OADETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 06/24/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-11, 13-15, and 17 -26 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-11, 13-15, and 17-26 in a reply filed 06/24/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) regarding newly added limitations have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant respectfully argues “The cited combination does not teach or suggest this limitation. As the Office Action itself acknowledges with respect to the corresponding limitation of canceled Claims 8 and 16, neither Park nor Yuan discloses associating one power control parameter set with the TCI state when two TCI states are pointed to by one TCI codepoint, and the Office Action relies on Xu for that feature. See Office Action, pp. 22-25. Park is directed to determining a spatial domain filter and a pathloss for a PUSCH transmission from a reference TCI state, and Yuan was relied upon only for the recitation of PO and alpha. Neither reference addresses how many power control parameter sets are associated with a TCI state when two TCI states are pointed to by a single TCI codepoint and a multi-beam PUSCH repetition is not configured” (Remarks Page 8, Emphasis added).
However, examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the previous claim 8 was dependent upon the claim 5. Yet, the limitations of claim 5 was not amended to be recited in claim 1 along with the limitations of claim 8. Second, the previous claim 8 recited the following “The method of claim 5, wherein, when a multi-beam PUSCH repetition is not configured, one associated power control parameter set is associated with the TCI state even if two TCI states are pointed to by one TCI codepoint” (Emphasis added) wherein the alleged limitation of claim 8 in claim 1 now recites “wherein, when a multi-beam PUSCH repetition is not configured, the set of power control parameters is associated with the TCI state even if two TCI states are pointed to by one TCI codepoint” (Emphasis added), which clearly show the distinction of how the claim language are not the same. Therefore, the newly added amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims and new grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims. Thus, the examiner is no longer relying on Xu as a prior art in the current rejection.
Furthermore, the applicant alleges that “NTT DOCOMO does not remedy the deficiency either, as it is relied upon only for the general concept of multi-beam PUSCH repetition and is silent as to the association between power control parameter sets and TCI states. Indeed, to the extent the cited references address two TCI states pointed to by a single codepoint at all, they teach associating a separate power control parameter set with each of the two TCI states (see Yuan, Fig. 3)-the opposite of the amended limitation, which governs the case in which multi-beam PUSCH repetition is not configured. There is accordingly no teaching, suggestion, or rationale in the cited art that would have led a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the amended independent claims, and any combination yielding the claimed feature would be the product of impermissible hindsight” (Remarks Page 9, Emphasis added).
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner relies on PARK to teach the concept of wherein when the TCI state is associated with the set of power control parameters when a PUSCH transmission is configured (Fig. 30, 3001-3002 (a PUSCH transmission is configured based on the reference TCI state), and the set of power control parameters ([0293]; [0302];) is associated with the TCI state ([0293];[0267];). PARK does not explicitly disclose wherein the PUSCH transmission is not configured with a multi-beam repetition.
NTT DOCOMO discloses a multi-beam PUSCH repetition is not configured ([Section 2.2] PUSCH repetitions across multiple TRPs can achieve significant performance gain over single PUSCH transmission (hence, the multi-beam PUSCH repetition not configured) at lower BLER target… For 4GHz, the required SNR for achieving BLER=10-4 for 2/4 repetitions is around 0.8/1.4 dB lower than that without repetitions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the PUSCH transmission of PARK to include a multi-beam repetition not configured as taught by NTT DOCOMO in order to reduce overhead and support the wireless devices with limited capabilities (Park - [0157] The wireless device may or may not have a capability of beam correspondence).
Thus, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 10 and 11, the applicant submits the same arguments as presented in claim 1. Thus, examiner applies the same reasoning as presented in claim 1. Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for their dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5, 9, 13-15, 17-18, 20, and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4-5, 18, 20, and 22-23 recite “the TCI state” is indefinite because it is unclear whether “contained in the TCI state” recited in claim 1 or “even if two TCI states” recited in claim 1 is the one being referred to “the TCI state”. For the purpose of examination, “the TCI state” will be interpreted as “ contained in the TCI state” recited in claim 1.
Claims 13-14 and 25-26 have similar indefiniteness to claim 1. Therefore, examiner applies similar interpretation and reasoning for the rejection as claim 1.
Claim 9 recites “each of the two TCI states is associated” is indefinite because it is unclear whether “ even if two TCI states” recited in claim 1 or “ if two TCI states are pointed” recited in claim 9 is the one being referred to “the two TCI states”. For the purpose of examination, “the two TCI states” will be interpreted as “ if two TCI states are pointed” recited in claim 9.
Claim 17 has similar indefiniteness to claim 9. Therefore, examiner applies similar interpretation and reasoning for the rejection as claim 9.
Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for their dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-11, 13-15, and 17-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20240137960 A1, hereinafter Park) in view of YUAN et al. (US 20230059644 A1, hereinafter YUAN) and in further view of NTT DOCOMO, INC, “Discussion on MTRP for reliability”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #102-e R1-2006719 e-Meeting, Aug. 17th – Aug. 28th, 2020 (hereinafter, NTT DOCOMO) .
