DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 08/14/2026:
Claims 1 and 3 have been amended.
Claims 2 and 5 have been canceled.
The previous and new prior art has been applied. All changes made are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2021/0384566 to Jung et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication 2012/0114993 to Park et al.
With respect to claim 1, Jung et al. teach a battery module comprising: a battery cell stack 400 including at least one battery cell; a bus bar frame 500 covering an upper surface of the battery cell stack 400 and a side surface of the battery cell stack 400, wherein a lead of the at least one battery cell protrudes from the side surface; a housing 200 for accommodating a coupled body comprising the battery cell stack 400 and the bus bar frame 500; and a pair of end plates 300 coupled to surfaces at opposite ends of the housing 200, respectively, wherein a lead of the at least one battery cell is disposed at the surfaces at opposite ends of the housing (Jung et al.: Sections [0035]-[0038]; Figs. 1-2).
Jung et al. do not specifically teach a battery module, wherein a plurality of gas inducing holes are formed in both an upper part of the bus bar frame and in an upper surface of the housing.
However, Park et al. teach a battery module comprising a plurality of openings 58 (gas inducing holes) and a valve member 40 are formed in both an upper part of the bus bar frame 50 and in an upper surface of the cover 143 (the housing) (Park et al.: Sections [0040]-[0044]; Figs. 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have modified Jung et al. with the teaching above from Park et al. with the motivation of having a means such the opening or valve improve the safety of the battery pack.
With respect to claim 3, Jung et al. in view of Park et al. do not specifically teach the battery module, wherein: the valve member 40 (the plurality of gas inducing holes) formed in the upper surface of the cover 143 (the housing) are arranged to form a plurality of columns along a length direction of the upper surface of the battery cell stack.
However, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have the plurality of gas inducing holes formed in the upper surface of the housing are arranged to form a plurality of columns along a length direction of the upper surface of the battery cell stack, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
With respect to claim 4, Jung et al. in view of Park et al. do not specifically teach the battery module, wherein: at least one of the plurality of columns is disposed adjacent to an edge of the upper surface of the housing.
However, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have at least one of the plurality of columns is disposed adjacent to an edge of the upper surface of the housing, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to claim 6, Jung et al. in view of Park et al. teach the battery module, wherein: the plurality of opening 58 (gas inducing holes) of Park et al. formed in the upper part of the bus bar frame 50 are arranged to form a plurality of columns along a length direction of the upper surface of the battery cell stack (Park et al.: Sections [0040]-[0044]; Figs. 3 and 4).
With respect to claim 7, Jung et al. in view of Park et al. teach the battery module, wherein: at least one of the plurality of columns is disposed adjacent to an edge of the upper part of the bus bar frame 50 (Park et al.: Sections [0040]-[0044]; Figs. 3 and 4).
With respect to claim 8, Jung et al. in view of Park et al. does not specifically teach the battery module, wherein: the plurality of opening 58 (gas inducing holes) of Park et al. are formed in the upper part of the bus bar frame and at least one of the pair of end plates.
However, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have the plurality of opening 58 (gas inducing holes) of Park et al. are formed in the upper part of the bus bar frame and at least one of the pair of end plates, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to claim 9, Jung et al. in view of Park et al. do not specifically teach the battery module, wherein: the plurality of opening 58 (gas inducing holes) of Park et al. are formed in the upper part of the bus bar frame and on both of the pair of end plates.
However, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have the plurality of opening 58 (gas inducing holes) of Park et al. are formed in the upper part of the bus bar frame and on both of the pair of end plates, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
With respect to claim 10, Jung et al. in view of Park et al. do not specifically teach the battery module, wherein: the plurality of opening 58 (gas inducing holes) of Park et al. formed on both of the pair of end plates include at least three holes disposed in a central portion of each of the pair of end plates and arranged in a line along a height direction of each of the pair of end plates.
However, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have the plurality of opening 58 (gas inducing holes) of Park et al. formed on both of the pair of end plates include at least three holes disposed in a central portion of each of the pair of end plates and arranged in a line along a height direction of each of the pair of end plates, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to claim 11, Jung et al. teach a battery pack including at least one battery module (Jung et al.: Sections [0035]-[0038]; Figs. 1-2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LINGWEN R ZENG/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 8/21/2026