DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/15/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 49-54 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/15/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 32, 38, 45, and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NPL document Title: Mechanically Robust Gelatin-Alginate IPN Hydrogels by a Combination of Enzymatic and Ionic Crosslinking Approaches.
The NPL document discloses a three-dimensional body implant which comprises a hydrogel comprising cross-linked gelatin and cross-linked alginate (see abstract and page 506), wherein said hydrogel has a mechanical strength of from 1 kPa to 1000 kPa (see Figs. 2-4 and second paragraph in page 508) and that said implant has at least one porous zone, the porous zone comprising a plurality of pores each having a pore size, the porous zone having an overall porosity of from 100 micron to 10000 micron (see page 512 Figure 11 disclosing a scale of 10 microns), the overall porosity corresponding to an average of the pore sizes measured in the porous zone.
Regarding claims 38 and 45, the reference discloses at least one layer of porous material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-37, 39, 47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL document Title: Mechanically Robust Gelatin-Alginate IPN Hydrogels by a Combination of Enzymatic and Ionic Crosslinking Approaches in view of Mathisen et al US Patent Pub. 2018/0228598A1.
The NPL reference discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, the NPL reference is silent regarding the porous configuration of the implant, such as the homogeneous pore sizes/shape, how the pores are distributed, the 3D structure of the pores (shape), the implant volume and if the implant is a breast implant.
Regarding claims 33, 34, 36 and 39, see paragraphs 71, 72 and 75 disclosing an homogeneous pore zones having an homogeneous porous interior and made with a 3D printer capable of having any particular shape. Additionally, paragraph 72 discloses a porous zone having a combination of open pores or slits for the purpose of promoting the growth of tissue around the implant.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to have homogeneous pore zones, homogeneously distribute and having pores having different shapes in order to promote the growth of tissue around the implant.
Regarding claims 47 and 48, the Mathisen et al reference discloses a breast implant (see paragraphs 13 and 14). It is inherent to have a volume range from 0.05mL to 3L when using a breast implant.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 40-44 and 46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALVIN J STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 7/14/26