DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 02/16/2026. Claims 1-15 and 17-32 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Further recognition:
The objections to the drawings are withdrawn in light of the amendments and arguments.
The objections to the claims are withdrawn in in light of the amendments.
The rejections pursuant to 112(b) with respect to claim 8 are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 26-29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 26-29, the claims recite “…member (16),” throughout the claims. In order to ensure clarity and to prevent new matter rejections the claims should be modified as written below, because the original disclosure describes a platelike air guide member (16) and not a member.
The claim should be amended to recite - - platelike air guide member (16) - - for clarity. This is throughout the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, the phrase " preferably " renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 13, 17, 19-24 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US2019/0032989A1), in view of Lee et al. (US2019/0360745A1 hereinafter Lee’745), and further in view of Wang et al. (US2012/0120080A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches a refrigerator [1] comprising:
a self-supporting cabinet [101] having a thermal-insulating structure [103] and is internally provided with at least one thermally-insulated inner storage cavity [fig. 4; 12] configured to accommodate perishable foodstuff [0003 “storing food”];
an electrically-operated cooling system [0073 “constitute the refrigeration cycle”] at least partially accommodated inside the self-supporting cabinet [fig. 4] and is configured to cool down the inside of said at least one inner storage cavity [0073 “for cooling the refrigerating compartment 12”] ;
an electrically-operated air-circulation assembly [components of 400] located on a rear wall [102] of said inner storage cavity [fig. 16 see also fig. 14 showing 450 as part of the electrically-operated air-circulation assembly];
a plate [410] separate from [0127-0132 “have both side surfaces that are bent to define a heat-exchange space 460 in which the rear plate 410 is spaced apart from the rear surface of the inner case”] and being located in front of being located in front of the electrically-operated air circulation assembly [fig. 10 clearly showing 410 in front of at least 450], wherein the plate [410] is configured to entirely cover an upper sector [fig. 4 where 410 covers at least an upper sector of (12)] of said electrically- operated air-circulation assembly [0128 “define the rear surface of the refrigerating compartment”] where one or more shelves are located [fig. 15].
Kim does not explicitly teach the plate is configured to allow incident light to enter and travel by total internal reflection inside the plate ; and
a lighting assembly configured to emit light on command, and is arranged within the inner storage cavity so as to illuminate at least part of an exposed front face of said plate , the plate being further configured to scatter, from its exposed front face, the light travelling inside itself by total internal reflection.
However, Wang teaches the plate [100 corresponding to 410 of Kim] is configured to allow incident light [0082 “light injected”] to enter and travel by total internal reflection inside the plate [0086 “total internal reflection” corresponding to 410 of Kim]; and
the plate [100 corresponding to 410 of Kim] being further configured to scatter [0104 “redirect the light out”], from the exposed front face [at least fig. 14A where the front face is closest to (200) corresponding to the front face of 61 of Kim], the light travelling inside itself by total internal reflection [0104 “propagating within”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Kim teaching with Wang by combining the plate is configured to allow incident light to enter and travel by total internal reflection inside the plate and the plate being further configured to scatter, from its exposed front face, the light travelling inside itself by total internal reflection where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a refrigerator where the plat allows light to travel by total internal reflection and the plate scatters light which is traveling by total internal reflection which allows light to be ejected out of the plate [Wang; 0104].
Further, Lee’745 teaches a lighting assembly [80] configured to emit light on command [0119-0120 “illuminated” and “opening signal”], and is arranged within the inner storage cavity [12 corresponding to 10 of Kim] so as to illuminate at least part of an exposed front face of said plate [0118 “disposed to face the inside of the refrigerator” which would clearly illuminate an exposed front face in the rear of the refrigerator corresponding to 410 of Kim].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Kim to have a lighting assembly configured to emit light on command, and is arranged within the inner storage cavity so as to illuminate at least part of the exposed front face of said plate in view of the teachings of Lee’745 where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a refrigerator with a light assembly that lights an inner storage cavity on command and emits light on a front face of a plate which makes the storage spaces more clearly visible [Lee’745; 0121].
