DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 10-11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shahmohammadian et al. (US Publication 2022/0029861A1).
In regards to claims 1, 11 and 15, Shahmohammadian et al. (US Publication 2022/0029861A1) teaches, a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving configuration information that includes information for one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets (see figure 1, step 103 and paragraph 28; the UE receives a configuration message generated at the gNB; see paragraph 68; up to two sets are defined for each scenario of xTyR in order to cover two possible periodic/semi-persistent or aperiodic resource type configurations. The number of resources are defined based on a number of antenna switching events. The number of SRS ports for each resource is defined based on a number of available ports for transmission (i.e., x) in each scenario of xTyR. The UE is configured with a guard period of Y symbols, in which the UE does not transmit any other signal, if the SRS resources of a set are transmitted in the same slot. The guard period is in-between the SRS resources of the set); and transmitting an SRS based on the configuration information (see figure 1 and step 105 and paragraph 29; in step 105, the UE generates and transmits an SRS to the gNB based on the received configuration message), wherein usage of the one or more SRS resource sets is configured as an antenna switching (see table 3 on page 5 and paragraph 69; when the number of required antenna switching is three or more, more than one slot is required to keep one symbol gap between switching events. That is, because SRS symbols can only be located within the last 6 symbols of a slot and with one symbol guard between each two SRS resources, a maximum of three resources may fit in a slot. For example, in a 1T4R scenario, where there are 4 antenna switching events, transmit path switching spans over two slots); wherein each of the one or more SRS resource sets is related to a different antenna port, wherein, based on two SRS resource sets being located in two slots, a guard period for the antenna switching exists between a first SRS resource set in a first slot and a second SRS resource set in a second slot (see paragraph 107; For an aperiodic resource type of 1T6R, resources are transmitted in two slots because the guard period of 1 symbol is required between two switching events and there are six switching cases to cover, which requires three slots, assuming max (l.sub.offset)=5 In accordance with an embodiment of the disclosure, for 1T6R, zero or one SRS resource set is configured with higher layer parameter resourceType in SRS ResourceSet set to ‘periodic’ or ‘semi-persistent’ with six SRS resources transmitted in different symbols, each SRS resource in a given set includes a single SRS port, and the SRS port of each resource is associated with a different UE antenna port); wherein, based on the two SRS resource sets being aperiodic SRS resource sets, the two SRS resource sets are configured with a same trigger value and (see paragraph 203; if three different aperiodic SRS sets with the same value of aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger are triggered together and the transmission of the triggered SRS sets are prioritized based on SRS set ID, a bitmap structure of “0001010001” can be used to indicate slot offset values of 4, 6, and 10 corresponding to those three triggered sets in one DCI, where the slot offset of 4 corresponds to the SRS set with the lowest set ID, the slot offset of 6 corresponds to the SRS set with the second lowest set ID, and the slot offset of 10 corresponds to the SRS set with the highest set ID) different slot offset values (see paragraph 201; More than one aperiodic SRS may be triggered in one single DCI based on an SRS request codepoint and configured aperiodicSRS-Resource Trigger or aperiodicSRS-ResourceTriggerList values. Each one of these triggered AP-SRS sets may have different slot offsets).
In regards to claim 4, Shahmohammadian, wherein the two slots are based on two consecutive slots, wherein the a guard period for the antenna switching exists between i) a last symbol occupied by the first SRS resource set in the first slot and ii) a first symbol occupied by the second SRS resource set in the second slot (see paragraph 68 and table 3 on page 5; The UE is configured with a guard period of Y symbols, in which the UE does not transmit any other signal, if the SRS resources of a set are transmitted in the same slot. The guard period is in-between the SRS resources of the set. The value of Y is defined by Table 3 below (Table 6.2.1.2-1 in TS 38.214). Specifically, Table 3 provides examples of a minimum guard period between two SRS resources of an SRS resource set for antenna switching).
