographic location of the object in a server in order to be able to perform geo-registration in real-time.
Higgins in view of Meadow does not teach using a server to perform geo-synchronization. However, it is a common practice to use a server to coordinate user’s geographic locations (See: Janky (US 8942483 B2): FIGS. 1, 10-16)
Gaulkar is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a location determination method using Location Based Services (LBS) and Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM) (Gaulkar: Abstract; FIGS. 1-4). Gaulkar further teaches performing geo-synchronization with LBS based on the received geographic location so that an accuracy or a success-rate of the geo-synchronization algorithm is improved (Gaulkar: FIG. 1; Page 3, Sec. II; Page 4, 1st Col., Sec. V.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Higgins in view of Meadow with the teaching of Gaulkar by performing geo-synchronization in order to provide the preferred central location for user group and provide privacy about users location (Gaulkar: Abstract; Page 3, Sec. II., 1st paragraph).
-Regarding claim 338, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 337. The modification further teaches for use with a group images of objects that includes the identified object, and that is stored in the vehicle, wherein the identifying of an object in the image comprises selecting the object from the group by comparing the image to each of the object images in the group (Higgins: FIG. 2, objects 214; Col. 6, lines 66-67, “object of interest”; Col. 9, lines 41-62; FIGS. 11-12; FIG. 15, 1504).
-Regarding claim 340, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 337. The modification further teaches comprising tagging of the extracted frame by adding the geographic location to frame data (Higgins: Col. 6, lines 48-58, “generate time stamps and/or other suitable information for sequence of images 210 … meta-data 212 may include … location information … and/or other suitable types of information”; See also Meadow: Col. 15, lines 33-35, “tag the same landmark in one or more video frames to further clearly tag the image designated landmark”; Col. 19, lines 55-57, “overlays and metadata can be presented to a user upon demand to provide further information relating to a given geographic area within view”).
-Regarding claim 341, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 400. The modification further teaches wherein the tagging comprises generating a metadata to the captured frame (Higgins: Col. 6, lines 48-58, “generate time stamps and/or other suitable information for sequence of images 210 … meta-data 212 may include … location information … and/or other suitable types of information”; See also Meadow: Col. 15, lines 33-35, “tag the same landmark in one or more video frames to further clearly tag the image designated landmark”; Col. 19, lines 55-57, “overlays and metadata can be presented to a user upon demand to provide further information relating to a given geographic area within view”).
-Regarding claim 342, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 337. The modification further teaches wherein geo-synchronizing ignoring the identified part of the frame (Gaulkar: FIG,. 1; Sec. II).
-Regarding claim 343, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 337.
Higgins does not disclose sending the received geographic location to a second server.
In the same field of endeavor, Meadow teaches a method to provide a street level view of a neighborhood surrounding a selected geographic location by incorporating a video storage server that stores video image files containing video drive-by data corresponding to a geographic location (Meadow: Abstract; FIS. 1-32). Meadow further teaches sending the received geographic location to a second server (Meadow: Abstract; FIG. 1; Col. 3, line 65 – Col. 4, line 15, “a database server … image processing server … landing zone server … a map server”; Col. 8, lines 55-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Higgins with the teaching of Meadow by determining geographic location of the object in a server in order to be able to perform geo-registration in real-time.
-Regarding claim 344, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 337. The modification further teaches wherein a communication with the first server is at least in part over the Internet (Higgins: FIGS. 1, 11; Col. 5, lines 26-33, “wireless communication links …”; it is known that wireless communication, particularly technologies like Wi-Fi and cellular networks, are fundamental to accessing the internet; see also Meadow: FIG. 1).
-Regarding claim 345, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 337. The modification further teaches wherein the identifying of the object is based on, or uses, identifying a feature of the object in the image (Higgins: FIGS. 11, 2).