Regarding Claim 3, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 1 and Wang teaches herein the lighting assembly [Lee’745; 80] is configured to direct the emitted light towards the exposed front face of the plate [Lee’745; 80; 0357 “illuminating the inside of the refrigerator” which corresponds to the exposed front face of Kim], so that at least part of said light can penetrate [Lee’745; 0354 “effectively illuminate” where at least part of the light would penetrate into the plate] into the plate [Kim; 410] and then travel inside the same plate by total internal reflection [Wang; 0086 “TIR”].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 1 and Wang teaches wherein the plate [Kim; 410] comprises a plate [Wang; 120] of transparent material [Wang; 0085 “and/or other optically transparent materials”] and has, on its rear face, at least one light-scattering surface structure [Wang; 124; 0104 “reflective features”].
Regarding Claim 5, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 4 and Wang teaches wherein said at least one light-scattering surface structure [124] is incorporated into said plate [0104 “provided with a plurality of light turning features”].
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 4 and Wang teaches wherein said at least one light-scattering surface structure [124] is formed directly on surface of the front and/or rear face of said plate [Figs. 14A-14C].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 6 and Wang teaches wherein said at least one light-scattering surface structure [124] includes one or more surface sectors of the plate [figs. 15c showing on or more surface sectors of the plate] having an increased rough profile [0109 “has been roughened”].
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 6 and Wang teaches wherein said at least one light-scattering surface structure [124] includes a multitude of micro cavities or indentations formed on surface of the rear face of said plate [figs. 14a-c].
Regarding Claim 13, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 4 and Kim teaches wherein said plate [120 of Wang corresponding to 410 of Kim] is a slab of light-conductive polymeric material [0085 “polymers”].
Regarding Claim 17, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 4 and Kim teaches wherein said plate [410] is rectangular in shape [fig. 6].
Regarding Claim 19, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 1 and L’745 teaches wherein said lighting assembly [80] is located on at least one of the opposite lateral walls [fig. 3] of said inner storage cavity [Kim; 12].
Regarding Claim 20, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 19 and Lee’745 teaches wherein said lighting assembly [80] is located on both opposite lateral walls [fig. 3] of said inner storage cavity [Kim; 12].
Regarding Claim 21, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 20 and Lee’745 teaches wherein said lighting assembly [80] comprises a pair of separate electric lighting units [see fig. 3 where there are multiple lighting assemblies or fig. 5 showing multiple elements in the lighting assembly] which emit light on command [0119-0120 “illuminated” and “opening signal”] and are located each on a respective lateral wall [fig. 3] of said inner storage cavity [Kim; 12], preferably close to the access opening of the same cavity [Lee’745 fig. 3].
Regarding Claim 22, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 1 and Kim teaches wherein said plate [410] is attached directly to the rear wall [102] of said inner storage cavity [0139], so as to hide/conceal at least part of said rear wall [00128 “define the rear surface of the refrigerating compartment”].
Regarding Claim 23, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 22 and Kim teaches wherein the plate [410] is dimensioned so as to take up the whole width of rear wall [102] and inner cavity [0128 “define the rear surface of the refrigerating compartment”]
Regarding Claim 24, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 1 and Kim teaches wherein the plate [410] is attached to the rear wall [102] of said inner storage cavity in detachable manner [0140-0141 “duct coupling part” see also 0136 “are coupled”].
Regarding Claim 30, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 1 and Kim teaches wherein the electrically-operated cooling system [refrigeration cycle components] comprises a heat-pump assembly [0073 “constitute the refrigeration cycle”] which is provided with at least one low-pressure heat exchanger 500] that cools down the inside of said inner storage cavity [0154 “air cooled by the second evaporator”].
Regarding Claim 31, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 30 and Kim teaches wherein said low-pressure heat exchanger [500] is located along an air channel [460] of a platelike air-guide member [fig. 14].
Regarding Claim 32, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 1 and Kim teaches wherein the electrically-operated cooling system [400] comprises an evaporator [500] that is disposed at least partially in the upper sector [fig. 15 showing 500 in the upper sector] of said electrically-operated air-circulation assembly [fig. 15].