In regards to claim 7, Shahmohhamadian teaches, wherein, based on a time domain behavior related to a transmission of the SRS being periodic or semi-persistent, a periodicity related to the plurality of one or more SRS resource sets is based on two or more different periodicities (see paragraph 46; In Equation (7), for slots that satisfy N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μn.sub.ƒ+n.sub.s,f.sup.μ+−T.sub.offset) modT.sub.SRS=0, T.sub.SRS, which indicates SRS periodicity, and T.sub.offset, which indicates a slot offset, are configured according to the higher-layer parameter periodicityAndOffset-p or periodicityAndOffset-sp. .sub.symb.sup.SRS indicates a number of SRS symbols and is given by higher-layer parameter nrofSymbols. N.sub.slot.sup.frame,μ is the number of slots per frame for subcarrier spacing of μ, n.sub.s,f.sup.μ is a slot number within a frame for subcarrier spacing of μ, and n.sub.f is a system frame number).
In regards to claim 10, Shahmohammadian teaches receiving downlink control information (DCI) triggering a transmission of the SRS (see paragraph 197; more than one aperiodic SRS can be triggered in a single DCI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahmohammadian et al. (US Publication 2022/0029861A1) and further in view of Park et al. (US Publication 2022/0116979 A1).
The applied reference (Park et al.) has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
In regards to claims 8-9, Shahmohammadian teaches all the limitations of the parent claims as stated above.
However, Shahmohammadian fails to teach, wherein a periodicity having a shortest length among the two or more different periodicities is related to one or more specific antenna ports among the plurality of antenna ports and wherein based on the antenna switching being performed based on a plurality of panels, the two slots are based on discontinuous uplink slots, and wherein time intervals between the discontinuous uplink slots include a time interval based on a panel switching delay.
In regards to claims 8-9, Park teaches, wherein a periodicity having a shortest length among the two or more different periodicities is related to one or more specific antenna ports among the plurality of antenna ports (see paragraph 265; SRS resource indicator field information and Precoding information and number of layers information included in the DCI field. The TPMI may be used for representing a precoder to be applied through antenna port {0 . . . v−1} corresponding to an SRS resource selected by the SRI when multiple SRS resources are configured or one SRS resource is configured or the TPMI may be used for representing a precoder to be applied through antenna port {0 . . . v−1} corresponding to the SRS resource) and wherein based on the antenna switching being performed based on a plurality of panels, the two slots are based on discontinuous uplink slots, and wherein time intervals between the discontinuous uplink slots include a time interval based on a panel switching delay (see paragraph 515; in a UE in which multiple panels have been implemented, only one panel may be activated at a time, and the latency of panel switching and/or activation may be set as [X] ms. For example, the latency may be set to be longer than the latency of beam switching/activation, and may be set in a symbol unit or slot unit).
Both Park and Shahmohammadian relate to SRS transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify Shahmohammadian by implementing the antenna switching as taught by Park. The motivation to do so would be to enhance power control by specifically indicating a panel for uplink control transmission.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 102 rejection and the Park reference have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejections presented above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regards to claim 5, the cited prior art fails to particularly teach, based on a time domain behavior related to a transmission of the SRS being aperiodic, and all or some of the two slots being out of a preset range, a transmission of an SRS based on an SRS resource set that is triggered beyond the preset range among the plurality of one or more SRS resource sets is dropped, wherein the preset range is determined based on at least one of consecutive UL slots or a preset number of UL slots.
In regards to claims 16-17, the cited prior art fails to particularly teach, comparing based on the slot-range threshold as claimed.
In regards to claim 18, the cited prior art fails to particularly teach, a same DCI state of a same aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger value is configured to trigger both of the two SRS resource sets, the two SRS resource sets are configured with different slot offset values selected from an available slot offset list, and across the two slots which are consecutive, a common timing advance (TA), a common uplink spatial transmission filter indicated via TCI-UL-State, and a common SRS power- control state for the two SRS resource sets are applied.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466