DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 3/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the non-final Office Action mailed 1/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over United States Application Publication No. 2015/0024474, hereinafter Chiou.
Regarding claim 1, Chiou teaches a real-time PCR device comprising a heating mechanism (figure 4) for providing heating of samples measuring heated samples and subjecting the samples to denaturation, annealing and extension processes (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)), wherein the real-time PCR device comprises: a heating unit carrier (where items 211-216 are and the plate holding them) comprising at least one first heating unit (item 212) which provides heating of a first heating region (item 202) at a first temperature for the denaturation process (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0037]), at least one second heating unit (item 213) which provides heating of a second heating region (item 203) at a second temperature for the annealing process (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0037]), at least one third heating unit (item 214) which provides heating of a third heating region (item 204) at a third temperature for the extension process (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in paragraph [0037]), a measurement unit (item 501) for stimulating samples by sending light to a measurement region and for measuring the light emitted by the samples in correspondence with a sent light for the measurement process (paragraph [0034]), wherein said first heating, said second heating unit, said third heating unit and said measurement unit are arranged in a first circular axis (figure 4); and the real-time PCR device further comprises a sample carrier (item 101) comprising at least one sample chamber (item 102) placed in at least one point at a second circular axis which is parallel to said first circular axis (figure 4); and the real-time PCR device further comprises at least one movement mechanism (item 105) which provides movement of the sample chamber in a manner between said first heating region, said second heating region, said third heating region and said measurement region (paragraphs [0037]-[0038]) , wherein the sample carrier and the heating unit carrier are configured to move the sample chamber relative to the heating unit carrier along a circular path (paragraph [0037]) such that movement between leaving a given heating region of said heating regions by the sample chamber and arriving at a directly succeeding next heating region by the sample chamber along the circular path is at least 90 degrees along the circular path (paragraphs [0024], [0037] and [0041]).
However, if it is determined that Chiou fails to teach movement between leaving a given heating region of said heating regions by the sample chamber and arriving at a directly succeeding next heating region by the sample chamber along the circular path is at least 90 degrees along the circular path, then Chiou would fail to teach this limitation.
Chiou teaches that there is one or more different temperature zones and that the shapes sizes and positions of the different temperature zones may be modified according to the type or shape of the slide plate conveyer (paragraph [0024]). that some of the temperature zones can be combined to form a singular temperature zone (paragraph [0037]) and that the size, length or arrangement of the temperature zones can be modified according to the temperature profile requirements of the biochemical reaction or the thermal conduction rate between the temperature zones, heat medium and test samples (paragraph [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine, through routine experimentation, the optimum number of temperatures zones to a range of 4 or less along with positioning the heating zones so that they are at least 90 degrees apart on the circular path which would allow for the temperature profile requirements of the biochemical reaction or the thermal conduction rate between the temperature zones, heat medium and test samples (paragraph [0041]) (MPEP § 2144.05 (II)).
Regarding claim 2, Chiou teaches wherein said heating unit carrier further comprises a holding unit (the plate where items 211-216 are) provided in said first circular axis and which defines a holding region (figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, Chiou teaches wherein said sample carrier (item 101) is in a plate form (figure 4), and the heating unit carrier (the plate where items 211-216 are) is in the plate form placed in a parallel manner to the sample carrier (figure 4), and the movement mechanism is configured to move the sample carrier and/or heating unit carrier in an axis passing through the center of the sample carrier and/or heating unit carrier (paragraphs [0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 5, Chiou teaches wherein said sample carrier (item 101) is in cylindrical form (figure 4), and said heating unit carrier is configured to telescopically engage with the sample carrier (figure 5), and the movement mechanism is configured to move the sample carrier and/or heating unit carrier in an axis passing through the center of the sample carrier and/or heating unit carrier (paragraphs [0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 6, Chiou teaches wherein said sample carrier (item 101) is in hexagonal or octagonal prism form (the 6 cutouts for item 102 make item 101 into a hexagonal prism form), and said heating unit carrier is in the form of a prism configured to telescopically engage with the sample carrier (figure 4), and the movement mechanism is configured to move the sample carrier and/or heating unit carrier in an axis passing through the center of the sample carrier and/or heating unit carrier (paragraphs [0037]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 7, Chiou teaches wherein the at least on sample chamber (item 101) is a plurality of sample chambers (item 102) positioned in said second circular axis (figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6 (additionally) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiou.
