DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
the limitation “the diffractive optical element in an axicon, hologram or homogenizer” in claim 6 should read “the diffractive optical element is an axicon, hologram or homogenizer”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation
“a robotic arm supporting the laser head, the fiber delivering the MM beam from a fiber laser or YAG laser source operating in a CW, QCW or pulsed regime” in claim 12
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 05/26/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “According to MPEP 803, the restriction requirement is correctly issued if the following two conditions are met: 1. The claims describer two or more invention that are independent or distinct; AND 2. A serious burden will result if restriction is not required. The independent claims of respective groups I and II, as currently presented, are practically identical. Each element of claim 1 of Group I is recited in amended claim 13 of Group II making the scope of these claims uniform. Thus, both inventions as recited by respective claims 1 and 13 stand or fall together. No additional effort is needed searching for a relevant prior art in the context of, for example, claim 13, if the search is made for claim 1, and conversely.”
This is not found persuasive because applicant’s argument directs to U.S. restriction practice under 37 CFR 1.141-1.146. However, this application complies the national stage applications submitted under 35 U.S.C. 371. Therefore, unity of invention analysis is applied for restriction practice of this application. Therefore the argument is improper and not persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a diffractive optical element spaced downstream from the end block and configured so that the beam waist includes the beam regions with respective Gaussian and non-Gaussian intensity profiles” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “end block” is indefinite, because the structure and the function of the term “end block” are not disclosed. The metes and bounds of the term “end block” is unclear
For the purpose of examination, the term “end block” is interpreted to a portion of the fiber.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 7 and 9, the limitations are merely related to the location of the beam shaper, and do not relate to the structure or function of the beam shaper. Therefore the limitation in claims 7 and 9 do not further limit the beam shaper.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (US 2016/0377874).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a beam-shaper for transforming a MM beam containing sequential beam regions which are characterized by respective Gaussian and non-Gaussian intensity distribution profiles, comprising:
an end block (fiber end cap 105) fused to a downstream end of a fiber which guides the MM beam (beam; see the annotation of fig.1) along a path (see fig.1);
a collimator (collimating lens 110) receiving and collimating the MM beam downstream from the end block (fiber end cap 105) (See fig.1)
a focusing lens (focusing lens 115) located in a fixed position and forming a beam waist (waist; see the annotation of fig.1) in a focal plane of the focusing lens on a workpiece to be laser processed (See fig.1); and
a diffractive optical element (Optical elements 120, 125) spaced downstream from the end block (fiber end cap 105) and configured so that the beam waist includes the beam regions with respective Gaussian and non-Gaussian intensity profiles (See para.[0058] “optical element 200 may be utilized as optical element 120 and/or optical element 125 in delivery system 100. The parameters D, d, θ, and H are geometrical design parameters for outside diameter, inside diameter (which may correspond to the beam size of the beam when it strikes the optical element), slope angle which defines the maximum sagitta (or “sag,” h) and the separation of outer ring of the beam from the spot center of the beam, and the thickness of the optical element 200, respectively… The lens design and its surface profiles may, for example, transform the beam profile from a Gaussian into a Bessel laser beam with a desired intensity distribution.” Hence Optical elements 120, 125 are capable to form the beam to be Bessel–Gauss beam.)
Regarding claim 2, Zhou teaches the collimator (collimating lens 110) is spaced from in interface between the downstream end of the fiber and the end block (fiber end cap 105) at a distance equal to a focal length of the collimator (See fig.1), the MM beam having a flattop intensity distribution profile [Examiner’s note: This is an intended function beam-shaper is capable to form a flat top intensity distribution profile.].
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches the diffractive element (Optical element 125) is located downstream from the collimating lens (focusing lens 115).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches the end block, collimator, diffractive optical element and focusing lens are mounted to a housing of a laser head of a high power fiber laser welding system [Examiner’s note: The housing of a laser head of a high power fiber laser welding system is not a part of the beam-shaper according to the claim disclosure. Therefore they are not further limiting the invention. Operator is capable to mount the end block, collimator, diffractive optical element and focusing lens to a housing of a laser head of a high power fiber laser welding system.]
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches the collimator (collimating lens 110) is spaced downstream from the end block (fiber end cap 105) such that a focal plane of the collimator (collimating lens 110) is located within the end block (fiber end cap 105) and coincides with the beam region having the Gaussian density distribution (see fig.1), wherein the Gaussian region is focused in the focal plane of the focusing lens (focusing lens 115) on the workpiece (workpiece 130) to be laser treated.
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches the end block (fiber end cap 105), which is fused to the downstream end of the fiber, collimator and focusing lens are mounted to a housing of a laser head of a high power fiber laser welding system [Examiner’s note: The housing of a laser head of a high power fiber laser welding system is not a part of the beam-shaper according to the claim disclosure. Therefore they are not further limiting the invention. Operator is capable to mount the end block, collimator, diffractive optical element and focusing lens to a housing of a laser head of a high power fiber laser welding system.]
Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches the fiber is a step-index fiber or graded index fiber [Examiner’s note: The fiber is not a part of the beam-shaper according to the claim disclosure. Therefore the fiber does not further limit the invention. Operator can attach the fiber end cap 105 to a step-index fiber or graded index fiber.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 2016/0377874).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou does not explicitly teach the diffractive optical element is located between the collimator and focusing lens.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the location of the diffractive optical element of Zhou to locate between the collimator and focusing lens, in order to provide a desired components arrangement, since the rearrangement of the handle only involve routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 2016/0377874) in view of Lai (US 6,210,401).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou does not explicitly teach the diffractive optical element in an axicon, hologram or homogenizer.
However, Lai teaches in the same field of endeavor of a beam shaping system, comprising diffractive optical element in an axicon (see col.28, line 36 “axicon first and second prism pair 808, 810”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify diffractive optical element of Zhou by replacing the diffractive optical element with an axicon as taught by Lai, in order to adjust the beam profile.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 2016/0377874) in view of Sbetti (US 2018/0009062).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou does not explicitly teach a plurality of movable mirrors located upstream from the focusing lens and mounted along with the collimator and focusing lens to a laser head.
However, Sbetti teaches in the same field of endeavor of a beam shaping system, comprising a plurality of movable mirrors (reflective mirrors 12 a, 12 b, and 12 c) located upstream from the focusing lens (focusing system 16) and mounted along with the collimator and focusing lens to a laser head (head 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify beam shaping system of Zhou by adding a plurality of movable mirrors as taught by Sbetti, in order to guide the laser beam to a desired location.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Zhou and Sbetti in view of Yang (US 2020/0316713).
Regarding claim 12, the modification of Zhou and Sbetti does not expliclity teach a robotic arm supporting the laser head, the fiber delivering the MM beam from a fiber laer or YAG laser source operating in a CW, QCW or pulsed regime [Examiner’s note: The fiber laser system is not a part of the beam-shaper according to the claim disclosure. Therefore they are not further limiting the invention.]
However, Yang teaches in the same field of endeavor of a beam shaping system, comprising a robotic arm (robot arm 70) supporting the laser head (laser optic welding head 42)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify beam shaping system of the modification of Zhou and Sbetti by adding a robotic arm as taught by Yang, in order to provide automatic and reliable device to hold the laser device for processing.
Conclusion
/CHRIS Q LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761