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses:
A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method (Fig. 30 – Wireless Device 3020; [0078] user equipment (e.g., UE). Although one or more of the above types of devices may be referenced herein (e.g., UE, wireless device, computing device, etc.)… Apparatuses, systems, and/or methods described herein may generally be described as implemented on one or more devices (e.g., wireless device, base station, eNB, gNB, computing device, etc.)) comprising:
receiving (Fig. 30 - 3001) a set of power control parameters comprising a closed loop index, and a path loss (PL) RS, wherein the set of power control parameters are associated with a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state ([0293] A base station 3010 may send (e.g., transmit) to a wireless device 3020… The one or more messages 3001 may comprise configuration parameters of reference TCI states 3002 and/or identifiers (e.g., signal identifiers). An identifier (e.g., each identifier) may indicate one or more target RSs… The wireless device 3020 may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data), for example, based on a transmit power control of the transport block (e.g., PUSCH). The transmit power control may be based on the pathloss estimation with a downlink RS of the reference TCI state or a downlink RS linked to the reference TCI state 3002 (e.g., among downlink RS configured in a message comprising candidate PL-RS (e.g., for PUSCH); [0302] FIG. 35 shows an example for validation of a control command. The control command may comprise DCI. The DCI may indicate a reference TCI state (e.g., as a field inside the DCI, or indicating it indirectly, for example, associated by a message, field, or parameter)…The wireless device may identify/indicate, with validation, the DCI carrying the control command using the fields (e.g., … “Closed loop indicator” …) with a pre-configured bitwidth in the DCI); and
transmitting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission by a transmit (TX) beam determined by a quasi-co-location (QCL) type D (QCL-TypeD) reference signal (RS) contained in the TCI state ([0293] FIG. 30 shows an example of wireless communications using a beam indication for downlink and/or uplink data channel transmission(s)… The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002; [0267] The TCI state may provide a quasi co-location (“QCL”) assumption (e.g., a reference signal (“RS”), an RS source, SS/PBCH block, CSI-RS) or a QCL type (e.g., QCL-TypeA, QCL-TypeD, etc.)) that is associated with the set of power control parameters ([0293] The wireless device 3020 may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data), for example, based on a transmit power control of the transport block (e.g., PUSCH). The transmit power control may be based on the pathloss estimation with a downlink RS of the reference TCI state or a downlink RS linked to the reference TCI state 3002 (e.g., among downlink RS configured in a message comprising candidate PL-RS (e.g., for PUSCH); [0302] FIG. 35 shows an example for validation of a control command. The control command may comprise DCI. The DCI may indicate a reference TCI state (e.g., as a field inside the DCI, or indicating it indirectly, for example, associated by a message, field, or parameter)…The wireless device may identify/indicate, with validation, the DCI carrying the control command using the fields (e.g., … “Closed indicator” …) with a pre-configured bitwidth in the DCI), wherein, the TCI state is associated with the set of power control parameters when a PUSCH transmission is configured (Fig. 30, 3001-3002 (a PUSCH transmission is configured based on the reference TCI state), the set of power control parameters ([0293]; [0302];) is associated with the TCI state ([0293];[0267];) even if two TCI states are pointed to by one TCI codepoint ([0263] The wireless device may be configured to determine that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) associated with the TCI states, for example, if at least one TCI codepoint indicates two TCI states; [0264] A wireless device (e.g., if configured with multiple panels) may determine to activate (or select) at least one of the multiple panels to receive downlink signals/channels sent/transmitted from one of multiple TRPs of a base station... The wireless device may apply a spatial domain filter to send/transmit from a panel of the multiple panels to one of the multiple TRPs of the base station. The panel and/or the spatial domain filter may be determined based on at least one of: an UL TCI indication of a DCI, a panel ID in the DCI, an SRI indication of a DCI, a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI, and/or the like).
Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the set of power control parameters comprising P0 and alpha.
However, YUAN discloses a set of power control parameters comprising P0 and alpha ([0082] The ULPC_para_set may contain any of a P0 value, a pathloss downlink RS, and a closeloopindex, and a path loss compensation factor; [0078] α.sub.b,f,c, is path loss compensation factor).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the set of power control parameters of Park to include the set of power control parameters comprising P0 and alpha as taught by YUAN in order to provide additional power control parameters to determine the appropriate power for transmission and manage uplink transmissions more efficiently (YUAN - [0004] The described techniques relate to improved methods… apparatuses that support uplink power control parameter indication for multi-panel transmission; [0075] In some examples, power control for physical uplink shared channel may be calculated using the equation (1) (Subject to maximum transmit power limit); Park – [0293] The wireless device 3020 may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data), for example, based on a transmit power control of the transport block (e.g., PUSCH)).
Park and YUAN do not explicitly disclose the PUSCH transmission with a multi-beam repetition not configured.
However, NTT DOCOMO discloses a multi-beam repetition not configured ([Section 2.2] PUSCH repetitions across multiple TRPs can achieve significant performance gain over single PUSCH transmission (hence, the multi-beam PUSCH repetition not configured) at lower BLER target… For 4GHz, the required SNR for achieving BLER=10-4 for 2/4 repetitions is around 0.8/1.4 dB lower than that without repetitions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the PUSCH transmission of Park and YUAN to include a multi-beam repetition not configured as taught by NTT DOCOMO in order to reduce overhead and support the wireless devices with limited capabilities (Park - [0157] The wireless device may or may not have a capability of beam correspondence).
Regarding claim 4, Park further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising a receiving radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Fig. 30 – element 3001-3002) to indicate whether a TCI field ([0290] The base station may send (e.g., transmit) a control command comprising a field indicating at least one of: a reference TCI state of the reference TCI states, and/or a signal identifier. The wireless device may determine (e.g., based on the reference TCI state), a spatial domain filter (e.g., a beam) of the one or more target RSs indicated by the signal identifier) is included in an uplink (UL) grant ([0293] The wireless device 3020 may receive an uplink scheduling grant 3006 (e.g., DCI) scheduling a transport block via a PUSCH associated with the DMRS), wherein, if the TCI field is included in the UL grant (Fig. 23C – TCIPresentInDCI), the TX beam is determined by the TCI state ([0293] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002), and
if the TCI field is not included in the UL grant (Fig. 23C – TCIPresentInDCI; [0253] If the field is absent, a wireless device may consider/determine the TCI to be absent/disabled; [0263] A wireless device configured by higher layer parameter (e.g., PDCCH-Config) may contain two different values of a coreset pool index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex) in a control resource set (e.g., ControlResourceSet), for example, if a TCI indication (e.g., tci-PresentInDCI) is enabled (e.g., is set to ‘enabled’) and/or if the TCI indication (e.g., tci-PresentInDCI) is not configured in an RRC connected mode), the TX beam is determined by spatial relations configured for sounding reference signal (SRS) resources indicated by an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field of the UL grant ([0265] A wireless device may determine a panel and/or a transmission beam (and/or spatial domain transmission filter) on the panel, for example, if a wireless device receives DCI indicating an uplink grant. The panel may be indicated (e.g., explicitly indicated) by a panel ID comprised in the DCI. The panel may be indicated (e.g., implicitly indicated) by an SRS ID (and/or an SRS group/pool index), a UL TCI pool index of a UL TCI for uplink transmission, and/or a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI), or
determined by the TCI state ([0293] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002) or
QCL assumption indicated for a control resource set (CORESET) transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying the UL grant ([0263] A wireless device configured by higher layer parameter (e.g., PDCCH-Config) may contain two different values of a coreset pool index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex) in a control resource set (e.g., ControlResourceSet), for example, if a TCI indication (e.g., tci-PresentInDCI) is enabled (e.g., is set to ‘enabled’) and/or if the TCI indication (e.g., tci-PresentInDCI) is not configured in an RRC connected mode. If A wireless device may assume/determine that DM-RS ports of a PDSCH associated with a value of a coreset pool index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex) of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s), for example, if the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH transmission is less than a threshold (e.g., timeDurationForQCL). The QCL parameter(s) may be used for a PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest CORESET-ID among CORESETs; [0095] A physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) may comprise/carry downlink control information (DCI), which may comprise downlink scheduling commands, uplink scheduling grants, and uplink power control commands).