Claim(s) 2 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., Lee’745 and Wang et al. as applied to claim 1 and in view of Kwanwoo et al. (US2021/0026056A1).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 1 and Kim teaches wherein the plate [410].
Modified Kim does not explicitly teach the plate has an opaque rear face.
However, Kwanwoo teaches the plate [240 corresponding to 410 of Kim] an opaque rear face [220; 0058 ”first reflective layer”] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. secures a refrigerator having a plate with an opaque rear face.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of modified Kim to have an opaque rear face in view of the teachings of Kwanwoo where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. secures a refrigerator having a light scattering member with an opaque rear face which allows light to be emitted to the light exit surface [Kwanwoo; 0062].
Regarding Claim 9, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 4 and Kim teaches the plate [410] and said plate [410].
Modified Kim does not explicitly teach the plate additionally comprises an opaque covering that covers the rear face of said plate.
However, Kwanwoo teaches the plate [200 corresponding to 410 of Kim] additionally comprises an opaque covering [220] that covers the rear face of said plate [0058 “light exit surface” fig. 7 clearly showing 220 on the rear side of 240, 240 corresponds to 65 of Kim] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. secures a refrigerator having a light scattering member with an opaque covering or coating that covers the rear face.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the modified Kim to have the plate additionally comprises an opaque covering that covers the rear face of said plate in view of the teachings of Kwanwoo where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. secures a refrigerator having a light scattering member with an opaque covering or coating that covers the rear face which allows light to be emitted to the light exit surface [0062].
Regarding Claim 10, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 9 and Kwanwoo teaches wherein said at least one light-scattering surface structure [230 corresponding to 124 of Wang] is at least partially incorporated into said opaque covering [0065 “disposed between” see also fig. 7 where (230) is incorporated into (220)].
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., Lee’745, Wang et al. and Kwanwoo et al. as applied to claim 9 and in view of Lee (US2019/0326784A1).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 9 and Kim teaches said opaque covering [Kwanwoo; 220] and said plate [Kim; 410].
Modified Kim does not explicitly teach, wherein said opaque covering is a layer of opaque paint that coats the rear face of said plate.
However, Lee teaches wherein said opaque covering [114 corresponding to 220 of Kwanwoo] is a layer of opaque paint [0218 “paint”] that coats the rear face of said plate [0218 “attached”, “lower surface of the plate 110a” where 110a corresponds to 410 of Kim].
Since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.07), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the opaque covering or coating by making it an opaque paint and arrive at the claimed invention in order to secure a refrigerator that uses an opaque paint coating to prevent light leakage [0018; Lee].
Regarding Claim 12, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 11 and Lee teaches wherein said opaque paint has light-reflective properties [0216 “reflected”].
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., Lee’745 and Wang et al. as applied to claim 1 and in view of Nishimura (JP5172634B2).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 1 and Kim teaches said plate [410].
Modified Kim does not explicitly teach wherein said plate additionally has, on its exposed front face and/or on its rear face, logo/s, graphic symbol/s, aesthetical pattern/s and/or writings.
However, Nishimura teaches wherein said plate [14 corresponding to 410 of Kim] additionally has, on its exposed front face, logo/s, graphic symbol/s, aesthetical pattern/s and/or writings [fig. 4 clearly shows a logo, graphic, aesthetical patter or writing on the exposed front face panel] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. secures a refrigerator with logo/s, graphic symbol/s, aesthetical pattern/s or writings on its front face.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kim and Khizar to have on its exposed front face or on its rear face, logo/s, graphic symbol/s, aesthetical pattern/s and/or writings in view of the teachings of Nishimura where the elements would have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. secures a refrigerator with logo/s, graphic symbol/s, aesthetical pattern/s or writings on its front face.
Further, matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947). See MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 14 and Kim teaches wherein said plate [410] is structured so as to scatter the light travelling inside itself by total internal reflection [Wang; 0104 “eject light”], so as to form said one or more logo/s, graphic symbol/s, aesthetical pattern/s, and/or writings [Nishimura; Fig. 4 and 9; 0028-0031].
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., Lee’745, and Wang et al. as applied to claim 4 and in view of Knoll (US2009/0272136A1).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 4 and Kim teaches said plate [410].
