Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1/a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP 2009-176524 (refer to machine translation submitted herein for citations).
Regarding claims 1, and 6-8; 524 teaches a superconductor wire (para. 0001) comprising a plurality of superconductor layers that extend in a longitudinal direction of a substrate and are disposed in parallel in a transverse direction of the substrate (superconductor layers separated by notches of insulating sections; fig. 1, 2, para. 0024, 0035), at least one insulating section that extends in the longitudinal direction of the substrate, is disposed between the plurality of superconductor layers, and electrically insulates the plurality of superconductor layers (superconductor layers separated by notches of insulating sections; fig. 1, 2, para. 0024, 0035), a plurality of connecting sections that are disposed in the insulating sections along a longitudinal direction of the substrate and electrically connected adjacent superconductor layers in a superconducting manner (connecting sections of discontinuities of the insulating sections; fig. 1, 2, para. 0024, 0035), wherein the superconductor wire is spirally wound (para. 0040), wherein the diameter of the spiral is 20 mm (appears to be D; Table 1), the length of the spiral pitch along a winding axis direction is 200 mm (appears to be P; Table 1), the length of each insulating section along the longitudinal direction is 200 mm (appears to be L; para. 0030). It appears that the values of D, P, and L disclosed by 524 meet the limitation of the equations in claim 1 and claim 2 (with the connecting section length (g) being 5 mm; para. 0032). Additionally, it appears that the values for D, P, L, and g are anticipated by 524 as the values for those variables are sufficiently small. In the alternative, it would have been obvious to select the values for the variables through routine experimentation based on the desired properties of the end product absent unexpected results.
Regarding claims 3-5, 524 teaches that the width (length in the transverse direction) of the superconductor layer is 1-2 (wf; notches provided at 1-2 mm intervals; para. 0011) and g is 2-5 mm (para. 0032), and the width of the wire is 3.33 mm (wt; para. 0039). Therefore, it appears that the values for g, wf, and wt overlap with the limitations of the equations of claims 3-5.
Regarding claim 9, 524 teaches a conducting layer covering the superconductor layers (stabilizer layer; para. 0023).
Regarding claim 11, 524 teaches a superconducting cable (para. 0040) comprising a core material (cylindrical metal object; para. 0040), and the superconductor wire of claim 1 spirally wound along the axis of the core material (para. 0040).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2009-176524 (refer to machine translation submitted herein for citations) in view of Knoll (US 2005/0139380).
524 teaches a product as described above in claim 9, but fails to teach the conducting layer further covers the insulating sections and the connecting sections.
Knoll, however, teaches a superconducting tape (abstract) wherein a stabilizer layer covers the insulating and connecting sections (para. 0040-0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a stabilizer layer covering the insulating and connecting sections of 542 in order to provide a configuration known in the art as taught by Knoll.
Conclusion
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735