DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 126 (fig. 4), 178 (fig. 10), 180 (fig. 10).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “450” has been used to designate both two different parts in fig. 23B.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the power circuit and control circuit of claims 1, 26, and 31 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because figs. 4, 29, and 35 include text that is too small and unclear to read.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In ¶ 89 of the submitted specification, “up and down arrows 80” should be “up and down arrows 84.”
In ¶ 96 of the submitted specification, “up and down arrows 80” should be “up and down arrows 84.”
In ¶ 118 of the submitted specification, “low temperature threshold 166” should be “low temperature threshold 164.”
In ¶ 134 of the submitted specification, “base unit 338” should be “base unit 336.”
In ¶ 151 of the submitted specification, “probe unit 396” should be “probe unit 376.”
Applicant duplicates the incorporation of 63/084,826 in ¶ 237. The Office recommends merging this paragraph with ¶ 1.
The use of the terms “Bluetooth,” “Wi-Fi,” “Li-Fi,” and “Calrod,” which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM, or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The active element in claims 1, 26, and 31 (“e.g., a heating element, electric motor, controller, etc.”).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9–12, 15, 23, 26, 31, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minvielle et al. (US Pub. 2017/0332676).
Claim 1: Minvielle discloses an electrical appliance (clear from at least ¶¶ 4 and 12), comprising:
a controller (¶ 76, “conditioner control system”; 1115; see also ¶ 132) operatively connected to a power circuit (clearly evident from ¶ 12), a control circuit (¶132, “circuitry,” “circuit”), a power source (¶ 12), a sensor (1120) for sensing a parameter level (¶ 104, “temperature”), and an active element (e.g. “bake element,” ¶ 62); and
the controller configured to receive an input of the parameter level from the sensor (¶ 104) and to output a duty cycle for controlling a power level of the active element via the control circuit at various times (¶ 98, “pulse width modulation,” which necessitates a duty cycle) to achieve a target set point of the parameter (claim 5, “target temperature”), the duty cycle based on proportional and integral control (see at least ¶¶ 76 and 86–88; 1550, 1570),
wherein the controller uses the proportional control and the integral control when the control circuit is energized (¶ 76, “the conditioner control system proportionally decreases the power of each heating element by proportionally reducing the time each heating element is on”), and accumulates integral error only when a parameter process variable sensed by the sensor is determined to be within an interval of the target set point (¶ 88, “an anti-reset-windup 1590 control may inhibit the integral control 1570 until the measured temperature 1510 is within the proportional band 1550 to reduce overshoot on start-up,” where the proportional band 1550 is defined by the target temperature 900).
Claim 9: Minvielle discloses that the integral error is calculated based on a parameter level reading at the sensor (measured temperature 1510), the target set point (offset 1560 determined by the measured temperature 1510 compared to the target temperature 900), and a time interval (¶ 87, “integral time”).
Claim 10: Minvielle discloses a switching device operatively connected to the controller and the active element, such that a signal received by the controller selectively powers the active element (¶ 76, “the conditioner control system proportionally decreases the power of each heating element by proportionally reducing the time each heating element is on”; see ¶ 98 mentioning switching with the pulse width modulation, and explaining how the pulse width modulation is facilitated by solid state relays that rely on signals).
Claim 11: Minvielle discloses that the switching device is a relay (¶ 98, “solid state relays”).
Claim 12: Minvielle discloses that the target set point of the parameter is set by a user (¶ 6, “set point temperature prescribed by the user”; although this passage discusses the prior art, the overall disclosure makes clear that the invention does not innovate on this point, and it carries over to the disclosed invention as practiced).
Claim 15: Minvielle discloses that the active element is an electrically powered heating element (evident from “watts” in relating to the heating elements (including the bake element) in ¶ 62).
Claim 23: Minvielle discloses that the duty cycle is further based on derivative control (1530, see ¶ 85).
Claim 26: Minvielle discloses a controller (¶ 76, “conditioner control system”; 1115; see also ¶ 132) for use with an electrical appliance (clear from at least ¶¶ 4 and 12), comprising:
a processor (¶ 132, “control system,” “processor”) operatively connected to a memory (¶ 135, “memory”);
the controller operatively connected to a power circuit (clearly evident from ¶ 12), a control circuit (¶ 132, “circuitry,” “circuit”), a power source (¶ 12), a sensor (1120) for sensing a parameter level (¶ 104, “temperature”), and an active element (e.g. “bake element,” ¶ 62); and
the controller configured to receive an input of the parameter level from the sensor (¶ 104) and to output a control signal for controlling a power level of the active element at various times via the control circuit (¶ 98, “pulse width modulation”) to achieve a target set point of the parameter (claim 5, “target temperature”), the control signal output based on proportional and integral control (see at least ¶¶ 76 and 86–88; 1550, 1570);
wherein the controller uses the proportional control and the integral control when the control circuit is powered on (¶ 76), and accumulates integral error only when a process variable sensed by the sensor is determined to be within an interval of the target set point (¶ 88, “an anti-reset-windup 1590 control may inhibit the integral control 1570 until the measured temperature 1510 is within the proportional band 1550 to reduce overshoot on start-up,” where the proportional band 1550 is defined by the target temperature 900).