Regarding claim 5, Park further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating the TCI state ([0157] The base station may indicate one or more TCI states to the wireless device (e.g., via RRC signaling, a MAC CE, and/or DCI). The wireless device may receive a downlink transmission with an Rx beam determined based on the one or more TCI states) and its associated power control parameter set for a TCI codepoint ([0284] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the uplink signal of the second target signal/channel of the list, for example, based on a transmit power control of the uplink signal. The transmit power control may be based on the pathloss estimation with a downlink RS of the reference TCI (or a downlink RS linked or associated to the reference TCI); [0297] FIG. 32 shows an example of a signal/channel identifier. The signal/channel identifier may indicate/identify one or more target channels. A codepoint ‘01010’ of the signal/channel identifier may be (pre-)configured by a base station (e.g., by higher-layer signaling, e.g., RRC signaling (higher-layer signaling could also be MAC signaling – see [0155])) as ‘PDSCH, PUSCH, and PUCCH’, wherein the base station may further indicate the codepoint ‘01010’ with a reference TCI (e.g., by sending a (subsequent) control command) and the wireless device may determine a Tx/Rx configuration filter (e.g., spatial domain filter) based on the indicated reference TCI (e.g., as a unified downlink/uplink TCI) to use/apply for subsequent downlink receptions (e.g., PDSCH) and uplink transmissions (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH), based on the codepoint ‘01010’ indicating the one or more target signal(s)/channels as ‘PDSCH, PUSCH, and PUCCH’ to be applicable/usable with the determined Tx/Rx configuration filter (e.g., spatial domain filter)).
Regarding claim 7, Park further discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the MAC CE includes a CORESET pool identifier (ID) field to indicate a CORESETPoolIndex value of a CORESET transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying an UL grant (Fig. 14A; [0263] A wireless device configured by higher layer parameter (e.g., PDCCH-Config) (higher-layer could also be MAC signaling – see [0155]) may contain two different values of a coreset pool index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex) in a control resource set (e.g., ControlResourceSet); [0265] A wireless device may determine a panel and/or a transmission beam (and/or spatial domain transmission filter) on the panel, for example, if a wireless device receives DCI indicating an uplink grant (PDCCH carrying UL grant). The panel may be indicated (e.g., explicitly indicated) by a panel ID comprised in the DCI. The panel may be indicated (e.g., implicitly indicated) by an SRS ID (and/or an SRS group/pool index), a UL TCI pool index of a UL TCI for uplink transmission, and/or a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI).
Regarding claim 9, Park further discloses the method of claim 5, wherein when a multi-beam PUSCH is configured (Fig. 24; [0294] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) (semi-) periodically the transport block (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with the spatial domain filter determined by the reference TCI state), the TCI state is associated with one associated power control parameter set when a PUSCH transmission is configured ([0293] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002. The wireless device 3020 may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data), for example, based on a transmit power control of the transport block (e.g., PUSCH). The transmit power control may be based on the pathloss estimation with a downlink RS of the reference TCI state or a downlink RS linked to the reference TCI state 3002 (e.g., among downlink RS configured in a message comprising candidate PL-RS (e.g., for PUSCH)).
Park and YUAN do not explicitly disclose the repetition of the multi-beam PUSCH transmission.
However, NTT DOCOMO discloses a multi-beam repetition is configured ([Section 2.2] PUSCH repetitions across multiple TRPs (hence, the multi-beam PUSCH repetition is configured) can achieve significant performance gain over single PUSCH transmission at lower BLER target… For 4GHz, the required SNR for achieving BLER=10-4 for 2/4 repetitions is around 0.8/1.4 dB lower than that without repetitions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the multi-beam PUSCH transmission of Park and YUAN to include the multi-beam repetition as taught by NTT DOCOMO in order to increase performance gain over a single PUSCH transmission at a lower BLER target (NTT DOCOMO – [Section 2.2]).
Park and NTT DOCOMO do not explicitly disclose that if two TCI states are pointed to by one TCI codepoint, each of the two TCI states is associated with one associated power control parameter set.
