DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 4 February 2026.
Claims 1-13 are canceled.
Claims 14, 19-21, 24, 25, and 27 are amended.
Claims 14-28 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helmer (Foreign Patent Publication No. WO 2015185664 A1), in view of Giambattista (US Patent Publication No. 20190328968 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Helmer discloses an autoinjector needle-housing assembly (Helmer: Fig. 1, comprising cartridge holder 4 and inner needle sleeve 5) extending along an axis in a longitudinal direction (Fig. 1, axis L) from a proximal end (Fig. 1, end of sleeve 5 towards distal direction D) to a distal end (Fig. 1, end of holder 4 towards proximal direction P), the autoinjector needle-housing assembly (Fig. 1, comprising cartridge holder 4 and inner needle sleeve 5) comprising: a housing (Fig. 1, sleeve 5) comprising a proximal part (Fig. 1, area of sleeve 5 distal of second recess 5.2) and a distal part (Fig. 1, area of sleeve 5 proximal of recess 5.2) attached to the proximal part (Fig. 1, area of sleeve 5 proximal of recess 5.2 is attached to area of sleeve 5 distal of second recess 5.2); a needle (Fig. 1, needle 6) fixedly attached to the proximal part (Fig. 1, area of sleeve 5 distal of second recess 5.2) of the housing (Fig. 1, sleeve 5); a cartridge holder (Fig. 1, inner surface of cartridge holder 4 holds the cartridge 2 in place); and a sterility barrier (Fig. 1, cartridge holder 4) attached to the distal part (Fig. 1, cartridge holder 4 is attached to the area of sleeve 5 proximal of recess 5.2 via rib 5.1) of the housing (Fig. 1, sleeve 5), wherein the housing (Fig. 1, sleeve 5) and the sterility barrier (Fig. 1, cartridge holder 4) form a first sealed cavity (Fig. 1 above, sealed cavity A), wherein a distal end of the needle (Fig. 1, inner needle section 6.2. Examiner notes that there is a typo in the prior art, and that the needle section 6.2 is meant to be an inner needle section, supported by the specification at pg. 7, ln 9-26) is in the first sealed cavity (Fig. 1 above, needle section 6.2 is inside cavity A), wherein the autoinjector needle-housing assembly (Fig. 1, comprising cartridge holder 4 and inner needle sleeve 5) comprises a recess (Fig. 1 above, recess D) formed by the distal end (Fig. 1, end of holder 4 towards proximal direction P) of the autoinjector needle-housing assembly (Fig. 1, comprising cartridge holder 4 and inner needle sleeve 5), and wherein the recess (Fig. 1 above, recess D) is shaped to receive a cartridge (Fig. 1 above, recess D is shaped to receive cartridge 2) and to form a second cavity (Fig. 1 above, cavity B) between the autoinjector needle-housing assembly (Fig. 1, comprising cartridge holder 4 and inner needle sleeve 5) and said cartridge (Fig. 1, cartridge 2).
Helmer does not expressly disclose that the second cavity is sealed.
Giambattista teaches a second cavity (Giambattista: Fig. 5 and 7, the space defined by cartridge holder 330, seal 332, and the cartridge assembly 340) that is sealed (seal 332 maintains sterility of the needle assembly 310 prior to use; para. 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second cavity of Helmer such that it was sealed as taught by Giambattista in order to maintain sterility of the needle assembly 310 prior to use (Giambattista: para. 0061).
Regarding claim 15, Helmer teaches the assembly above, wherein the recess (Fig. 1 above, recess D) is formed between the sterility barrier (Fig. 1, holder 4) of the autoinjector needle-housing assembly (Fig. 1, comprising cartridge holder 4 and inner needle sleeve 5) and said cartridge (Fig. 1, cartridge 2).
Regarding claim 16, Helmer teaches the assembly above, wherein the sterility barrier (Fig. 1, holder 4) comprises a tubular portion (Fig. 1, holder 4 is cylindrical; pg. 6, ln 15-24) and a wall (Fig. 1 above, wall F) extending across the tubular portion (Fig. 1 above, wall F extends across holder 4), wherein the tubular portion (Fig. 1, holder 4 is cylindrical; pg. 6, ln 15-24) of the sterility barrier (Fig. 1, holder 4) extends in the longitudinal direction (Fig. 1, holder 4 extends longitudinally across axis L) and the wall (Fig. 1 above, wall F) extends in a radial direction (Fig. 1 above, holder 4 is cylindrical. Therefore, wall F would extend radially, as it covers the top of the holder 4; pg. 6, ln 15-24) relative to the axis (Fig. 1, axis L).
