DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group I (product) as well as Species VII (lithium periodate) and C (hydrogen periodate ion of HIO6-), represented by claims 1–4 and 6–10, in the reply filed on 12/10/25 is acknowledged. Claim(s) 11–17 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply.
Additionally, as Applicant’s electing lithium periodate as the I-containing material includes electing a (meta)periodate ion (IO4-), the subsequent election of a hydrogen periodate ion of HIO6- (Species C) is incommensurate with the above species. Thus, the reply will be treated as subsequently electing corresponding Species A (IO4-) such that claim 5 is rejoined, so claims 1–10 will be fully examined for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
In view of the withdrawal of the restriction requirement as to the rejoined inventions, applicant(s) are advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application. Once the restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Objections
It is recommended that Applicant amend the claims as follows:
In claim 1, line 6, “the iodine-containing material containing” should read “the iodine-containing material contains” for proper grammar.
In claim 7, lines 2 and 3, “wherein iodine-containing material is present” should read “wherein the iodine-containing material is present” for proper grammar and antecedence.
In claim 8, lines 1 and 2, “positive electrode active material slurry for a lithium-ion secondary battery comprising the positive electrode active material” should read “positive electrode active material slurry for a lithium-ion secondary battery, comprising the positive electrode active material” to clarify that the slurry contains the active material, as in specification’s ¶ 0088.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1–6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, alternatively, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kwon et al. (US 20180175440 A1, from 03/29/23 IDS) (Kwon).
Regarding claims 1–5, Kwon discloses a positive electrode active material for a lithium-ion secondary battery (Title), comprising a lithium transition metal oxide (LiCoO2 core, e.g., ¶ 0036), and an iodine-containing material at least partially covering the lithium transition metal oxide (iodine as part of LiI coating, ¶ 0039).
Although Kwon is silent to the iodine’s oxidation state, Kwon discloses mixing LiI with a lithium-based active material precursor, followed by heating at 300~600°C for 10 h (¶ 0038–0041; see also Samples 1-1 and 1-2, which were fired at 300°C and 450°C, respectively, ¶ 0052). Importantly, the instant specification notes that the iodine with the recited oxidation-number range forms after firing (e.g., ¶ 0062; see also XPS analysis of Ex. 1-1 vs. Comp. Ex. 1-1, (¶ 0158), where periodate (IO4-), i.e., 7+ iodine, was detected), where firing occurs at preferably 200–450°C (¶ 0085) for preferably 2–5 h (¶ 0086). Thus, although Kwon does not mix the materials in the solid state before firing, absent demonstrated criticality to this step, as Kwon discloses a substantially similar starting material (LiI, ¶ 0072) that is mixed with and fired alongside a lithium metal oxide under firing conditions substantially similar to the instant disclosure (e.g., ¶ 0085/0086 and examples), it is submitted that Kwon’s iodine would necessarily oxidize to a periodate and, thus, assume a +7 oxidation state (MPEP 2112.01 (I)), satisfying +3 to +7 (claim 1), +5 to +7 (claim 2), and +7 (claim 3).
Assuming, arguendo, that Kwon’s iodine would not necessarily assume the above oxidation state, based on the above rationale—and considering that Kwon is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely I-coated positive active material—the skilled artisan, before the claimed invention’s effective filing date, would have reasonably expected Kwon’s iodine to oxidize to a periodate and, thus, assume a +7 oxidation state, absent additional evidence (MPEP 2112.01 (I)).
It is submitted that the above disclosure further reads on claims 4 and 5; i.e., by the iodine’s seemingly at least partially oxidizing to a periodate of IO4-, such would further read on claim 4’s periodate ion and claim 5’s metaperiodate (IO4-).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon discloses the positive electrode active material for a lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1 but is silent to evaluating the material via XPS and, thus, is silent to the recited peak.
However, based on claim 1’s rationale, the skilled artisan, before the claimed invention’s effective filing date, would have reasonably expected Kwon’s material to display a I 3d5/2 peak at a binding energy falling within or at least overlapping the instant 622–626 eV (MPEP 2112.01 (I)) such that the skilled artisan could have routinely selected within the overlap with a reasonable expectation of achieving a successfully coated active material with suitable physical properties and iodine content (MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20180175440 A1) (Kwon), as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Kwon discloses the positive electrode active material for a lithium-ion secondary battery according to claim 1 but appears to fail to articulate the iodine material’s wt% in the above Samples 1-1 or 1-2 and, thus, 0.001–10.0 wt% based on the total weight of the active material.