However, YUAN discloses two TCI states are pointed to by one TCI codepoint, each of the two TCI states is associated with one associated power control parameter set (Fig. 3; [0088] For instance, in control message 300, two rows may correspond to a first codepoint (two TCI states are pointed to one TCI codepoint)… FIG. 3, the control message 300 may indicate a first activated uplink transmission configuration indicator state identifier 325 (TCI state ID 01) for the codepoint (indicated via C0) associated with a first antenna panel and a second activated uplink transmission configuration indicator state identifier 330 (TCI state ID 02) for the codepoint associated with a second antenna panel if C0 is set to 1… the control message may include a first uplink power control parameter set identifier 335 (ULPC ID 01) associated with the first activated uplink transmission configuration indicator state identifier 325 (TCI state ID 01) and a second uplink power control parameter set identifier 340 (ULPC ID 02) associated with the second activated uplink transmission configuration indicator state identifier 330 (TCI state ID 02). That is, if UL TCI state ID01 is activated, the control message may indicate ULPC parameter set ID01 associated with UL TCI state ID01. Similarly, if UL TCI state ID02 (e.g., a uplink transmission configuration indicator state identifier associated with the same codepoint as UL TCI state ID01 but different antenna panel) is activated, the control message may indicate ULPC parameter set ID02 associated with UL TCI state ID02).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the TCI state and the power control parameter set of Park, YUAN and NTT DOCOMO to include the two TCI states are pointed to by one TCI codepoint, each of the two TCI states is associated with one associated power control parameter set as taught by YUAN in order to reduce power consumption and extend the battery life of the wireless device (YUAN - [0025] UEs capable of supporting uplink power control parameter indication for multi-panel transmission may utilize the techniques described herein to experience power saving, such as reduced power consumption and extended battery life while ensuring reliable and efficient communications between UEs and base stations).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses a method performed by a base unit (Fig. 30 – Base Station 3010), the method comprising ([0078] Apparatuses, systems, and/or methods described herein may generally be described as implemented on one or more devices (e.g., wireless device, base station, eNB, gNB, computing device, etc):
transmitting (Fig. 30 - 3001) a set of power control parameters comprising a closed loop index, and a path loss (PL) RS, wherein the set of power control parameters are associated with a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state ([0293] A base station 3010 may send (e.g., transmit) to a wireless device 3020… The one or more messages 3001 may comprise configuration parameters of reference TCI states 3002 and/or identifiers (e.g., signal identifiers). An identifier (e.g., each identifier) may indicate one or more target RSs… The wireless device 3020 may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data), for example, based on a transmit power control of the transport block (e.g., PUSCH). The transmit power control may be based on the pathloss estimation with a downlink RS of the reference TCI state or a downlink RS linked to the reference TCI state 3002 (e.g., among downlink RS configured in a message comprising candidate PL-RS (e.g., for PUSCH); [0302] FIG. 35 shows an example for validation of a control command. The control command may comprise DCI. The DCI may indicate a reference TCI state (e.g., as a field inside the DCI, or indicating it indirectly, for example, associated by a message, field, or parameter)…The wireless device may identify/indicate, with validation, the DCI carrying the control command using the fields (e.g., … “Closed indicator” …) with a pre-configured bitwidth in the DCI) and
receiving a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission (Fig. 30 – element 3007; [0328] The base station may transmit and/or receive any quantity of downlink and/or uplink signals corresponding to signal type(s) of the list of signals indicated by an identifier at step 3930) by a transmit (TX) beam determined by a quasi-co-location (QCL) type D (QCL-TypeD) reference signal (RS) contained in the TCI state that is associated with the set of power control parameters ([0293] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002. The wireless device 3020 may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data), for example, based on a transmit power control of the transport block (e.g., PUSCH). The transmit power control may be based on the pathloss estimation with a downlink RS of the reference TCI state or a downlink RS linked to the reference TCI state 3002 (e.g., among downlink RS configured in a message comprising candidate PL-RS (e.g., for PUSCH); [0302] FIG. 35 shows an example for validation of a control command. The control command may comprise DCI. The DCI may indicate a reference TCI state (e.g., as a field inside the DCI, or indicating it indirectly, for example, associated by a message, field, or parameter)…The wireless device may identify/indicate, with validation, the DCI carrying the control command using the fields (e.g., … “Closed loop indicator” …) with a pre-configured bitwidth in the DCI; [0267] The TCI state may provide a quasi co-location (“QCL”) assumption (e.g., a reference signal (“RS”), an RS source, SS/PBCH block, CSI-RS) or a QCL type (e.g., QCL-TypeA, QCL-TypeD, etc.)), wherein, the TCI state is associated with the set of power control parameters when a PUSCH transmission is configured (Fig. 30, 3001-3002 (a PUSCH transmission is configured based on the reference TCI state), the set of power control parameters ([0293]; [0302];) is associated with the TCI state ([0293];[0267];) even if two TCI states are pointed to by one TCI codepoint ([0263] The wireless device may be configured to determine that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) associated with the TCI states, for example, if at least one TCI codepoint indicates two TCI states; [0264] A wireless device (e.g., if configured with multiple panels) may determine to activate (or select) at least one of the multiple panels to receive downlink signals/channels sent/transmitted from one of multiple TRPs of a base station... The wireless device may apply a spatial domain filter to send/transmit from a panel of the multiple panels to one of the multiple TRPs of the base station. The panel and/or the spatial domain filter may be determined based on at least one of: an UL TCI indication of a DCI, a panel ID in the DCI, an SRI indication of a DCI, a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI, and/or the like).
Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the set of power control parameters comprising P0 and alpha.
However, YUAN discloses a set of power control parameters comprising P0 and alpha ([0082] The ULPC_para_set may contain any of a P0 value, a pathloss downlink RS, and a closeloopindex, and a path loss compensation factor; [0078] α.sub.b,f,c, is path loss compensation factor).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the set of power control parameters of Park to include the set of power control parameters comprising P0 and alpha as taught by YUAN in order to provide additional power control parameters to determine the appropriate power for transmission and manage uplink transmissions more efficiently (YUAN - [0004] The described techniques relate to improved methods… apparatuses that support uplink power control parameter indication for multi-panel transmission; [0075] In some examples, power control for physical uplink shared channel may be calculated using the equation (1) (Subject to maximum transmit power limit); Park – [0293] The wireless device 3020 may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data), for example, based on a transmit power control of the transport block (e.g., PUSCH)).
Park and YUAN do not explicitly disclose the PUSCH transmission with a multi-beam repetition not configured.