-Regarding claim 346, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 345. The modification further teaches wherein the feature comprises, consists of, or is part of, a shape, size, texture, boundaries, or color, of the object (Higgins: FIG. 11, 2; Col. 18, line 43, “component of the object”; Col. 9, lines 47-50, “an identification of the object, a type of object, a color of the object, dimensions for the object, a shape of the object, and/or other suitable information describing the object”).
-Regarding claim 347, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 337. The modification further teaches using a memory or a non-transitory tangible computer readable storage media for storing computer executable instructions that comprises at least part of the method, and a processor for executing the instructions (Higgins: FIG. 17; Col. 22, lines 31-33).
-Regarding claim 348, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 337. The modification further teaches for use with an aerial photography, wherein the vehicle is an aircraft (Higgins: FIG. 1).
-Regarding claim 350, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 337. The modification further teaches wherein part of the method steps are performed in the vehicle and part of the steps are performed external to the vehicle (Higgins: FIGS. 1-3).
-Regarding claim 351, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 337. The modification further teaches wherein the video camera consists of, comprise, or is based on, a Light Detection And Ranging (LIDAR) camera or scanner (Higgins: FIG. 2, camera 208, sensor system202; Col. 6, lines 36-37, “a light detection and ranging (LIDAR)”).
-Regarding claim 352, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 337. The modification further teaches wherein the video camera consists of, comprise, or is based on, a thermal camera (Higgins: Col. 6, lines 1-3, “an infrared camera, and/or some other suitable type of sensor system that generates video data”; a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a thermal camera can be used to generate the video data and it is a common practice in the field. See Madden et al (US 20160210512 A1), [0027], “a thermal video camera”).
-Regarding claim 353, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 337. The modification further teaches wherein the video camera is operative to capture in a visible light (Higgins: Col. 6, lines 1-3, “without limitation, a camera, a video camera, an infrared camera, and/or some other suitable type of sensor system”, lines 32-34, “electro-optical cameras, infrared cameras, and/or other suitable type of cameras”; it is known that regular camera or video camera or electro-optical cameras capture visible light).
-Regarding claim 354, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 337. The modification further teaches wherein the video camera is operative to capture in an invisible light (Higgins: Col. 6, lines 1-3, “without limitation, a camera, a video camera, an infrared camera, and/or some other suitable type of sensor system”, lines 32-34, “electro-optical cameras, infrared cameras, and/or other suitable type of cameras”).
-Regarding claim 355, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 354. The modification further teaches wherein the invisible light is an infrared, ultraviolet, X-rays, or gamma rays (Higgins: Col. 6, lines 1-3, “without limitation, a camera, a video camera, an infrared camera, and/or some other suitable type of sensor system”, lines 32-34, “electro-optical cameras, infrared cameras, and/or other suitable type of cameras”).
-Regarding claim 361, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 337. The modification further teaches wherein the vehicle comprises, or consists of, an Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) (Higgins: FIG. 1; Col. 4, lines 26-27, “unmanned aerial vehicles”).
-Regarding claim 362, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 360. The modification further teaches wherein the UAV is a fixed-wing aircraft, or wherein the UAV is a rotary-wing aircraft (Higgins: FIG. 1).
-Regarding claim 364, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 337. The modification further teaches wherein the object is a dynamic object that shifts from being in a first state to being in a second state in response to an environmental condition (Higgins: FIG. 1, objects 113; FIG. 2, event 226, process 240; Col. 8, lines 18-33).
-Regarding claim 367, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 364. The modification further teaches wherein the dynamic object in the first state is captured as a first image, wherein the dynamic object in the second state is captured as a second image that is different from the first state due to the environmental condition, and wherein the database associates same geographical location to the object in both states (Higgins: FIGS. 1, 3; FIGS. 4-6).
-Regarding claim 368, Higgins in view of Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar teaches the method of claim 364. The modification further teaches wherein the dynamic object comprises a land area, a body of water, or a vegetation area (Higgins: FIGS. 4-6).