Kwon generally discloses, however, that the coating layer (including LiI and Li3BO3, ¶ 0019) is preferably present at 0.05~0.1 wt% of the core + coating (¶ 0017, 0018), and the molar ratio of Li3BO3:LiI in the coating is 8~9:1~2 (¶ 0019). Per the below calculations, such appears capable of satisfying the recited range.
More importantly, however, Kwon discloses that when the amount of coating layer is lower than the above range, there is little to no improvement of ion conductivity or flexibility, whereas when the amount of coating is greater than the above range, the electrode layer’s performance deteriorates due to excessively small amount of active core material (¶ 0033). Similarly, Kwon discloses that when the Li3BO3:LiI ratio is lower than the above range, the amount of I is too low, reducing ion conductivity and flexibility, whereas when the ratio is above the range, battery capacity deteriorates (¶ 0032). To balance all these effects, then, it would have been obvious to arrive at the recited range by routinely optimizing the I-containing material’s wt% (MPEP 2144.05 (II)).
Claim(s) 8–10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 20180175440 A1) (Kwon), as applied to claim 1, in view of Allie et al. (US 20170179472 A1) (Allie).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon discloses the positive electrode active material of claim 1.
Kwon further discloses that the positive active layer (positive electrode layer 10) includes the active material as well as a conductive material, a solid electrolyte, and a binder (¶ 0044). However, in being unconcerned with the manner in which this layer is fabricated, Kwon fails to explicitly articulate a positive electrode active material slurry for a lithium-ion secondary battery comprising the positive electrode active material.
Allie, in teaching a similar battery with a composite electrode containing active material, solid electrolyte, and binder (Abstract), teaches that the electrode may be produced as an active-material slurry coated atop a current collector (¶ 0062–0064).
Allie is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely electrode active-material slurries for secondary batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the claimed invention's effective filing date, that Kwon's active layer must necessarily be produced in some manner, and, as demonstrated by Allie, the skilled artisan would find it obvious to use slurry casting—and, thus, obtain a positive electrode active material slurry comprising the active material—with the reasonable expectation of achieving a successful electrode, as taught by Allie.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Kwon discloses a lithium-ion secondary battery comprising a positive electrode comprising a positive electrode active material layer (e.g., ¶ 0042–0047), containing the positive electrode active material of claim 1 (¶ 0042).
As seen above in ¶ 0042, Kwon discloses the active layer as positive electrode layer 10, but, in being unconcerned with the rest of the battery’s structure, Kwon fails to explicitly disclose that the active layer is atop a current collector.
Allie, in teaching a composite electrode structure for a similar battery (Title, Abstract), teaches providing an active layer atop a current collector for electrical contact (e.g., ¶ 0048, ¶ 0062–0064).
Allie is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely electrodes in secondary batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate Allie’s current collector below Kwon’s active layer with the reasonable expectation of predictably achieving successful current collection and electrical contact, as suggested by Allie.
Double Patenting
Claims 1–3 and 6–10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–4, 6, 7, and 9 of copending Application No. 18/284234 (reference application, published as US 20240162422 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as follows:
Ref. claims 1 and 2 together encompass instant claims 1 and 2. Further, ref. claim 2’s 5+ to 7+ overlaps instant claim 3’s 7+ such that the skilled artisan could have selected within the overlap with a reasonable expectation of producing a successful iodine coating (MPEP 2144.05 (I)). Further, ref. claim 3 reads on instant claim 6. Ref. claim 4’s wt% range encompasses instant claim 7’s range such that the skilled artisan could have selected within the overlap with a reasonable expectation of producing a successful iodine coating (MPEP 2144.05 (I)). Ref. claims 6, 7, and 9 read on claims 8–10, respectively.
Claims 1–3 and 7–10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5–7, and 9–11 of copending Application No. 18/289279 (reference application, published as US 20250300168 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as follows:
Ref. claims 1, 5, and 6 together encompass instant claims 1 and 2. Further, ref. claim 2’s 5+ to 7+ overlaps instant claim 3’s 7+ such that the skilled artisan could have selected within the overlap with a reasonable expectation of producing a successful iodine coating (MPEP 2144.05 (I)). Ref. claim 7’s wt% range encompasses instant claim 7’s range such that the skilled artisan could have selected within the overlap with a reasonable expectation of producing a successful iodine coating (MPEP 2144.05 (I)). Ref. claims 9–11 read on claims 8–10, respectively.
The above are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The cited art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20250023042 A1: lithium-metal-oxide positive active material coated with lithium iodate, but this reference (with EFD 04/19/22) fails to qualify as prior art given the instant application’s 371 filing date of—and, thus, EFD no later than—12/24/21.
/J.S.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 2/13/2026