DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruaz (US2007/0095817A1) in view of Pierre Bouvier (CN1942128A, European Patent Office, Machine Translation) and further in view of Huang (6576263B1).
Re claims 11, Gruaz teaches a method of cleaning a contact grill comprising a lower grille assembly (3,5,6) comprising a lower housing (5) and a lower grill plate (6) connected together and to be supported for used on a surface, the lower grille plate provided with a lower heating element (7) having electrical contacts (10) extending from the lower heating element; an upper grille assembly (2, 5, 7) comprising an upper housing (5) and an upper grille plate to be positioned above the lower grille plate (Fig. 1) and comprising an upper heating element having electrical contacts (paragraph 20). Gruaz further teaches a hinge assembly 4 comprising a power circuit 8 connectable to a power supply (Fig. 3, paragraph 27). The hinge assembly includes a lower and an upper hinge component pivotally connected together to allow pivotal relative movement, since the hinge 4 allows for pivotal relative movement of the plates along axis 19, as disclosed (Fig. 2; paragraph 34). Paragraph 34 teaches that the hinge 4 is configured so as to be able to implement the articulation between the two heating assemblies 2, 3, wherein the lower hinge component comprises a lower plug for connection with the lower grille plate and the upper hinge component comprises an upper plug for connection to the upper grille plate, wherein the plug is the electrical supply component 8. Paragraph 35 specifically teaches element 8 connected to each of the two subassemblies. Paragraph 22 teaches that the electrical supply component 8 includes contactors 9 which connect to the connection terminals 10 at the ends of the electrical resistances 7 of each assembly. Paragraph 25 teaches the heating subassemblies includes an electrical resistance. In summary, Gruaz teaches each of the upper and lower grill plates, and a hinge assembly having an upper and lower hinge component pivotally connected together and further teach an electrical component (i.e. plug) which are connected to each of the subassemblies.
Gruaz teaches a hinge assembly having an upper and lower component, wherein the hinge assembly is a single unit and not two individual components. Bouvier teaches a cooking appliance 1 comprising two electrical boxes 8, 9 (Fig. 2), attached to two heating parts 2-3, wherein the cooking appliance is hinged to each other through hinge 4. Claim 5 teaches fixture structure 17 which cooperate with the fixture structure 18 of each box 8, 9, so as to fix each of the upper grille body 6 and the lower grille body to the electrical connection box 8, 9. Page 4 of the translation teaches that the electrical boxes are connected to each other with the hinges of the device. There is a clear teaching and/or suggestion of using multiple hinges to couple two components. Page 4 of the translation further teaches that once each of the baking bodies are separated from their respective boxes, they are completely independent allowing for washing in an automatic dishwasher. In reference to the newly amended limitations of claim 11, Bouvier teaches a lower hinge component (9) which cooperate with the upper hinge component (8), wherein the low hinge component (i.e. electrical box) 9 comprises a fixture 18 for connection to a lower body and an upper hinge component 8 comprising a fixture 18 for connection to the upper body, wherein the upper and lower electrical connection boxes include at least one power connection (i.e. power cord).
It appears that applicant claim is directed to making separable a single hinge assembly into two components. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (The claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art’s] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose." It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Gruaz to include two separate units, as taught by Bouvier, such that the cooking appliance can be separated and completely independent to allow for washing easily in an automatic dishwasher.
Re claim 1, Gruaz in view of Bouvier teach the invention substantially as claimed. Both references are directed to two components (upper and lower plates) that are hinged. However, Gruaz in view of Bouvier fail to teach a hinge pin to allow for an axis of rotation. Huang et al. teach a grill device comprising an upper and lower grill unit (10,20). Huang et al. is relied upon as a general teaching of using pivot pins (12,13) to allow for rotation of the a grill unit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified method of Gruaz to include the use of fasteners, such as pivot pins, as taught by Huang et al., as a conventional means for attachment/coupling, rotational movement and positioning of component parts.
Re claims 12-15, the limitations are broadly directed to the disassembly of the grill unit for cleaning. Bouvier teaches disassembly of the entire grill assembly and removing the heating elements from the plates, to allow for cleaning in a household dishwasher.
Response to Arguments
In view of the newly amended claims, the rejection of Gruaz in view of Schnellman is withdrawn. All arguments directed to Schnellman are now moot. The secondary references of Bouvier and Huang et al. are relied upon to cure the above deficiencies, for the reasons recited above.
Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the specific structure to create a hinge for the upper and lower grille assemblies that comprises a power circuit to control heating of the upper and lower grill plates. It appears that applicant’s claim is directed to making an assembly into two separable units. The secondary reference of Bouvier et al. teach two separate electrical boxes to control each heating resistor 5 on the upper and lower baking bodies 6 and 7. Additionally, the reference of Bouvier teach individual boxes to allow for easy disassembly and cleaning of each of the baking bodies in the dishwasher.
Applicant continues to argue that the prior art of Gruaz fails to teach a separate hinge assembly with structural pivotal connected components. The examiner takes the position that a plurality of hinged components is not a patentable feature. The use of hinged assemblies connectable to grill plates are neither novel nor unpatentable in view of the teachings of Gruaz, Bryan (US2006/0049164) and Huang et al. Additionally, the use of clips and fasteners as hinged components are neither novel and/or patentable subject matter, as further evidenced by Bryan, and as previously argued by the examiner.
Applicant continues to argue that the prior art fails to teach the hinge assembly itself including a power circuit that is connectable to a power supply to control the heating of one or both of the upper and lower grill plates. Paragraph 34 of Gruaz teaches that the hinge 4 is configured so as to be able to implement the articulation between the two heating assemblies 2, 3, wherein the lower hinge component comprises a lower plug for connection with the lower grille plate and the upper hinge component comprises an upper plug for connection to the upper grille plate, wherein the plug is the electrical supply component 8. Paragraph 35 specifically teaches element 8 connected to each of the two subassemblies. Paragraph 22 teaches that the electrical supply component 8 includes contactors 9 which connect to the connection terminals 10 at the ends of the electrical resistances 7 of each assembly. It is also noted that the abstract of Gruaz teaches the electrical supply component as both being elements 8 and 11. Paragraph 26 teaches two electrical supply components with cases 11 and 12. Additionally, the prior art of Bouvier clearly teaches separate electrical boxes which supply power to each of the heating units. In summary, Applicant argues that the prior art does not include power components with any type of hinge connection to one another. The examiner does not find the concept of a plurality of components a novel and/or unobvious patentable feature. Furthermore, the examiner does not find the use of fasteners, hinges, or clips to connect a plurality of components to cause pivotal rotation/coupling a novel and/or unobvious patentable feature.
Sharidan Carrillo
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Sharidan Carrillo/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 bsc