Regarding claim 19, Helmer teaches the assembly above, wherein the distal part (Fig. 1, area of sleeve 5 proximal of recess 5.2) of the housing (Fig. 1, comprising area of sleeve 5 distal of second recess 5.2 and area of sleeve 5 proximal of recess 5.2) comprises a tubular section (Fig. 1, holder 4 is cylindrical. Examiner interprets that sleeve 5 is cylindrical to accommodate holder 4; pg. 6, ln 15-24) and the proximal part (Fig. 1, area of sleeve 5 distal of second recess 5.2) of the housing (Fig. 1, comprising area of sleeve 5 distal of second recess 5.2 and area of sleeve 5 proximal of recess 5.2) comprises a wall (Fig. 1 above, wall G) extending in a radial direction relative to the axis (Fig. 1 above, Examiner interprets that sleeve 5 is cylindrical to accommodate holder 4. Wall G extends across sleeve 5, therefore, extends radially from axis L), the wall (Fig. 1 above, wall G) extending across a proximal end of the tubular section (Fig. 1, wall G extends cross distal end of sleeve 5 towards distal direction D).
Regarding claim 20, Helmer teaches the assembly above, wherein the first sealed cavity (Fig. 1 above, first cavity A) is tubular (Fig. 1 above, holder 4 is cylindrical. Examiner interprets that sleeve 5 is cylindrical to accommodate holder 4. Cavity A is, therefore, tubular; pg. 6, ln 15-24), and is formed by the tubular section of the housing (Fig. 1, holder 4 is cylindrical. Examiner interprets that sleeve 5 is cylindrical to accommodate holder 4; pg. 6, ln 15-24), the wall (Fig. 1 above, wall G) of the housing (Fig. 1, comprising area of sleeve 5 distal of second recess 5.2 and area of sleeve 5 proximal of recess 5.2) and a wall of the sterility barrier (Fig. 1 above, cavity A is formed by sleeve 5, wall G, and wall F).
Regarding claim 21, Helmer teaches the assembly above, wherein a tubular portion of the sterility barrier (Fig. 1, holder 4 is cylindrical; pg. 6, ln 15-24) is in the tubular section of the housing (Fig. 1, holder 4 is disposed within sleeve 5).
Regarding claim 22, Helmer teaches the assembly above, wherein the sterility barrier (Fig. 1, holder 4) is movable in the longitudinal direction relative to the housing (Fig. 1 and 2, sleeve 5 is allowed to move proximally with respect to holder 4).
Regarding claim 23, Helmer teaches an autoinjector sub-assembly (Fig. 1, comprising sleeve 7, sleeve 5, and holder 4) comprising the autoinjector needle- housing assembly of above and a needle shield (Fig. 1, outer needle sleeve 7) attached to the autoinjector needle-housing assembly (Fig. 1, sleeve 7 is attached to sleeve 5), wherein the needle shield (Fig. 1, outer needle sleeve 7) and the autoinjector needle-housing assembly (Fig. 1, comprising sleeve 5 and holder 4) define a third sealed cavity (Fig. 1 above, third sealed cavity C, defined by sleeve 5 and sleeve 7), and wherein a proximal end of the needle (Fig. 1, outer needle section 6.1) is in the third sealed cavity (Fig. 1 above, outer needle section 6.1 is disposed in third sealed cavity C).
Regarding claim 24, Helmer teaches an autoinjector comprising a cartridge (Fig. 1, cartridge 2) and the autoinjector needle-housing assembly above, wherein a proximal end of the cartridge (Fig. 1, distal end of cartridge 2 towards distal direction D) is in the recess (Fig. 1 above, recess D) of the autoinjector needle-housing assembly (Fig. 1, comprising sleeve 5 and holder 4).
