Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Li at least fails to discloses ‘the pre-trained styled-image generation model is obtained by training with a plurality of original face sample images and a plurality of target styled face sample images, the plurality of target styled face sample images are generated by a pre-trained image generation model, and the image generation model is obtained by training with a plurality of pre-obtained standard styled face sample images” as recited in claim 1 of the present application.”
In response, Li discloses “the plurality of target styled face sample images are generated by a pre-trained image generation model” in paragraphs 0088, 0089 and Fig. 6. The “adapted images 604” correspond to “the plurality of target styled face sample images” and “the machine learning model 112 uses an adapted generator G′ 610 for an adapted generative model to generate the set of adapted images 604 in the target style” corresponds to “a pre-trained image generation model”.
Li discloses “the image generation model is obtained by training with a plurality of pre-obtained standard styled face sample images” in paragraph 0094. In particular, Li discloses, in paragraph 0094, that “FIG. 8 depicts other examples 800 of images that are used in the processes for training a machine learning model to transform source images using few-shot image generation via self-adaptation, according to certain aspects of this disclosure. In particular, FIG. 8 depicts an example 800 of a diagram of training a machine learning model for transforming a large source domain into a target style of a target domain (e.g., a style associated with few-shot images 802). One or more operations described with respect to FIG. 8 transform source images using an image processing system (e.g., image processing system 108). The image processing system 108 trains a machine learning model (e.g., machine learning model 112) to generate adapted images (e.g., adapted images 804) with a target style according to certain aspects discussed herein.” The “few-shot images 802” corresponds to “a plurality of pre-obtained standard styled face sample images”.
Li discloses ‘the pre-trained styled-image generation model is obtained by training with a plurality of original face sample images and a plurality of target styled face sample images” in paragraph 0088, 0089. The “source images” and “target images” correspond to “a plurality of original face sample images” and “a plurality of target styled face sample images”, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 21, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US 2022/0076374).
As to claim 1, Li discloses a styled-image generation method, comprising:
obtaining an original face image (para. 0058, 0064); and
obtaining a target styled face image corresponding to the original face image, by using a pre-trained styled-image generation model (para. 0025, 0034, 0041, 0059, 0060);
wherein the pre-trained styled-image generation model is obtained by training with a plurality of original face sample images and a plurality of target styled face sample images, the plurality of target styled face sample images are generated by a pre-trained image generation model, and the pre-trained image generation model is obtained by training with a plurality of pre-obtained standard styled face sample images (para. 0025, 0037-0039, 0041, 0044, 0064, 0088, 0089, 0094; Figs. 6, 7, 8).
As to claim 11, Li discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the styled-image generation model comprises a Conditional Generative Adversarial Network model (para. 0026).
As to claims 21, 24, these claims recite features similar to those discussed above. Therefore, they are rejected for reasons similar to those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Chakrabarty (US 2022/0101577).
As to claim 2, Li discloses wherein the obtaining a target styled face image corresponding to the original face image, by using a pre-trained styled-image generation model, comprising: obtaining the target styled face image based on the first face image, by using the styled-image generation model (para. 0025, 0034, 0041, 0059, 0060).
Li is silent regarding recognizing a face area in the original face image); and adjusting a position of the face area in the original face image according to actual position information and preset position information of the face area in the original face image, to obtain a first face image.
Chakrabarty teaches recognizing a face area in the original face image (para. 0038, 0039, 0052); and adjusting a position of the face area in the original face image according to actual position information and preset position information of the face area in the original face image, to obtain a first face image (para. 0053, 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Chakrabarty’s teachings into Li in order to simplify style transfer processing of the input face image into the target styled face image.
As to claim 25, the claim recites features similar to those discussed above. Therefore, claim 25 is rejected for reasons similar to those discussed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10, 12-15, 22, 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art discloses the combination of features required by each of dependent claims 3, 7, 12, 22, 26.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUOC TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668