DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 13 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Gu’s method of silicate island removal would result in a structure that would not match the product by process of claim 15. Applicant argues that Gu heats the underlying weld bead (p. 7), including to a temperature sufficient enough to liquefy it, for which the gas force is preferably controlled to avoid disturbing the weld bead (p. 8). While the Office appreciates Applicant’s point, this argument is unpersuasive because of how Gu’s claim 6 (cited for the rejection of claim 20) is broad enough to suggest that the laser beam is used to liquefy “at least one of the material and the localized portion of the underlying surface.” Because Gu broadly discloses only liquefying the “material” (i.e. the silicate island), the Office finds it sufficient to disclose what is claimed. The Office grants that Gu discloses that the weld bead may be liquefied, or that even if it is not liquefied, that it would be heated. However, under the broad scope of disclosure of Gu’s claim 6, the Office finds that Gu does disclose at least one product by process where the underlying surface (i.e. the weld bead) would not be liquefied, and further, the Office is not persuaded that any non-liquefying heating of the underlying surface would cause any lasting structural changes that would render it different from the product by process claimed in claim 15. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gu et al. (US Pub. 2017/0361403).
Claim 15 is directed to, at least in part, a product-by-process claim. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps (MPEP § 2113.I.).
Claim 15: Gu discloses a part (100), comprising:
at least two pieces of metal (102A, 102B) joined together at a weld joint (104), the weld joint being formed according to a welding process including the following steps;
welding the at least two work pieces (102A, 102B) together to form the weld joint (104) which contains at least one silicate island (106); and
laser cleaning (via 204) the weld joint (e.g. shown in figs. 3A–3C and discussed in ¶ 28) to sublimate material from a top surface of the weld joint to reduce a size of the at least one silicate island (Gu does not disclose sublimation, but its liquefication (see ¶ 28) and subsequent dislodging via a gas stream (ibid.) results in a structurally same part; see MPEP § 2113).
Comment: Hanschmann et al. (US Pub. 2015/0251274) may read on claim 15; however, it also may not, since its use of laser deposition welding arguably causes a structurally distinct weld from one that would be required by the product-by-process steps of the claim.
Claim 19: Gu discloses that the at least two pieces are made of steel or an alloy steel (Gu clearly implies that its at least two pieces are made of steel or alloy steel in ¶¶ 5 and 35).
Claim 20: Gu discloses that, during the laser cleaning step, material of the weld joint surrounding the at least one silicate island is not removed from the weld joint (see claim 6 disclosing that the laser beam causes “a temperature that is sufficient to liquefy at least one of the material and the localized portion of the underlying surface,” i.e. with only the material (i.e. the silicate island) liquefied, only it would be removed; see also similar language in ¶ 28).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Claims 16–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Hanschmann et al. (US Pub. 2015/0251274).
Claim 16: Gu does not disclose that a phosphate layer is disposed over the weld joint.
However, Hanschmann discloses a similar product-by-process where a phosphate layer (see ¶ 28 discussing “coating 28” and “phosphating”) is disposed over a weld joint (see ¶ 24 describing that the coating 28 is applied over 26).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the phosphate layer of Hanschmann onto the weld joint of Gu to improve corrosion resistance.
Claim 17: Modified as per claim 16 above, Hanschmann discloses that a coating is disposed over the phosphate layer (¶ 28 describes that the coating 28 may be “at least one of painting, phosphating and electrocoating,” where painting on top of the phosphate layer would be done for aesthetic reasons).
Claim 18: Gu discloses that the forming process further includes directing a pulsating laser beam (¶ 36, “pulsed”) from a laser head (202) directly at the top surface of the weld joint (see figs. 2–3C).
Comment: The “forming process” is clearly referring to the formation of the weld joint in claim 15.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu.
Gu never explicitly discloses that, during the laser cleaning step, material of the weld joint surrounding the at least one silicate island is not removed from the weld joint.
However, Gu provides enough of a disclosure to suggest that this would be the case. See claim 6 disclosing that the laser beam causes “a temperature that is sufficient to liquefy at least one of the material and the localized portion of the underlying surface,” i.e. with only the material (i.e. the silicate island) liquefied, only it would be removed. See also similar language in ¶ 28.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1–14 are allowed.
Conclusion
This action is made final. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761