DETAILED ACTION
Examiner has received and accepted the amended claims and remarks filed on 25 November 2025. These amended claims and remarks are the claims and remarks being referred to in the instant Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly added claim limitations have been addressed in the 112(b) and 103 Rejections below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, in the “an acquisition unit” clause, “and” should be inserted between “shaft,” and “acquire”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, the claims recite “gradually increase or decrease the rotation speed of the rotation shaft”. It is unclear as to what types of increases or decreases in speed can be considered “gradual” thus rendering the claims indefinite.
Claims dependent upon a rejected claim are therefore rejected as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US 2020/0125072), in view of Koeniger et al. (WO 2009/156094).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamamoto discloses, in at least Figure 1, a machine tool (Figure 1) that machines a workpiece using a tool (15), the machine tool comprising:
a motor (in 2a) [0045] including a rotation shaft (feed shaft attached to tool spindle) [0042];
a motor drive unit (3D) configured to drive the motor [0058];
a command unit (3B) configured to output, as a command value, a specified rotation speed that is predetermined to the motor drive unit [0061];
an encoder configured to detect a rotation speed of the rotation shaft [0044];
a vibration sensor provided in the machine tool and configured to detect an amount of vibration generated during rotation of the rotation shaft [0044];
an acquisition unit (4) configured to acquire the amount of vibration detected by the vibration sensor when the rotation speed detected by the encoder is the specified rotation speed that has been output to the motor drive unit as a command value (according to program) [0070, 0087]; and
a display control unit (4C) [0074] configured to cause a display unit to display the specified rotation speed that has been output to the motor drive unit as the command value (spindle speed) (Figure 11) and display the amount of vibration (vibration acceleration) acquired by the acquisition unit, in association with each other (Figure 11).
Yamamoto, as best understood, discloses gradually increasing or decreasing the rotation speed of the rotation shaft (e.g. beginning or ending a program) [0051, 0058, 0059]; but fails to expressly disclose the acquisition unit is configured for this function.
As the NC unit (3) and acquisition unit (4) are merely housings including electronic devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention that the units could be separate as disclosed or combined i.e. the acquisition unit being configured to gradually increase or decrease the rotation speed of the rotation shaft. Combining the units would have been obvious for the benefit of a singular unit which can be replaced should it need maintenance or repair, allowing for efficient diagnosis and reduced downtime.
Yamamoto also fails to expressly disclose the encoder is provided in the motor.
Examiner takes Official Notice it is common knowledge in the art rotary encoders have two components, one moving relative to the other to measure rotational speed. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to place one component in the motor e.g. a magnetic strip on the shaft and the other component e.g. magnetic sensor adjacent the strip i.e. in the motor, for the benefit of measuring rotational speed as well as protecting the encoder from the machining environment.
Nevertheless, Yamamoto fails to expressly disclose the command unit is configured to generate, in the rotation shaft, vibration necessary for observing a balance state of a rotating body of the machine tool, in a case where a support mode for supporting adjustment operation for adjusting the balance state.
Koeniger teaches the command unit (25) is configured to generate, in the rotation shaft, vibration necessary for observing a balance state of a rotating body of the machine tool, in a case where a support mode for supporting adjustment operation for adjusting the balance state [0027, 0043 - 0045].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Yamamoto so that the command unit is configured to generate, in the rotation shaft, vibration necessary for observing a balance state of a rotating body of the machine tool, in a case where a support mode for supporting adjustment operation for adjusting the balance state for the benefit of fast and targeted automatic balancing due to the targeted positioning of the balancing mass, as taught by Koeniger [0007].
Regarding Claim 4, Yamamoto discloses the motor drive unit is provided in a control device (in 3) configured to control a machine main body [0059], and the acquisition unit and the display control unit are provided in a device (4) configured to be separated from the control device (Figure 1).
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US 2020/0125072), in view of Tanaka et al. (US 2019/0030730), in further view of Koeniger et al. (WO 2009/156094).