Regarding claim 25, Helmer teaches a method of assembling an autoinjector sub-assembly (Fig. 1, comprising sleeve 7, sleeve 5, and holder 4), the method comprising the steps of: providing an autoinjector needle-housing assembly (Fig. 1, comprising cartridge holder 4 and inner needle sleeve 5) extending along an axis in a longitudinal direction (Fig. 1, axis L) from a proximal end (Fig. 1, end of sleeve 5 towards distal direction D) to a distal end (Fig. 1, end of holder 4 towards proximal direction P), the autoinjector needle-housing assembly (Fig. 1, comprising cartridge holder 4 and inner needle sleeve 5) comprising: a housing (Fig. 1, sleeve 5) comprising a proximal part (Fig. 1, area of sleeve 5 distal of second recess 5.2) and a distal part (Fig. 1, area of sleeve 5 proximal of recess 5.2) attached to the proximal part (Fig. 1, area of sleeve 5 proximal of recess 5.2 is attached to area of sleeve 5 distal of second recess 5.2); a needle (Fig. 1, needle 6) attached to the proximal part (Fig. 1, area of sleeve 5 distal of second recess 5.2) of the housing (Fig. 1, sleeve 5); a cartridge holder (Fig. 1, inner surface of cartridge holder 4 holds the cartridge 2 in place); and a sterility barrier (Fig. 1, cartridge holder 4) attached to the distal part (Fig. 1, holder 4 is attached to the area of sleeve 5 proximal of recess 5.2 via rib 5.1) of the housing (Fig. 1, sleeve 5), wherein the housing (Fig. 1, sleeve 5) and the sterility barrier (Fig. 1, holder 4) form a first sealed cavity (Fig. 1 above, sealed cavity A), wherein a distal end of the needle (Fig. 1, inner needle section 6.2. Examiner notes that there is a typo in the prior art, and that the needle section 6.2 is meant to be an inner needle section, supported by the specifications; pg. 7, ln 9-26) is in the first sealed cavity (Fig. 1 above, needle section 6.2 is inside cavity A), wherein the autoinjector needle-housing assembly (Fig. 1, comprising cartridge holder 4 and inner needle sleeve 5) comprises a recess (Fig. 1 above, recess D) formed by the distal end (Fig. 1, end of holder 4 towards P direction) of the autoinjector needle-housing assembly (Fig. 1, comprising cartridge holder 4 and inner needle sleeve 5), wherein the recess (Fig. 1 above, recess D) is shaped to receive a cartridge (Fig. 1 above, recess D is shaped to receive cartridge 2) and to form a second cavity (Fig. 1 above, cavity B) between the autoinjector needle-housing assembly (Fig. 1, comprising cartridge holder 4 and inner needle sleeve 5) and said cartridge (Fig. 1, cartridge 2); and inserting the cartridge (Fig. 1, cartridge 2) into the recess (Fig. 1 above, recess D) to create a second cavity (Fig. 1 above, cavity B) formed between the cartridge (Fig. 1 above, recess D) and the sterility barrier (Fig. 1, holder 4). When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out or being made by the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will obviously perform or be made by the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). MPEP 2112.02.
Helmer does not expressly disclose that the second cavity is sealed.
Giambattista teaches a second cavity (Giambattista: Fig. 5 and 7, the space defined by cartridge holder 330, seal 332, and the cartridge assembly 340) that is sealed (seal 332 maintains sterility of the needle assembly 310 prior to use; para. 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second cavity of Helmer such that it was sealed as taught by Giambattista in order to maintain sterility of the needle assembly 310 prior to use (Giambattista: para. 0061).
Regarding claim 27, Helmer teaches an autoinjector sub-assembly (Fig. 1, comprising sleeve 7, sleeve 5, and holder 4) comprising: a housing (Fig. 1, sleeve 5); a needle (Fig. 1, needle 6) fixedly attached to the housing (Fig. 1, sleeve 5); a cartridge holder (Fig. 1, inner surface of cartridge holder 4 holds the cartridge 2 in place); a first sealed cavity (Fig. 1 above, first sealed cavity A) defined by an inside distal end of the housing (Fig. 1, lumen of area of sleeve 5 proximal of recess 5.2) and a proximal end (Fig. 1, proximal end E of holder 4) of an axially movable sterility barrier (Fig. 1 and 2, sleeve 5 is allowed to move proximally with respect to holder 4), where a distal end of the needle (Fig. 1, inner needle section 6.2. Examiner notes that there is a typo in the prior art, and that the needle section 6.2 is meant to be an inner needle section, supported by the specifications; pg. 7, ln 9-26) is positioned in the first sealed cavity (Fig. 1 above, first sealed cavity A) and the sterility barrier (Fig. 1, holder 4) comprises a distal end (Fig. 1 above, area of holder 4 that defines recess D) that defines a recess (Fig. 1 above, recess D); a second cavity (Fig. 1 above, second cavity B) defined by the recess (Fig. 1 above, recess D) and a proximal end of a cartridge (Fig. 1, end of cartridge at 2.1) positioned in the recess (Fig. 1 above, end of cartridge 2.1 is positioned within recess D); and a third sealed cavity (Fig. 1, third sealed cavity C) defined by an inside surface (Fig. 1, inner lumen of outer needle sleeve 7) of a needle shield (Fig. 1, outer needle sleeve 7) and a proximal end of the housing (Fig. 1, comprising area of sleeve 5 distal of second recess 5.2) such that a proximal end of the needle (Fig. 1, outer needle section 6.1. Examiner notes that there is a typo in the prior art, and that the needle section 6.1 is meant to be an outer needle section, supported by the specifications; pg. 7, ln 9-26) is positioned within the third sealed cavity (Fig. 1 above, outer needle section 6.1 is positioned within third sealed cavity C).