Modified Kim does not explicitly a thickness of said plate of l ranges between 1 and 20 mm beveled or rounded edges or a thickness of said plate ranges between 1 and 20 mm.
However, Knoll teaches a thickness of said plate [5 corresponding to 410 of Kim] ranges between 1 and 20 mm [0018 “a thickness in a range from 5 mm to 20 mm” ] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. secures a having a glass surface between 5 and 20 mm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Kim and Khizar to have a glass surface between 5 and 20 mm in view of the teachings of Knoll where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. secures a having a glass surface between 5 and 20 mm.
Further, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Claim(s) 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., Lee’745, and Wang et al. as applied to claim 1 and in view of Bao et al. (CN108426405A).
Regarding Claim 25, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 1 and Kim teaches wherein said refrigerator [1] includes the electrically-operated air-circulation assembly [400].
Modified Kim does not explicitly teach the electrically-operated air-circulation assembly is configured to circulate air in closed loop inside the inner storage cavity.
However, Bao teaches the electrically-operated air-circulation assembly [1-3 corresponds to 400 of Kim] is configured to circulate air in closed loop inside the inner storage cavity [0017 “the air circulation”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the modified Kim teaching with Bao by combining the electrically-operated air-circulation assembly is configured to circulate air in closed loop inside the inner storage cavity where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a refrigerator with the electrically-operated air-circulation assembly is configured to circulate air in closed loop inside the inner storage cavity which increases air circulation efficiency and prevents items from blocking the air outlets [Bao; 0017].
Regarding Claim 26, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 25 and Bao teaches wherein said electrically operated air-circulation assembly [1-2 corresponding to 400 of Kim] comprises:
a platelike air guide member [2-3] comprising a thermal-insulating material [2; 0051 “2 is preferably made of foam”] and a cover [3] which is attached to the plate [4 corresponding to 410 of Kim];
the platelike air guide member [2-3] being discrete from the self-supporting cabinet [Fig. 9 showing 2-3 are discrete from the self-supporting cabinet] and is rigidly attached to the rear wall [0048 “rear panel 604”; see also figs. 8-9] of said storage cavity [Kim; 12];
an air channel [Bao; 210] that extends inside [Fig. 4], or is at least partially delimited by, said platelike air guide member [Fig. 4] and directly communicates, at the ends, with the inside of said storage cavity [fig. 4; 203]; and
a fan [0042 “The fan is fixed in the fan slot 204”] which is placed along the air channel [fig. 4] and is adapted to generate/produce an airflow [0035 “2 for controlling the airflow”] that circulates in closed loop along the air channel [fig. 4] and the inner storage cavity [0017 clearly disclosing a closed loop air flow that incorporates the air channel and inner storage cavity];
the plate [4] being arranged over the exposed front face of said platelike air guide member [fig. 4 see also 0045 “decorative plate 4 is fixed to the other surface of the positioning plate 3”].
Regarding Claim 27, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 26 and Bao teaches wherein said platelike air guide member [2-3] is attached to the rear wall [604] of said inner storage cavity [Kim; 12] in detachable manner [0048 “"U"-shaped hanging plates and fastened by bolts”].
Regarding Claim 28, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 26 and Bao teaches wherein said plate [4] is dimensioned to completely cover the exposed front face of said platelike air guide member [fig. 4].
Regarding Claim 29, modified Kim teaches the refrigerator according to Claim 26 and Bao teaches wherein the exposed front face of said platelike air-guide member [2-3] is vertically divided into an upper [fig. 7 601 having an upper section with shelves] and a lower sectors [fig. 7 601 having a lower sector with no shelves] complementary to one another [601; 0049 “three compartments 601, and each compartment 601 is provided with a pair of branch air ducts 201”], and at least the upper sector [fig. 7] of said exposed front face [where 4 has an exposed front face corresponding to the front face of 410 of Kim] is completely covered by said plate [fig. 1 in conjunction with fig. 7 clearly show (4) at least the upper sector of said exposed front face is completely covered by said plate].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 8-13, filed 02/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claims under 35U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new prior art see rejection of claims above.
Conclusion
/ADAM DORREL MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763