Claim(s) 356 and 358 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins (US 9565403 B1) in view of Meadow et al (US 8890866 B2), hereinafter Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar et al (2015 ICCPEIC), hereinafter Gaulkar, in view of Yang (US 20190354741 A1).
-Regarding claim 356, Higgins in view of Meadow teaches the method of claim 337.
Higgins in view of Meadow does not teach an Artificial Neural Network (ANN) trained to identify and classify the object.
However, Yang is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a method of obtaining and geo-registering an aerial image of an object of interest is provided (Yang: Abstract; FIGS. 1-5). Yang further teaches an Artificial Neural Network (ANN) trained to identify and classify the object (Yang: FIG. 1; [0009]; [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Higgins in view of Meadow with the teaching of Yang by using ANN in order to improve performance of the object detection.
-Regarding claim 358, Higgins in view of Meadow teaches the method of claim 356.
Higgins in view of Meadow does not teach an Artificial Neural Network (ANN) trained to identify and classify the object.
However, Yang is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a method of obtaining and geo-registering an aerial image of an object of interest is provided (Yang: Abstract; FIGS. 1-5). Yang further teaches wherein the ANN is a Recurrent Neural Network (RNN) or a deep convolutional neural network (Yang: FIG. 1; [0009]; [0031], “include deep learning algorithms with deep neural networks such as a fully convolutional neural network (CNN)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Higgins in view of Meadow with the teaching of Yang by using ANN in order to improve performance of the object detection.
Claim(s) 357 and 359-360 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins (US 9565403 B1) in view of Meadow et al (US 8890866 B2), hereinafter Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar et al (2015 ICCPEIC), hereinafter Gaulkar, in view of Ogale et al (US 10013773 B1), hereinafter Ogale.
-Regarding claim 357, Higgins in view of Meadow teaches the method of claim 337.
Higgins in view of Meadow does not teach an Artificial Neural Network (ANN) trained to identify and classify the object and the ANN is a Feedforward Neural Network (FNN).
However, Ogale is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a neural network system for identifying positions of objects in an input image (Ogale: Abstract; FIGS. 1-4). Ogale further teaches an Artificial Neural Network (ANN) trained to identify and classify the object and the ANN is a Feedforward Neural Network (FNN). (Ogale: FIG.S 1-4; Col. 3, lines 38-39, “detector neural network can be a feedforward detector neural network”; Col. 7, lines 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Higgins in view of Meadow with the teaching of Ogale by using ANN in order to improve performance of the object detection.
-Regarding claim 359, Higgins in view of Meadow teaches the method of claim 337.
Higgins in view of Meadow does not teach an Artificial Neural Network (ANN) trained to identify and classify the object, wherein the ANN comprises at least 3, 4, 5, 7, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, or 50 layers.
However, Ogale is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a neural network system for identifying positions of objects in an input image (Ogale: Abstract; FIGS. 1-4). Ogale further teaches an Artificial Neural Network (ANN) trained to identify and wherein the ANN comprises at least 3, 4, 5, 7, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, or 50 layers (Ogale: FIG.S 1-4; Col. 3, lines 38-39, “detector neural network can be a feedforward detector neural network”; Col. 7, lines 1-2; Col. 1, lines 15-20, “employ multiple layers of operations … include one or more hidden layers”; Col. 11, line 5, “a last hidden layer”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Higgins in view of Meadow with the teaching of Ogale by using ANN in order to improve performance of the object detection.
-Regarding claim 360, Higgins in view of Meadow teaches the method of claim 337.
Higgins in view of Meadow does not teach an Artificial Neural Network (ANN) trained to identify and classify the object, wherein the ANN comprises less than 4, 5, 7, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, or 50 layers.