Regarding claim 3, Chiou teaches wherein the first heating unit (item 212) and the second heating unit (item 213) all comprise a first heating element (items 212 and 213, respectively) and a second heating element (item 220) positioned to define a heating region in between said first heating element and said second heating element (paragraph [0037]). Chiou further teaches the third heating element (item 214) comprises a first heating element (item 214).
However, Chiou fails to specifically teach the third heating element comprises a second heating element.
Chiou further teaches that three different temperature zones each include a pair of heaters above and below a heating region (paragraph [0028]).
Examiner further finds that the prior art included each element claimed (as set forth above), although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements within a single reference. Moreover, an ordinarily skilled artisan could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., using three pairs of heaters instead of two), and that in combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately (i.e., heating the sample), and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to combine the third pair of heating elements of reference Chiou with the two pairs of heating elements of reference Chiou, since the result would have been predictable. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a third pair of heating units, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Regarding claim 6, Chiou teaches wherein said heating unit carrier is in the form of a prism configured to telescopically engage with the sample carrier (figure 4), and the movement mechanism is configured to move the sample carrier and/or heating unit carrier in an axis passing through the center of the sample carrier and/or heating unit carrier (paragraphs [0037]-[0038]).
However, if it is determined that Chiou fails to teach wherein said sample carrier is in hexagonal or octagonal prism form. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the sample carrier either in a hexagonal or octagonal prism form, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination, MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiou in view of United States Application Publication No. 2014/0038192, hereinafter Buse.
Regarding claim 8, Chiou teaches wherein the at least one sample chamber (item 101) is a plurality of sample chambers provided in the same number as the first heating unit, the second heating unit, and the third heating unit positioned in said second circular axis (there is the same number of item 102 as there are heating units (items 211-216).
Chiou fails to teach the plurality of sample chambers are provided in the same number as the total number of measurement units.
Buse teaches a device for automated incubation in which the system has multiple detectors so that signals emitted from different receptacles are measured simultaneously (Buse, paragraph [0144]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the number of measurement units be the same as the number of sample chamber because it would allow for signals emitted from different sample chambers to be measured simultaneously (Buse, paragraph [0144]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/029116 in view of Chiou. The entire scope of the reference claim falls within the scope of the examined claim except the examined claim also specifies the limitation of a measurement unit.
Chiou teaches a thermal cycler device with an optical detection device so that the device can detect optical signals for the dye or fluorescent signal from the fluorescent reports of the sample (paragraph [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have added the optical detection device to the claims of 18/029116 because it would allow the device to detect optical signals for the dye or fluorescent signal from the fluorescent reports of the sample (paragraph [0034]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Chiou in figure 4 shows any path between adjacent heating regions is not at least 90 degrees, but is clearly significantly less than 90 degrees is not persuasive. It is correct that figure 4 shows the path between adjacent heating regions is not at least 90 degrees, however, in multiple spots of the specification of Chiou, Chiou discusses having different numbers of heating elements, different spacing and shapes of heating elements and even combining heating elements of the heating elements shown in figure 4 (paragraphs [0024], [0037] and [0041]). Based upon these teachings it is interpreted that Chiou anticipates the claims, however, if it is determined that Chiou does not anticipate the claim, the claims are rendered as obvious over Chiou and specifically the discussions regarding the heating elements in (paragraphs [0024], [0037] and [0041]).
Additionally, the examiner notes that from figure 1 of applicants specification and the paragraphs 0034-0035 and 0038, the specification does not teach the 90 degree relative movement of a sample chamber between leaving one heating region and arriving in the next heating region. At most the specification provides support for the center to center spacing of the heating regions being at least 90 degrees, however, the specification does not provide support for the 90 degree relative movement between leaving one heating region and arriving at the next heating region as each heating region has a specified size and shape to the heating region and therefore the distance between the edge of one heating region and the edge of the next heating region would not be at least 90 degrees and therefore, applicant’s argument that the distance moved between leaving one heating region and arriving in the next heating region is at least a 90 degree relative movement does not have support.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796