DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4–6 and 15–20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 1, should be amended to replace “the step” with “a step.”
Claim 5, line 1, should be amended to replace “the step” with “a step.”
Claim 15 recites “at least two work pieces” (l. 4), but antecedent basis for these is already provided earlier in the claim, and so this should recite “the at least two work pieces.” The same goes for “a weld joint” (l. 4), which should be “the weld joint.”
Claims 6 and 16–20 are objected to due to dependency upon an objected-to claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The step of applying a phosphate layer in claim 4.
The step of applying a coating in claim 5.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gu et al. (US Pub. 2017/0361403).
Claim 15 is directed to, at least in part, a product-by-process claim. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP § 2113.I.).
Claim 15: Gu discloses a part (100), comprising:
at least two pieces of metal (102A, 102B) joined together at a weld joint (104), the weld joint being formed according to a welding process including the following steps;
welding at least two work pieces (102A, 102B) together to form a weld joint (104) which contains at least one silicate island (106); and
laser cleaning (via 204) the weld joint (e.g. shown in figs. 3A–3C and discussed in ¶ 28) to sublimate material from a top surface of the weld joint to reduce a size of the at least one silicate island (Gu does not disclose sublimation, but its liquefication (see ¶ 28) and subsequent dislodging via a gas stream (ibid.) results in a structurally same part; see MPEP § 2113).
Comment: Hanschmann et al. (US Pub. 2015/0251274) may read on claim 15; however, it also may not, since its use of laser deposition welding arguably causes a structurally distinct weld from one that would be required by the product-by-process steps of the claim.
Claim 19: Gu discloses that the at least two pieces are made of steel or an alloy steel (Gu clearly implies that its at least two pieces are made of steel or alloy steel in ¶¶ 5 and 35).
Claim 20: Gu discloses that, during the laser cleaning step, material of the weld joint surrounding the at least one silicate island is not removed from the weld joint (see claim 6 disclosing that the laser beam causes “a temperature that is sufficient to liquefy at least one of the material and the localized portion of the underlying surface,” i.e. with only the material (i.e. the silicate island) liquefied, only it would be removed; see also similar language in ¶ 28).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Claims 16–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Hanschmann et al. (US Pub. 2015/0251274).
Claim 16: Gu does not disclose that a phosphate layer is disposed over the weld joint.
However, Hanschmann discloses a similar product-by-process where a phosphate layer (see ¶ 28 discussing “coating 28” and “phosphating”) is disposed over a weld joint (see ¶ 24 describing that the coating 28 is applied over 26).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the phosphate layer of Hanschmann onto the weld joint of Gu to improve corrosion resistance.
Claim 17: Modified as per claim 16 above, Hanschmann discloses that a coating is disposed over the phosphate layer (¶ 28 describes that the coating 28 may be “at least one of painting, phosphating and electrocoating,” where painting on top of the phosphate layer would be done for aesthetic reasons).
Claim 18: Gu discloses that the forming process further includes directing a pulsating laser beam (¶ 36, “pulsed”) from a laser head (202) directly at the top surface of the weld joint (see figs. 2–3C).
Comment: The “forming process” is clearly referring to the formation of the weld joint in claim 15.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu.
Gu never explicitly discloses that, during the laser cleaning step, material of the weld joint surrounding the at least one silicate island is not removed from the weld joint.
However, Gu provides enough of a disclosure to suggest that this would be the case. See claim 6 disclosing that the laser beam causes “a temperature that is sufficient to liquefy at least one of the material and the localized portion of the underlying surface,” i.e. with only the material (i.e. the silicate island) liquefied, only it would be removed. See also similar language in ¶ 28.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1–3 and 7–14 are allowed.
Claims 4–6 would inherit allowability if rewritten or amended to overcome the objections set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Gu clearly discloses liquefying the silicate islands, not sublimating them. Although sublimation via lasers is known, the prior art does not suggest that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to sublimate the silicate islands via a more powerful laser.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: Helmig (US Pub. 2006/0035567) discloses a process for removing silicates from a welding steam by using high pressure fluid jets.
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761