However, NTT DOCOMO discloses a multi-beam repetition not configured ([Section 2.2] PUSCH repetitions across multiple TRPs can achieve significant performance gain over single PUSCH transmission (hence, the multi-beam PUSCH repetition not configured) at lower BLER target… For 4GHz, the required SNR for achieving BLER=10-4 for 2/4 repetitions is around 0.8/1.4 dB lower than that without repetitions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the PUSCH transmission of Park and YUAN to include a multi-beam repetition not configured as taught by NTT DOCOMO in order to reduce overhead and support the wireless devices with limited capabilities (Park - [0157] The wireless device may or may not have a capability of beam correspondence).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses a base unit (Fig. 15A – Base station 1504; Fig. 15A – Wireless Device 1502; [0078] user equipment (e.g., UE). Although one or more of the above types of devices may be referenced herein (e.g., UE, wireless device, computing device, etc.)), comprising:
At least one memory (Fig. 15A – 1514; Fig. 15A - 1524); and
at least one processor (Fig. 15A – 1508; Fig. 15A – 1518; [0204] The processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 may comprise one or more controllers and/or one or more processors) coupled with the at least one memory ([0203] The processing system 1508 and the processing system 1518 may be associated with a memory 1514 and a memory 1524) and configured to cause the base unit to ([0203] The processing system 1508 and/or the processing system 1518 may perform at least… any other functionality that may enable the wireless device 1502 and/or the base station 1504 to operate in a wireless environment; [0329] The wireless device may comprise one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to perform the described method, additional operations and/or include the additional elements):
transmit (Fig. 30 - 3001) a set of power control parameters comprising a closed loop index, and a path loss (PL) RS, wherein the set of power control parameters are associated with a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state ([0293] A base station 3010 may send (e.g., transmit) to a wireless device 3020… The one or more messages 3001 may comprise configuration parameters of reference TCI states 3002 and/or identifiers (e.g., signal identifiers). An identifier (e.g., each identifier) may indicate one or more target RSs… The wireless device 3020 may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data), for example, based on a transmit power control of the transport block (e.g., PUSCH). The transmit power control may be based on the pathloss estimation with a downlink RS of the reference TCI state or a downlink RS linked to the reference TCI state 3002 (e.g., among downlink RS configured in a message comprising candidate PL-RS (e.g., for PUSCH); [0302] FIG. 35 shows an example for validation of a control command. The control command may comprise DCI. The DCI may indicate a reference TCI state (e.g., as a field inside the DCI, or indicating it indirectly, for example, associated by a message, field, or parameter)…The wireless device may identify/indicate, with validation, the DCI carrying the control command using the fields (e.g., … “Closed indicator” …) with a pre-configured bitwidth in the DCI) and
receive a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission by a transmit (TX) beam determined by a quasi-co-location (QCL) type D (QCL-TypeD) reference signal (RS) contained in the TCI state ([0293] FIG. 30 shows an example of wireless communications using a beam indication for downlink and/or uplink data channel transmission(s)… The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002; [0267] The TCI state may provide a quasi co-location (“QCL”) assumption (e.g., a reference signal (“RS”), an RS source, SS/PBCH block, CSI-RS) or a QCL type (e.g., QCL-TypeA, QCL-TypeD, etc.)) that is associated with the set of power control parameters ([0293] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002. The wireless device 3020 may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data), for example, based on a transmit power control of the transport block (e.g., PUSCH). The transmit power control may be based on the pathloss estimation with a downlink RS of the reference TCI state or a downlink RS linked to the reference TCI state 3002 (e.g., among downlink RS configured in a message comprising candidate PL-RS (e.g., for PUSCH); [0302] FIG. 35 shows an example for validation of a control command. The control command may comprise DCI. The DCI may indicate a reference TCI state (e.g., as a field inside the DCI, or indicating it indirectly, for example, associated by a message, field, or parameter)…The wireless device may identify/indicate, with validation, the DCI carrying the control command using the fields (e.g., … “Closed loop indicator” …) with a pre-configured bitwidth in the DCI), wherein, the TCI state is associated with the set of power control parameters when a PUSCH transmission is configured (Fig. 30, 3001-3002 (a PUSCH transmission is configured based on the reference TCI state), the set of power control parameters ([0293]; [0302];) is associated with the TCI state ([0293];[0267];) even if two TCI states are pointed to by one TCI codepoint ([0263] The wireless device may be configured to determine that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) associated with the TCI states, for example, if at least one TCI codepoint indicates two TCI states; [0264] A wireless device (e.g., if configured with multiple panels) may determine to activate (or select) at least one of the multiple panels to receive downlink signals/channels sent/transmitted from one of multiple TRPs of a base station... The wireless device may apply a spatial domain filter to send/transmit from a panel of the multiple panels to one of the multiple TRPs of the base station. The panel and/or the spatial domain filter may be determined based on at least one of: an UL TCI indication of a DCI, a panel ID in the DCI, an SRI indication of a DCI, a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI, and/or the like).
Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the set of power control parameters comprising P0 and alpha.
However, YUAN discloses a set of power control parameters comprising P0 and alpha ([0082] The ULPC_para_set may contain any of a P0 value, a pathloss downlink RS, and a closeloopindex, and a path loss compensation factor; [0078] α.sub.b,f,c, is path loss compensation factor).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the set of power control parameters of Park to include the set of power control parameters comprising P0 and alpha as taught by YUAN in order to provide additional power control parameters to determine the appropriate power for transmission and manage uplink transmissions more efficiently (YUAN - [0004] The described techniques relate to improved methods… apparatuses that support uplink power control parameter indication for multi-panel transmission; [0075] In some examples, power control for physical uplink shared channel may be calculated using the equation (1) (Subject to maximum transmit power limit); Park – [0293] The wireless device 3020 may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data), for example, based on a transmit power control of the transport block (e.g., PUSCH)).
Park and YUAN do not explicitly disclose the PUSCH transmission with a multi-beam repetition not configured.
However, NTT DOCOMO discloses a multi-beam repetition not configured ([Section 2.2] PUSCH repetitions across multiple TRPs can achieve significant performance gain over single PUSCH transmission (hence, the multi-beam PUSCH repetition not configured) at lower BLER target… For 4GHz, the required SNR for achieving BLER=10-4 for 2/4 repetitions is around 0.8/1.4 dB lower than that without repetitions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the PUSCH transmission of Park and YUAN to include a multi-beam repetition not configured as taught by NTT DOCOMO in order to reduce overhead and support the wireless devices with limited capabilities (Park - [0157] The wireless device may or may not have a capability of beam correspondence).
