DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “position information” recited on line 12 is vague and indefinite. It is unclear whether it is being referred to any one or all “position information” recited before (such as “a listener-position information” recited on line 2, “position information on a first reference viewpoint” recited on line 3-4,…). If it is a different position information different from all the previously defined position information, how would this position information relate to the previously defined position information. If the position information recited on line 12 is the same as the one or more of the position information recited, applicant should amend the claim to clearly refer back to the one or more specific position information recited before. If they are different, applicant should amend the claim to clearly define it being different and how this “new” position information is related to the previously defined position information. Without clearly define “position information” recited on line 12, the metes and bounds of the invention cannot be determined.
Claims 15 and 16 include the same ambiguity as discussed before with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 10, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuji et al. (WO 2018/096954 A1; the rejection is based on US 20200053499 A1; both references were cited by IDS filed on 3/29/2023, on the same IDS, US reference has been indicated as the equivalent of the WO reference; hereafter Tsuji).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuji discloses an information processing device comprising:
a listener-position information acquisition unit that acquires listener position information on a viewpoint of a listener (e.g., selecting a viewpoint by the current user, such as #1 as shown in Fig. 4; [0128], and can be changed as discussed in [0133]; read on the arbitrary viewpoint as discussed in [0172], step S11 in Fig. 21, [0191]);
a reference-viewpoint information acquisition unit that acquires position information on a first reference viewpoint (e.g., viewpoint #6 of Fig. 16), object position information on a first object (e.g., main guitar) at the first reference viewpoint (main guitar in viewpoint #6 in Fig. 15), position information on a second reference viewpoint (e.g., viewpoint #7 of Fig. 17), object position information on the first object at the second reference viewpoint (main guitar in viewpoint #7 in Fig. 15), and object position information on a second object (e.g., bass); and
an object position calculation unit (54, [0188]) that calculates position information on the first object at the viewpoint of the listener (e.g., the viewpoint of the listener is between the viewpoint #6 and viewpoint #7, see [0173] and [0183]) on a basis of the listener position information (#X in Fig. 19, [0187]), the position information on the first reference viewpoint, the object position information on the first object at the first reference viewpoint, the position information on the second reference viewpoint, and the object position information on the first object at the second reference viewpoint.
Wherein position information is encoded and calculated in a three-dimensional free viewpoint space ([0071], “5. Example of Free Viewpoint” above [0172], [0172]-[0174], “arbitrary viewpoint”; by definition as provided by applicant, “free viewpoint” and “arbitrary viewpoint” indicate position information is encoded and calculated in a three-dimensional viewpoint space).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuji discloses that the first reference viewpoint and the second reference viewpoint are viewpoints set in advance by a contents producer ([0099], [0217], [0218]).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuji discloses that the first reference viewpoint and the second reference viewpoint are viewpoints selected on a basis of the listener position information ([0173], [0179]-[0181]).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuji discloses interpolation ([0181]).
Regarding claim 5, Tsuji discloses that object position information on the first object at the first reference viewpoint is coordinate information indicating a relative position of the first object with respect to the first reference viewpoint (see Fig. 15), and the object position information on the first object at the second reference viewpoint is coordinate information indicating a relative position of the first object with respect to the second reference viewpoint (see Fig. 15).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Tsuji discloses polar coordinates (with angles being explicitly stated in Fig. 15, the standard radius is inherently included, in other words, without an inherent radius, there will not be any separation between the listener in Fig. 17 and any object, such as P5 side guitar, as illustrated in Fig. 17, a sufficient separation is provided, thus an inherent radius is included).
Regarding claim 9, Tsuji discloses three reference viewpoints ([0174]).
Regarding claim 10, the claimed coordinate information reads on the coordinates provided (see Fig. 15) and the claimed position of the listener reads on a selected viewpoint (e.g., #7 as illustrated in Fig. 17, or a new arbitrary viewpoint).
Claim 15 corresponds to claim 1 discussed above.
Regarding claim 16, most of limitations correspond to those in claim 1 discussed above. Tsuji discloses a program (abstract, [0001], [0363]-[0366], e.g.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji.
Regarding claims 8 and 11, Tsuji fails to show an absolute-coordinate position information and a common absolute coordinate space. The claimed subject matter is referring to how to use a shared coordinate, in this case, the claimed “a common absolute coordinate space”, as a guide/reference, for all objects defined at different viewpoints. For example, in Figs. 16 and 17 of Tsuji, the same objects have different position information depending on the viewpoints which are the corresponding reference (origin). The position of object of an arbitrary viewpoint is based on the predetermined viewpoints with different origins. The claimed feature is a well known mathematic calculation when dealing with positions from different origins. Examiner takes Official Notice that converting position information in one coordinate system to a common absolute coordinate system for organizing plural positions defined by different references is notoriously well known in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsuji by converting the predetermined object position at different viewpoints (origins) into a common absolute coordinate system in order to facilitating determining the arbitrary position between the two or more predetermined viewpoints.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuji in view of Nakano et al. (US 20020071661 A1; hereafter Nakano).
Regarding claims 12-14, Tsuji teaches at least three reference viewpoints ([0174]), but fails to explicitly show listener orientation information. However, as illustrated in Figs. 4, 16 and 17, the listener is facing the sound objects. In the same field of endeavor, Nakano teaches how to provide the precise listener’s orientation for the sound processor in order to generate corresponding audio signal following listener’s orientation (abstract, [0003], e.g.). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsuji in view of Nakano by generating audio signal for the speakers following the listener’s orientation in order to enhance the accuracy of the sound reproduction based on the precise orientation information.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Tsuji does not show the newly added limitation, “position information is encoded and calculated in a three-dimensional free viewpoint space”. The office disagrees. Tsuji clearly discloses examples of free viewpoint ([0071], “5. Example of Free Viewpoint” above [0172], [0172]-[0174]). Applicant states that a free viewpoint space is inherently three-dimensional as it allows a viewer to observe a scene from any arbitrary viewpoint, and related calculations must be done in 3-D space (see remark stated on p. 9-p. 10). Thus, following applicant’s statement, when an user observes a scene from a free viewpoint in Tsuji, the related calculation of the position information is done in three-dimensional space. Applicant further argued that all examples in Tsuji are two-dimensional. The office disagrees with applicant’s interpretation. Fig. 3 of Tsuji shows the position information with azimuth and elevation. The combination of azimuth and elevation defines a position in 3-D space. Although Z-axis may be held constant in the example, the calculation is inherently in 3-D free viewpoint space because the example in Tsuji does not take away the elevation, even though it is 0o. Fig. 13 of Tsuji includes rendering parameters with separate azimuth and elevation. Fig. 30 of Tsuji includes position defined in x, y, z. These examples clearly indicate that the position is location in 3-D space, so the associated calculation is also done in 3-D space. If applicant believe that Tsuji’s system is only operational in 2-D space, the office would like to ask why does Tsuji listing the position in 3-D space instead of 2-D space.
Furthermore, Tsuji does not state that the position on Z-axis cannot be changed. By clearly states “arbitrary viewpoint” and “free viewpoint”, one skilled in the art would have recognized that the position on Z-axis could be changed when the user selects to do so. Fig. 1 of Tsuji illustrates 4 different instruments in a scene. This is merely an example. One skilled in the art would have expected that other sound sources could be in the scene. For example, a singer stands next to a band member playing guitar; wherein the singer’s voice would be in different elevation from the guitar. Furthermore, the user might be in a different elevation from one or more music instrument when the user is at an “arbitrary viewpoint”.
Thus, Tsuji discloses the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PING LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695