Helmer does not expressly disclose that the second cavity is sealed.
Giambattista teaches a second cavity (Giambattista: Fig. 5 and 7, the space defined by cartridge holder 330, seal 332, and the cartridge assembly 340) that is sealed (seal 332 maintains sterility of the needle assembly 310 prior to use; para. 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the second cavity of Helmer such that it was sealed as taught by Giambattista in order to maintain sterility of the needle assembly 310 prior to use (Giambattista: para. 0061).
Regarding claim 28, Helmer teaches an autoinjector (Fig. 1, delivery device 1) comprising a cartridge (Fig. 1, cartridge 2) and the autoinjector sub-assembly above, wherein the proximal end of the cartridge (Fig. 1, distal end of cartridge 2 towards distal direction D) is in the recess (Fig. 1 above, recess D).
Claims 17, 18, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helmer, in view of Hirschel et al. (WO 2018130944 A1), hereinafter Hirschel.
Regarding claim 17, Helmer discloses the assembly above.
Helmer does not expressly disclose the sterility barrier comprises a seal on the tubular portion of the sterility barrier.
Hirschel teaches the sterility barrier (Hirschel: Fig. 59a above, sterility barrier A) comprises a seal (Fig. 59a, elastomeric component 131) on the tubular portion of the sterility barrier (Hirschel: Fig. 59a above, sterility barrier A is cylindrical in order to fit a cylindrical cartridge; pg. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sterility barrier of Helmer such that the sterility barrier comprises a seal on the tubular portion of the sterility barrier as taught by Hirschel in order to provide sealing between a first cavity and a second cavity (Hirschel: pg. 41).
Regarding claim 18, Helmer discloses the assembly above.
Helmer does not expressly disclose the seal is an O-ring.
Hirschel teaches a seal (Hirschel: Fig. 59a, elastomeric component 131) that is an O-ring (the elastomeric component 131 may be an O-ring; pg. 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sterility barrier of Helmer such that the seal is an O-ring as taught by Hirschel in order to provide sealing between a first cavity and a second cavity (Hirschel: pg. 41).
Regarding claim 26, Helmer teaches the method above,
Helmer does not expressly disclose the step of inserting a cartridge into the recess is carried out in a sterile environment.
Hirschel teaches a step of inserting a cartridge into the recess is carried out in a sterile environment (cartridge is inserted in step C, which can be carried out in an aseptic environment; pg. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Helmer such that the step of inserting a cartridge into the recess is carried out in a sterile environment as taught by Hirschel in order to maintain sterility during insertion (Hirschel: pg. 21).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 4 February 2026, with respect to the objection to claim 27 has been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 27 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5, filed 4 February 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 19-21, 24, and 25 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 19-21, 24, and 25 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments see page 5, filed 4 February 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 14-28 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
“Helmer in view of Giambattista fail to explicitly disclose or suggest "a needle fixedly attached to the proximal part of the housing; a cartridge holder; and a sterility barrier attached to the distal part of the housing,", as recited in claim 14. For instance, when discussing claim 14, the Examiner argues that the "Fig 1, cartridge holder 4" in Helmer discloses the claim element "a sterility barrier". Specifically, the Examiner interprets the "cartridge holder 4" in Helmer as equivalent to the "sterility barrier" in claim 14. See Office Action, p. 6.
Applicant argued that nowhere does Helmer in view of Giambattista disclose or suggest "a sterility barrier", as recited by the modified version of claim 14. The Examiner's interpretation of the "cartridge holder" in Helmer as equivalent to the "sterility barrier" in claim 14 is improper, as it would render the "cartridge holder" limitation in claim 14 redundant and superfluous.”
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation “a cartridge holder” implies a part, separate or integral with other parts, that holds a cartridge. The inner surface of the cartridge holder 4 of Helmer is capable of holding the cartridge, therefore, Helmer teaches a cartridge holder. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEI GONZALEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783