Claim 31: Minvielle discloses an electrical heating appliance (clear from at least ¶¶ 4 and 12), comprising:
a controller (¶ 76, “conditioner control system”; 1115; see also ¶ 132) operatively connected to a power circuit (clearly evident from ¶ 12), a control circuit (¶ 132, “circuitry,” “circuit”), a power source (¶ 12), a sensor (1120) for sensing a parameter level (¶ 104, “temperature”), and an active element (e.g. “bake element,” ¶ 62); and
the controller configured to receive an input of the temperature level from the sensor (¶ 104) and to output a control signal for controlling a power level of the heating element at various times via the control circuit (¶ 98, “pulse width modulation”) to achieve a target set point of the temperature (claim 5, “target temperature”), the control signal output based on proportional and integral control (see at least ¶¶ 76 and 86–88; 1150, 1570),
wherein the controller uses the proportional control and the integral control when the control circuit is powered on (¶ 76), and accumulates integral error only when a temperature process variable sensed by the sensor is determined to be within an interval of the target set point temperature (¶ 88, “an anti-reset-windup 1590 control may inhibit the integral control 1570 until the measured temperature 1510 is within the proportional band 1550 to reduce overshoot on start-up,” where the proportional band 1550 is defined by the target temperature 900).
Claim 32: Minvielle discloses that the control signal output comprises a duty cycle, a voltage level, or a pulse-width modulation signal (¶ 98 explains the pulse-width modulation signal).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minvielle as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hornung (US Pat. 4,035,787).
Minvielle discloses that the sensor is a thermistor (¶ 76, “thermistor”).
Minvielle does not disclose that the sensor is a probe comprising a negative thermal coefficient thermistor.
However, Hornung discloses a similar system with a probe (18) comprising a negative thermal coefficient thermistor (90).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to design the thermistor of Minvielle as the negative thermal coefficient thermistor probe taught by Hornung as a known and effective means of determining an internal food temperature.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minvielle as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pouchak et al. (US Pub. 2005/0230491).
Minvielle does not disclose that the controller sets a power level of the active element using the reading of the parameter at the sensor using a lookup table.
However, Pouchak discloses a system that involves temperature control, including proportional and integral error (see ¶ 26), and also discloses setting a temperature-related element (bypass valve 208) using a sensed temperature 200 and a lookup table 202 (see ¶ 38, which also mentions that this may include calculating an integral error on the bypass temperature).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the lookup table taught by Pouchak as a known means of designing a conversion of a sensed temperature (in consideration of a set point temperature) to a temperature adjustment output (i.e. in Minvielle, a power level) using a predetermined or calculated integral error depending on the sensed temperature.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minvielle as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Ceste, Sr. (US Pat. 4,812,625).
Minvielle does not disclose that the controller is further configured to relate the input of the parameter level from the sensor and to the target set point of the parameter using a predefined offset equation.
However, Ceste discloses a similar cooking apparatus, wherein a controller (10; 73, 74) is configured to relate an input of a parameter level from a sensor and to a target set point of the parameter using a predefined offset equation (col. 9, ll. 52–64 explains that the measured temperature is given an offset of +5 °F to account for a predicted temperature variation between where the temperature probe is and where the desired cooking temperature is supposed to be controlled).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement an offset equation, like that taught by Ceste, into the controller of Minvielle to account for a difference in measured and effectively desired control temperatures.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2–8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Minvielle discloses that the interval is defined as the proportional band 1550. This band is defined primarily by the target temperature (around which the band is set) and a preset size depending on the conditioning element (see ¶ 81). Minvielle also discloses that “the integral control 1570 may adjust the proportional band 1550 up or down depending on the offset 1560” (¶ 87). Minvielle also discloses that its derivative control 1530 may adjust the proportional band based on the rate of temperature increase (see ¶ 85). Overall, Minvielle does not disclose or suggest that the interval would be defined by at least all of a proportional constant, an integral constant, and an integral error.
Byrne (US Pub. 2015/0185712) is highly relevant prior art and is very similar to Minvielle. Byrne discloses a simple interval defined by a preprogrammed proportional band.
Atwood et al. (US Pub. 2002/0072112, see ¶ 1093) and Hayes (US Pat. 3,938,017, see col. 3, ll. 16–21) also disclose systems that restricts integral error accumulation to an interval (see ¶ 1093).
Claims 3–8 all depend from claim 2.
Claims 4, 7, and 8 all provide mathematical equations in written form. These claims are not perfectly clear because the mathematical order operations is not apparent based on the claims themselves. However, the equations and their order of operations are fully understandable in light of the disclosure, and the claims are found definite under § 112(b).
Conclusion
/JOHN J NORTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761