Regarding claim 13, Park further discloses the base unit of claim 11, further comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Fig. 30 – element 3001-3002) to indicate whether a TCI field ([0290] The base station may send (e.g., transmit) a control command comprising a field indicating at least one of: a reference TCI state of the reference TCI states, and/or a signal identifier. The wireless device may determine (e.g., based on the reference TCI state), a spatial domain filter (e.g., a beam) of the one or more target RSs indicated by the signal identifier) is included in an uplink (UL) grant ([0293] The wireless device 3020 may receive an uplink scheduling grant 3006 (e.g., DCI) scheduling a transport block via a PUSCH associated with the DMRS), wherein, if the TCI field is included in the UL grant (Fig. 23C – TCIPresentInDCI), the TX beam is determined by the TCI state ([0293] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002), and
if the TCI field is not included in the UL grant (Fig. 23C – TCIPresentInDCI; [0253] If the field is absent, a wireless device may consider/determine the TCI to be absent/disabled; [0263] A wireless device configured by higher layer parameter (e.g., PDCCH-Config) may contain two different values of a coreset pool index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex) in a control resource set (e.g., ControlResourceSet), for example, if a TCI indication (e.g., tci-PresentInDCI) is enabled (e.g., is set to ‘enabled’) and/or if the TCI indication (e.g., tci-PresentInDCI) is not configured in an RRC connected mode), the TX beam is determined by spatial relations configured for sounding reference signal (SRS) resources indicated by an SRS resource indicator (SRI) field of the UL grant ([0265] A wireless device may determine a panel and/or a transmission beam (and/or spatial domain transmission filter) on the panel, for example, if a wireless device receives DCI indicating an uplink grant. The panel may be indicated (e.g., explicitly indicated) by a panel ID comprised in the DCI. The panel may be indicated (e.g., implicitly indicated) by an SRS ID (and/or an SRS group/pool index), a UL TCI pool index of a UL TCI for uplink transmission, and/or a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI), or
determined by the TCI state ([0293] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002) or
QCL assumption indicated for a control resource set (CORESET) transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying the UL grant ([0263] A wireless device configured by higher layer parameter (e.g., PDCCH-Config) may contain two different values of a coreset pool index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex) in a control resource set (e.g., ControlResourceSet), for example, if a TCI indication (e.g., tci-PresentInDCI) is enabled (e.g., is set to ‘enabled’) and/or if the TCI indication (e.g., tci-PresentInDCI) is not configured in an RRC connected mode. If A wireless device may assume/determine that DM-RS ports of a PDSCH associated with a value of a coreset pool index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex) of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s), for example, if the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH transmission is less than a threshold (e.g., timeDurationForQCL). The QCL parameter(s) may be used for a PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest CORESET-ID among CORESETs; [0095] A physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) may comprise/carry downlink control information (DCI), which may comprise downlink scheduling commands, uplink scheduling grants, and uplink power control commands).
Regarding claim 14, Park further discloses the base unit of claim 11, further comprising:
receiving a Medium Access Control (MAC) control element (CE) indicating a TCI state ([0157] The base station may indicate one or more TCI states to the wireless device (e.g., via RRC signaling, a MAC CE, and/or DCI). The wireless device may receive a downlink transmission with an Rx beam determined based on the one or more TCI states) and its associated power control parameter set for a TCI codepoint ([0284] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the uplink signal of the second target signal/channel of the list, for example, based on a transmit power control of the uplink signal. The transmit power control may be based on the pathloss estimation with a downlink RS of the reference TCI (or a downlink RS linked or associated to the reference TCI); [0297] FIG. 32 shows an example of a signal/channel identifier. The signal/channel identifier may indicate/identify one or more target channels. A codepoint ‘01010’ of the signal/channel identifier may be (pre-)configured by a base station (e.g., by higher-layer signaling, e.g., RRC signaling (higher-layer signaling could also be MAC signaling – see [0155])) as ‘PDSCH, PUSCH, and PUCCH’, wherein the base station may further indicate the codepoint ‘01010’ with a reference TCI (e.g., by sending a (subsequent) control command) and the wireless device may determine a Tx/Rx configuration filter (e.g., spatial domain filter) based on the indicated reference TCI (e.g., as a unified downlink/uplink TCI) to use/apply for subsequent downlink receptions (e.g., PDSCH) and uplink transmissions (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH), based on the codepoint ‘01010’ indicating the one or more target signal(s)/channels as ‘PDSCH, PUSCH, and PUCCH’ to be applicable/usable with the determined Tx/Rx configuration filter (e.g., spatial domain filter)).
Regarding claim 15, Park further discloses the base unit of claim 14, wherein the MAC CE includes a CORESET pool identifier (ID) field to indicate a CORESETPoolIndex value of a CORESET transmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying an UL grant (Fig. 14A; [0263] A wireless device configured by higher layer parameter (e.g., PDCCH-Config) (higher-layer could also be MAC signaling – see [0155]) may contain two different values of a coreset pool index (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex) in a control resource set (e.g., ControlResourceSet); [0265] A wireless device may determine a panel and/or a transmission beam (and/or spatial domain transmission filter) on the panel, for example, if a wireless device receives DCI indicating an uplink grant (PDCCH carrying UL grant). The panel may be indicated (e.g., explicitly indicated) by a panel ID comprised in the DCI. The panel may be indicated (e.g., implicitly indicated) by an SRS ID (and/or an SRS group/pool index), a UL TCI pool index of a UL TCI for uplink transmission, and/or a CORESET pool index of a CORESET for receiving the DCI).
Regarding claim 17, Park further discloses the base unit of claim 14, wherein when a multi-beam PUSCH is configured (Fig. 24; [0294] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) (semi-) periodically the transport block (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with the spatial domain filter determined by the reference TCI state), the TCI state is associated with one associated power control parameter set when a PUSCH transmission is configured ([0293] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002. The wireless device 3020 may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data), for example, based on a transmit power control of the transport block (e.g., PUSCH). The transmit power control may be based on the pathloss estimation with a downlink RS of the reference TCI state or a downlink RS linked to the reference TCI state 3002 (e.g., among downlink RS configured in a message comprising candidate PL-RS (e.g., for PUSCH)).
Park and YUAN do not explicitly disclose the repetition of the multi-beam PUSCH transmission.
However, NTT DOCOMO discloses a multi-beam repetition is configured ([Section 2.2] PUSCH repetitions across multiple TRPs (hence, the multi-beam PUSCH repetition is configured) can achieve significant performance gain over single PUSCH transmission at lower BLER target… For 4GHz, the required SNR for achieving BLER=10-4 for 2/4 repetitions is around 0.8/1.4 dB lower than that without repetitions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the multi-beam PUSCH transmission of Park and YUAN to include the multi-beam repetition as taught by NTT DOCOMO in order to increase performance gain at a lower BLER target than that without repetitions (NTT DOCOMO – [Section 2.2]).
Park and NTT DOCOMO do not explicitly disclose that if two TCI states are pointed to by one TCI codepoint, each of the two TCI states is associated with one associated power control parameter set.