Regarding Claim 2, Yamamoto discloses, in at least Figure 1, a machine tool (Figure 1) that machines a workpiece using a tool (15), the machine tool comprising:
a motor (in 2a) [0045] including a rotation shaft (feed shaft attached to tool spindle) [0042];
a motor drive unit (3D) configured to drive the motor;
a command unit (3B) configured to output, as a command value, a specified rotation speed that is predetermined to the motor drive unit [0061];
a vibration sensor provided in the machine tool and configured to detect an amount of vibration generated during rotation of the rotation shaft [0044];
a speed estimation unit configured to estimate a rotation speed of the rotation shaft [0044];
an acquisition unit (4) configured to acquire the amount of vibration detected by the vibration sensor when the rotation speed detected by the speed estimation unit is the specified rotation speed that has been output to the motor drive unit as a command value (according to program) [0070, 0087]; and
a display control unit (4C) [0074] configured to cause a display unit to display the specified rotation speed that has been output to the motor drive unit as the command value (spindle speed) (Figure 11) and display the amount of vibration (vibration acceleration) acquired by the acquisition unit, in association with each other (Figure 11).
Yamamoto, as best understood, discloses gradually increasing or decreasing the rotation speed of the rotation shaft (e.g. beginning or ending a program) [0051, 0058, 0059]; but fails to expressly disclose the acquisition unit is configured for this function.
As the NC unit (3) and acquisition unit (4) are merely housings including electronic devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention that the units could be separate as disclosed or combined i.e. the acquisition unit being configured to gradually increase or decrease the rotation speed of the rotation shaft. Combining the units would have been obvious for the benefit of a singular unit which can be replaced should it need maintenance or repair, allowing for efficient diagnosis and reduced downtime.
Yamamoto teaches the use of a rotary encoder to determine rotational speed of the shaft [0044] and fails to expressly disclose a current sensor provided in the motor or the motor drive unit and configured to detect a drive current output to the motor; the speed estimation unit configured to estimate the rotation speed of the rotation shaft based on a signal obtained from the current sensor.
Tanaka teaches an alternative to a rotary encoder for use in determining rotation of a shaft and motor [0046, 0047] includes a current sensor provided in a motor drive unit (45) [0046, 0047] and configured to detect a drive current output to the motor [0047]; and a speed estimation unit configured to estimate the rotation speed of the rotation shaft based on a signal obtained from the current sensor (inherently present and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art so that current data can converted into speed) [0047].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Yamamoto to use an art recognized alternative for the rotary encoder, including a current sensor and speed estimation unit i.e. circuitry or processor to determine rotational speed from the measured current, which performs the same function as the rotary encoder with predictable functions and expectation of success for the benefit of minimizing the number of sensor which must be mounted to the motor, thus allowing for selection of a universal motor and/or facilitating easy of replacement of parts as sensors do not need to be detached/reattached.
Nevertheless, the combination fails to expressly disclose the command unit is configured to generate, in the rotation shaft, vibration necessary for observing a balance state of a rotating body of the machine tool, in a case where a support mode for supporting adjustment operation for adjusting the balance state.
Koeniger teaches the command unit (25) is configured to generate, in the rotation shaft, vibration necessary for observing a balance state of a rotating body of the machine tool, in a case where a support mode for supporting adjustment operation for adjusting the balance state [0027, 0043 - 0045].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Yamamoto so that the command unit is configured to generate, in the rotation shaft, vibration necessary for observing a balance state of a rotating body of the machine tool, in a case where a support mode for supporting adjustment operation for adjusting the balance state for the benefit of fast and targeted automatic balancing due to the targeted positioning of the balancing mass, as taught by Koeniger [0007].
Regarding Claim 6, Yamamoto discloses the motor drive unit is provided in a control device (in 3) configured to control a machine main body [0059], and the acquisition unit and the display control unit are provided in a device (4) configured to be separated from the control device (Figure 1), wherein it would have been obvious in the combination to include the command unit in the device for the benefit of keeping the electronics together for replacement and/or repair.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US 2020/0125072), in view of Koeniger et al. (WO 2009/156094), in further view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamamoto discloses a storage control unit configured to cause a storage unit (4E) to store the specified rotation speed that has been output as the command value and store the amount of vibration acquired by the acquisition unit, in association with each other (4E stores information according to time [0129] pertaining to detection information, where detection information includes data from 21 [0055] which include the rotary speed and vibration information [0044]); and a calculation unit (4C).