However, Ogale is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a neural network system for identifying positions of objects in an input image (Ogale: Abstract; FIGS. 1-4). Ogale further teaches an Artificial Neural Network (ANN) trained to identify and wherein the ANN comprises less than 4, 5, 7, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, or 50 layers (Ogale: FIG.S 1-4; Col. 3, lines 38-39, “detector neural network can be a feedforward detector neural network”; Col. 7, lines 1-2; Col. 1, lines 15-20, “employ multiple layers of operations … include one or more hidden layers”; Col. 11, line 5, “a last hidden layer”; it is a three layers neural network with just one hidden layer. A person of ordinary skill in the arts would understand that different layers of ANN can be chosen based on performance and resource requirements. See also Koivisto et al (US 20190258878 A1): [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Higgins in view of Meadow with the teaching of Ogale by using ANN in order to improve performance of the object detection.
Claim(s) 363 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins (US 9565403 B1) in view of Meadow et al (US 8890866 B2), hereinafter Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar et al (2015 ICCPEIC), hereinafter Gaulkar, in view of Lavie et al (US 20160236638 A1), hereinafter Lavie.
-Regarding claim 363, Higgins in view of Meadow teaches the method of claim 361.
Higgins in view of Meadow does not teach wherein the UAV comprises, consists of, or is part of, a quadcopter, hexcopter, or octocopter.
However, Lavie is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a method to monitor vehicle accidents using a network of aerial based monitoring systems (Lavie: Abstract; FIGS. 1-6). Lavie further teaches wherein the UAV comprises, consists of, or is part of, a quadcopter, hexcopter, or octocopter (Lavie: FIG. 5)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Higgins in view of Meadow with the teaching of Lavie by using quadcopter in order to provide a real-world application.
Claim(s) 365 and 366 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins (US 9565403 B1) in view of Meadow et al (US 8890866 B2), hereinafter Meadow, and further in view of Gaulkar et al (2015 ICCPEIC), hereinafter Gaulkar, in view of LeCompte et al (US 20020041328 A1), hereinafter LeCompte.
-Regarding claim 365, Higgins in view of Meadow teaches the method of claim 364.
Higgins in view of Meadow does not teach wherein the environmental condition is in response to the Earth rotation around its own axis, wherein the environmental condition is in response to the Moon orbit around the Earth, or wherein the environmental condition is in response to the Earth orbit around the Sun.
However, LeCompte is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a method for collecting and distributing real-time, high resolution images of the Earth from geostationary earth orbit (GEO) include an electro-optical sensor based on multi-megapixel two-dimensional charge coupled device (CCD) arrays mounted on a geostationary platform (LeCompt: Abstract; FIGS. 1-19). LeCompte further teaches wherein the environmental condition is in response to the Earth rotation around its own axis, wherein the environmental condition is in response to the Moon orbit around the Earth, or wherein the environmental condition is in response to the Earth orbit around the Sun (LeCompte: FIGS. 1, 3, 5-6; [0210], “rotational axis of the Earth”; [0072], “geostationary orbit … moon”; [0025], “sun synchronous … orbits”; [0034]; [0167], “geo-referenced tracking”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Higgins in view of Meadow with the teaching of LeCompte by using direct broadcast imaging satellite system in order to provide a real-world application.
-Regarding claim 366, Higgins in view of Meadow teaches the method of claim 364.
Higgins in view of Meadow does not teach wherein the environmental condition comprises, or consists of, a weather change.
However, LeCompte is an analogous art pertinent to the problem to be solved in this application and teaches a method for collecting and distributing real-time, high resolution images of the Earth from geostationary earth orbit (GEO) include an electro-optical sensor based on multi-megapixel two-dimensional charge coupled device (CCD) arrays mounted on a geostationary platform (LeCompt: Abstract; FIGS. 1-19). LeCompte further teaches wherein the environmental condition comprises, or consists of, a weather change (LeCompte: FIGS. 1, 15, 17; [0008], “violent weather events”; [0009]; [0074], “weather disturbances”; [0081], “weather warning”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Higgins in view of Meadow with the teaching of LeCompte by using direct broadcast imaging satellite system in order to provide a real-world application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 337-366 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/XIAO LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664