However, YUAN discloses two TCI states are pointed to by one TCI codepoint, each of the two TCI states is associated with one associated power control parameter set (Fig. 3; [0088] For instance, in control message 300, two rows may correspond to a first codepoint (two TCI states are pointed to one TCI codepoint)… FIG. 3, the control message 300 may indicate a first activated uplink transmission configuration indicator state identifier 325 (TCI state ID 01) for the codepoint (indicated via C0) associated with a first antenna panel and a second activated uplink transmission configuration indicator state identifier 330 (TCI state ID 02) for the codepoint associated with a second antenna panel if C0 is set to 1… the control message may include a first uplink power control parameter set identifier 335 (ULPC ID 01) associated with the first activated uplink transmission configuration indicator state identifier 325 (TCI state ID 01) and a second uplink power control parameter set identifier 340 (ULPC ID 02) associated with the second activated uplink transmission configuration indicator state identifier 330 (TCI state ID 02). That is, if UL TCI state ID01 is activated, the control message may indicate ULPC parameter set ID01 associated with UL TCI state ID01. Similarly, if UL TCI state ID02 (e.g., a uplink transmission configuration indicator state identifier associated with the same codepoint as UL TCI state ID01 but different antenna panel) is activated, the control message may indicate ULPC parameter set ID02 associated with UL TCI state ID02).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the TCI state and the power control parameter set of Park, YUAN and NTT DOCOMO to include the two TCI states are pointed to by one TCI codepoint, each of the two TCI states is associated with one associated power control parameter set as taught by YUAN in order to reduce power consumption and extend the battery life of the wireless device (YUAN - [0025] UEs capable of supporting uplink power control parameter indication for multi-panel transmission may utilize the techniques described herein to experience power saving, such as reduced power consumption and extended battery life while ensuring reliable and efficient communications between UEs and base stations).
Regarding claims 18 and 25, Park further discloses:
wherein the TCI state is a joint TCI state used for both downlink reception and uplink transmission (Fig. 30 – TCI state; [0293] The wireless device may receive the transport block 3005 (e.g., data) via the PDSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002... The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002... The transmit power control may be based on the pathloss estimation with a downlink RS of the reference TCI state or a downlink RS linked to the reference TCI state 3002 (e.g., among downlink RS configured in a message comprising candidate PL-RS (e.g., for PUSCH))).
Regarding claim 19, Park further discloses:
wherein the TX beam ([0293] FIG. 30 shows an example of wireless communications using a beam indication for downlink and/or uplink data channel transmission(s)… The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002; [0267] The TCI state may provide a quasi co-location (“QCL”) assumption (e.g., a reference signal (“RS”), an RS source, SS/PBCH block, CSI-RS) or a QCL type (e.g., QCL-TypeA, QCL-TypeD, etc.)) is indicated by a TCI field ([0290] The base station may send (e.g., transmit) a control command (e.g., DCI) comprising a field indicating at least one of: a reference TCI state of the reference TCI states, and/or a signal identifier. The wireless device may determine (e.g., based on the reference TCI state), a spatial domain filter (e.g., a beam) of the one or more target RSs indicated by the signal identifier) contained in a downlink control information (DCI) (Fig. 23C – TCIPresentInDCI) format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2 scheduling the PUSCH transmission ([0293] The wireless device 3020 may receive an uplink scheduling grant 3006 (e.g., DCI) scheduling a transport block via a PUSCH associated with the DMRS; [0187] A base station may send/transmit DCIs with one or more DCI formats... DCI format 0_1 may be used for scheduling of a PUSCH in a cell (e.g., with more DCI payloads than DCI format 0_0)).
Regarding claim 20, Park further discloses:
wherein, when two RSs are included in the TCI state ([0293] FIG. 30 shows an example of wireless communications using a beam indication for downlink and/or uplink data channel transmission(s). A base station 3010 may send (e.g., transmit) to a wireless device 3020 one or more messages 3001. The one or more messages 3001 may comprise configuration parameters of reference TCI states 3002 and/or identifiers (e.g., signal identifiers). An identifier (e.g., each identifier) may indicate one or more target RSs... The first one of the one or more target RSs/channels... may comprise a DMRS associated with a downlink reception (e.g., PDSCH). The wireless device 3020 may receive a downlink scheduling grant 3003 (e.g., DCI) scheduling a transport block via a PDSCH associated with the DMRS. The wireless device may receive the transport block 3005 (e.g., data) via the PDSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002. The second one of the one or more target RSs/channels may comprise a DMRS associated with an uplink transmission (e.g., PUSCH)... The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002. The wireless device 3020 may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data), for example, based on a transmit power control of the transport block (e.g., PUSCH). The transmit power control may be based on the pathloss estimation with a downlink RS of the reference TCI state or a downlink RS linked to the reference TCI state 3002 (e.g., among downlink RS configured in a message comprising candidate PL-RS (e.g., for PUSCH)), the TX beam is determined according to the QCL-TypeD RS among the two RSs [0293] FIG. 30 shows an example of wireless communications using a beam indication for downlink and/or uplink data channel transmission(s)… The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002; [0267] The TCI state may provide a quasi co-location (“QCL”) assumption (e.g., a reference signal (“RS”), an RS source, SS/PBCH block, CSI-RS) or a QCL type (e.g., QCL-TypeA, QCL-TypeD, etc); [0303] with the base station via a downlink signal and an uplink signal based on the target channels, with a determined Tx/Rx configuration filter (e.g., spatial domain filter) based on the indicated reference TCI (e.g., as a unified downlink/uplink TCI). A candidate set of reference TCIs may comprise at least one of: a downlink RS (e.g., CSI-RS resource, an SSB index, etc.), and/or an uplink RS (e.g., SRS resource, etc.)).
Regarding claim 21, Park further discloses:
wherein the closed loop index indicates ([0302] FIG. 35 shows an example for validation of a control command. The control command may comprise DCI. The DCI may indicate a reference TCI state (e.g., as a field inside the DCI, or indicating it indirectly, for example, associated by a message, field, or parameter)... The wireless device may identify/indicate, with validation, the DCI carrying the control command using the fields (e.g., “Frequency hopping flag”... “Closed loop indicator”...) with a pre-configured bitwidth in the DCI) one of two closed loops (Fig. 30 – DCI 3002, Command control with updated information 3008; [0293] A subsequent control command 3008 (e.g., DCI) may be used to update to a different spatial domain filter 3009 for one or more subsequent messages (hence there are a plurality of closed loop indicators)), and the PL-RS indicates a downlink reference signal for downlink pathloss estimation ([0293] The transmit power control may be based on the pathloss estimation with a downlink RS of the reference TCI state or a downlink RS linked to the reference TCI state 3002 (e.g., among downlink RS configured in a message comprising candidate PL-RS (e.g., for PUSCH)).
Park and NTT DOCOMO do not explicitly disclose wherein P0 indicates a target received power, and alpha indicates a path loss compensation factor.