Yamamoto fails to expressly disclose the calculation unit configured to calculate at least one of a correction angle or a correction amount for a balance state with respect to the rotation shaft, based on a difference between the amount of vibration stored in the storage unit before an adjustment operation for adjusting the balance state with respect to the rotation shaft and the amount of vibration stored in the storage unit after the adjustment operation, wherein the display control unit causes the display unit to display at least one of the difference, the correction angle, or the correction amount.
AAPA teaches calculating at least one of a correction angle or a correction amount for a balance state with respect to a rotation shaft, based on a difference between a previous amount of vibration before an adjustment operation for adjusting the balance state with respect to the rotation shaft and an amount of vibration after the adjustment operation (see [0045] of the filed specification, the sole disclosure providing support for any correction calculation).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify Yamamoto in view of AAPA to utilize data already collected in the storage device and the already provided calculation unit to calculate at least one of a correction angle or a correction amount for a balance state with respect to the rotation shaft, based on a difference between the amount of vibration stored in the storage unit before an adjustment operation for adjusting the balance state with respect to the rotation shaft and the amount of vibration stored in the storage unit after the adjustment operation for the benefit of monitoring the balance of the shaft over time for maintenance purposed e.g. to balance or replace the shaft ensuring accuracy in the machining process.
Furthermore, Yamamoto discloses displaying alarm identification information [0247, 0248]. As such, it also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the combination to have the display control unit causes the display unit to display at least one of the difference, the correction angle, or the correction amount for the benefit of informing a user why an alarm/abnormality was detected, as taught by Yamamoto [0180, 0248].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US 2020/0125072), in view of Tanaka et al. (US 2019/0030730), in further view of Koeniger et al. (WO 2009/156094), in further view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamamoto discloses a storage control unit configured to cause a storage unit (4E) to store the specified rotation speed that has been output to the motor drive unit as the command value and store the amount of vibration acquired by the acquisition unit, in association with each other (4E stores information according to time [0129] pertaining to detection information, where detection information includes data from 21 [0055] which include the rotary speed and vibration information [0044]); and a calculation unit (4C).
Yamamoto fails to expressly disclose the calculation unit configured to calculate at least one of a correction angle or a correction amount for a balance state with respect to the rotation shaft, based on a difference between the amount of vibration stored in the storage unit before an adjustment operation for adjusting the balance state with respect to the rotation shaft and the amount of vibration stored in the storage unit after the adjustment operation, wherein the display control unit causes the display unit to display at least one of the difference, the correction angle, or the correction amount.
AAPA teaches calculating at least one of a correction angle or a correction amount for a balance state with respect to a rotation shaft, based on a difference between a previous amount of vibration before an adjustment operation for adjusting the balance state with respect to the rotation shaft and an amount of vibration after the adjustment operation (see [0045] of the filed specification, the sole disclosure providing support for any correction calculation).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the combination in view of AAPA to utilize data already collected in the storage device and the already provided calculation unit to calculate at least one of a correction angle or a correction amount for a balance state with respect to the rotation shaft, based on a difference between the amount of vibration stored in the storage unit before an adjustment operation for adjusting the balance state with respect to the rotation shaft and the amount of vibration stored in the storage unit after the adjustment operation for the benefit of monitoring the balance of the shaft over time for maintenance purposed e.g. to balance or replace the shaft ensuring accuracy in the machining process.
Furthermore, Yamamoto discloses displaying alarm identification information [0247, 0248]. As such, it also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the combination to have the display control unit causes the display unit to display at least one of the difference, the correction angle, or the correction amount for the benefit of informing a user why an alarm/abnormality was detected, as taught by Yamamoto [0180, 0248].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXANDER A. MERCADO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/ALEXANDER A MERCADO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855