However, YUAN discloses P0 indicates a target received power ([0076] P.sub.O.sub.PUSCH.sub.,b,f,c is the target SINR determined by P0 value), and alpha indicates a path loss compensation factor ([0082] The ULPC_para_set may contain any of a P0 value, a pathloss downlink RS, and a closeloopindex, and a path loss compensation factor; [0078] α.sub.b,f,c, is path loss compensation factor).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the set of power control parameters of Park, YUAN and NTT DOCOMO to include the P0 indicates the target received power, and the alpha indicates the path loss compensation factor as taught by YUAN in order to provide additional power control parameters to determine the appropriate power for transmission and manage uplink transmissions more efficiently (YUAN - [0004] The described techniques relate to improved methods… apparatuses that support uplink power control parameter indication for multi-panel transmission; [0075] In some examples, power control for physical uplink shared channel may be calculated using the equation (1) (Subject to maximum transmit power limit); Park – [0293] The wireless device 3020 may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data), for example, based on a transmit power control of the transport block (e.g., PUSCH)).
Regarding claims 22 and 26, Park further discloses:
wherein the TCI state is one of up to 128 TCI states configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0282] A dedicated RRC parameter (e.g., qcl-info) may configure a TCI state per CSI-RS resource, for example, or periodic CSI-RS, which may result in increased signaling overhead, especially if a large quantity of CSI-RS resources (e.g., up to 192 or any other quantity) are configured (e.g., up to 192 TCI states or any other quantity)).
Regarding claim 23, Park further discloses:
wherein the MAC CE ([0157] The base station may indicate one or more TCI states to the wireless device (e.g., via RRC signaling, a MAC CE, and/or DCI). The wireless device may receive a downlink transmission with an Rx beam determined based on the one or more TCI states) includes an associated power control parameter set identifier (ID) field indicating the power control parameter set associated with the TCI state ([0284] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the uplink signal of the second target signal/channel of the list, for example, based on a transmit power control of the uplink signal. The transmit power control may be based on the pathloss estimation with a downlink RS of the reference TCI (or a downlink RS linked or associated to the reference TCI); [0297] FIG. 32 shows an example of a signal/channel identifier. The signal/channel identifier may indicate/identify one or more target channels. A codepoint ‘01010’ of the signal/channel identifier may be (pre-)configured by a base station (e.g., by higher-layer signaling, e.g., RRC signaling (higher-layer signaling could also be MAC signaling – see [0155])) as ‘PDSCH, PUSCH, and PUCCH’, wherein the base station may further indicate the codepoint ‘01010’ with a reference TCI (e.g., by sending a (subsequent) control command) and the wireless device may determine a Tx/Rx configuration filter (e.g., spatial domain filter) based on the indicated reference TCI (e.g., as a unified downlink/uplink TCI) to use/apply for subsequent downlink receptions (e.g., PDSCH) and uplink transmissions (e.g., PUSCH, PUCCH), based on the codepoint ‘01010’ indicating the one or more target signal(s)/channels as ‘PDSCH, PUSCH, and PUCCH’ to be applicable/usable with the determined Tx/Rx configuration filter (e.g., spatial domain filter)).
Regarding claim 24, Park further discloses:
Wherein each PUSCH is transmitted (Fig. 24; [0294] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) (semi-) periodically the transport block (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with the spatial domain filter determined by the reference TCI state) with a transmit power determined based on the associated power control parameter set associated with the TCI state ([0293] The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data) via the PUSCH with/using the spatial domain filter 3004 determined by the reference TCI state 3002. The wireless device 3020 may send (e.g., transmit) the transport block 3007 (e.g., data), for example, based on a transmit power control of the transport block (e.g., PUSCH). The transmit power control may be based on the pathloss estimation with a downlink RS of the reference TCI state or a downlink RS linked to the reference TCI state 3002 (e.g., among downlink RS configured in a message comprising candidate PL-RS (e.g., for PUSCH)).
Park and NTT DOCOMO do not explicitly disclose wherein the associated power control parameter set associated with a respective one of the two TCI states.
However, YUAN discloses an associated power control parameter set associated with a respective one of two TCI states ([0088] For instance, in control message 300, two rows may correspond to a first codepoint (two TCI states are pointed to one TCI codepoint)… FIG. 3, the control message 300 may indicate a first activated uplink transmission configuration indicator state identifier 325 (TCI state ID 01) for the codepoint (indicated via C0) associated with a first antenna panel and a second activated uplink transmission configuration indicator state identifier 330 (TCI state ID 02) for the codepoint associated with a second antenna panel if C0 is set to 1… the control message may include a first uplink power control parameter set identifier 335 (ULPC ID 01) associated with the first activated uplink transmission configuration indicator state identifier 325 (TCI state ID 01) and a second uplink power control parameter set identifier 340 (ULPC ID 02) associated with the second activated uplink transmission configuration indicator state identifier 330 (TCI state ID 02). That is, if UL TCI state ID01 is activated, the control message may indicate ULPC parameter set ID01 associated with UL TCI state ID01... the UE may communicate with the base station based on the first indication associated with the uplink transmission configuration indicator (e.g., UL TCI state ID01 and/or UL TCI state ID02) and the second indication of the uplink power control parameter set identifier (e.g., ULPC parameter set ID01 and/or ULPC parameter set ID02)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the transmit power determined based on the associated power control parameter set associated with the TCI state of Park, YUAN and NTT DOCOMO to include the associated power control parameter set associated with the respective one of the two TCI states as taught by YUAN in order to reduce power consumption and extend the battery life of the wireless device (YUAN - [0025] UEs capable of supporting uplink power control parameter indication for multi-panel transmission may utilize the techniques described herein to experience power saving, such as reduced power consumption and extended battery life while ensuring reliable and efficient communications between UEs and base stations).
Park and YUAN do not explicitly disclose two PUSCH repetitions.
However, NTT DOCOMO discloses two PUSCH repetitions ([Section 2.2] PUSCH repetitions across multiple TRPs (hence, the multi-beam PUSCH repetition is configured) can achieve significant performance gain over single PUSCH transmission at lower BLER target… For 4GHz, the required SNR for achieving BLER=10-4 for 2/4 repetitions is around 0.8/1.4 dB lower than that without repetitions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify each of the PUSCH of Park, YUAN and NTT DOCOMO to include the two PUSCH repetitions as taught by NTT DOCOMO in order to increase performance gain over a single PUSCH transmission at a lower BLER target (NTT DOCOMO – [Section 2.2]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418